Snowy Memories (Advent Calendar, Day 11)

Today we have a special story from Leigh Smith, aka Sunny Girl. She will respond to your comments and choose a lucky person to win her latest book or the the new Christmas collection from the Library of Spanking Fiction. Sunny posts stories weekly on her blog, Aimless Ramblings, and has recently started an author blog as well. She’s also a granny with an attitude, so watch out if you feel like sassing her! :)

I looked out the window and saw the snowflakes just beginning to drift down from the leaden sky.  I was forecast to be a terrible storm but seeing the first flakes reaching the ground reminded me of another snowstorm long ago.

Until I was twelve years old, my parents, siblings and I lived in a big city.  We had no need of a car, or even public transportation for that matter, everything was within walking distance. The promise of a snowstorm was thrilling for us kids. Although we rarely had a school snow day, we didn’t mind having to wait until after school. Our spirits were always high as we dragged our sleds over to the city park to barrel down what seemed like large mountains to us, taking life and limb in hand.  We came home with rosy cheeks, frozen noses, toes and fingers, but happy hearts.

The day life changed for us happened during a snowstorm.  My dad was helping a neighbor shovel out his car when he suffered a heart attack and died.  It was a terrible time and for years, I hated snow.  Snowstorms were events to be weathered, not enjoyed.

Soon after my father’s death, we left the city and moved to our grandparent’s farm. It was supposed to be a temporary move until my mother got back on her feet; it didn’t turn out that way. We left our old life and friends behind as we learned a completely new way of life.  No longer available were the things we took for granted but new adventures awaited.

Years passed, my older siblings left to start their own lives, my mother remarried and I stayed behind to help my now aging grandparents.  It was the Christmas season of my twenty-first year that I started to like snow again.  The rest of our family was coming to spend the holidays with us and so there was lots of activity and anticipation.  Gran began baking cookies and Gramps decided he wanted to cut down a big Christmas tree.  We finally convinced Gramps he couldn’t do it alone so he hired a neighbor’s grandson, who was home for the holidays, to help.  When I saw Jesse dragging that tree down the hill toward the house, my heart leapt.  He was tall, well over six feet, and looked even larger bundled up in that heavy plaid jacket, a woolen cap pulled down over his ears, gloves and big boots.  The snowflakes covering his shoulders and sticking to his eyebrows made him look like as if he was on a Currier & Ives Christmas card. I sat there at the window watching Gramps and Jesse drag the tree to the porch.  That is one handsome hunk of man, I thought. He and Gramps shook the snow out of the tree and leaned it against the house.  They both stomped their feet, brushed the snow off their clothing and entered the house.

“Is anybody home?” we heard Gramps yell.

“In the kitchen,” Gram answered back.

Both men shed their jackets in the mudroom and walked into the kitchen.  Jesse was even more handsome without the jacket and ski cap.  He was wearing a plaid flannel shirt tucked into well-worn jeans that fit in all the right places and big woolen socks.  His shiny brown hair that was about two weeks past needing a haircut, and blue eyes hooded by eyelashes so long, it was a crime.

“Jesse, this is my wife, Becky and my granddaughter, Jenny.”

He extended his hand and I felt the spark when our fingers touched.  We both pulled back and I watched a look pass between my grandparents that I remember to this day.

“Jesse is Nate’s grandson.  He’s visiting for the holidays and thinking of joining Doc Martin’s Veterinary practice when he finishes his internship this summer,” Gramps explained.

“How is it we’ve not seen you around these parts before?”  Gram asked.

“Well, I’m actually Nate’s step grandson.  Nate’s daughter, Beth married my dad a couple of years ago.  I mostly lived with my mom so it wasn’t until then I even knew Nate and Connie,” he explained.

“So you here alone or did Beth come too?”

“No, I’m not alone, everyone is coming for the holidays.  I have a little longer time since our school break coincides with the holidays.”

“Well, I am sure glad you are here and were able to help my husband.  He thinks he is still 26.  Our family is coming home for the holidays too.  We’ll have to get everyone together.”

Looking at Jenny, Jesse asked if she was home for the holidays too.  She explained that she lived here with her grandparents and taught first grade at the local school.

“You’ll have to tell me all about life here in this area.  I’ve always lived in a suburban area so rural life will be quite different.”

“Rural life is nice, a little dull sometime compared to city life,” she told him.

Gram had set out a plate of cookies and offered a hot beverage.  Gramps and Jesse sat down and Gram handed out mugs of steaming coffee.  Gramps took a sip.

“What’s this?  We men need something to warm up our insides, it’s cold out there.”  He got up, went over to the cupboard, and brought over a bottle of brandy, pouring some into his mug and offering the bottle to Jesse.

As I sat there listening to the chatter between my grandparents and Jesse, I realized that for the first time I was falling in love.  It didn’t make sense, I had just met him, knew nothing about him but it didn’t seem to matter.  It left me tongue-tied and I don’t think I spoke twenty words the whole time.  When he finally got up to leave, I found my voice. I was afraid if I didn’t speak up, I wouldn’t get another opportunity.

“Gramps has an old-fashioned sleigh out in the shed.  It’s been a while since it was used but it is a wonderful way to see the area.  What do you think?”

“An old-fashioned sleigh ride,” he laughed.  “That could be fun,” his blue eyes twinkled.

_________________________

More years passed.  Gram and Gramps are gone and now I live in this old house with my husband and three children.  I’m baking cookies in anticipation of a full house over the holidays.  I hear the jingle of bells and look out the window again.  What should I see but an old-fashioned sleigh being driven by a handsome hunk of a man wearing a heavy plaid jacket with a woolen cap pulled down low, and three rosy-cheeked laughing children and holding onto a giant Christmas tree.

A few seconds later, the door opens.

“Is anybody home?” Jesse asks.

“In the kitchen,” I answer back.

Tagged: , , ,

154 thoughts on “Snowy Memories (Advent Calendar, Day 11)

  1. PK December 11, 2013 at 6:35 am Reply

    Sunny, you are so good at making characters that seem like real people and people that I’d like to get to know. As always, tell us more.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:29 am Reply

      Thanks PK. Happy you enjoyed the story.

  2. Mona LIsa December 11, 2013 at 6:41 am Reply

    Awwww. … SG, this one is cute… like CUTE !
    SG, it’s always fun to go to your blog, where I always find something to laugh about, think about, wonder over .. and sometimes shake my head .. when it looks too much OUCH …. lol ..
    Your blog was one of those blogs that gave me hope that I, perhaps, can still find my place here .. even though I’m so different from all others in certain OUCH perceptions .. lol ..

    Thank you, my friend.

    Hugs,
    Mona Lisa

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:30 am Reply

      No ouch in this story. Happy i was able to provide a soft place to land.

  3. Garyntboy December 11, 2013 at 6:50 am Reply

    Aah, the circle of life…..Isn’t it wonderful how kids think that they were the first to do things. Nice warming story for a cold winters night.
    Kind regards,
    Gary.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:31 am Reply

      Didn’t we when we were kids. It is definitely the circle of life. Happy Holidays

  4. Emily Tilton December 11, 2013 at 6:59 am Reply

    Oh, what a wonderful story. It’s like a perfect shining Christmas-tree ornament!

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:31 am Reply

      Thank you Emily Glad it gave you warm fuzzies.

  5. Ria December 11, 2013 at 6:59 am Reply

    I love this beginning. I agree with PK – wanting the remainder of the story.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:32 am Reply

      What makes everyone think there is more? Thanks for the compliment of wanting more.

  6. thelongbean December 11, 2013 at 7:03 am Reply

    Great story, I suppose we will have to wait for more….

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:33 am Reply

      I think so. Thanks for asking.

      • thelongbean December 11, 2013 at 11:44 am Reply

        We have to that when reading the stories on your blog…. You just like teasing us…..

        • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 7:40 pm Reply

          Should I say it’s my mission in life. Not really but it does keep you coming back for more, doesn’t it? Shame on me.

  7. Leah December 11, 2013 at 7:07 am Reply

    I want to hear more about Jesse and Jenny. Thanks for sharing.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:41 am Reply

      You are welcome Leah, happy you enjoyed the story.

  8. Tara Finnegan December 11, 2013 at 7:14 am Reply

    This really is a beautiful story, reflecting the circle of life and how even though some horrendous things happen, which shape our lives there is always hope on the horizon. Thank you so much, Leigh. You made me happy, sad, and then joyful in one story. :)

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:52 am Reply

      Thanks Tara. I enjoyed writing this story, glad you enjoyed reading about Jesse and Jenny.

  9. Thianna D December 11, 2013 at 7:29 am Reply

    You had me at “He was tall, well over six feet,” *grins*

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:52 am Reply

      Funny. Most of “guys” are over 6 feet. :)

      • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:07 pm Reply

        Meant most of my “guys” are over 6 feet.

        • Thianna D December 11, 2013 at 9:34 pm Reply

          Yeah, mine too. I love that height…it makes me and my other main character feel protected :D

  10. Marybeth December 11, 2013 at 7:30 am Reply

    Leigh, this is a nice story. Love at first sight. That’s how it was for my husband and me. 28 years later and 3 children, we are still in love. We are going on our first vacation alone since our honeymoon soon. A 7 day cruise to the Caribbean. We can’t wait.
    Thank you for being the moderator today. Ana does need a day off! Lol. Hopefully she can stay out of trouble with Mrs. Claus. ;-D

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:54 am Reply

      What a lovely story of your love. Cruises are my favorite way to vacation. Have a lovely time and pack half of what you think you need.. lol

      Ana doesn’t know how to stay out of trouble. She is always stirring the pot.

      • Marybeth December 11, 2013 at 1:40 pm Reply

        Thanks. I don’t plan to bring a lot of clothes. I want to live in a swimsuit and remember, its without kids”

        • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:07 pm Reply

          You will have such a good time.

  11. constance Masters December 11, 2013 at 7:34 am Reply

    I LOVED this story Leigh! It had a bit of everything and was full of Christmas magic :)

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:55 am Reply

      Thanks for the lovely compliment. It is that magical time of year, isn’t it?

  12. abby December 11, 2013 at 7:34 am Reply

    ahhh….the cycle of life, it is nice when it works out. You have a wonderful way of developing your characters so that we feel like we know them.
    hugs abby

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:56 am Reply

      Oh abby. Thanks. Life does have a way of throwing us curves that change the course of things, doesn’t it? Make it interesting.

  13. Michael December 11, 2013 at 7:44 am Reply

    What a sweet story, Leigh. It warmed me on a very cold morning. Thank you. :-)

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:57 am Reply

      Thanks Michael. Glad i was able to provide some warmth on a cold day.

  14. minellesbreath December 11, 2013 at 7:50 am Reply

    Oh Sunny this made me tear-up. It is a bit of Christmas magic. I truly love stories like this. Beginnings alongside others who have lived and loved the years past.
    I can see both couples having more to say!

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:58 am Reply

      Don’t cry. You have to drive to work.

      I’m sure they both have more to say and we can only imagine what it might be.

      • minellesbreath December 11, 2013 at 6:55 pm Reply

        LOL!!! Sunny! “I’ll cry if I want to!” in a sing song voice!

        • catrouble December 11, 2013 at 7:16 pm Reply

          Darn you Minelle…Now I have that song running through my head! ;)

          • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 7:38 pm Reply

            Leslie Gore will be happy you have her ear worm.

            • Irishey December 12, 2013 at 9:36 am Reply

              Eewww. That “ear worm” phrase – it’s been so long since I’ve heard it. That was a good thing. It always gave me the willies. Thanks for the memory, Sunny. Ugh.

              Now I have that blasted song in my head, too. Double ugh.

              Lol!

  15. terpsichore December 11, 2013 at 7:55 am Reply

    I love your stories Sunny – you make your characters come to life for me and I feel as though I am there with them…It always leaves me wanting to know more… :-) Hugs

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:59 am Reply

      Thanks Terps. When I read, I never want good stories to end so thanks for the compliment.

  16. Michelle B December 11, 2013 at 7:56 am Reply

    Lovely story :) I could visualize the scenes in my mind, like a Hallmark holiday TV movie!

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:00 am Reply

      Thanks Michelle. I accomplished my goal if you could picture a Hallmark holiday. I love those commercials. They always leave me feeling warm and cozy.

  17. paul1510 December 11, 2013 at 8:01 am Reply

    Leigh,
    a lovely feel good story, pointing out that even the darkest day can be followed by sunshine and love.
    Warm hugs,
    Paul.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:02 am Reply

      Thanks Paul. What is that saying “it’s always darkest before dawn.”

      Happy Day to you.

  18. Ami December 11, 2013 at 8:06 am Reply

    Such a beautiful snowflaky, Christmassy, story, Sunny. I feel there is more than a smidge of truth in this one. I feel sure quite a lot happened in those intervening years that you haven’t told us about yet.

    Hugs
    Ami

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:05 am Reply

      Ami, thanks, glad it provoked thoughts of Christmas and family. It’s a magical time of year. I can just imagine your home with all the baked goodies and the cheery decoration. I raise a toast to you and yours.

  19. Casey McKay December 11, 2013 at 8:11 am Reply

    Such a sweet story, it made me smile :) Thanks for sharing, and I agree with the others, I would love to read the rest!

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:08 am Reply

      Happy for the smile. They not only light up your world but the world of those on the receiving end.

  20. M. Palmer December 11, 2013 at 8:22 am Reply

    What a great story! I think there’s a certain romance in the need to “get warm” after a snowy day… and who wouldn’t want to spend time in an old-fashioned sleigh? :-)

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:09 am Reply

      Happy that you enjoyed. Loved that you provided your own “spice”. Imagination is such a wonderful thing.

  21. JC December 11, 2013 at 8:31 am Reply

    Sounds like a great story. If only the grandson of the people next to me was a hunk who cut down Christmas trees:)

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:09 am Reply

      You never know, some day there might be. Life is full of surprises.

  22. Erzabet Bishop December 11, 2013 at 8:46 am Reply

    That was lovely. Every part of my best childhood memories is in the kitchen. A lot of them in my Grandmother’s. She would make these rolls that looked like birds with a raisin for an eye and brush egg across it to make it shine.

    Thanks for that story. I’d love to read more of your work. :)

    Best,

    Erzabet

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:11 am Reply

      Thanks for the nice words. Provoking childhood memories always puts a smile on my face. I can just picture those rolls.

      Feel free to stop by my blogs any time. The welcome mat is out.

  23. Erzabet Bishop December 11, 2013 at 8:46 am Reply

    Reblogged this on erzabetbishop.

  24. Corinne Alexander December 11, 2013 at 8:51 am Reply

    This story touched & warmed my heart. What a perfect way to start the day. Such a beautiful story of love. Isn’t that the way it happens? One day you’re trudging along living your life and the next everything changes. My husband and I fell in love at exactly this time of year. Little did I know one phone call, one conversation, would change everything. New love is a magical time of endless possibilities. Now for us approaching our 15th winter together it’s a satisfying seasoned love full of the richness of family, familiarity, & a knowing smile, twinkling eye, and living in full bloom. Thank you for sharing, Leigh! You have truly inspired me this morning.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:13 am Reply

      Thanks Corinne. And yes, that is just the way it happens. Congratulations on your 15th winter together – your words put everything into perspective – it’s what life is all about.

      Embrace life and love today, tomorrow and forever.

  25. Terry December 11, 2013 at 8:58 am Reply

    Hi Leigh
    Very heart warming story. A snowy day changed Jenny’s life when her Dad had a heart attack helping others and then changed for good when a snowy Christmas season introduced her to the love of her life.

    My own Grandfather was like the Dad in your story. When I was 7 we had a very bad snow storm that left everyone’s car stuck. My grandfather was helping neighbors dig out their cars when he too had a heart attack and died. It was a horrible time for my family.

    My husband and I may have found love at “second sight”. I first was introduced to him because he worked with a friend’s husband. At the time he was married and I was dating other people but I thought he seemed like a great guy. I would see him from time to time and always enjoyed talking to him. Eight years passed and I was at a book signing for a local author when I saw a man with the most beautiful pair of blue eyes and realized that I knew him from the past. When he saw me he didn’t remember exactly who I was but did recognized me as someone from his past as well. The book signing was crazy with several hundred of people waiting in line so the two of us spent the next 2 hours just talking. We both were divorced and although I was seeing people occasionally he said he had given up on ever dating again. After we both got our books signed he asked me if I wanted to have dinner with him and I said Yes! The sparks on my end were off and flying from that day forward and we were married 17 months later. He asked me what I would have done if he hadn’t asked me to dinner that night and I told him that I probably would have followed him into the parking lot and thrown myself in front of his car.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:15 am Reply

      What a lovely story. It proves that what is meant to be, is.

  26. quiet sara December 11, 2013 at 8:58 am Reply

    This was lovely. It reminds me so very much of my childhood living on a farm, then
    spending summers on my Grandparents apple orchard in Ohio. We had snow in
    Winter and sled riding and hot cocoa… It makes me so wistful for that time. I felt very
    choked up just reading this. Beautiful.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:17 am Reply

      Oh so happy you enjoyed. I must have tapped into repressed memories when writing this because I grew up in an urban area. Glad I was able to help you take a stroll down memory lane.

      • quiet sara December 11, 2013 at 9:54 pm Reply

        Thank you. I often miss my childhood home and being in Ohio. I wish I could go back and be there in that same time again. To be a child, running through the woods, picking apples, playing in the cornfield… I miss it so so much. Thank you. If you decide to write a book on these characters, this story, let me know. I would definitely want it. Thank you for choosing me as your book winner too. I am so looking forward to reading it.

        love, sara

        • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:40 pm Reply

          Having such wonderful memories, I am not surprised you would like to go back to that time. At the moment, I have no plans to write a books based on these character, but I will never say never. Right now, I’m taking a writing break to recharge. Glad you are the winner too. I’ll be in touch.

        • Anastasia Vitsky December 11, 2013 at 10:44 pm Reply

          lol…Sara, wrong Leigh! You won from Leigh Ellwood, silly girl. :D But I agree that this is a lovely story. Luckily for you, you can read a new story from Sunny each Monday.

  27. Joelle Casteel December 11, 2013 at 9:14 am Reply

    Oh, Leigh, what an absolutely beautiful story! It makes me think of when I saw my Master’s eyes the first time. I wasn’t looking for a dominant, a significant other, nothing. But looking into his eyes, I definitely “felt the spark.”

    I’m a bit ambivalent on snow, but because sometimes the family stories around my birth (on the second day of a blizzard) make thinking about snow. So the family story goes, my mother actually went into labor on the 26th, but the snow made it take them until the 27th to get to the hospital.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:54 am Reply

      I am ambivalent about snow also, only like it when I’m seeing it in pictures. lol. Spent too much of my life in it.

      In case I forget, Happy Birthday early.

      • Joelle Casteel December 11, 2013 at 3:14 pm Reply

        oops.. lol.. January the 27th :D but thanks for the early happy birthday :) yup, pictures of snow are nice. Living in Michigan, I’m too used to how quickly our snow gets ugly and dirty

        • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:55 pm Reply

          I used to live in NY so I know how quickly that snows gets ugly. Jan 27th is my sister’s birthday.

  28. Kelsey Summer December 11, 2013 at 9:24 am Reply

    What a sweet story. I live in neither the city nor the country. I always love reading about farm life and cutting down Christmas trees. We’ve tried at a local Christmas tree farm here in the burbs, but it’s not the same experience (it’s crowded). Of course, I’m allergic anyway, but I still love the idea. I think I could get into farm life. I love crafting, sewing, cooking, etc. The men, too, just seem so much more manly. Lovely story!

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:57 am Reply

      Thanks Kelsey. I more of a urban, suburban lady myself. Lovely thoughts of the country always pervade my thoughts though.

      I think the men seem that way because their work is so physical.

  29. catrouble December 11, 2013 at 10:13 am Reply

    Thank you for a lovely story Sunny…I love the way you bring your characters to life. Am definitely looking forward to more stories regarding both couples. ;)

    That circle of life is so comforting…life goes on. ;)

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    PS…Thanks to Ana and her helpers for all the hard work y’all are putting in to making the Advent calendar so much fun for all.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 10:59 am Reply

      You are quite welcome. I love feel good stories too, very comforting in a world where we are bombarded by news that seems to focus on all that is bad.

  30. kimmyl December 11, 2013 at 10:14 am Reply

    I loved the story. Thanks for a great post and a chance to win

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 11:00 am Reply

      Thanks. Hope you get a prize, there are so many, I pretty sure everyone will end up with something.

  31. JoanneBest December 11, 2013 at 10:26 am Reply

    Thank you for such a beautiful heartwarming story Leigh! As others have said, I want to know more! So sad the way Jenny lost her Dad because of the snow.
    In my mind, I want to believe that Jenny’s Dad sent Jesse her way, like he knew Jesse was Jenny’s soul mate and Dad pulled some strings up there so they would meet during a snowstorm, as if Dad wanted to bring back Jenny’s previous love of snow, he didn’t want her to associate snow with his death so he helped arranged a way for Jenny to find a reason to love snow again by sending Jesse her way….sigh, so romantic <3
    One of my favorite parts for me is this:
    "He extended his hand and I felt the spark when our fingers touched. We both pulled back and I watched a look pass between my grandparents that I remember to this day."
    That look that passed between her grandparents, I imagine they were remembering how they fell in love and they recognized the instant attraction of two souls meant to be together forever.
    It takes me back to my own memories of first love, of the magic that comes along with the falling snow, sitting together in a cold car covered with snow making us invisible to the world as we huddled together for warmth and steamed up the windows as we discovered each other, as our souls merged, recognizing we belonged to each other, no matter how long we had to wait to be truly together.
    Snow, to me, equals magic and endless possibilities.
    Thank you Leigh, not only for the beautiful story you wrote, but also for bringing back wonderful memories and giving me the gift of hope and magic.
    So many smiles here, I just can't thank you enough <3

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 11:02 am Reply

      I think you may have filled in the empty spots of the story. I love your imagination – such lovely thoughts. Glad you enjoyed the story and stopped by.

  32. Irishey December 11, 2013 at 10:36 am Reply

    Sunny, your stories remind me of Thomas Kincaid’s art. As he did with paint, your words infuse warm light that evokes emotions and draws the reader right into the story’s world. It’s so easy to envision your characters as real people with real lives.

    My imagination is busy seeing events, places, conversations and feelings to which you’ve barely alluded or not mentioned at all. We all know there is a lifetime of stories waiting to be told about Jenny and her Jesse.

    Brava, my dear sliver friend.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 11:07 am Reply

      Thank you Irishey. Your words make me feel all warm and cuddly. Glad I was able to stir your imagination to fill in the blanks.

  33. Merna December 11, 2013 at 10:40 am Reply

    I love your story also! I thought is was real life, but reading everyone’s comments, it seems to be fiction. Will there be more? I would love to read it…. My few memories of snow are at my grandparents farm. There lived in the midwest, and since my dad was a school teacher he had a winter vacation, and we spent several Christmas’s out there on the farm. It didn’t always snow though, so it was a great treat for us kids when it did.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 11:09 am Reply

      Sounds like a lovely childhood. Glad the story brought back cherished memories of happy times.

  34. DelFonte December 11, 2013 at 10:47 am Reply

    Loved that they end up living in the grandparents house. That continuity of living just doesn’t happen these days. I’m left wondering what happened in the three years – a good story leaves you with that need for more.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 11:11 am Reply

      I think you are right, there are probably exceptions but in the mainstream the continuity of living doesn’t happen anymore. Glad you enjoyed the story.

  35. angieia December 11, 2013 at 11:04 am Reply

    I really enjoyed the story. Jenny was really great for staying behind to help take care of her grandparents. I like how fate had Jesse help Jenny’s grandpa get a tree. This story makes you believe in love at first sight and that things happen for a reason.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 11:13 am Reply

      I do believe in love at first sight. I believe we are all where we are supposed to be and that we have inborn feelings that help us recognize those connection.

      Glad you enjoyed the story.

  36. Renee Rose December 11, 2013 at 11:31 am Reply

    I believe in love at first sight, too. My husband said he knew the moment he saw me that I was “the one”. Beautiful story!

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 11:44 am Reply

      So romantic. Thanks Renee glad you enjoyed the story.

  37. Holla Dean December 11, 2013 at 11:32 am Reply

    Nothing like a Christmas love story! This was sweet, I loved how Jenny stayed with her grandparents and became a teacher. It’s classic how Jesse just happened to be visiting his grandparents when Jenny’s grandpa needed help with the tree. Love at first sight, that tingly spark at the first touch…what a great story. But, like several others, I want more of the story. I want to know about the courtship and everything that led to them living and raising their family in Jenny’s grandparent’s house.
    It is funny how I was expecting a spanking to take place when I started reading, but didn’t miss it when I finished. Thanks for a very nice Christmas love story, Sunny.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 11:47 am Reply

      Let your imagination run wild and take the story where you want it to go.

      I know, no spanking. I wondered about that but sometimes I have a hard time fitting one into a story – glad you didn’t miss it. It’s a little dose of vanilla instead of spice.

      • Holla Dean December 11, 2013 at 6:34 pm Reply

        I know what you mean, sometimes a spanking just doesn’t fit. And if a character just doesn’t go down that path, then there’s no spanking. It’s happened in a couple of my books.

  38. sassytwatter December 11, 2013 at 12:03 pm Reply

    Lovely story I could picture it perfectly in my head! Tell us more about their courtship.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:30 pm Reply

      Great that you could picture it in your head. Are you able to picture what you would like to happen? If so, then it is so.

      Glad you enjoyed the story.

  39. Kitty December 11, 2013 at 12:06 pm Reply

    lovely short story but i’ve never been a fan of short 4 it only wets my apitite. so im hopeing 4 more to the story, hopefully there’s some “ouch” in it to come.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:31 pm Reply

      Sorry Kitty, no ouch in this story, but if you head over to my blog, there are lots of ouch stories.

  40. P.T. Wyant December 11, 2013 at 12:08 pm Reply

    What a sweet and magical story. I love snow. (Granted, I love it more when I’m not brushing it off my car or shoveling it.) This story makes me want to make a cup of hot chocolate.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:32 pm Reply

      I love snow too. In a globe and anywhere I’m not. lol
      How was the hot chocolate?

      Thanks for stopping by and reading.

  41. jackie huntington December 11, 2013 at 12:35 pm Reply

    What a wonderful story! I’ve always wanted to go on an old fashioned sleigh ride…with a big hunk of man! My husband is that big hunk too-6′ 4″ blond hair and eyes of blue. Thank you for a great break in my day!

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:34 pm Reply

      Glad you enjoyed the story. You described my husband. Well there’s not much blond anymore but beautiful a silver color. We took a sleigh ride once at a ski resort in Colorado. It was great fun.

  42. 00sarah December 11, 2013 at 1:59 pm Reply

    Awwww, Sunny, you write the sweetest stories. I fall in love with your characters. Thanks for sharing this!

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:35 pm Reply

      Thank you Sarah, happy you enjoyed the story. I’m sure you have lots of snowy memories. lol

  43. Katy Beth McKee December 11, 2013 at 2:00 pm Reply

    What a beautiful snow story. Of course this Florida native doesn’t have much in the way of heartwarming snow stories. Saw snow once when I traveled to Norway in January with all my in-laws. It was fun to see and to watch my kids enjoy especially because I didn’t actually have to deal with it.

    Funniest story was the one year it got really cold here and there was actually ice on my windshield and I had to find a plastic spatula to scrap it off. (Don’t get any ideas here.) So I was talking to my oldest on the phone who was going to school in St. Paul, MN. I was complaining about my ice problem. He told me until I had three feet of snow on top of the car that had to be cleared before leaving he didn’t have any sympathy. . I pointed out that at least he had proper tools.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:36 pm Reply

      I used to live in Florida too and it never seemed quite like Christmas, but that was alright with me. Pretend the white sand is snow and even better it doesn’t need to be shoveled.

      Proper tools make all the difference, no matter what the task at hand.

  44. chickadee December 11, 2013 at 2:19 pm Reply

    Oh, Sunny! That was so sweet!

    When I read the title of today’s story, my mind instantly flashed to a day long forgotten and it just came out of nowhere. It involved my 10 year old cousin with terminal cancer who was visiting us for the last time with his family, along with a dear friend of the family and their kids. All told, there were 8 pre-teen/early teen kids and 6 “reformed” hippies for adults. A snowstorm came out of nowhere, drizzle was all that was expected. They were all trapped for the night. It was the snowball fight of all fights. It was crazy! This was the last time I played with my cousin and one of the few times I remember my mom being fun at all. We made cookies and everybody had the best best time together. Years later I found out the adults had been smoking weed all afternoon and THAT was why it was so much fun and THEY were the ones who started tossing snowballs not the kids.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:38 pm Reply

      Glad the story tweaked your memory and a very special one at that.

      Love the reason for the snowball fight. It’s good to let loose your inner child.

  45. Renee Meyer December 11, 2013 at 2:40 pm Reply

    What a lovely story to bring a smile to an absolutely crazy day. I just love have this Advent Calendar to go to each day. Thank you for sharing your story and brightening my day. I will have to agree with others about snow. It is great in pictures and memories but we moved many, many miles south years ago to get away from that white stuff. Now I don’t have to deal with it. Have a wonderful day.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:39 pm Reply

      Yes, I love the idea of endless summer. It’s been cool here the last week of so but nothing like what other’s have been experiencing – that is far behind me.

      Happy the story gave you a few moments of peace.

  46. Leona December 11, 2013 at 3:19 pm Reply

    Your story hit a lot emotion in me.. I just wanted to cry… so beauitful… I love snow.. and snow days away for school.. was the best.. But I do know how it is to lost family members because of winter weather.. It sad, But time does heal… I am so happy that Jenny remember the spirt of winter.. I love to hear more of Jenny and Jesse..

    Hugs and Lots more hugs.. :) <:

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:42 pm Reply

      I am happy you enjoy snowy days and have pleasant memories of them. Memories can be bittersweet but at least we have them.

      Hugs to you also.

  47. laurellasky December 11, 2013 at 3:29 pm Reply

    Your story was lovely. When I was about 11 we lived in Wesrchrster County, a suburb of NYC. We had a small pond which froze over and we would play hocky. We would be gliding along very gracefully and then hit some weeds that came through the ice. I can’t say we fell gracefully but we had loads of fun. We would also build snow forts and makes lots of snowball and had great fights. By then it was time to go into the house for hot chocolate with marshmallows. The best thing was a snow day with no school. Yeah.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:43 pm Reply

      I know Westchester County well having been born and raised in that area of the country. We too would ice skate on the frozen ponds, bake potatoes in fires on the ice and WHIP ourselves around.

      Glad the story reminded you of earlier times.

  48. Blondie December 11, 2013 at 3:39 pm Reply

    Another wonderful story. I really like this one because it is happening during the holiday season. I believe in love at first sit. Ty told me, on the night we met, that we would have beautiful children some day. I thought to myself, “I don’t think so, I am on the pill”. But six years later, we started having beautiful children. I love the snow. That is my only regret about my life is that we don’t live in snow country. I am so glad that you are a published author now.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:46 pm Reply

      Thank you Blondie. Ty must be a romantic. Yes, you don’t get much snow in your area, sometimes though. Maybe this year will be one of those times.

      You kept suggesting I publish my stories, so I took your advice and obviously LSF agreed. Thanks for the push – it is like my 15 minutes of fame. I love hearing that people have enjoyed reading my attempts at writing.

  49. TL December 11, 2013 at 3:52 pm Reply

    I love the way you take something that starts out so sad, and make it end up so sweet. I love those kind of loving grandparents. What a great warm fuzzy on such a cold day. :)

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 4:47 pm Reply

      Thanks TL, Glad the story made you warm and comfy on a cold day.

  50. octoberwoman December 11, 2013 at 5:29 pm Reply

    Nice little story with a perfect ending. I personally do not like snow at all, I don’t think I even liked it much when I was a kid. But I just hate to be cold. Which is neither here nor there, but all that talk about snow…brr!

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 7:19 pm Reply

      Brrr!! is right when it comes to snow. Glad you enjoyed the story. It’s fun when you can read about it but not have to experience it. lol

  51. Clara Baker December 11, 2013 at 5:35 pm Reply

    Sweet story Sunny. Nothing like a sleigh ride for winter romance ;)

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 7:21 pm Reply

      I so agree Clara. Warm and cuddly under the blankets as the sleigh runners go gliding across the snow on a dark and starry night. Can you picture it?

  52. pieclown December 11, 2013 at 5:54 pm Reply

    Dear Sunny, What a lovely. I am from a small town, and know a little of country life. This has a great “Walton-ish” feel. I wish you the best with this.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 7:23 pm Reply

      You didn’t say lovely what? lol. I used to love the Walton’s and I will still stop and watch if I happen to find it, much to my husband’s chagrin. I know nothing of country life, so i am glad I was able to convey the romanticisim I’ve always thought about country life.

      • pieclown December 11, 2013 at 7:32 pm Reply

        Story, a lovely story. I should not try to type and eat.

        • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:09 pm Reply

          That is so me. I look at it and don’t see the mistakes. Hit post and guess what, it is rife with typos.

  53. laurellasky December 11, 2013 at 5:57 pm Reply

    This really has nothing to do with winter. I just want to rant a little. Sometimes I see a book on amazon and the blurb sounds good. I then look at the word count which sometimes is between 7 words to 20 words. Then I look at the price which is anywhere between $2.99 and $7.99. Why would and sane person pay $7.99 for 7 words. I am flabagasted. The books on most websites are reasonless. Thank you for allowing me to sound off.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 7:30 pm Reply

      Regarding your rant, Amazon will allow you to return the books if you do it quickly. I agree $7.99 is an exhorbitant price for 7 words. There is a cost for publishing the books even if they are on the web and I don’t know who determines the price. I know all of my (all 3 of them) are priced at $2.99. There are lots of free stories around though – I offer a free story a week and the older ones are all listed in a separate gadget on my web page. The LSF Library is free also.

      Sound off any time.

      • laurellasky January 3, 2014 at 6:34 pm Reply

        Hi Leigh,

        I now check out the word count or the Kbps before shelling out my hard earned SS. Thanks for listening to my rant.
        Big hugs, Laurel

  54. Janey December 11, 2013 at 5:58 pm Reply

    Like Gary said above, the circle of life in this story is just great. I think it is so funny when I sing along to a new cover version of a song and my children don’t know how I know the words not realising it was around way before they were. My eldest tells me that I don’t act in an age appropriate fashion. What???
    I love your writing and always look forward to your stories, thank you.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 7:32 pm Reply

      Everything old is new again, isn’t it. What exactly is age appropriate and who determines the criteria. I am quite sure I am not age appropriate, thank God.

      Thanks for the kind words and I’m glad you enjoy reading my stories.

  55. robskatie December 11, 2013 at 6:02 pm Reply

    I LOVED the story, Sunny!!! :). I thought that the ending was so neat- how it circled around to end with Jenny having married Jesse, and the sleigh with their kids, dragging the tree. I can so picture the scene, sleigh moving through snow, bells ringing and snow crunching as it moved along! Kids laughing. Maybe bundled with blanket around their laps. Awesome!!! Thanks for the cheery winter thoughts!

    I have a tall guy with big feet who gets bundled up sometimes to go out and dig us out of the snow! Seems Jenny and I have something in common! Lol! Thanks Sunny. Enjoyed it! Many hugs,
    <3 Katie

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 7:33 pm Reply

      I have a tall guy with big feet too – Size 13. He no longer goes out to shovel snow though.

      Glad i painted a happy picture with words. How was the cookie baking?

  56. Ruth Staunton December 11, 2013 at 6:11 pm Reply

    Sweet romantic stories are my favorite. This one is awesome.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 7:34 pm Reply

      Thank you Ruth, I am glad you enjoyed the story.

  57. Penelope December 11, 2013 at 6:58 pm Reply

    As so many others have said, a heartwarming (and sad, and sweet) story, made all the more poignant by the Christmas theme – thank you for sharing it with us, Sunny. My heart is happier for having read.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 7:36 pm Reply

      Christmas does warm our hearts and soul, doesn’t it. Well at least it does if you are not out fighting the crowds. I am glad the story gave you a happy heart. May it continue through the season and into the next year.

    • bellabryce December 11, 2013 at 11:59 pm Reply

      Hey, I thought it WAS non fiction …

      • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 12, 2013 at 12:11 am Reply

        Does that mean you didn’t like it?

        • bellabryce December 12, 2013 at 11:41 pm Reply

          No, I felt idiotic for thinking they really got married! I was annoyed with myself, LOL. I was so excited :)

          I loved it.

  58. angel December 11, 2013 at 7:41 pm Reply

    Your stories are always so great makes you feel like you are there not just reading such a sweet story Thanks for sharing

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 8:49 pm Reply

      Thank you Angel, such nice words and thoughts.

  59. Tracey Gramiak Horton December 11, 2013 at 8:39 pm Reply

    Very nice story. Love snow and love predestined meetings!!

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 8:50 pm Reply

      Thanks Tracey, I don’t love snow but do love predestined meetings. Glad you enjoyed the story.

  60. Kathryn R. Blake December 11, 2013 at 9:04 pm Reply

    Great story, Leigh. At first I thought it was a personal recollection of yours, then I realized you were telling a story. Love the “one hunk of a man” comment Jenny makes. I enjoy the first snowfall of the season when it’s freshly fallen and the land looks pristine. After that, I wish it would just magically disappear. When it turns gray and slushy, it’s no longer a pretty sight. Thanks for sharing.

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:14 pm Reply

      Thanks Kathryn, I really only like snow if I am not near it, but I agree it is pretty when it’s falling and everything is pristine.

  61. Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:15 pm Reply

    So Ana, do I have to post this in order to keep up my perfect attendance. Knowing you, you probably would sic Mrs. Claus on me if I didn’t.

    • Anastasia Vitsky December 11, 2013 at 9:17 pm Reply

      LOL. Yes, you have your perfect attendance. Did you see Minelle’s reply to you?

      • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 11, 2013 at 9:57 pm Reply

        Yes, she wanted to cry.

        • Anastasia Vitsky December 11, 2013 at 10:43 pm Reply

          No, she responded to that!

          • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 12, 2013 at 12:17 am Reply

            You mean the comments that she would cry if she wanted to. Otherwise i didn’t see another comment.

            She did tell me you texted her about the comment, is that what you meant?

            • Anastasia Vitsky December 12, 2013 at 7:31 am Reply

              Oh yes, that’s what I meant. That she would cry if she wanted to. Hehe.

  62. Roz December 11, 2013 at 11:37 pm Reply

    Hi Sunny, what a beautiful and cute story. I really enjoyed this one :) I always enjoy your stories and characters and always want more! LoL

    Would you believe both Rick and I are home today with a stomach bug so thank you for warming my heart and giving me a smile today :)

    Hugs,
    Roz

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 12, 2013 at 12:13 am Reply

      Roz, hope you and Rick are better. Glad the story was a bright spot in an otherwise awful day.

  63. bellabryce December 11, 2013 at 11:57 pm Reply

    I actually gasped at the end of this!!! They got married!! This needs to be turned into an book please!

    Of course, if Jesse took her out into the pine trees and gave her a good seeing to, well, that would be good too :p

    • Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 12, 2013 at 12:20 am Reply

      No plans for a book at this time, but as I’ve said before, I never say never. Maybe next Christmas. If it turns into a book at some point, I am quite sure there will be lots of “seeing to” inlcuded.

  64. Sherilyn December 12, 2013 at 12:18 am Reply

    Hi, Sunny! I’ve been out celebrating my granddaughter’s birthday, so I’m running late. Loved the story! I enjoy your stories–your endings are always so satisfying. Although I agree with Bella, a little bit of spanking in the woods would have added some spice! Maybe Grandpa taking Grandma over his knee in the kitchen…… But that’s just the kind of Grandma I am! Thanks so much.

  65. Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) December 12, 2013 at 12:22 am Reply

    That’s the kind of grammy I am too. lol. Glad you enjoy my stories and sorry to disappoint there was no “spice” in this one.

    How was the birthday party?

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,527 other followers

