Kat-Sitting gets a book contract!

Kat-Sitting the blog will either be taken down or completely re-vamped as an experimental story site.

“But why?” you ask. 

Well.

Kat-Sitting the blog just got a book contract with Lazy Day Publishing!  Anticipated release date is March 2013, and the working title is The Way Home: Kat-Sitting, Volume 1.  We shall see what the various editors have to say about it.  As part of the publishing agreement, I agreed to remove the story content from public domain (i.e. a public blog).  I will, however, put up snippets here and there each weekend as part of “Six Sentence Sunday“.  I will greatly miss the interaction and instant gratification of hearing feedback from all of my wonderful readers after each installment, but I promise that instead you will get a lovely book ready for purchase in six months.  I know that sounds like a long time, but *I* will still be here!  So will my blog.

“How did this happen?” you ask.

Well.

About ten years ago I wrote a few quick pieces of what I thought would become a series called “Kat-Sitting”.  Submitted it to a publisher.  Was told, very nicely and firmly, that there was no readership for this kind of material.  The direct reference to F/F was never there, but the meaning was clear.  I never tried to publish anything again.  A few months ago, however, I discovered the dusty pages of the Kat manuscript and started playing around with them.

Until a certain person named Minelle said, “Hey, can I tell Celeste Jones about your stories?”  Of course, right?  A blog is public.

Then Celeste said, “Hey, why don’t you try to publish this?”  I thought aw shucks, they’re lovely stories but they’re F/F.  Not going to go through that again.  “Why not try?” she asked.  “Ebooks have changed everything.  It’s a writer’s market, and besides publishers you can always self-publish.”  Okay, I thought.  I’ll look into it.

Then I started talking with other ttwd authors.  Renee Rose gave me wonderful advice.  So did Cara Bristol and Sue Lyndon and Alta Hensley.  And behind the scenes, of course my dear bratty little sister Jane and PK and Lillie cheering me on, and so many of you wonderful readers who were talking with me both publicly and privately about Kat and Natalie.

“Why Lazy Day?” you ask.

Well.

You know how every writer considers his or her manuscript a precious first-born child?  I wanted a publisher that would take the time to listen to me, listen to my very real concerns about Kat’s marketability and the special treatment she will need in order to survive in the competitive world of M/F and erotica dominated kinky publishing, and reassure me that I would retain final control of my story.   I wanted Kat to be given the best home possible in a place where she would be loved, understood, and championed.

I approached several publishers.  Talked through various options.  Talked to many, many different people for advice and input.  Found some really wonderful options and thought long and hard about which place to start.  Took a deep breath and submitted the manuscript to Lazy Day late Monday afternoon.  Received a lovely letter promising to give the manuscript a look.  Had no idea how long to wait.  (For a point of reference, many publishers give 6-8 weeks as a typical response time for submissions from a new author.)

Waited.

Waited.

Got the contract offer today.

Screamed and cried and shouted from the house-tops.

Pinch me, please.  Am I Cinderella?  Is this all a dream?  OMG!  That has been my fancy graduate-school vocabulary ever since receiving the contract offer.  OMG!

After ten years, F/F domestic discipline has been given a chance to try the publication market.  Please help prove Lazy Day right in taking a chance with Kat.  Please?  F/F non-sexual DD fiction is not exactly the top-selling genre at the moment, and I would love for this to be the beginning of a new trend.

But for right now, I am reading and re-reading every single word of the letter sent to me by the publisher.  Ever since I was about seven years old, I knew I would grow up to be a writer.  I just never thought my first published book would be a spanky one.  😀

Thank you, thank you, thank you for caring about two women named Kat and Natalie.  Thank you for visiting their blog and reading about their lives.  Thank you for crying, laughing, and even worrying about them through their difficulties and good times.  I’m sorry that their stories have to go offline for now, but they will come back better than ever in March.  Now that you’ve all learned from Celeste how to use an e-reader to get kinky books, I hope that The Way Home will find its way to your preferred e-reader next year.

“What next?” you ask.

Well.  After I stop shrieking and crying with joy long enough to settle in cloud eight or so (have been on cloud nine all day), I may think about getting some work done for my day job.

Or I may just shriek and celebrate some more.

Thank you to Lazy Day and all of the wonderful support network of friends who helped to make this happen.

“No one reads F/F,” the doubters said.  “Spankings are always sexual,” they said.

“Vindication is mine,” saith Ana.

55 thoughts on “Kat-Sitting gets a book contract!

  1. Bobbsroom says:

    Congratulations young lady, hope you’re a great success and go from strength to strength. All your hard work is paying off.

    Thanks for following on twitter

    BOB B

    Like

  2. Lillie says:

    Ana 😀
    You know that Ian and I are sooooo proud of you 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Remember all of us spankers back here in blogland when you are rich and famous.
    and we can wait for the release of Minelle’s Great BDSM Adventure! Who, I wonder, will portray her in the movie version?
    🙂

    Like

  3. Bas says:

    Congratulations Ana. How is the view from Cloud 9?
    Can you stil see us, ordinary people from up there?
    ****waving to high up in the sky******

    Any ideas about dates yet?
    Lazy day publishers. Is that Kindle format or other format?

    Like

  4. :) says:

    Awwww. No more Kat updates. No wonder there wasn’t anything on recently.

    Thanks so much for your work so far! Congratulations, you really deserve this! I’ll be sure to get the book. :DD I am now eagerly waiting for March.

    Err, so are Kat and Nat ever going to email again?

    Like

    • Ana says:

      What do you mean, again? Did you send an email to Kat that didn’t get a reply? And yes, Kat will continue to email. 🙂

      Thank you! It has been so wonderful to have you reading. I hope that you’ll stick around for this blog?

      Like

  5. Cara Bristol says:

    Congratulations on your Lazy Day contract. This is so exciting! One of the benefits of ebooks is that it has opened up the publishing market and readers now have subgenres available to them that they never had before!

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Sophie, do you write F/F? It doesn’t look like your current books are F/F, but is that your WIP? Oh, please say yes!!

      Glad to connect with you and looking forward to working together. 🙂

      Like

  6. JoanneBest says:

    I’ve read this post before, but when I saw it on your Twitter-feed yesterday I reread it (a habit I have with everything you write because ❤ )
    Do you believe that things happen for a reason? Like this particular post regarding your first publishing contract appears again at the exact time I'm trying to muster up the courage to do the same thing you did, submit.
    Oh the places I could go with that last word 😛 but we're talking a different kind of submitting here. 😀

    I guess I'm just trying to say thank you for the unintentional nudge I needed. Now the rest is up to me, and I'm thinking that this is the year I can breathe and concentrate on myself and what I want to do with my life.
    Thank you for sharing your story, showing me that dreams can come true as long as you stick to it and follow through.
    You've given me hope, and that hope is big enough to fill the hole in my heart. Even though they're up There, I know my Parents can see me, and I will make them proud, so thank you again and again…now to get back to writing 🙂

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

