Ways that our books are like babies

Many of us say that our books are like babies.  While few would disagree, I was surprised after some reflection to realize just how true this truism actually is, as they say, “in real life”.

Ways that books are like babies?

  • They keep me up at night when I should be sleeping.
    .
  • They follow me around everywhere.  I can’t stop thinking about them, either.
    .
  • No matter how much time and attention I give, it’s never enough.
    .
  • Each change or correction is painful.
    .
  • I am so close to them that it’s hard for me to see how other people see them.
    .
  • I asked many people for advice but finally had to learn to trust my own judgment.
    .
  • They compete with each other so that it’s difficult to focus on one at a time.  Plus, they get jealous of time I spend with the other ones.
    .
  • I want everyone else to like them.
    .
  • If they don’t make a good impression, I worry what others will think about me.
    .
  • Someone being mean to or about them will make me furious.
    .
  • It was a long, long, long painful gestation and delivery.
    .
  • Mood swings, irritability, and emotional highs/lows were a part of life until they were born.  Sometimes afterward, too.
    .
  • Sometimes I despaired whether conception would actually happen.
    .
  • The first time someone said something nice about them, I was over the moon.
    .
  • Sometimes I only see all of the mistakes I made in creating and raising them.  Other times I am amazed that they really came from me.
    .
  • I could spend hours talking about them and showing pictures, and the way to my heart is to say that you love them.
    .
  • They never would have come into existence without the help, support, and love of an extended network of friends and family.
    .
  • Sometimes I need to learn how to let go and accept that others can give me better advice about my books than I can.
    .
  • I support other book-babies in the community, but wayyyyy deep down inside I secretly hope that people will like mine just a teeny bit better.  Or at least one person will.  😉
    .
  • Sometimes when I look at all that other authors’ book-babies are accomplishing, I sigh and wonder if my book-babies will measure up.  Then I try to reassure myself that each one is special in its own way.
    .
  • When we finally have to send our book-babies out into the cold cruel world, all we can do is hope for the best.  We loved, nurtured, and prepared them as well as we could.  Now it’s time to let them flourish on their own.
20 thoughts on “Ways that our books are like babies

  1. Joelle Casteel says:

    Thanks for writing that, Ana! I loved that so much, laughed so hard that I was surprised my Master didn’t come out of His den to see why I was laughing. Quite a few hit home in my current predicament.

    Joelle

    Like

    • Ana says:

      First your discussion with Sue and then Cara’s message today made me think about it. I made myself feel better writing it, so I’m glad if it did the same for you. 🙂

      One good thing about books…no temper tantrums! Well, except our own…

      Like

  2. Lillie says:

    Like giving birth, I am sure the pain from creating your book will be the easiest to forget. They will make you laugh and cry like nothing else can.
    Enjoy. 🙂

    Like

  3. PK says:

    Absolutely fantastic! Everything you said is right on the money! They are so much a part of you and deep down, you never really let go.

    Hugs,
    PK

    Like

  4. Minelle says:

    Wow, right on the money girl. I am not in the same category writing wise…but I can relate since when I create a piece of art, I am on tender hooks waiting to hear what others think. I doesn’t matter whether you love the piece, it is part of your soul and can be so easily damaged by thoughtless criticism.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Exactly…all kinds of art creation are like that. We have to put our soul into it to make it worthwhile, but then someone can crush it. Sometimes I wish I were an accountant. They get good pay, too. 😉

      Like

    • Ana says:

      Not enough to cause hurt feelings or to damage relationships…just a quiet little, “Yeah, your baby IS cuter/sweeter/nicer/prettier/smarter”. A secret to hug to your chest and smile over.

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

