The Next Big Thing: Authors Tagging Authors

Sue Lyndon tagged me in this blog hop, so you can blame her thank her for this post.

Here are the rules:

  • Give credit to the person/blog that tagged you
  • Post the rules for this hop
  • Answer these ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress) on your blog
  • Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them.

1. What is the working title of your book?

The Vengeance of Mrs. Claus

2. What genre does the book fall under?

That is a tough question!  Contemporary DD with a touch of fantasy, I suppose?

3. Which actors would you choose to play your characters for the movie rendition?

I will decline to answer this question for the same reason that I give little physical descriptions of my characters: I don’t like assigning races/ethnicities to fictional characters.  Let’s just say that a few “characters” from blogland make an appearance.  😉

4. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Fresh-faced, slightly spoiled college kid learns that Santa is real, but it’s Mrs. Claus she should be worrying about!

5. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

It will be published with a commercial publisher, but since the details have not yet been sorted out I won’t say which one.  Hoping for a release by early December.

6. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I wrote this one extremely quickly because it was a lot of fun.  Instead of the intense drama of Kat and Natalie, it’s a lot of silliness mixed with loving family interactions plus the sweetness of a mother-daughter bond.  I think that it took me approximately ten days to write, but that included all-out sprints of writing up to 8,000 words per day.  I was a bit crazy and running on the adrenaline of receiving my first acceptance letter for The Way Home.

7. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Wow.  Um…absolutely nothing in my genre.  Nothing outside of my genre, either.  Can we just call it unique?  😉

8. Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I wrote a little snippet a while ago of dialogue between “Ana” and Santa at the North Pole.  At that time several blogging friends who shall remain nameless started a campaign saying that I deserved a spanking.  (As if!)  I tossed off a few lines to amuse myself with “Ana” pleading her case to Santa and being told that the only way to avoid lumps of coal for Christmas was to behave.  The response was so positive (several blogging friends who shall remain nameless were positively gleeful at the idea…hmph!) that when I was looking for new story ideas I revisited that snippet, changed the name of the main character, and had fun.

9. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

This story also contains my first M/F scene!  I put up a snippet for Six Sentence Sunday and was shocked at the positive response.  I felt silly writing M/F, but people liked it  and called it hot (MY writing…hot?  I didn’t even know my writing could get lukewarm!).  Since The Vengeance of Mrs. Claus is such a lighthearted story and doesn’t take itself seriously, it was a perfect place to continue experimenting with the M/F scenes.

I think it’s the perfect Christmas story for even grumps who don’t like Christmas.  It has a little bit of everything to satisfy many different tastes, it has a happy ending, and it’s just plain fun.  Didn’t you always want a Christmas spanking?  😀

Question #10

Tag, you’re it!

I’m tagging these five authors:

Sophie Sansregret

Alexandria Szeman

Sunny Girl

KT Grant

Jade Cary

14 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing: Authors Tagging Authors

  1. Julia says:

    I love your answer to number 3. Mainly because the descriptions hardly ever matter to me anyway, I generally just skip over it because I get a picture in my head of the character just by reading about the character, you know?

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Is this the wrong time to tell you that I use Oral-B toothbrushes? 😀

      You’re standing in the corner because you like it. Don’t try to pretend otherwise, young lady.

      Like

      • AlexandriaConstantinova says:

        I only like standing in the corner because I don’t like to see what’s going on in the room behind me. You wouldn’t either is someone were standing behind you with an Oral-B toothbrush (for what purpose, I cannot even begin to imagine, being the good twin of the two sisters you know and love). Alexandria. p.s. will do my WIP blog this week. Promise. Please don’t cane me with that toothbrush.

        Like

        • Ana says:

          LOL! I will now have to try to cane you with a toothbrush so I can say I did it. I keep checking your blog and hoping…hmph! Send me a tweet or something when you put it up so I don’t miss it, ok?

          Be good! Or should I just say have fun? 😀

          Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

