Love Our Lurkers 7!

Our favorite Bonnie of My Bottom Smarts is organizing the seventh annual Love Our Lurkers Day!

Hooray!

The idea is to thank our lurkers (who make up the majority of readers) who read and enjoy posts but don’t comment.  Perhaps you are shy, intimidated by other commenters, see many comments and think that yours would not be welcome, think that you have nothing new to add, are concerned about privacy and leaving your information on a blog comment box, or for many other possible reasons choose not comment.

Although I read every email sent to me by lurkers, I am often hesitant to begin a correspondence.  As anyone knows who has been reading Governing Ana for a while, I write a lot.  I write a great deal professionally, on the blog, and now for my books.  This time of year is especially busy.  I enjoy getting your emails–don’t get me wrong, please!–but I correspond regularly with so many readers that it’s difficult to add many more.  I love the private conversations, but I also love having the group discussions here.  We have so many perspectives, so many terrific people, and so much to offer each other.  We may not agree with each other some of the time (maybe most!), but I have worked very hard to keep this blog as a sacred space where differing views are not just permitted but encouraged.  I was extremely nervous posting publicly my reasons for not giving physical characteristics about characters because race is such an incendiary topic.  Now, don’t think that I agreed with every perspective in the comments.  I didn’t, and I don’t think anyone else did either.  But we had a great conversation without negativity.

What I am trying to say is that this is a space where you will not be judged for commenting.  If your comment is inflammatory, insulting, demeaning to any group of people, etc. I will remove it…but no one here has ever approached that boundary.  If you worry whether you have anything to say or if I really mean YOU…yes, I do!  Cross my heart.

I love you, my lurkers.  I love you for coming to read my blog daily, weekly, monthly, or even just once.  I love you for the reading and thinking that you do, even if you never tell another soul.  I never left a single comment until I started a blog of my own.  I thought no one really wanted to hear from me.  I thought I would sound stupid.

It’s okay.  Not just I, but the blog community loves you.  Today is your day.

We love you, dear lurkers.  Won’t you come out and say hi so we can say thank you?

As an incentive, today I will be writing a mini-story.  For every comment that you post, I will write one sentence of a Kat and Natalie story.  For this post, instead of responding to your comments* I will add to the story one sentence at a time.  If you are a lurker and this is your first time commenting, I will add TWO sentences.

Because I need to get a sense of how many sentences I’ll have before I start writing, I will wait until 5 PM EST or when I have 15 comments to begin writing.  For your comment, you can tell me:

  • what you’d like to have happen in the story
  • a response to lurking or being a lurker
  • how long you’ve been reading Governing Ana
  • what brought you here
  • what you’d like to see more of
  • the favorite story or snippet you’ve read so far
  • what your heart desires…the list is endless!

Ready?  Get set…de-lurk!

(Oh, and even if you’re not a lurker?  I still love you, too.)

*Oh, who am I kidding?  Of course I’ll respond to your comments, too.  I can’t help it!  I just love you SOOOOOO much.  😀

56 thoughts on “Love Our Lurkers 7!

    • Ana says:

      This is your official de-lurking, Mick! I checked, and this is actually your first honest-to-goodness comment. Thank you for coming out of “hiding”. 😀

      Like

  1. PastryTwatter says:

    Hi Ana! I started reading (lurking) your blog about 6 weeks ago. Loved your Halloween story! Congratulations on your upcoming books!

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Okay, I lied. I can’t help commenting. 🙂 I am SO glad you delurked! Thank you! Your nick makes me giggle, by the way. Thank you, thank you, thank you. 😀 Please feel free to comment any time you like!

      Like

    • PastryTwatter says:

      I forgot to mention I found you quite by accident even though lurking on other ttwd blogs. But it was Fika the lured me to the site at first – I am Swedish so was so excited not sure what to expect. I love Monday mornings now thanks!

      Like

      • Ana says:

        Oh!!! I LOVE that this is the way you found my blog!!!! So you know the wonderful glories of Fika on a regular basis. *jealous happy sigh* So cool!

        *giggle* I totally confused someone else when I posted Fika on Saturday a while back because of scheduling conflicts. I’ve learned my lesson and will always post Fika on Mondays from now on. 😀

        Welcome!!!

        Like

    • Ana says:

      It makes you perfectly lovely and very much welcome. 😀 Shall I write 1.5 sentences for you? Hehe…

      Happy LOL! Thank you for all the work you do for our community. Sorry that I have been absent lately.

      Like

  2. Kaelah says:

    Happy LOL Day, Ana! Sorry for not having commented in the recent weeks. As you know, life got in the way. But now I can see a light at the end of the tunnel, so I will hopefully soon have more time for writing comments again. I cross my fingers that lots of lurkers will raise their heads and I’m curious to read the resulting story. 🙂

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I missed you! I wished you were around for the spanking heroine discussion. I wondered what you would think.

      I am glad things are getting a little less crazy for you, and I hope you like the story. 😀 Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  3. Cathy V says:

    I’m a lurker! Until today that is. I also commented on your “To Rake or Jump” post. I’m out of control today with all of my comments!
    I appreciate you putting your thoughts and experiences out there for us to enjoy 🙂

    Like

  4. Michael says:

    Happy Love Our Lurkers Day, Ana. I commented on your wonderful Bonnie Appreciation Day event, which goes hand in hand with LOL Day, so am not a true lurker but I do lurk more than I comment. Greatly enjoy your writing and your blog. Thanks for all you do.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      It is so great to see you again! I am similar for you…a lurker-ish but did comment for BAD. We went from BAD to LOL. 😀 I like it! Happy LOL to you, too!

      Like

  5. Julie says:

    Hi Ana!

    Any opportunity to get another sentence of Kat and Natalie is worth a comment. 🙂 Thanks so much for the wonderful writing, and such an interesting blog.

    And congratulations on the acceptance letter(s)!!

    Julie

    Like

    • Ana says:

      LOL your three comments crack me up. Thank you for your reading and enjoyment and encouragement. It’s lovely to see you come public! I think you will like the story I have in mind.

      Like

  6. Julie says:

    And, as a member of Team Kat (are there any others?), I hope Natalie – possibly at your urging? – recognizes just how good Kat has been lately.

    At least relatively speaking. 🙂

    Like

  7. Underling says:

    Hello there! I don’t have anything to contribute to your story – I just wanted to say Happy LOL Day, and although not quite a lurker I do very much enjoy your blog!

    Best Wishes.

    Undy.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      You’re alive!!! *faint* I just saw your post on Bonnie’s list and thought it must be a mistake. It hasn’t been a year yet since your last post! 😀 Happy LOL Day!

      Like

    • Ana says:

      This is your first comment. Hi, former lurker! Thank you for joining it. I had so much going on yesterday that I could barely keep up with comments, let alone visit…but today I hope to get around to people’s blogs. It sounds like it was a wonderful day!

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

