Happy birthday, Natalie!

Today is the birthday of one of my first and favorite spanking fiction characters, Natalie Mestecom.  She refused to let me say *which* birthday it is today (and I’m not foolish enough to provoke her…Kat does enough of that already!), but I don’t need her permission to say that it is her birthday.  I hope.  We always pay when we do something that our characters don’t like, don’t we?

I found when working on my synopsis for Kat 2 that it was difficult to condense character bios to a manageable length.  The others were easier, especially Simple Gifts, because in some ways I am just beginning to know Carene and Leila.  Natalie, on the other hand (and Kat, but her birthday will come later), is someone I could talk about for hours.  She is such a bundle of contradictions.  She won’t let anyone in, but she demands that Kat be completely open.  She would freak at losing any of her independence, but she demands Kat to trust and rely on her.  She would hate for someone else to take care of her (except in a few breakthrough moments), but she expects Kat to allow herself to be taken care of.  She is charming and charismatic, but almost no one really knows her.

A few people have made the comment lately (all right, more than a few) that Natalie would benefit from a spanking or two herself.  Yes, she is too strict and prickly and has high expectations for Kat, but I feel protective of Natalie in a way that I don’t with Kat.  People generally like Kat.  She is the heroine, the vulnerable one, and the Kat stories are…well…Kat stories.  People cheer for Kat’s triumphs and are dismayed by her falls.  Natalie, on the other hand, has more mixed reviews.

I’ve wondered whether gendered expectations are part of the reason.  A hardnosed male HoH is usually viewed in a different way than a similarly tough female HoH.  While a woman who offers herself as a sex object, especially for men (dominatrix, etc.) is allowed to have “power” because it is intensely sexualized and usually for pay, a woman who wields HoH power over another woman for love and betterment is harder for many people to understand.

I’ve also wondered whether these gendered expectations require a certain maternal, soft, loving quality from a female HoH that would not be expected from a male one.  Some female HoHs might be maternal, soft, and loving.  Others might be stern and exacting.  There is rarely a middle ground between a female spanker who is a cruel femdom who lives to humiliate…and a female spanker who only does what a “superior” male spanker directs her to do (or only spanks in order to titillate male viewers).  These images and fantasies are fine for the people who enjoy them, but there is a wealth of roles in fiction for male spankers to play.  Can’t we start opening up roles for female spankers as well?

One of the promises that I made to myself in writing the Kat stories…er, excuse me Natalie, I mean the Kat and Natalie stories…was to write something real.  I didn’t want to write a fantasy that would make a nice role-play.  I wanted to write something that people could read and imagine themselves participating in.

Today Natalie is being feted by Kat, Mama Jane, and Curtis.  She is overwhelmed and sends her love to everyone.  (Kat, the naughty girl, is thoroughly relieved that a happy Natalie means a Natalie less likely to punish!)

Happy birthday to a woman who is imperfect but real in her imperfections.  She may drive Kat crazy at times, but Kat knows deep down that she wouldn’t have it any other way.

I just don’t understand why, if it’s Natalie’s birthday, that it’s Kat getting the spanking…  😉

P.S.  If you would like to leave a birthday wish for Natalie, I’ll make sure that she receives it.

P.P.S.  A little birdie told me that Natalie may be appearing sometime to take questions from and chat with readers.  🙂

22 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Natalie!

  1. PK says:

    I wish Natalie a very happy birthday and many more to come. I find she and Kat both to be fascinating characters and I also find myself wanting to argue with them both! (almost seems as if I have on occasion!) I’m guessing you feel more protective of Natalie than you do Kat. I sometimes feel that way about Tom because many of my readers don’t always like him. But the HOH, male or female, do have a tough job.

    I hope the birthday party is wonderful!

    Hugs,
    PK

    Like

    • Ana says:

      You most certainly have tried to argue, my dear. 😀 And yes, Natalie protects Kat so there is no one to protect Natalie.

      However, I almost always support Tom. 😉

      Like

  2. Minelle says:

    Hey there Ana dear, and Happy birthday to Nat!
    I disagree that it is a gender thing. I think that we all place ourselves in stories and respond as such. The defense of an HOH whether male or female comes from our natural instinct to defend.
    Some people may place themselves as Kats defender but that doesn’t mean we do not also understand Nat’s motivation/purpose. We love them both.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Natalie loved her “present” from Kat…lol.

      I think you’re a bit unusual in that you strive to understand all the characters no matter what their motivation. I think it’s sweet that you like Charlie so much. 🙂

      Like

  3. Bas says:

    Happy Birthday to Natalie.
    Don’t tell her, but I like her the most.
    I have never felt the urge to spank Natalie, but I remember moments that I thought: ‘if you are not going to spank Kat, I’m going to do it myself.’

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Really, I didn’t know you liked Natalie best. Is it because you identify with her as the spanker?

      Poor Kat! She most certainly is thoroughly spanked even if she does get away with some things. Maybe it’s a good thing you don’t have Natalie’s email. 😉

      Like

  4. Young Lady says:

    I have never met either of them, but I wish Natalie the happiest of birthdays and feel for poor Kat. I bet Kat is a really a very good girl, it’s just buried under so much cuteness and micheviousness that Natalie doesn’t understand. (coming from a very well spanked girl ;-))

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Ah, we will have to introduce you to Kat and Natalie soon. 🙂 If you’re interested, I can send you a few links to the mini-stories that I still have up.

      Kat would fervently agree with you that she is very good indeed and Natalie doesn’t understand. 😉 I’m not sure Natalie would!

      Nice to “meet” you. 🙂

      Like

  5. pao says:

    Happy birthday, Natalie! I hope you’ll have a great many more to come that we’ll all hear of 🙂 I think I can sort of understand her contradictions and the necessity for strictness to a certain extent. I wonder if the mixed reviews are because people don’t really know her and her motivations in addition to the gender/role expectations.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Hm…people not really knowing Natalie is quite possible because she is so closed-mouthed about herself. On the other hand, some of that understanding probably comes from having read all of her story. I think people like you who read from the beginning have a much better idea where she is coming from.

      Hope you are well, pao. 🙂

      Like

  6. jadecary says:

    Happy birthday, Natalie, and thank you Ana for bringing these characters to us. I, for one, am not familiar with F/F spanking fiction or romances, but you’ve opened a new door for me and I appreciate it. Thank you.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I’m honored that you are starting to appreciate F/F. 🙂 I think there is something universal about women’s friendship that we can relate to, romance or not. Maybe your next work can be F/F. Hey, I can hope! 😀

      Natalie says: F/F is sexy. LOL!

      Like

  7. kiwigirliegirl says:

    Happy Birthday Nat. I hope she had a wonderful day.

    I too am enjoying the antics of Nat and Kat very much – very different to what I expected. But i would point out that I always imagine a female HOH to be stern and exacting rather than the maternal and soft.
    Hugs kiwi xx

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Well…Natalie certainly is stern and exacting when she needs to be. Those moments tend to be the intense conflict/drama ones, though, and hard to show in just a small snippet. Wait for it…so you’ll have to read the book.

      giggle

      xx

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

