Advent Calendar Thankfulness!

Slatted-Thankfulness-Sign

Before I get to thankfulness (or, rather, as a special nod of thankfulness), I’d like to give a special shout-out to some wonderful friends who have written a post about The Vengeance of Mrs. Claus, due out on Saturday.  Thank you.  Thank you very much for taking the time to support me.  I know that not all of your readers (or mine, for that matter) are interested in spanking stories, and it’s a risk to put up what essentially amounts to an advertisement on a personal blog.  That you used your considerable influence and readership to highlight my book means more than I can say.

I’m very sorry for the inconvenience, but for some reason the “buy link” for Blushing is not working.  I’m not sure what’s going on.  I’m sorry that you won’t be able to pre-order for the moment, and I certainly hope it’s fixed soon.  I’ll let everyone know as soon as I find out anything.

As to the (additional) thankfulnesses, after Tuesday’s “Blue Christmas” post I wanted to go back to the basics.  One of my very favorite sayings, and one that inspired me through many Thursdays when I struggled to find things to be thankful about, is the theme for today.

“What if you woke up today with only the things you said ‘thank you’ for yesterday?”

So my list of thankfulnesses today:

  • A safe, warm home
  • Food in my refrigerator (and, incidentally, a refrigerator to keep food from spoiling)
  • Clothes that are clean, in good condition, and the right size
  • Work to do that gives me a sense of purpose
  • Readers who make me laugh, smile, and “aw” at the clever, poignant, and silly things that you say
  • An internet connection and a computer
  • Electricity, lighting, heat/air-conditioning, warm running water, and the funds to pay for these conveniences
  • Access to medical care
  • A car and gas to put in the tank
  • Fun “extras” that go beyond my basic necessities: books to read, games to play, new Christmas slippers to wear…
  • The chance to write stories professionally and share these stories with others
  • Friends who cheer me up, support me, and when necessary suggest ways to re-think what’s going on
  • Friends and readers who indulge me in my various whims, whether it’s a friendly rivalry (go Team Ana!) or a moment to reflect on losses or some ultra-silly meaninglessness

Thank you.  Will you please share with us something you are thankful for today?

51 thoughts on “Advent Calendar Thankfulness!

  1. Penelope says:

    I am thankful that clever people invent things like paracetamol to stop heads from aching.

    I am thankful that I am free to stay up too late and then have a nice warm bed to get into when I am too mega-sleepy to stay up any more.

    And I am thankful that people have warmth inside them that they share with others to make their insides warmer.

    Like

  2. Joseph McNamara says:

    I am thankful for a wonderful new relationship that continues to grow and open me to a part of my life that has been dormant for sometime. I am also thankful for so many supportive friends who daily remind me that our world is full of caring and loving people……

    Like

    • Ana says:

      If this new relationship is the reason for your wonderful writing, then we all benefit.

      When I was younger, I thought that this kind of kink meant being disgusting and perverted. I, too, am thankful to find caring and loving people even within ttwd-land.

      Like

  3. Bas says:

    Just like Julia, I am thankful for pre-ordering before the link broke.
    Now, I will be thankful, when the link comes back and you check if it is still the same link as on my blog.

    Like

  4. pao says:

    I’ll have to echo Julia and Bas on the preorder link 😀 also I’m thankful to have a younger sibling to bully, play with, amuse, protect, love and to have a second childhood with.

    Like

  5. Sunny Girl says:

    First and Foremost, I am thankful I woke up this morning next to my husband (and after the last few days, this is meaninginful); see the sunshine, get kisses from my kittie (17 yr old kittie), live in a free country and have everything I need at my fingertips.

    I am thankful that I won Ana’s prize. Can’t wait to claim it.

    Hope BB gets straightened out soonest.

    Thank you.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      17-year-old cat! Wow! :-O

      Yay for togetherness time.

      I’m sure you’ll enjoy Sue’s book. But don’t let that influence you into voting Team Sue next time, please? 🙂

      Like

  6. Kelsey Summer says:

    I am most thankful for my family – my husband and three beautiful children and that all of us are healthy. I’m also thankful that my boss isn’t in the office right now so I can read these posts.

    Like

  7. His First Mate says:

    Thankful for my kids, husband, mom, friends, a warm home, money to pay our bills,food to eat, and the fact that my brother will be coming home for Christmas (He’s in the Navy)

    Like

  8. Tess says:

    Your banner makes me want to make some Christmas cookies pronto….so I am thankful that I have all the ingredients in the house to do exactly that:)

    Like

  9. Minelle says:

    I cannot even begin to list what I am thankful for because I am blessed with so much!
    I am so very lucky to have the love of my husband and children with me every day. I am thankful everyday to still have my parents love, humor and wisdom.
    I am so happy for friends and extended family who share the trials and tribulations of life with me. Listening always! Lol

    Like

  10. Sassy Chassy says:

    I am thankful for so much! I am thankful for my wonderfully close & supportive family, for my creative, witty, & independent thinking children, for this blog that brings so much joy to me every single day, for an online spanking community that is so supportive and fun, for heat, lights, internet, phones, great independent charter schools for my kiddos, and pajamas!

    Like

  11. Joelle Casteel says:

    I’m thankful for my Master, walking up at 10:45 am next to Him was wonderful- and all too rare (Him working midnights and me living on a day time schedule) I’m thankful for Xion settling down and my son’s help in tending the dog that allowed me to catch up on sleep after another night of panic attacks. I’m sad to say that, if going on what I said thank you for yesterday was all I had, I wouldn’t have much this morning 😦 including my son…. having a teen definitely has it’s days.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Sometimes it IS super-hard to say thank you for people who drive us crazy! I just realized there are a whole host of people I’d be without today, too. I might be happier in the short-term, but not in the long-term.

      Like

      • Joelle Casteel says:

        With my teen, I struggle with this notion of “But!!! You think you have it so hard?!? You’re home educated by someone who respects that you’re a night owl. Who doesn’t question that you want to listen to music with vulgarity in it. Who doesn’t verbally abuse you the way grandma abused me”- and he’s seen how my mom still doesn’t treat me right to this day. But his experience is his and it’s still not easy to be who is he and live where we do.

        Like

        • Ana says:

          On the other hand, there are always other perspectives. It’s easy to see the ways that kids don’t have struggles that the previous generation had, but kids also have new struggles that take their place. We often hear that kids are spoiled, but who does the spoiling? I don’t mean you specifically but just in general.

          Like

          • Joelle Casteel says:

            True, and it gets harder as our definitions change. One of my problems is that my mother fully believes in “Cry it out” while I favor “attachment parenting.” Now not to get into a debate on parenting styles, but she looks at my choices as spoiling. Of course, this is the same woman that blames my extreme behavior in my teens years on the fact that she didn’t spank me as a child But like my teen has the reality of being home educated as an only child in a very conservative area- the majority of his friends are online. so yeah, he has struggles too

            Like

  12. Celeste Jones says:

    What a great quote about what you were thankful for yesterday. Thought provoking.

    I am thankful for many things, but I think one thing that makes life much easier for me is being thankful for what I have instead of always striving for more. Not that I don’t want to improve and be a better person/mother/wife etc but that I don’t look around my house wishing it was bigger or fancier and that sort of thing.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I think we’ll always want more, but it’s up to us what kind of “more” we want…maybe we want more self-improvement or more developed friendships/relationships rather than material things. Maybe more yarn for you. 🙂

      Yes, I love that quote. Originally it was a religious context, but I wasn’t sure how that would go over here. What if you woke up today with only the things you thanked God for yesterday? It’s a good way to bring myself back to a bottom line.

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

