Kindergarten babies

I won’t be back online until late tonight.  I’m putting aside work plans and going to be with friends today.  I need to be reminded that “human” is not a synonym for “monster” and that not all people are evil, disgusting, depraved horrors.

What keeps going through my head is that old ditty.

Kindergarten baby, stick your head in gravy

Wash it off with applesauce and show it to the Navy

Kindergarteners are babies.  Elementary school students are slightly older babies.

It’s a sign of how horrible things have become when I see a story about a shooting and try not to think about it.  I flip over as fast as I can.

This one, though, chilled me.

Kindergarteners.

For those of you who have little ones or who take care of little ones or know people with little ones…

Hold them tight.

Tell them how much you love them.

For that matter, not just little ones.

We never know when everything will be taken away and we will lose someone who was the world to us.

I need to tell the people closest to me that I love them.

How about you?

.

(This is not an Advent Calendar post, comments do not count as entries, and I will not be awarding a prize today.  But of course any and all readers are welcome and encouraged to participate in the discussion.)

31 thoughts on “Kindergarten babies

  1. Cat says:

    Even though they are adults, I had to call both my sons just to hear their voices. I then had to get my tears under control before I could have my oldest put my granddaughters who are not much younger than the babies who were killed (2 & 4), on the phone. Now all I can do is sit here sick to my stomach, crying over the pain this horrific tragedy has caused. Sending prayers and thoughts of peace and healing to all.

    Blessings,
    Cat

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I can’t understand. Not even the tiniest bit. I can’t believe any of this is real. And if this is how I feel as an uninvolved bystander, to have been part of this tragedy…words fail me.

      Like

  2. Joelle Casteel says:

    Yes, these always confuse me. Although as a friend said on facebook, she talked about all the gun control talk… what about access to appropriate care for mental health? Not saying that was the case with this shooting, but it’s possible. I know, as a bipolar person, how important having a good support system is.
    But yes, kindergarten babies- even with mine being a teen, that hits me as right. There is still so much for them to learn.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Yes, the lack of care for mental illness is shameful. Whether or not that was a factor in this case…there never will be enough blame to bring back these lives. How can we raise our children to be good, decent people?

      Like

      • Joelle Casteel says:

        And without being anxious all the time. I know we can’t compare the US directly to any other country, but yesterday on Facebook, I saw one post that just shocked me to the core. I have friends all along the continuum of those who believe in strict gun control to those who think there shouldn’t be any. And one of these “there shouldn’t be any” posted a picture that included the caption “They gives guns to all the teachers in Israel.” shudders.

        Like

  3. Lucy says:

    I have two Kindergartners….I have spent much of the day trying to understand….crying for the parents of those angels…and holding my boys tight. So young…so innocent….

    May God hold those families in the palm of his hand……

    ~Lucy

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I’ve been trying to think about other things today, and then I think about the people who won’t be able to think about anything else for a very long time. I hope you and your boys love each other and hold each other tight. We are so lucky when we don’t even know we are lucky, and then only when something awful happens do we realize how lucky we really are.

      Like

  4. Rogue says:

    My Little Man is six years old. Walking into his classroom means being surrounded by little ones who are so excited to see you and share their thoughts…Your hair is very pretty, My mom bought me this shirt, My dad says not to tell anyone…but he’s really Superman.

    They are so innocent and pure and real. What happened to those precious angels is beyond heartbreaking.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I know most ages of childhood seem like they are the best, but that 5-10 range is truly magical. So much love, so much innocence, and so much life. This all seems as if it must be some stupid joke and we will wake up to find out that it didn’t really happen.

      Like

  5. SassyTwatter says:

    It is incomprehensible that there are such sick people out there who could hurt innocent children. As soon as I heard the news I was on the phone to my best friend in CT. He lives just 15 minutes away in the same county where it happened. I felt sick to my stomach until I he called me back to say that his kids ages 5 and 7 were safe at home. I felt relieved but couldn’t help myself from crying for the familes who lost someone today.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I can’t imagine going home to tell a 10 year old that his or her little sibling was killed in something like this. At times like this, “human” doesn’t seem very much different from “animal”, except animals kill for food and not sport.

      Like

  6. Sunny Girl says:

    How do you wrap your head around this? My heart and prayers goes to the community of Newton and condolences and prayers for strength to the families of those who have lost their lives today.

    Like

  7. Blue Bird says:

    I can’t process it. I just keep crying and thinking that the last time I went to take my son home early from school because he was sick, I went through the check in process at the front office. When I went to the clinic to get my son another mother came in the side door without a permit and took her son. No one questioned her. They have been sending out e-mails all day that they have a security system in place and our kids are safe. What security system?!
    I think I will be sending my own e-mails to the Superintendent.

    My condolences and prayers to everyone this has touched.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      There is no security system that will ever be foolproof. We like to kid ourselves that we can create a safe world, but we can’t. We can’t construct enough rules to keep out tragedy. 😦

      Like

  8. Minelle says:

    After spending my morning with Kindergarten, and leaving at the end of the day with hugs and love from so many of my students, I have no words to express my feelings. Why?
    Tears.

    Like

  9. Kelsey S. says:

    I have a Kindergartener and can’t even imagine what these parents are going through. My son usually goes to bed by 7:00. Tonight he fell asleep on the couch and I can’t bring myself to bring him to his bed. I keep patting his little head and back. I have my two middle school kids with me too and can’t stop hugging them either.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      The hardest part is not knowing what to *do*. We can impose restrictions and paperwork and all kinds of hassle in an effort to feel protected, but we can’t control whether something like this will happen again. That’s the scariest part.

      Like

  10. Roz says:

    Amen Ana, I am truly sickened by what happened. It is a terrible tragedy that nobody should have to face and my thoughts and prayers are with the families of the victims.

    On on tight to you loved ones, and let them know they are loved!

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Every time I think about it, I want to throw up. It gave me a good hard reminder of how privileged I am and how much I whine about the little things.

      Yes, let’s let our loved ones know just how much they are loved.

      Like

  11. Natasha Knight says:

    All the lives lost and add to that all the families broken. I can’t understand it, there’s no explanation for it. I think there is no understanding it, it just doesn’t fit, it shouldn’t happen. Strength to all the families.

    Like

  12. Julia D. says:

    There are just no words. I feel deeply for the families and friends, actually for everybody involved, but I don’t have anything to say.

    Hugs, Julia

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

