Doubting Santa

Cara Bristol is sponsoring today’s Advent Calendar, but I’m afraid I had a small quibble with her question.  I was pleased when I saw the original version:

What made you doubt Santa Claus might not be real?

It makes perfect sense, right?  Since we all know that Mrs. Claus is awaiting her vengeance, then obviously Santa Claus is real…right?  There are plenty of forces in this world that cause doubt, but know that Santa *does* exist.

However, Cara then sent me a “corrected” version:

Advent question: What made you doubt Santa Claus might be real?

Now, the deal with the Advent Calendar was that authors who donated books had the option to choose Advent Calendar questions.  I didn’t intend to censor.  BUT…I sighed at seeing the change.  I said to Cara, “But Santa is real.”

Cara responded, “Of course Santa’s real, but one can have doubts.”

Nice answer.

And so I bring to you Cara’s Advent Calendar question: “What made you doubt Santa Claus might be real?”

We all know that he *is* real, but it’s understandable to have doubts.

Of Santa.

I wouldn’t recommend doubting the reality of Mrs. Claus.  She just may give a new meaning to “Vengeance”.

Unexpected Consequences, Rod and Cane Society Book 1

https://i0.wp.com/www.loose-id.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/312x470/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/C/B/CB_UnexpectedConsequences_coverlg.jpg

Jared belongs to the Rod and Cane Society, a secret organization of men who spank their wives to maintain domestic discipline. When Melania ignores a “request” from her husband and attempts to hide her disobedience, Jared spanks her.

While Jared believes the unpleasantness has been settled, for Melania it only has begun. Although she consented to the spanking, her fairytale notion of marriage has been shattered and she makes plans to leave Jared as soon as her parents return from vacation.

While she waits, Melania begins to see more positive aspects of domestic discipline. But just as she decides her love for Jared is paramount and she might be able to accept a domestic discipline marriage, Jared discovers she’d planned to leave him and once again her marriage is in jeopardy.

https://i1.wp.com/www.loose-id.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/312x470/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/C/B/CB_FalsePretenses_coverlg.jpg

False Pretenses, Rod and Cane Society Book 2

Freelance journalist Emma Dupree needs a sensational story to boost her career and free her from the corporate hell of her day job. She finds her blockbuster in the Rod and Cane Society, an organization that encourages men to spank their spouses and goes undercover to expose it as a kinky perv organization. Fearing she could be scooped by a rival reporter, she keeps a tight lid on her story, not even telling her new boyfriend.

Dan Tanner knows all about keeping secrets. He’s a member of the kinky perv organization Emma is striving to expose. This real estate agent has a major spanking fetish and would like nothing more than to get his hands on Emma’s ass, but fears rejection from his sexy new lady who insists she’s 100 percent pure vanilla. Can two people operating under False Pretenses make a go of it?

Body Politics, Rod and Cane Society Book 3, available January 8, 2013, from Loose Id (and from online booksellers a few weeks later)

Feminist Stephanie Gordon knows the instant she meets blind date Mark DeLuca it’s not going to work. Sure the deputy chief of police is criminally sexy, but he’s arrogant, domineering and sexist. Thank goodness after the evening ends, she’ll never have to see him again.

A member of the Rod and Cane Society, an organization of men who spank, Mark DeLuca is attracted to Stephanie like a paddle to a well-rounded ass. He sees beneath the shield of feminist militancy to the soft, sensitive woman she tries to hide. When she storms away in a snit, the chase is on. Can a man who spanks convince a diehard feminist her true strength lies in submission?

40 thoughts on “Doubting Santa

  1. Joseph McNamara says:

    This is a real good one for me, My Father was a semi-professional Santa Clause for most of the month of December. Many charitable organizations, and a whole host of retail establishments were blessed by his presence. One year the local Police Department’s Benevolent org. had their annual food and toy giveaway and picked my father, as Santa up at our home. I heard the siren and obviously saw my dad. My belief system about Santa changed from then on, but in a good way as I then got to travel on occasion with “Santa” as his helper…..

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Oh, fun! I can see you tagging along and creating mischief as Santa’s “helper”…I took my friend to visit Santa last week and although he did look the part (real beard), he also looked immensely tired. I don’t think playing Santa was his first choice of part-time jobs. My friend was thrilled with her picture so I was happy for her, but it did seem that Santa was having an off day.

      Like

  2. Minelle says:

    Great question, but hard to answer….. I always believed in Santa and never strayed from that belief no matter what. Even when others tested my belief with fake stories about ‘who’ Santa was I never indulged their fantasies.
    Oh and Ana No one EVER doubts Mrs Claus!
    Cara– I love your books and since I received an Amazon gift card and B&N gift card I have a list ready to order! (Course I will share the gift cards ‘some’ with my family…..in case Santa is watching……but I will still indulge myself plenty)

    Like

    • Ana says:

      You can’t doubt Mrs. Claus when you keep sending her after me, Minelle!

      I honestly don’t remember a time when I believed in Santa. I’m sure that I must have, but I don’t remember it.

      Now…I was scolded for not using a gift card for myself, so I’m assuming that whoever gave you the gift cards will feel the same way. Order away!

      Like

  3. Julia D. says:

    Belief in Santa never was a part of my world, it’s not something I ever really thought about. Sinterklaas is very different, of course: he exists! He has to since, even though I bought my kids their presents, he still gifts me, each and every year.

    Hugs, Julia

    Like

  4. pao says:

    I’ve never believed in Santa. Also, for some reason, people around me only talk about Santa giving presents to those who behave but they never talked about miscreants receiving switches and coal.

    Like

  5. Bas says:

    My only knowledge about Santa comes from American Christmas Movies.
    They have never given me any reason to doubt that Santa is real.
    So I can honestly tell that NOTHING made me doubt that Santa might be real.

    Like

  6. Sunny Girl says:

    I believed in Santa until I was about six I guess. Now I believe in the idea of Santa and would love it if he really existed because then I wouldn’t have any Christmas bills or presents to worry about.

    Hubby played Santa a couple of times. Funny because he is so tall and slim but those pillows fit in the suit nicely. He has a great HO HO HO. and he likes taking care of this naughty lady and I don’t mean coal in my stocking.

    Love your books Cara.

    Like

  7. Joelle Casteel says:

    Hm… love both the books, Cara, can’t wait to buy them 🙂
    I’ll answer both questions. The thing that made me doubt Santa might be real was the year that there was no money for gifts, even for my young son; somehow I got a few dollars and bought him a few things at the dollar store. Now for Cara’s original question, I go back to my own childhood and the very materialism that many devout Christians rail against- the materialism. My parents truly overdo the gift part of Christmas, even worse when I was a child because that was during the last heyday of the auto companies when my dad as a Ford worker brought home large paychecks. But for myself and my 2 siblings, we would have most of a full wall in a good sized living room that would be filled with “what Santa brought.”

    Like

  8. SassyTwatter says:

    I don’t think I ever beloved in Santa Claus I remember being 3 or 4 and seeing my mom put presents in the stalkings. Also, in Sweden Tomte (Santa) comes the night of 24 hands out gifts to the children (someone in family fesses up as him) and as a small child I remember blurting out which uncle it was.

    I love Rod & Cane Society books 1 & 2 can’t wait to read number 3.

    Happy almost Xmas.

    Like

  9. reneeroseauthor says:

    a fellow kindergartener said she saw her mom coming down the stairs with the presents. I vehemently denied her claim, but the seed of doubt was planted…

    Cara’s books rock. can’t wait for the next one.

    Like

  10. Cara Bristol says:

    Thanks, everybody, I enjoyed your comments.I’d like to share a little xmas story:
    One year our neighbors asked my husband ti play Santa to their two kids, ages 6 and 3. They invited us over for dinner, and then my husband “had to go home.” Then Santa appeared. The 3-year-old bought it, hook, line and sinker. But afterwards the 6-year-old said to me, “Santa sure looks a lot like your husband.”
    I said, “I don’t see the resemblance.”

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

