Family roles and naughtiness in the last days of Christmas

(Click on the photo above to find the list of all blogs participating in this hop.  Prizes include $100 toward Eden Fantasys and a digital gift basket of ten books.)

A few years ago, I spent New Year’s Eve with a friend and her family.  We went to a party at her church (where I spent the entire night cooing over a three-week-old baby), and that night she insisted on washing laundry.  “I won’t wash on New Year’s Day,” she said, “because that means I’ll be washing all year long.”

She was only partially serious, but apparently there is a folklore that whatever you are doing on New Year’s Day indicates what you’ll be doing for the rest of the year.

I spent New Year’s Eve with family this year, a rarity in my life of constant travel and moves, and it contained ups and downs of nearly all family time at holidays.  The underlying, unspoken tension of simultaneously trying to revert back to old roles and insisting that new ones be acknowledged.  A relatively small disagreement over who should program the GPS erupted in conflict.  That is to say, since my family doesn’t do conflict, resulted in a few quiet angry words spoken and then oceans of strained silence afterward.

Then afterward, I lay in bed chatting with a friend by instant messenger while the rest of the family was safely ensconced in their bedroom for the night.  It was a surreal experience to chat about…ahem…naughty things with staid, correct parents in the next room!  It highlighted, for me, how much my life has changed since I was the “baby of the family” and how much of my life I don’t share with them.  The day’s experience also highlighted, for me, how much we both resist and long for family dynamics of the past.

The Vengeance of Mrs. Claus is a story that speaks to this simultaneous resistance and longing.  It is, perhaps, a snapshot of a holiday in which family members can come together without coming apart.

The funny part about becoming an author who writes about “naughty” things like adult spanking is that the naughtiness isn’t that naughty, after all.  It speaks to what makes us human.

(And thus concludes the most vanilla post ever!  Hope I don’t get kicked out of the Naughty New Year’s Bloghop…)

vitskymrsclaus

Blurb for The Vengeance of Mrs. Claus

 

In some countries, turning 21 means gaining the right to vote and drink alcoholic beverages.  For Claire Labraun, the Christmas after her 21st birthday would be beyond her wildest imagination.

 

Minelle and Matthew Labraun believed in a traditional marriage.  Matthew was head of their household, and Minelle was his helpmeet.  When it came to raising their headstrong 21-year-old daughter, however, they found themselves at a loss.  Minelle had always taught Claire to do the right thing for right’s sake.  Claire, however, had different ideas.  She rebelled against their rules, flaunted authority, and connived to get things she wanted.  She had never been spanked in her life; Matthew and Minelle kept that adult privilege strictly between themselves.  But this year, a visit from Santa plus Claire’s newly adult status would change her idea of Christmas forever.

Excerpt from The Vengeance of Mrs. Claus

Minelle gave a nervous giggle.  “Matthew,” she whispered as she ran a hand down his arm, “slow down.  I don’t even know what we’re doing.”

Matthew gave a flick to his wrist that sent the soft, silky strands of the flogger playing across her breasts.  “I am,” he said slowly, “performing my duties as a husband to my wife.”  He unbuttoned her blouse further.

“No, no, what if the kids come in early?  We can’t…”

Matthew finished unbuttoning her blouse and tossed it aside.  He let the flogger dance across her newly bare flesh, smiling in open delight and desire as she began responding despite her protests to the contrary.

“I should work on my lesson plans for tomorrow, get dinner started…the chicken needs to thaw…”

“Do you honestly think,” Matthew growled, taking her into his arms, “I’m interested in dinner right now?”

Minelle gave a little shriek, blushed, and nuzzled her cheek against his rough denim shirt.  “We’re sensible adults and parents,” she protested.  “Too old for this foolishness.  Now let me go and…”

Matthew reached for her pants and tugged at the elastic waist.  “Careful what you say,” he warned.  “Don’t forget I’m older than you are.  Are you calling me old, little girl?”

Minelle blushed.  She had been just seventeen when the twenty-four-year-old Matthew started courting her, and he was her first and only boyfriend.  Sometimes she felt too young for him even now in the midst of comfortable middle age, but at other times she felt much older and wiser.  On their first dates, though, when he taught her about kissing he had teased her by calling her his “little girl”.  His friends called him a cradle-snatcher.  Just barely twenty-two when they married and twenty-three and twenty-five when their children were born, she often felt she had grown up right alongside their babies.  It was ridiculous after all these years for him to still call her “little girl,” but something inside of her tingled at the name.

“Yes,” she whispered, trying to ignore the funny flips in her stomach as he eased her pants and then her silly granny panties first down to her knees and then completely off.  “You’re far too old for this nonsense and I should put my clothes back on and take that chicken out of the freezer…”

“Put a hand on your clothes and I’ll stop playing nice with the flogger.”

Matthew’s voice cut her short.  Minelle gave another little giggle and glanced up entreatingly at her husband of just over twenty years.  “Honey…”

Matthew set the flogger down and fingered the buckle on his belt.  “Or there are other ways to make you listen…”

Minelle gave a delicious shiver.  She didn’t have time for this, she told herself.  Except her body wouldn’t listen.  Matthew’s work-roughened hands turned her onto her stomach and explored every inch of her, a heavy callused palm landing on her bottom.

“Ouch!” she exclaimed.

Matthew bent over and held her hair away from her neck, kissing the little bone that jutted out at the top of her spine and then working his way down the length of her back.  At each kiss she shivered half with delight and half with anticipation.  “Now let’s talk about this silly diet of yours,” he began.

61 thoughts on “Family roles and naughtiness in the last days of Christmas

  1. Willie says:

    Oh, no, no, no! I do not want to spend ANY days of the New Year the way I spent yesterday! Blech- Self-induced 48 ounce flu ! I’ll pass.

    I understand completely about the roles we play in the family- I’m the baby too. Some days it is very contradictory being around family. The person you are inside- and the one they see. I can’t even THINK about Dd around my family !

    Happy New Year Ana!
    All the Best
    Willie!

    Like

    • Starla Kaye says:

      Willie, I agree…I wouldn’t want to look forward to a year of the flu! I spent most of the day doing final edits for my book coming out next weekend. Still, I’m not sure I’d want to spend the majority of my days this year doing edits.

      Like

  2. Penelope says:

    Naughtiness “speaks to what makes us human” – I’d go along with that! 🙂

    And I can well understand the idea of family roles being a source of tension, though I’m lucky in that my own little nuclear family had all its dramas and growing pains as we kids grew up: we all see each other as adults and equals now. If there is a longing, I’d say it was for a past when we were one tight little unit under one roof. There’s always lots of reminiscing when we get together!

    P.S. Love the snow on the page 😀

    Like

  3. pao says:

    Glad you got to spend time with your family.

    I wouldn’t mind spending the rest of the year doing what I did on New Year’s Day! There’s another folklore I recently heard that what you dreamt on New Year’s Day will come true. I might worry about that.

    Hmm, I’ve always been the mediator and I usually get to hear of things they don’t openly share or witness things I can’t share. It gets lonely sometimes but it beats being the ‘baby of the family’. Chasing/bullying the ‘baby’ is so fun 😀 What goes around comes around though.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Hm, I don’t know if I had a dream. Think I was too tired.

      Fun for you, maybe, but not so fun when karma comes around. I stick up for babies everywhere.

      Like

      • pao says:

        Karma does come around, indeed. Most of my friends are the babies of their families and also older than me. So I get all their bossiness and meanness.

        I didn’t get to play much with my sister when she was younger. I’m going to miss this when I leave. I hope everyone will be around long enough for me to observe these dynamics 🙂

        Like

  4. Joelle Casteel says:

    It’s only vanilla if you think it is 😀 I love this post, Ana. It is interesting to think about those family roles. Like right now the big thing has been my brother dating my sister’s best friend. She’s been a friend so long that my mother considers her a daughter; however the dating has everything all up in the air. The best thing for me though has been this growing friendship with her, a lot of chatting over facebook, with a woman who remembers me in diapers, but doesn’t seem to be struggling to remember I’m almost 35 now.
    I loved your comment about “naughty” not really being such, just being human. As a lifestyle submissive, that’s always one I struggle with. Especially people who’d tell me talking about my reality, like calling the Man I love “Master,” is talking about stuff “that should be kept private.”

    Like

    • Ana says:

      That’s lovely you have such a great relationship with your brother’s girlfriend. I hope things turn out okay. It’s sad when a break-up means losing someone who was nearly a family member.

      Like

  5. Sunny Girl says:

    I think it is always difficult to spend time with parents, especially when you only interface with them on an irregular basis. It’s interesting that you felt “naughty” being yourself while they were in the next room in YOUR house, as if you were still a little girl.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I don’t know if they will ever see me as anything but! Though to be fair, the kids I took care of as babies are hard to recognize as young adults now. It must be even stronger for parents.

      Like

  6. Blondie says:

    I got so caught up on reading your story that I kind of had a brain poof when I started reading the comments about your post… Lol Actually, I totally understand that family dynamic. I remember returning to my parents house and seeing my sisters and myself become people that we use to be and not the people we were the day before. Nobody in my family knows the real me and they never will. I think that has been one of the hardest things to accept as I matured is that I am not the daughter/sister that they think I am or want me to be. They would never accept the real me. Luckily, visits are short and sweet.
    Can’t wait to read the rest of the story……………………………..

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Ha! 😀 You can read all about Minelle’s naughtiness in the book. In some ways it’s good to have that inside/outside role difference, and at other times it’s disconcerting. Part of it is probably just being human and a family member.

      Fish and guests stink after three days, but the problem is when the cost of traveling makes it difficult to justify that short of a visit.

      Like

  7. Starla Kaye says:

    Ana, I’m glad you enjoyed your time with your family…even if you had “naughty” thoughts while they were there. So what. Your house and it wasn’t like you flaunted those thoughts in front of them.

    “Naughty” thoughts (and actions) make life more fun.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      No flaunting, no ma’am! 🙂 Wouldn’t dare. I can understand the delicious tension of trying something naughty while not being quite sure someone will catch you, though.

      Like

  8. Cat says:

    Hey Ana – Happy to hear you had a good time with your family. Had to laugh reading about your “naughty” chat with your parents in the next room. I loved having my family gather at my home for Christmas but also gave a big sigh of relief when they all left. My life and the family dynamics are just so different now. 🙂

    Wishing you an awesome 2013!

    Blessings,
    Cat

    Like

  9. minelle says:

    Let’s see I spent after midnight having “fun” but then I was sick around 2:30. No not self inflicted….Like poor Willie.LOL. Does that mean I can look at lots of love and sickness?

    Like

  10. Shadow says:

    Hi! Happy New Years! I spent the day with my family. We watched movies, put together a puzzle and toaster in the new year. Thanks for the awesome hop and all the giveaways! This is so fun! I love these hops! I always meet new authors, reconnect with old ones and my TBR list grows by leaps and bounds! Thank you!! Have a great day! Best wishes and many blessings to you!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

  11. latishajean says:

    I spend new years at home with my mom nice quiet day! This sounds like a great book thanks for sharing! Happy New year too you and Thanks for the great giveaway!
    Latisha D
    tishajean@ charter.net

    Like

  12. Sassy Chassy says:

    This time of year brings reflection both because often we spend time with our family of origin and also because a new year is upon us. The changes we’ve gone through are more apparent than ever and the changes we hope to create. We reconcile who we have been with who we are and who we would like to become. It’s my favorite time of year.

    Like

  13. jeannie platt says:

    Family…. They say you can’t choose your family but you can choose your friends… I love my sisters and brothers to death but i am the black sheep of the family… I can only deal with them in small doses always feel like i am getting judged…. Don’t go home for holidays… I have holidays with my family (hubby and boys).

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

    Like

  14. Mer says:

    My family has that superstition too. So whenever possible we make sure Jan 1st is a day for family. It’s always a lot of fun.

    Happy new year!

    dancingcelt at gmail dot com

    Like

  15. Jessie L says:

    I’ll take vanilla mixed in. Always love reading these posts. Thank you for being part of this hop & your giveaway. I spent New Year’s relaxing with the family. It’s one of our favorite things to do.

    JessieL62 at comcast dot net

    Like

  16. whitk227 says:

    I spent New Years Day reading erotica on the couch, snuggled in my fleece pjs, cuddling with my dogs. With the addition of wine and chocolate, it was downright decadent 😀

    Thanks for the great giveaway!

    Happy New Year!

    Karen

    whitk227 (at) gmail (dot) com

    Like

  17. Jo says:

    Family stories are funny – my Mom says you have to wear new underwear on New Year’s Day or you will be doomed into wearing old clothes all year long.

    jochibi AT yahoo DOT com

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

