Six Sentence Sunday: Mom, why do you let Dad spank you?

Good morning, Sixers!  Our Sundays together are drawing to a close, and now that the Advent Calendar has finished I will be sure to make the most of the remaining Sundays.  Today’s snippet is from my current WIP, affectionately known as Vennie 2.  (Vennie 1 is otherwise known as The Vengeance of Mrs. Claus).

Claire, a college senior, has just been introduced to the world of domestic discipline.  She has found out that she can and will be spanked for misbehavior, and that even her own mother, Minelle, is subject to her father’s discipline.  As Claire learns more about the “adult” nature of the holidays, she cozies up with Minelle for a mother-daughter heart-to-heart talk.  After seeing evidence that Minelle has recently been spanked, Claire asks why her mother would allow her father to do such a thing.

.

“But Mom, it’s not like Dad is always right.”  Claire couldn’t understand letting someone do that to her on a regular basis.  It had been one thing when Claire visited Mrs. Claus and received her Christmas spanking, but it was another to think of marrying a man who would then have the authority to spank her whenever he saw fit.

“No, sweetheart, Dad is not always right.”  Minelle tucked the strands of Claire’s hair behind her ear.  “He’s the one who won’t listen when I tell him that lavender and purple aren’t the same color, and then he comes home with the wrong color napkins for a party.  But he’s also the one who is always the last to bed because he goes around the house to make sure that all of the locks are secure.  He’s the one to pull us out of the snowdrift when I thought I could drive over it.”

.

For more excerpts, please visit sixsunday.com

40 thoughts on “Six Sentence Sunday: Mom, why do you let Dad spank you?

  1. Sunny Girl says:

    Sounds like a good start to a very thought provoking conversation. Will be anxious to read Vennie 2. Will we have to wait til next Christmas.?

    Like

  2. Cara Bristol says:

    Interested to see where you go with this. This is one of the biggest things to reconcile with DD: when the HoH is wrong. My gut reaction is that punishment that is not deserved leads to resentment and chips away at respect and trust. Yet if one can opt out of the HoH’s decree, then he/she is not really HoH.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      When the Kat stories were up, there were people up in arms at the idea that Natalie could be wrong in punishing Kat and yet Kat was still punished anyway. Matthew and Minelle are a couple who have had 20+ years of DD, so they are much more settled into the roles…not that it makes Minelle hate the punishments one bit less!

      Like

  3. Jess Schira says:

    I quite enjoyed this snippet. To me, it feels like a very realistic exchange between a mother and daughter. I like the way Minelle doesn’t appear to feel any embarrassment or awkwardness during her explanation in this snippet. Well done!

    Like

    • Ana says:

      So glad you commented because I couldn’t find your blog address! I miss your little piggies. 🙂 I was thinking about you this morning and saying to myself, “I should ask Jess what she misses from being a kid on the farm now that she’s older.”

      Again, I’m glad I didn’t freak you out with the spanking talk. 🙂 Minelle was towering with rage just before this scene, but the instant Claire entered the room she (Minelle) switched into protective mother mode. I like that about her. 🙂

      Thank you for visiting!

      Like

  4. Joelle Casteel says:

    I love it! How sweet that Minelle can mention the wrong colored napkins, but then move on to locks, safety, and fixing a car stuck in a snow drift. I’m guessing that I bring a (incorrect?) BDSM perspective to my enjoyment and relating to this paragraph, but the way I deal with such human imperfection in my Master is to consider, it’s when He’s wrong that matters, but how I respond. That’s been the place I’ve found myself able to relate to the spankee in most spanking fiction.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Minelle is sweet. 🙂 I love her relationship with Matthew, and I’m not even a fan of M/F.

      All human beings and all human relationships are imperfect, but we have to decide to live with the imperfections somehow.

      Like

  5. pao says:

    I liked the mother-daughter relationship pictured here. Hmm, Vennie 2 has bigger things in it 🙂 I’m interested to read how Minelle explains it to Claire.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      You certainly can hear the rest of her answer when Vennie 2 comes out! 😀

      It’s an awkward conversation, but it helps both Minelle and Claire come to terms with their roles in their relationships.

      Like

  6. minelle says:

    Ahem…..Good thing the real Minelle is an angel, and always…. cough- cough knows what to say! You do capture the dichotomy of being mom and- lover- partner, perfectly!! Sometimes we cannot explain it, it is what it is! That is the conundrum of the dynamic, right? That and having the security of understanding our partner!

    Ana you make telling a story look so easy.

    However, once again…cough, I do not need spanked!

    Like

  7. Elin Gregory says:

    Interesting six. Consent is key, of course. It would be interesting to see how Claire is brought to the point of consenting. Sorry to hear that you aren’t signing up to the continuation of Six Sunday.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Do you mean Skye’s continuation? I’ve signed up for it, but I haven’t heard whether it will happen. Or do you mean something else?

      Claire is not at all sure whether she will consent, for sure!

      Like

    • Ana says:

      I don’t think Minelle can explain it. It’s more that she lives it and it works for her, even if she doesn’t 100% like it every single moment. 🙂

      Like

    • Ana says:

      Of course Minelle needs more spankings. That’s like saying chocolate chip cookies need chocolate chips. Please tell her that for me. Repeatedly. 😀

      I am writing right now! It would be lovely if I could finish even this week.

      Like

  8. sarahballance says:

    This is a really interesting dynamic for their relationship. Not a conversation I can ever see myself having, but that makes it all the more readable for me. I’m glad I’m late and don’t have to wait for the next six, LOL!

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Ah, poor Sarah. I hope you weren’t too disappointed to see that this week’s snippet is from a completely different book. I promise to post more Vennie 2 snippets. 🙂

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

