Please help: Names for Vennie 2

Sorry, Mira, but your future little sister needs some help today.  Kat, yes I promise that you will get your turn eventually!  Please don’t whine.  Vennie, I *know* that you’re only a month old and haven’t gotten as much attention as you wanted.  I’m sorry!  No, Mira, I know I said this would be about promotions for you this week and next, but that’s ten days!  It can’t be all about you every single day, right?  Yes, I know that’s what you want, but… NO, I’m not sending any of your siblings back!  Kat, I said please stop it!  You’ve gotten the most attention of anyone around here!  You don’t see Leila (from Simple Gifts, scheduled for April) sulking, do you?

You know the Rhythm method of birth control, based on…cough…having fun couple time at certain times of a woman’s…er…monthly cycle in order to reduce the likelihood of becoming pregnant?

It’s also known as parenthood.  (I don’t mean any disrespect to serious practitioners, but it’s not exactly foolproof.)

I think I used the Rhythm method of family planning for my book-babies.

I’m not complaining!  I’m thrilled to bits!  I’m just a wee bit overwhelmed.

Maybe that’s what Rhythm parents say.

In getting Vennie 2 ready (now no one can complain that I hid this and suddenly sprang it on you!), I’ve shown you a snippet here and here in the past few weeks.  (If you haven’t read them already, you may want to visit those pages first because of the question I’ll be asking.)  Now I need your help.

What on earth am I going to call Vennie 2?

You can see from the snippets that this is a more serious story, right?  More focused on the family-tradition aspect of DD, more focused on Claire’s role as someone who elicits Minelle’s understanding of DD.  Claire is trying to figure out how DD works, and she’s not so sure if she wants to follow Minelle’s example.

I’m debating what kind of title would show that:

  1. this is a sequel to Vennie
  2. it’s a more serious story
  3. it’s about passing down the traditions of DD
  4. there are humorous/fanciful elements

*gulp*

Help?

The current top contender is Daughter of Discipline.  It’s my favorite, but it only satisfies conditions #2 and #3.

When I focused on #1 and #3, I considered The Vengeance of…something.  But some reviewers objected to the “Vengeance” part of the title for Vennie because it wasn’t truly a vengeance story.

A compromise might be: Daughter of Discipline: Vennie Book Two.  Dull as dishwater, right?

*scratching my head*

Other suggestions include:

  • All in the Family
  • Family Traditions
  • The New Family Values
  • Not My Mother’s DD
  • A Non-Traditional Daughter
  • Something About Tradition
  • The Family That Spanks Together (okay, that’s not a serious suggestion)
  • Mrs. Claus in the Off-Season
  • The Book-Baby That Stole Kat’s Limelight

Maybe I should quit before I say things I regret…

I know you’ve only seen two short snippets, but can you help me?  Do any of these titles sound appealing?

Do you have any other suggestions?  Pretty please?

UPDATE: One more suggestion after reading your feedback.  What about The Discipline of Claire?

28 thoughts on “Please help: Names for Vennie 2

  1. SassyTwatter says:

    Good morning sweetie. Your post was great you can literally see how your thought process. I do love the name Daughter of Discipline and I also see how it doesn’t meat all 3 of your criteria. Also she really wasn’t that well disciplined until recently. I really like Not My Mother’s DD. Is this a book that even though is a sequel can stand on its won if someone does not read the first one. If so not sure you need Vennie book 2 or maybe can be part of the Vennie Series.I also like Non Traditional Daughter. Hope that helps some. Congratulations very exciting. And loved the bit about the rhythm method. Happy Friday- take Care.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Giggle…my head is bursting just about every day these days! So much going on. Seriously, it’s like the Rhythm method around here. LOL!

      Claire still is spoiled, make no mistake. 😀

      Hm…I don’t think it’s absolutely a stand-alone, but the Mrs. Claus references will probably seem weird to someone who hasn’t read the first book.

      Thank you!! Happy Friday! Still sitting?

      Like

      • SassyTwatter says:

        That’s so exciting very happy for you. I still really like Daughter of Discipline or Not My Mother’s DD I think either could have series potential I think Family Traditions as a series name is great!

        No flying. Don’t worry I am not disturbing the Captain.

        Have a great weekend!

        Like

  2. Sue Lyndon says:

    My vote is for Daughter of Discipline. It’s catchy. A good title. The description of the book can always indicate it’s the sequel to Vennie 1. Likewise, if the cover art is similair in some way (at least with fonts and such), readers will see that too. Naming books is hard, especially for a sequel. I feel your pain LOL. Good luck! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Your sequel for A Firm Husband shows that it’s a sequel, perfectly. Jealous sigh. 😀 True that cover art, fonts, blurb, etc. will help to show that it’s a sequel.

      Thank you, dear!

      Like

  3. Joelle Casteel says:

    A like “A Non-Traditional Daughter,” but that doesn’t really fit #4, does it? Hm, I hadn’t read the review that complained about “Vengeance” in the tile. How necessary is #4, especially it’s a more serious book than Vennie? Good luck on this. I empathize. My own title struggle…. 9 books. So far “Out of the Night: Book One” is published and I have “The Gates of the Garden: Book Two” and “Skipping Down the Primrose Path: Book Three” planned. The subtitle had been “…: Book xyz of Vala’s Story” but because Night starts with Vala still with her birth name of Mearr, I decided on the shorter subtitle.
    lol about the Rhythm method 😀

    Like

    • Ana says:

      True…it’s not that I want to make it absolutely clear it’s partly a funny story, but I don’t want people to get to the fanciful parts and say wtf…and then mark me down on reviews.

      Thank you!

      Like

      • Joelle Casteel says:

        yeah, such a thought… ugh, bad comments in reviews 😦 And people can say the stupidest stuff… I saw the conversation between you and Cara about series- yup that’s a problem and definitely bad on Mathew and Minelle for not telling you sooner. I noticed “Mrs Claus in the off-season”- does she figure as much of a character in this one that it makes sense to both tie the series and have her in it? It might be nice. what about “Mrs Claus in the off-season, or Claire learns more”? I really think that past authors, like in the 18th century had the right idea on subtitles 😀

        Like

  4. Cara Bristol says:

    Oh that we would all be psychic and know instantly when we started writing a book that it would be series…the things we would do differently. I know that when I was trying to come up with a title for Body Politics, my publisher wanted it to have the same grammatical format as the other two Rod and Cane books: adjective + plural noun.

    The Vengeance of Mrs. Claus is Article + noun + preposition + noun. (A) Daughter of Discipline works.

    Another way is to do what Alta Hensley did with her “Terms” series, that is repeat a word, but as you pointed out, Vengeance may not be the right word.

    Friendship and family are important themes, so maybe that’s the way to go. And Daughter of Discipline would carry that through. But what about future books?

    I think before you pick a title you should determine if there are going to be more related stories. Will they be a series or a bunch of stand-alone books that are linked? If you are planning more, you might think about a series title and “make the break” now and pick a title format that works for all the books.

    If Vennie 2 is the last Vennie story, just pick a title that works.

    The New Family Values sounds like a conservative, religious title to me. The only problem I see with Daughter of Discipline is that you can’t tell it’s an adult being disciplined.

    Did you check your titles on Amazon to see if there were competing ones?

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I had an idea that there would be a Vennie 2, but I thought it was going to be another fun, silly story! I’m annoyed with Minelle and Claire for not telling me sooner. 🙂

      I hadn’t even thought about trying for a similar grammatical structure, but that is a great idea. I added The Discipline of Claire to the suggestions. Also Mrs. Claus in the Off-Season, although it’s pretty long, because that repeats Mrs. Claus. She is a theme…

      I think there will be at least one more, if not two. It all depends how things go. I am sure if I tell myself I have to write a book that I won’t be able to!

      Really good point about the religious aspect. I hadn’t thought about that.

      Yup, checked Amazon and all but the most generic ones are pretty clear.

      Thank you for all of the advice, Cara! Super helpful.

      Like

  5. Pooky says:

    Claire, Daughter of Discipline

    Then you have the her name in there as a reminder of the character from the first book. Or, you could Flip flop it-

    Daughter of Discipline, Claire

    Good luck in your hunt!

    Like

  6. Bad Penny says:

    I know it wasn’t a serious title…but I’m in love with the “Family That Spanks Together” not for this book, but you should write it LOL 🙂

    I like… Not My Mother’s DD … and Daughter of Discipline. They get my votes 🙂

    The very, very Bad Penny heh

    Like

  7. pao says:

    I quite like “Not My Mother’s DD”. “Daughter of Discipline” and “Discipline of Claire” sounds suitably serious and describes the main themes in the story. What about Disciplining Claire? Sounds too much like your blog?

    Like

  8. Sassy Chassy says:

    I love The Discipline of Claire. You can always add something into the title or name the series as well. I have a feeling more will be coming from this series. Maybe The Family Traditions series. That doesn’t seem quite right, but along those lines. I agree about keeping vengeance out of vennie 2’s title. I love having the title personal to Claire. I also love the idea of Not Your Mother’s DD, but not knowing where this book is heading it could be a good title for the next one. Maybe something about discovery because she is discovering herself in this process and what her discipline needs and style are. I’ll keep thinking.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I like the idea of Family Traditions! Maybe that could be a subtitle, the series name.

      I have an idea that perhaps a later book might be solely about Minelle when she is younger, so that is one reason I focus on Claire this time. If only I could write as fast as I think!

      I like the part about discovery.

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

