Vennie autographs, pantless in NY, and other tidbits

Guess what?  I just signed up for Authorgraphs and now am proud to offer electronic autographs of your copy of Vennie! You can even request an autograph if you don’t have a copy yet, and it doesn’t have to be Kindle, either.  You can sign up for a new Authorgraph account or just use your Twitter account.  Be sure to let me know who you are so I can include a personalized message.  😀

Mira (Desire in Any Language) comes out this Friday.  That’s three days away!  I’ve heard back from a few reviewers who received advance copies, and the responses have made me blush.  Wow.  Gratified that others see something special about my newest baby-to-be.

I’m waiting anxiously for Mira’s cover art.  It took me at least an hour to fill out the request form.  In an unprecedented move, I sent photos that I thought represented the main characters.  (Why don’t I like people on my covers?  Read here.)  I don’t know whether the cover artist will choose to include images of Mira, but it surprises me that I hope the artist does…if she can do it well.  If she does, and if I get the cover in time to do an official cover reveal post, I will write about Mira and perhaps share the image I thought best represented her.

I submitted Vennie 2!  Thank you for the title ideas!  I struggled writing one scene that only included male characters, but I was lucky enough to receive input from two of our favorite male HoH bloggers, Bas and Mick.  Thank you so much!  I am blessed to have your help.  Vennie 2 turned out to be less fanciful slapstick and more like a spanky Family Ties 

Pretty much the *exact second* that I sent Vennie 2 in (the moment I’d planned to take a well-deserved break before plunging back into the so-called day job that’s been perpetually neglected since the writing bug bit me), I got an idea for a new story.  I groaned because I wanted to rest instead of write, but I ungraciously sat down to type.  Three days later, I’m 2/3 done with the first draft.  I wish I could tell you about it because this has been *the* most fun story I have written so far.   I’m easily amused, but it’s not often that I think I’m writing something funny as I write it.

I’m still not calling myself skilled at humor, but this new set of characters has me rolling about with laughter.  I dash to my new best and worst friend, Write or Die (a horrible, fantastic application/software that forces me to write or suffer from first a pink screen, then a red one, and then any horrible number of sounds ranging from a badly scraping violin…to some horrible singer I assume must be popular…to blaring car horns…to other horrendous ones I hope not to discover), and whether it’s the fear of punishment or the love of these new characters…the story is springing up like magic.

Oh, and I have a VERY special project that I can’t mention until a big public announcement on January 25th.  It will be exciting.  It will be fantastic.  It will be amazing.  It will…darn it, I hate waiting!!  *pout*  I wanted to announce it a whole month ago (Christmas Eve), but for various reasons I had to wait.  Impatiently.  😉

Tell me what’s happening in your life!  Whatever’s on your mind.  I miss our chances to pull up a chair and talk about whatever we want.  Go on.  I’m listening.  🙂

P.S.  What about this pantless subway ride?  Spankos, all of them.  How frustrating it would be to take part in this event and not get to take “full” fun.

38 thoughts on “Vennie autographs, pantless in NY, and other tidbits

  1. Jade Cary says:

    I love that you’re so busy, and that WE, your loving friends, will reap the benefits eventually. I’m thrilled with your success, and it will only get better, my friend. xoxox

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Ew ew ew! I hope not! I cringed just thinking about it.

      And yes…believe it or not, January is half over. Phew!

      I hope you had a good transition today? Hugs.

      Like

      • pao says:

        Haa! For some sick reason I’m always awake to hear friends or family grinding their teeth when they sleep. And they tell me they’ve never heard that sound before.

        Not yet, 17 hours more. A lot of paperwork to get done once I land. Hugs back!

        Like

  2. Joelle Casteel says:

    heh, love the photo and the post. ugh, I wish my mind would settle. I’d be happy for a story idea, Ana, if it came with a behaving computer. Mine is still doing it’s “pretending not to be plugged in while I’m using it.” routine. I’m still boggling on the ebook for “Night.” blech… why couldn’t I have written something that would neatly fit one publisher’s/market’s idea of “right”? But I do have an extended idea for a blog post- thought you might be interested in a challenge… I’ll message you on facebook about it 😀

    Like

    • Joelle Casteel says:

      oh and I’ll have to check into that autograph thing. Looks neat. Might finally push me into signing up for Twitter. I’m not sure exactly why I’m fighting including it in my author promo work 😀

      Like

      • Joelle Casteel says:

        thanks, Ana 🙂 but it’s not behaving at all… my battery says it has 14 minutes, enough time to check that you’d replied and to respond, but then it’s time to get off before I start getting the low battery warnings ugh. At least I’m cruising through Diana Gabaldon’s “Outlander” with all this off-the-computer time 😀

        Like

  3. Joseph McNamara says:

    Congrats on Mira this weekend. Looking forward to it after your wonderful pre-nips. I loved you tweet with this subway story yesterday, I now will be carrying sani-wipes with me in the NYC subways just in case this unique kink carries over to other parts of the world… 🙂 Anxiously awaiting Jan. 25th now……..

    Like

    • Ana says:

      LOL!

      Yes, it’s not the most sanitary of events, but I was grinning. I don’t think I’d be able to remain composed if people actually did that here.

      Maybe you will get lucky!

      You are always so sweet and dear.

      Like

  4. Sassy Chassy says:

    Our stories have minds of their own don’t they? They don’t seek out input for when they will be written or what form they will take! It’s funny to me how they will morph into something totally different from what you intended when you started! That is what mine is doing right now!

    Like

  5. Cat says:

    Wow Ana – very busy lady. Congratulations on the soon to be releaed Mira – really looking forward to it. Ewww, not sure I want to sit on the subways or trains. Tease! Can’t wait until the 25th – really want to know what the amazing, exciting, fantastic announcement is! Nope don’t like waiting.

    Like

  6. Roz says:

    Hi Ana, wow, you have been busy! Congrats on the impending release of Mira and submitting Vennie 2 … and another book on the way! Phew, I can’t keep up! Lol

    Can’t wait till the 28th 🙂

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  7. His First Mate says:

    I tried Write or Die today! Love it! do you use the free version or the upgraded one? I’m using the free version for now, but I am horribly tempted to buy it!

    Like

    • Ana says:

      I use the free version. It is wonderful! I think the benefit of the $10 version is that you have more options for punishment (lol!) and can email the finished product to yourself.

      BUT…I tend to avoid it now b/c it is soooooo mean about making me write. So you may want to try the free one for a week or two before buying.

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

