Cover reveal for Desire in Any Language!

vitskydesire

Desire in Any Language!

Sexy.  Seductive.  Dangerous.

No, no!  You *did* come to the right blog!  This is still Ana!  Come back, please!  Don’t leave!

I am sure you haven’t noticed this, so I need to tell you.  I’m a little bit picky about things.  Once in a while.

I received the first version of the cover for Desire in Any Language and gasped.  It showed Mira as bent over, her face in her tutor’s lap (and given the context, not in a maternal/mentoring way), and a short shirt revealing her white underwear.

Yes, a theme of Desire in Any Language is sensuality, but it is an understated one.  I wanted the reader to be seduced into a lyrical, mesmerizing world rather than wonder whether to tuck dollars into Mira’s bra.

Then I got this version.  Wow.

I love the red-white-black color scheme.  I love the details of the buttoned blouse and the eye-popping pleats of the red plaid skirt against the black-and-white background.  I love the delicate drop of flowers, and the book in Mira’s lap is probably her detested grammar reference book.  I love the hand resting on the book as if it is reassuring Mira (and us) that she will indeed study if she absolutely must.

But most of all, I love the symbolism of the Chinese characters.  I hope that I got this correct, but after putting out an all-points-bulletin to get both a literal and contextual translation of the characters, the results were something like this (top to bottom):

.

the first word translates to : establish, create;
 the second word is : construct, build, begin; prepare
 the third is : nature, character, sex
 if i put them altogether in google translate it just comes out as “creating” or “creativity”
 but the last two words together means “make sexual”
so i suppose it kinda means creating a sexual desire.
.
Thank you, dear adorable Fondles, for your translation!  I’ll be sending you a free copy of Desire in Any Language in appreciation of your efforts.
.
Oh, my gosh!  What amazes me is that the cover artist, without knowing the meaning of the characters, got it exactly right.
.
Do you see the last character, the one on the bottom?  That is the one that means “nature, character, or sex”.  It’s the one half-hidden by Mira’s demure knee, peeking out to show that it is there but not quite brave enough to jump into the foreground.
.
The touches of red–the skirt, the Blushing logo, and my name–are also a color traditionally associated with sexuality, desire, and passion.
.
Yet even though this cover speaks to sexuality, it also speaks to a sense of elegance, restraint, and refinement.  The flowers are an exquisite touch.
.
Desire in Any Language.  Coming soon to booksellers near you.
.
.
Desire in Any Language (will be published Friday, January 18th by Blushing Books)

Mira thought she wanted a spanking.  What she got was love.

On her own for the first time, Mira is studying abroad for her translator’s certificate. Unfortunately, the heady excitement of dance clubs, late-night parties, and endless shopping quickly distracts her from her educational goals. Mira’s advisor offers her private tutoring, but the combined pressures of culture and language difference threaten Mira’s progress at school. She is unable to get her act together until she makes a discovery that horrifies and tantalizes her: in her new country, corporal punishment is a way of life. The secret to her academic success just might also fulfill her wildest, unspoken dreams.
53 thoughts on “Cover reveal for Desire in Any Language!

    • Ana says:

      I freaked out when I saw the first one (not in a good way), and then I freaked out when I saw the revised version (in a good way)! I love it SO much. 😀

      xoxox

      Like

        • Ana says:

          LOL!

          The problem with Mira is that…well, with a cover like this I can’t exactly say she’s a baby and too young. 🙂

          Maybe I will run a little promotion to celebrate the release…”Desire in Any Location” and have people send me a jpg file of their copy of Mira in whatever setting they think she would like best.

          Like

  1. Joelle Casteel says:

    Love it! The details are just right! (I recently got lectured by my Master for being hyper-critical of details lmao), but the cover is wonderful. I just wish I didn’t have to wait to buy the book 😦

    Like

  2. Sheila says:

    Great cover. Very eye catching. I like the touch of the red against the shades of black, white, and gray. Makes me want to pick it up and read it even if I did not know the story subject.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

