Weekend Writing Warriors: While you were sleeping

Tired of waiting for The Way Home, the first Kat and Natalie book, to be released on March 6th? I know it’s been a long wait, but we’re getting closer. Only one month away! I can’t wait until I have cover art to show you. In the meantime, I have a special sneak peek of another Kat and Natalie story, titled “Tomorrow”, that will be published as part of an anthology titled Coming to Terms on May 15th. And (the good news just doesn’t stop!) we will celebrate Kat’s birthday on June 6th with the release of Welcome Home, book two in what I hope will be a long and successful series of Kat and Natalie books. Huzzah!

All right, tooting of my own horn complete. Sorry. 😛

In this scene from “Tomorrow”, Kat returns to the home of Natalie just after a horrendous breakup (is there any other kind?) to attempt a reconciliation. She creeps into Natalie’s bedroom to watch her while she is sleeping.

Her fingers draw in to make a loose fist, and I tuck her hand next to her left, just under her cheek. Her rattling has shaken the thick duvet half onto the floor, and I pat it back into place. I used to do the same for my nephews when we shared a room. They were forever throwing off their covers and then waking up from the cold. I sink to my knees in the thick plush carpet, perfectly manicured as always. I bury my face in the softness of Natalie’s duvet, breathing in the mixture of laundry soap and Natalie’s jasmine perfume and some indescribable essence that clings to everything in Natalie’s house.

I wish I could stay here forever in the moments when Natalie is asleep and motionless. I wish that her muscles could remain loose and her breathing even. Instead, it is the sharpness and angles that define her waking moments.

 

The Way Home, (will be published by Lazy Day on March 6th, 2013)

For ten years, Natalie has been Kat’s rock, the one person Kat could always depend on to be there for her whether she needed a hug, a giggle-fest, or even a punishment. Natalie has been the confident and fun-loving social butterfly who teaches Kat about college life, academics, and friendship by taking Kat under her wing… and over her knee. But as they grow up, the darkness of the grown-up world creeps in and pulls them apart.

So when Kat wakes up one morning to find Natalie shutting her out for the second time, she is at a loss. In trying to make sense of Natalie’s abrupt alienation, she thinks back to all the good times they had together – and all the bad.  It has been nearly a decade since the last time Natalie shut Kat out, and now she knows that they must make peace with  that fateful night all those years ago.  if they are ever to find their way back to each other. Their way home.

.

For links to more snippets of other authors’ works, please visit Weekend Writing Warriors.

40 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors: While you were sleeping

  1. SassyTwatter says:

    You words were so beautiful it was like they dance of the page when I read it. I loved the bit at the end describing Kat & Natalie’s relationship. I am so looking forward to meeting them.

    Like

  2. siobhanmuir says:

    I love this last line: “Instead, it is the sharpness and angles that define her waking moments.” That is so true. Great eight, Ana. 🙂

    Like

  3. The Original Drama Mama says:

    The last line made this passage. While well written, I think there is room for some tweaking in the first paragraph for better flow and smoother presentation of imagery.
    Regardless, you nail that last bit. Only 8 sentences, and you managed to make feel the ping in my chest and empathize with your character.

    Like

  4. evelynjules says:

    *claps* I think this might be the best snippet I’ve read all day. Excellent description and details throughout. Love your work!

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Thank you so much, Elisa. I just sent you a (long) email with some thoughts.

      May 15th for this one, sorry. But the first book in the series will be out on March 6th. That’s only a month away!

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

