Monday Morning Fika with KT Grant: Why I Write Lesbian Romance

Please welcome KT Grant, author of F/F fiction and organizer of the 2012 and 2013 Lesbian Fiction events! She is here today to speak with us about why she chooses to write F/F fiction and how this has been successful for her.

Fika is a Swedish term for enjoying coffee, tea, and sweets over conversation with friends.  It is a sacred tradition in many families, friends, and even workplaces, and it offers a chance to chat informally on a number of topics.  While “Fika” may refer specifically to the coffee, in practice it refers to the moment of community.  In this hectic world, it is nice to take a moment to pause and savor time getting to know a little more about each other.

Three years ago I sold my first book, which happened to be a lesbian contemporary romance called Lovestuck. I never expected the first book I published would be a lesbian romance. Prior to writing Lovestruck, I had written multiple (unpublished) books, ranging from different genres from young adult, to paranormal romance and a few historical romances. All of these had one thing in common- they were all straight romances featuring the romantic relationship between a man and a woman.

I knew without a doubt I wanted to write and publish a romance(s) since I’m a big lover of the genre. The romances I’ve read for over two decades has helped shaped me into the writer I am today. I love the possibility of an all consuming love these novels portray, and how love in any form can heal all wounds, where both parties become more empowered and have a positive outlook on life.

At a very young age I loved writing but never thought I was good enough or had the courage to actively try and get published. I wrote for my own enjoyment, not caring if no one else ever saw my writing. Because of this, I kept my writing a secret. Reading and writing was therapy to me since I had a very lonely childhood because I was bullied and considered a loner, a freak and a loser. Reading and writing allowed helped me not give up on life. Books were my friends, writing my outlet.

As I grew into adulthood, I gained confidence, and my confidence grew as I started reviewing books and ended up creating my own blog that will celebrate its fifth year anniversary in October. Because of blogging and letting the world read my thoughts and opinions, I decided to take a chance and start writing again. One day I was on Twitter, and there was discussion I listened in on (tweet lurking as I call it) from a few industry types who wondered why there wasn’t more lesbian fiction being published. From that discussion I decided, why not write a lesbian romance and see what happens? I did it for fun, never expecting my story featuring a hotel CEO and her romance with her much younger employee to get published. I wrote, what eventually was titled, Lovestruck for myself. Six months after I finished writing Lovestruck and received some feedback, I bravely submitted Lovestruck to various epublishers. It was rejected by multiple epublishers. Two epublishers eventually wanted it. I choose one, and in June 2010, Lovestruck was published.

After Lovestruck, I wanted to write more. I ended up writing a slew of romances featuring straight and gay (M/M) couples and more lesbian romances. As I wrote more and submitted more, my books were accepted and published. It was a dream come true for me as a writer. And then I noticed something. My lesbian romances were selling much more than any other books I had published. It astounded me because I was told so many times that authors who write lesbian fiction don’t make any real money and no one reads lesbian romance/fiction. It seemed to me I was the minority, because my books were selling pretty well. I may not be a millionaire, but my earrings have padded my bank account in a way I can’t complain about.

Three years later, I have over 20 published works, ranging from short stories to full length ones. Most of my published works are lesbian romances. This year that the majority of what I publish will be lesbian romances. Why? Is it because of the money? I’m not going to lie- part of it is yes, but another reason is not only do I enjoy the dynamics of two women falling in love and the journey of how this happens, but the knowledge that there’s an audience looking forward to the books I write.

Last year I received an email from a woman who read Lovestruck. She thanked me for writing such a book because she said the characters I had created are like her. She felt like she belonged after reading this book. Never in a million years would I have expected someone who read one of my books to thank me for what I wrote because it gave them such joy and a feeling for acceptance.

Based on that email, that’s why I continue writing lesbian romance. Knowing there are readers out there wanting these books, and perhaps looking to me to delivery them, keeps me writing them. It also helps build my own confidence and accept the person I’ve become, especially as an author.

Writing should be a joy, something that makes someone, aka the writer happy. I find fulfillment creating my characters and their world they inhabit. That’s the most important thing to me as a writer. Write what you love, be proud of what you write, and the rewards will be endless.

 

Bio: KT Grant is a self-proclaimed eccentric redhead who not only loves to read a wide variety of romances, but also loves writing it. Under her alter-ego, she is a well-known book reviewer and blogger who doesn’t shy away from voicing her opinion. A proud native of New Jersey, KT is multi-published and known for writing “out of the box” romances. KT has been mentioned in the Guardian.UK, Publisher’s Weekly’s Beyond the Book and at Bookseller.com. KT is a top ten best-selling author at Amazon, as well as being a multiple All Romance Ebooks best seller and a Night Owl Reviews Top Author Pick.

KT book

KT’s latest release is Cinderella and the Lady (Historical Lesbian Romance, based on the Cinderella fairy tale) available now from Ravenous Romance.

For more about KT Grant, you can find her at these fine places:

Website: ktgrant.com

Blog: http://kbgbabbles.blogspot.com

Twitter: @katiebabs

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kt.grant.9

17 thoughts on “Monday Morning Fika with KT Grant: Why I Write Lesbian Romance

    • Ana says:

      KT did a wonderful series that included publishers saying why they looked for F/F stories. F/F writers like me learn to cherish these publishers. 🙂

      Like

  1. Sheila says:

    Thanks for sharing. Your books sell because you are a good writer. You make us readers care about your characters and make us want to read you again. I loved The Princess’ Bride. I am looking forward to reading Cinderella and the Lady.

    Like

  2. Blondie says:

    I appreciate the fact that there are stories written for everyone. It does make you feel like you belong when you read about yourself in stories. That’s why I love spanking stories. Great interview.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

