Thursday Thankfulness: Getting sappy

Some sappiness today. If you don’t like it, oh well.

  • Thankful for a professional opportunity opening up today. I have a meeting today and have gotten positive preliminary feedback. This may take my research in a new and productive direction after spinning my wheels for a while. Very excited! It will mean less time for my spanky writing, but…
    .
  • Thankful, not because friends are going through hard times, but that we have friendship and caring and community. It is in the difficult times that we find out who is there for fun and who is around for real. In my hard times, I have found the true-blue friends who stick by me no matter what. The thing about hard times is that sometimes (not always) it brings out the best in people, and when I see the outpouring of love and support for those of us who need it…I feel a lot better about the future of humanity.
    .
  • When something difficult and scary happens to someone we care about, or to that person’s loved ones, we stop and realize how utterly ungrateful we are most of the time. Even with my weekly thankfulnesses, I’ve realized that I have been ungrateful, too. I am thankful that I got a figurative whack upside the head to recognize where I have been ungrateful and all of the blessings I have taken for granted. Hence this list, only today it all seems a lot more real.
    .
  • I am so thankful that my health issues have been manageable for the past few months. I’ve chosen not to get treatment because it’s too expensive and not that sure to work, and while I am not completely well I have made some improvement. Of course cooler weather helps and so summer time will be a new challenge, but for now I am doing better…without ridiculously expensive medical bills. So very, very thankful.
    .
  • I am grateful to be functioning well enough to be independent and self-sufficient. I am grateful that my immediate family is healthy. I am grateful to have a steady income that provides for my basic needs. I am grateful to have clean clothes and food in the refrigerator and a $15 plug-in keyboard that allows me to use my water-damaged laptop. I’m grateful to *have* the laptop and the internet connection and the electricity.
    .
  • I am thankful that so many people have contributed to Minelle’s Paddle of Doom fund.
    .
  • I am grateful for loving friends who tell me off when I need it. *Not* when I want it, mind you, but when I need it.
    .
  • I am thankful no one made *too* much fun of me yesterday for my…er…naivete.
    .
  • I am grateful that a recent challenge has forced me to re-evaluate how I set my boundaries, who respects those boundaries, and how I approach relationships. It is never a fun experience and I would have been much happier not to have it, but I will appreciate how this challenge has forced me to be more honest and clear with myself and others.
    .
  • I am thankful that you are all wayyyyyyyy too far away to reach around and give me the smacking you think I deserve.
    .
  • I am grateful Christmas won’t come for another eleven months.
    .
  • So grateful for you.

And in a small PSA…I am grateful to have news from Bas. Friends, it is not good news. He needs our prayers and love. Things have gotten very serious indeed, and his time online will be quite limited. He doesn’t want to worry people, but I told him that love and worry go hand in hand. So if he doesn’t reply to your email or comment or blog post, it’s because he can’t go at his previous speed. He would like to post now and then and add a quip when he is able. He is appreciative of all the loving comments and emails you have sent them. Please feel free to continue sending the emails and comments. He reads and enjoys them even if he can’t respond.

I am so grateful to have a friend like Bas. I will focus on being grateful that we have time left together and stop crying because we don’t know how long that might be.

Bas dear, today most of all I am thankful for you. Thank you for loving all of us in blogland. Thank you for giving of yourself so freely and asking so little in return. Allow us to love you and show you that we care.

27 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness: Getting sappy

  1. Joelle Casteel says:

    So good to know that I had your Thursday thankfulness post to read, even as crappy as I’m feeling this morning. Always good to see how many things you come up with in your life to feel thakful about

    Like

  2. Bad Penny says:

    I always love reading your thankfulness Thursdays, Ana… but this weeks was extra special.

    Bas… I only know you from the comments left here on Ana’s blog…but I hope only the best for you as you are having health issues, and struggling. I’m thankful for Ana bringing you into my life even if just at a glance.

    And Ana be glad you don’t live close, or I’d spank you for making me cry two days in a row! πŸ™‚

    Penelope Jones

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Bad Penny’s always to blame, not me! πŸ™‚

      I hope that you are healing, dear. You have my prayers and good wishes.

      Next time I hope it’s a good spanking that makes you cry. Hugs.

      Like

  3. Willie says:

    I am thankful that a some of my friends are receiving the best news they can in the situations they find themselves in.

    I am thankful that although I have friends who’s family members are suffering, they live in a place where they do have options which can lead to hope.

    I am thankful that my crazy little dog can live a long life, and perhaps her bi-polar *ichiness will go away with her new meds ( after living with me so long Barney thought she was ‘normal). I’m really thankful because my boys would have been so upset to loose her.

    I am over the moon, that God has granted new life to be brought into our family…I am equally thankful that said life did NOT come from me!

    I am also so thankful that Bas was able to comment on my blog and by doing so helped Barney and I through our first few months of ttwd. I may not have always liked what he had to say, but it always got me thinking. Most of his comments, did however make my heart swell.

    Like

  4. blissfulelysia says:

    Lovely things to be thankful for, and a few funny ones to boot Ana. So sorry to hear of Bas’s troubles and Minelle’s husband’s surgery. I do hope all are on their way to recovery.
    You are so right about this community Ana. There are very kind and thoughtful souls. But we all need to exercise caution as well. It’s hard to balance.
    I do hope that your own health issue trends towards improvement, or at least tolerance if that is all that can be. Do take care! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Sometimes we have to make our thankful things. I will send your good wishes to both.

      It is a balance, isn’t it?

      Improvement/tolerance is another balance…glad for both of them. Nice to see you visit. πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. pao says:

    I really hope Bas recovers.

    Also really glad to hear about the professional opportunity and your feet being manageable. I hope it all goes smoothly for you.

    Like

  6. Cat says:

    I love your attitude and your Thursday Thankfulness Ana.

    Sending lots of positive thoughts that your professional opportunity works out for you.

    Sending healing energy and prayers that your health issues continue to improve and that Bas recovers soon.

    Bas you are a valued, much-loved member of this community and I am very grateful for you and the friendship you have extended.

    Like

  7. Susie says:

    I don’t have time to give all the details, but your list resonated with me Ana. I think it is sometimes very helpful to find a balance in owning our own struggles but not letting them overwhelm us. So many folks are struggling right now and I’m thankful for your remembering to be thankful! πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Katie says:

    Hi Ana,

    It’s nice to meet you! I’ve been lurking since fall and am still tryig to navigate my way around blog land. I really appreciate your blog and stories, which I am just getting to know. Thank you!

    I am moved by your thankful/grateful list- and am reminded that it is wise to keep stock of those things, big and small, that we are thankful for each day. It really puts things in perspective when we stop to remind ourselves that no matter how bad our problems may seem, there is always someone out there who is dealing with more, who can use our kindness, prayers and love.

    I am very sorry to hear of Bas’ illness. Though he has not met me, I have lurked around long enough to have benefited from his perspective of ttwd and it has made a difference in my life. I am willing to bet it has done the same for countless others too. For that I am truly grateful. I wish him well and send my prayers. (((((Hugs)))))! Take care!

    ❀ Katie

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

