Monday Morning Fika: Reviewing frenzy with La Crimson Femme

Have you ever read glowing book reviews and thought, “Pshaw, that sounds like the author’s granny wrote it?” All praise and no substance? Or have you ever read a critical review of your book and wanted to throw something at the wall because the person only said, “Stupid story” without any reasons?

Let me introduce to you La Crimson Femme of Goodreads and BDSM Book Reviews fame! Not only does she make getting a 2-star review from her seem like an accomplishment, but she also offers a wealth of reasons why she critiques the books she reads.

A warning: Today’s content is quite different from the usual Fika material. There is reference to decidedly “adult” practices and even some on-stage demonstration. If you are faint-hearted, you may wish to read a nice, innocent story instead. If you are naughty *coughlikeSueLyndonandReneeRose* you will be on the edge of your seat.

Welcome to Fika!

Strolls in with a fresh bacon wrapped dates stuffed with blue cheese. Is this where the bacon lovers are gathering today? This is currently my favourite bacon dish and I thought I’d bring it along to share.

bacon

My name is La Crimson Femme. On Goodreads I’m also known as BA, short for BookAddict. I’m a kinky switch who is passionate about reading books. I’m known for reading all sorts of kinky books and moderating the BDSM group on Goodreads. Ana kindly requested me to guest post on her blog. Here I am! * Sets the dish down on a table. Hops a step, hands fisted on my hips. *

La Crimson Femme: Psst, Ana, where is everyone?

Anastasia Vitsky: BookAddict, this is a virtual interview. There is no audience. It’s just you and me. By the way, why do you have two names? It’s confusing.

La Crimson Femme: Well, there are kind of two of us. BookAddict is the one who is a book slut. She reads basically anything. I have to keep her reined in. She becomes overwhelmed by all the books she sees and just wants to read them all. I tie her down and makes sure she follows a schedule. If I weren’t around, she’d end up spending all her time on Goodreads when we should be reading and reviewing. You may address me as La Crimson Femme. I’m the Domme; she’s the sub.

Anastasia Vitsky: So…there are two of you? *blinks*

La Crimson Femme: Shh, don’t say it too loud. She doesn’t understand that she’s not exactly alone. *Looks over my shoulder at the raven black haired girl sitting in a chair, engrossed in a book.*

Anastasia Vitsky: Okkaaay…Moving on, tell us about your reviewing habits and how it started. *slowly steps back away*

La Crimson Femme: Right! Thanks, Ana. Back to the point. I started out writing notes for myself. This way, when friends asked about books, I could send them my short opinion. Before book review sites for erotica was popular, I’d have a hard time finding erotic books to read. Some of the books I read, I wish someone wrote a review which was more than just, “this book is awesome!” I found a couple of early erotic review sites which provided strict rules stating all reviews must be complimentary because the books were donated by the authors. For me, this defeats the purpose of reading a review. I want to know the good, the bad and the ugly.

BookAddict: *Head pops up, stands up from the chair in the corner and pushes La Crimson Femme aside* I LOVE the bad and ugly! The more depraved the better! Will there be torment?

La Crimson Femme: *Glares at BookAddict. Grabs BookAddict by her long tresses and drags her back to the chair. Quickly whips out some rope and ties BookAddict to the chair, tightly. Dusts hands and walks back to Ana. *

Where were we before we were rudely interrupted? Oh yes. My style of review varies a bit based on the review site requirements and how the book impacted me. For example, some review sites require I provide a short summary of the book before I review it. It shouldn’t be the same as the book blurb. I thought this was an odd request until the review coordinator explained not everyone reads the book blurb and not all reviewers actually read the entire book.

What I’d like authors to know about my reviews – is the rating systems mean very little to me. My reviews tend to provide more value than the number of stars or paddles. This is because I’ve always been a better essay writer than a multiple choice taker. But seriously, my reviews explains why I enjoyed the book or what didn’t work for me. I also explain what I’d recommend for any of the points which didn’t work for me. I try to use specific examples which are measurable and quantifiable. This way, both authors and readers alike can decide if this would be sticking point for them. I fully understand and appreciate what I like will be different than what others prefer. Without ruining the book through spoilers, I provide just enough information for my fellow readers to decide if this book will be a good fit for them. Because ultimately, my goal now, is to match the book to the right reader. No one wants to spend money on a bad time.

BookAddict: Oh, is a bad time when a big bad Dom forces us to do things we love but don’t like to admit we enjoy? *Big brown eyes widen with excitement* Do we get to be flogged? Will there be anal? I like anal.

La Crimson Femme: *Purses lips, reaches down into a bag and rummages through it.* Ah hah! I have just the things. Sorry Ana, give me a few minutes and let me take care of this brat. She needs to be distracted so we can continue our conversation.

Anastasia Vitsky: *One eyebrow raised, lips slightly ajar, nods her head slowly as she moves her chair a bit further away from the two women and closer to the door. She continues to stare at the two items in La Crimson Femme’s hands.*

La Crimson Femme: *whispers* How many times have I told you not to interrupt when I’m speaking to others? If you can’t sit quietly, I’ll give you something to focus on. Not another word. *Tilts the chair seat back and unties BookAddict’s legs. Forcing the tanned thighs wide up and pushing up the short red skirt, it’s clear, BookAddict is wearing no panties as ordered. * Open your loud mouth and wet the plug.

*BookAddict presses her lips tightly together and turns her head away.*

Are you sure you want to do that? That’s all the lube I’m giving you.

*BookAddict quickly turns her head back and stares as me wide eyed. Her mouth pops open with her short pink tongue wiggling in a come hither.*

That’s what I thought. *After wetting the plug, I shove it hard into BookAddict’s tight little hole. It’s awkward, but with BookAddict’s legs spread wide and thrown over the chair legs, it’s possible. I tie her legs to the chair arms to ensure she doesn’t move. I wrap the rope a few times around her crotch to keep the minx from ejecting the plug from her ass. Finally, I turn anal plug to medium vibration. *

BookAddict: *whines* Oh God! How long are you going to leave me here?

La Crimson Femme: When I’m done with the interview. Perhaps this will keep you from interrupting. *Shows BookAddict the vibrating nipple clamps.* Don’t make me use them. *Walks back to my seat and focuses at Ana.*

*Ana focuses on the nipple clamps and leans further away.*

*I wink at Ana. Slips clamps into my pocket.*

If you ask nicely, I might treat you to a bit of play. Back to reviewing and ratings. I’ve been told I’m a hard rater. Since almost fifty percent of books I’ve read earn a three out of five star from me, this could be true. I prefer to think of it as a bell curve. To be at a three star is not bad. It means I enjoyed the book. This is good. Even a two star doesn’t mean bad for me. It merely denotes a book which was okay. I could even argue an one star isn’t necessary bad either. Just because I hated the book, doesn’t mean it isn’t a well written book and that others won’t like it. I recently read a book which was very well written but I hated it. It was one of the more difficult reviews to write because it takes longer for me to list all the good point and then explain why I still rated it an one star.

Anastasia Vitsky: How does an author get a four or five star rating then?

La Crimson Femme: There is no exact formula for earning a four or five star. What I can share is that each of these books had a profound effect on me. The book must emotionally move me. If the characters are engaging and designed in a way that I can feel what they feel, I will generally rate the book higher. The greater emotion it generates, usually the higher the rating. In a way, I prefer angst. The angst needs to be creative and catch me off guard. If the storyline is well written with hidden meanings, this also does well for me. I thrive on books which makes me think. Just because I love books with sex in it, doesn’t mean it can’t contain ideas which make me want to discuss it with others. As a side note, if the book is going to have sex in it, I lean heavily towards the kinky side. The hotter and kinkier the sex, generally the higher the score too.

Anastasia Vitsky: Any advice for new erotic authors?

BookAddict: SEX! More sex! And if we can have more non con, medical kink and some hot forced F/f would be great! The domestic discipline is awesome. Can we have more strict…

La Crimson Femme: *Big sigh. Reaches into the bag again and pulls out a ball gag. Strides over to BookAddict. * I warned you. Don’t say I don’t enforce my rules. Open up.

BookAddict: *Pouts and shakes her head.*

La Crimson Femme: *Sets the ball gag on the chair between BookAddict’s legs. Reaches down and turns the anal plug up to high. Quickly unbuttons BookAddict’s white shirt and unclasps her front clasps bra. Pulls out the nipple clamps and attaches them onto brown perky nipples. *

BookAddict: GAH!

La Crimson Femme: *Quickly grabs the ball gag and shoves it into BookAddic’ts open mouth. Forces her head down and buckles the straps together behind her head.* That should keep her quiet until we are done.

Anastasia Vitsky: *nervously giggles* You were going to mention the things to avoid for new erotic writers?

La Crimson Femme: Ah yes. Here are my personal top ten things to avoid.

Top ten things to avoid

  1. Using too stupid to live main characters
  2. Throwing in a requisite 4.5 sex scenes
  3. Writing in first person
  4. Using dialog overrun with superlatives
  5. Using a rich, handsome man falling for a poor plain girl
  6. Creating conflict through “Three’s Company” type miscommunication
  7. Avoiding research because it’s fiction
  8. Including tangent stories involving secondary characters with no closure
  9. Using ex deus machina as a plot device
  10. Changing points of views between main characters frequently and also changing to secondary characters

La Crimson Femme: Thank you Ana for the lovely time. *Exits while pushing a rolling chair with a tied up and gagged BookAddict in it.*

.

Learn more about La Crimson Femme at her blog!

74 thoughts on “Monday Morning Fika: Reviewing frenzy with La Crimson Femme

  1. Sue Lyndon says:

    First of all, I love bacon. Second of all, great interview Ana and La Crimson Femme! I’m definitely awake now. Mmm…ball gags and vibrating plugs, be still my kinky heart:) La Crimson Femme, I always enjoy your reviews on Goodreads. I’ve read many books after reading your reviews.

    Like

  2. Cara Bristol says:

    This is the most fun and creative Fika I’ve read. This is my question: if you want help match readers to the right book, why would you give a 1 star rating to a book that you think is well-written, just because you didn’t like it? Wouldn’t it be more fair to the author and the reader to rate the book according to it’s quality and then say in your comments, it wasn’t your cup of tea (or in your case, your brand of cat o nine tails)..

    Like

    • lacrimsonfemme says:

      Cara, this is a very good question. There are a couple of ways an author could rate a 1 star from me. The common thread would be, I didn’t enjoy the book at all. I hated a character or a plot. And it isn’t one of those, “Love to hate” or “hate to love” characters. It’s truly, after reading a book, I didn’t enjoy it at all. The star ratings I use are just as Goodreads terms terms them. 1 star = hated it. 2 star = It was okay. 3 star = I enjoyed it. 4 star = I really liked it. 5 star = I loved it. So I guess I can clarify that the stars are how I felt about the book, personally. While the review goes more in depth and includes more than my personal subjective feelings.

      Most of my friends on GR all know to ignore my stars. They just look at my reviews to see if it is something they will like or not like. My recommendation at the end (sometimes in the front) gives quick match up of who would enjoy this book. Apparently that works pretty well as I’ve had numerous comments that the recommendation either helped them go read it or steer away from it. Usually those that steer away from it have trigger points they don’t want to read about – such as rape or incest or TSTL characters. Does that help?

      Like

    • Ana says:

      The way Sue puts it is that a 3-star review from La Crimson Femme is like a 5-star review from someone else. If you read her 1 and 2-star reviews, you’ll find that she really does write so that readers can make up their minds on their own whether to read the book.

      Like

  3. Sophie Sansregret says:

    Love your FIKAs, darling Ana. And I agree heartily with La Crimson Femme particularly regarding stupidity. I cannot abide books wherein the plot relies on the stupidity of the characters. It’s just too painful.

    Soph.

    Like

  4. A Voracious Reader says:

    Awesome, BA! I loved this post, but now I want to lick my monitor right where the bacon wrapped dates are. You are a bad bad girl for tempting me. Hmmm, what should I do? *stares at BA, one eyebrow raised, hands on hips, one booted foot tapping thoughtfully*

    I’m now following you, Ana. 🙂 Pleased to meet you!

    Like

    • lacrimsonfemme says:

      Oops. I should have warned you about the bacon. You and Ralph can take it out of my ass later… just make sure to tell me if I need a towel to wipe away the puddle of wetness…

      @ Ana – Carole and her husband tops…and BookAddict will most likely bottom for them happily. I have to keep BA tied up in case she runs amok and dives into some fun time with Carole and her hubby. (Those bloody military men attract BA like nothing else. It’s a weakness.)

      Like

  5. Cat says:

    Wow Ana – very interesting and entertaining Fika.

    I also can get overwhelmed by all the books I see and just want to read them all. I can get lost for hours in a bookstore (virtual or real). Hmmm…I’m just going to sit very quietly, waaaay over here…away from La Crimson Femme…reading…not saying a word…nope not me…lips zipped.

    Thank you La Crimson Femme for your explaination of how you rate books…oops…reading here…lips zipped!

    Like

  6. Patricia Green says:

    Reviews which are substantive don’t rely on stars, but they do take more time and thought to write. As an author, I appreciate your efforts to help us get better at the craft we love. I’ve read your reviews — keep up the good work!

    Like

    • lacrimsonfemme says:

      Thank you, Patricia! I’m also hoping that books I enjoy, people who might not have picked it up will read it and go, “OH OH OH! Need to read this book!” I love being able to bring new authors to readers. It’s like matchmaking but fun.

      Like

      • Ana says:

        And you love threatening poor, innocent writers with your nasty ruler.

        I am sure when I start getting negative reviews of my own that I will change my tune, but sometimes I think negative reviews are actually more helpful than positive ones. As La Crimson Femme says, generally (in a responsible review), people give more detail and reasons for why they don’t like a book. That makes it helpful to people like me who are looking for certain things. So if a reviewer pans a book for not having enough sex, for example, that’s a little flag for me that I might like the book. 🙂

        Like

  7. Celeste Jones says:

    Very interesting and some great visuals too.

    The whole review thing seems confusing to me. I think that’s part of the reason I started the spanking stories book club (pardon the self-promo). I wanted more than a quick review and I figured that if someone has already found a book on Amazon, I’m not sure how much my review will matter, but I would like to point people to books that I think are worthwhile.

    I appreciate reviews, but I would also like something with some substance besides “this is good” or “this stinks”.

    I’ve not read any of your reviews, but I’ll check them out.

    Like

    • lacrimsonfemme says:

      I’m with you on the reviews. The short one liners didn’t do it for me nor do just the star ratings. I have friends who only do star rating and not reviews because writing a review is hard for them. I have no issues with friends that do this. This is because I’m friends with them and I’ve had hundreds of book discussions with them. So when I see a star rating, I can infer whether or not I’d like it. Plus, I can always ask them a few questions.

      However, I can not expect everyone to be the same and remember their friend’s preferences and be able to infer what a 3 star means and if it would correlate to something they like.

      I think I’ve seen a bunch of one liners that made me roll my eyes. “Best author ever!” “I ❤ Edward!" "GO team Jacob!" "Christian Grey is a dream man!" "LOVE LOVE LOVE!" And all of these were 5 star ratings with just that little bit of review. O_o I'll leave how I feel about those reviews and ratings unsaid.

      On the flip side, the personal attacks of "This author sucks" "This author is stupid" "This book was written by an idiot" are totally uncalled for and I don't like either. It's just plain rude. (Besides, that author may suck very well. Men may be lining up for some good sucking. I'm just saying. Sucking isn't always a bad thing. hehehehe)

      Like

      • Ana says:

        On a practical level, if every book gets five stars then the ratings become meaningless. On a personal level, I don’t feel comfortable rating my friends’ books. So it is a tough one!

        Oh, of course you would bring up sucking. 🙂

        Like

  8. Jade Cary says:

    First of all, GREAT Fika! LCF, great to meet you. I love to review books, but as an author, reviewing my peer’s work can be a slippery slope. Add to that Amazon’s new policy of deleting reviews between authors–which doesn’t bother me; I just post them again. The great books, of course, are easy to review. It’s the ones I have issues with that are tougher, especially if you ‘know’ the person. I can go on and on about ‘fair reviews’ and what constitutes an ‘unfair review’ (a few of us have been discussing that very thing on our FB Spanking Fiction page). I think I am clear on the difference, yet it’s a tough decision. I love hearing from my peers, even if the critique is negative. I don’t know how everyone else feels.

    What is your opinion on authors reviewing other authors?

    Like

    • lacrimsonfemme says:

      Ah, Jade, this is a very very tough one. It’s actually one of the reasons why I won’t publish my stories. Or if I do, it will be a name that no one can trace back to my real identity, BA or LCF. I have issues with people who don’t like authors reviewing authors. Authors are readers too. However, I appreciate that it is a business world and lines get blurry. Personally, I love reading what an author thinks about another author’s book. Good, bad or ugly. It doesn’t make me think any different of the author, unless it’s a snarky review. I find that many snarky reviews, I do loose respect from that reviewer. I may find them funny, but I wouldn’t want them to be my friends.

      I guess I’m also bias because I’m raise by immigrant parents. My mother always told me, a true friend will tell you the facts regardless of it being good or bad. This way, we would be informed and can make things better. An enemy will tell you all the good stuff so that you will become deluded and make a fool out of yourself. Well, at least, this is how the Chinese do it. I can concur, I’ve done this in my day job. I’ve made co-workers I didn’t enjoy working with look like fools. I gave them enough rope to hang themselves. And it couldn’t be traced back to me. Personally, that is too much effort and honestly, I don’t like myself when I do this sort of thing.

      So back to the authors reviewing authors – I like it. I just find the standards and guidelines they have to follow are stricter. I don’t think it should be, but I understand it. Authors who rip on other authors using a review, this makes me loose respect for the author too. However, there are exceptions. I once saw a youtube posting of Stephen King ripping on fans of Stephanie Meyers. I thought it was awesome. I also read his review of Twilight and his critical analysis of Ms. Meyers. I thought it was spot on. He did get some flack, but at the end, no one bullied him too much because:

      1. He’s a man
      2. He writes scary ass shit
      3. He’s very well written
      4. He’s very well respected

      So, I guess my conclusion is – if you are a male author who writes scary shit, review away!

      Like

      • Ana says:

        You do love your numbered lists! It’s always great to write a rave review, isn’t it? It’s everything else that is harder.

        I’ve heard both that I should be upfront in reviews that I am an author AND that it’s tacky to list myself as an author (as if it’s self-promotion). I’m not sure how to handle it.

        Some of the best reviews I have read are the ones that pan books but say why. I may actually come away thinking that I want to read the book.

        Like

  9. Natasha Knight says:

    Wow, was this the most interesting (you can fill in another word for interesting here Ana) interview you’ve had yet? 🙂 Loved it!

    BA, I’ve earned 3 stars from you so I feel proud! I quite like your reviews and normally bypass the stars and just read the text anyway and the recommendation if I’m looking for a new read.

    One more thing, bacon is way better without blue cheese…

    Like

    • lacrimsonfemme says:

      *waves* Hello Natasha! Well, I don’t like blue cheese at all. That whole blue mold thing makes my allergies act up. However, when baked in this delicious little concoction, it’s delicious! I love it. It gives the dish an extra oomph that I didn’t expect. I guess baking it also makes the mold not so bad for my allergies. ^_^

      I have substituted it with goat cheese instead and I’ve had women moaning over it. So I guess I could provide these to you with goat cheese instead!

      Like

  10. Sassy Chassy says:

    This was a very entertaining interview and quite naughty for Ana’s blog! I am always intrigued by how others come up with their review process. I have the hardest time deciding what to include in a review. I value reviews implicitly. I always read them to decide weather or not to purchase a book. I look less to the rating than I do to the actual reviews. I’ve found that everyone perceives the rating system differently and what each star means. Thanks for visiting Ana’s blog and sharing a bit of yourself with us! Now I’m off to check out some of your reviews!

    Like

    • lacrimsonfemme says:

      Hello Sassy Chassy! Yes, I find that stars are so subjective and people use them differently. That is primarily why I go with written reviews. ^_^ My reviews are not consistent though. *hangs head* Sometimes I’m in a mood any my reviews show it.

      As a side note – I do have foul language in a few where someone commented that on my review. First time they interact with me? They mentioned I shouldn’t use foul language. *rolls eyes* CUNT CUNT CUNT – I’ll say it as many times as I want. *bbbpppllltt* is how I felt. I realize this is a touch word for many. I’m not sure why. It seems to be worse in the States. Other countries don’t seem to be as bothered by it. It’s just a bloody word… ^_^

      Like

  11. Minelle says:

    Hi Lacrimsonfemme, I am just going to move over by Ana and Cat. I hate multiple choice anything. There are always too many variables to consider when making your decision. I am much more interested in what someone says about the story or book.Give me some specifics. It is okay to disagree since everyone is different. I’m one of those odd people (shush Ana) that reads for many reasons and sometimes I don’t care if its fluff or crap. But I care when someone writes a one line review that says nothing, and I cannot make a decision about reading it.
    And I always believe there are redeeming qualities in ‘most’ every story. Maybe its the teacher in me!

    Thanks for Fika Ana!

    Like

    • lacrimsonfemme says:

      * Waves hello* So, you are moving to sit by Ana and Cat? You do know I have a rope and I know how to use it, right? I never learned how to lasso, but I have friends eager and willing to teach me. (Those Texas, so many things to learn from them!)

      I’m with you on multiple choice. *shudder* I no likie. I am also like you that I read stuff for all sorts of reason. (Sigh, yes, I read all the porn Amazon pushes. True they are usually 2 star, but they are fun little pieces of mind rotting porn candy.)

      I have to agree most stories have at least 1 redeeming quality. I’ve had one reviewing friend say, “the book ended”. :/ I’m not quite that harsh. Believe me, there are some GR friends i have that rate much harder than me. I could be giving the book a 3 star because I enjoyed it. They give it a 1 star and basically pick the book apart. I was almost in tears for the author. O_O I’ve learned to avoid that friend’s reviews. They tend to be so harsh. I also have to go easy on that friend because they do have a slight form of autism. One never knows when one is reading a review.

      I’d like to say, I have no excuse of autism, AHDH (spelling?) or anything else. Any mistakes or gripes I make are all my own fault. I think one of the funnier interactions with an author…he felt I was being unreasonably mean to his male character. I still gave the book a 3 star. I just ripped the lead male character apart. I let the author know that I’m sorry felt I was being mean, but that is how I felt. If he didn’t like my review, he’s more than welcome to tell me off and “punish” me. He said it was okay. He didn’t want to get me all aroused through a punishment because it would be more reward than not. *scowl*

      Like

  12. Liz Adams says:

    La Crimson Femme, I’d love to know why you suggest avoiding first person for starting erotica writers (like me). I write in first person often and will continue to do so if it means getting the same royal treatment as BA did. I even wore my innocent white mini just in case you need to take me over your lap.

    Like

    • lacrimsonfemme says:

      Liz, I see you like to be spanked. I’m very good with OTK, by the way. I have leather, wooden and metal paddles. ^_^ Oh so many spanking implements I could use!

      The reason why I recommend against first person is because it automatically puts the reader into the shoes of the main character. Now this can be a good thing or a bad thing. Most are not so good. If the main character is poorly developed or so different than mainstream reader, this causes the reader to not enjoy it. The reader will have a negative experience and rate the book poorly. Let’s look at character first then dialog.

      If the character is a male and the story is read by primarily female readers, now we have to try and get the females to relate and be in the man’s shoes. If the author is a female writing it and the male character is just a female in male clothing, it may be relate-able for many female readers. However, if the reader is male, he could find the male main character completely off and rip it apart. I’ve had a couple of experiences where I’ve read from a man’s point of view and I’m thinking, “WTF, I’m a woman and I know men don’t think like this.”

      Let’s talk about dialog. For readers to feel good about the experience, it has to be balanced. The dialog can’t be that high level nor can it be low. It has to be just at the right level where the reader can think, “oh yes, I could have said that and I feel so smart”. If the dialog is too low level, the reader feels, “i’m not that stupid. I wouldn’t ever say something like this.” If the dialog is too high level, once again, the reader can’t relate and feels stupid. When a reader feels stupid or insulted, they rate the book lowly.

      With first person, and the constant “I” repeated, the onus is higher on the author to really make this character universal or someone readers want to be. With 3rd person, this allows the author to remove the personal prejudices and biases from the reader towards the character. The reader is not expected to be in the shoes of the main character. Instead, the reader is given the choice to empathize or sympathize.

      What really bugs me is the character talking in first person and at the reader. As if there is a dialog going on between the main character and myself. I’ve rarely seen it done well. Most of the time, it pulls me out of the story and makes me think, “WTF?” Anything that ruins the “fantasy” shall we say, is a bad thing from my perspective. For me, the author needs to keep the reader engaged and in this little world they create until it’s over. If the reader is disengaged, they won’t remember the story and their review and rating will reflect it.

      Since first time authors need more reassurance rather than being kicked in the gut, I recommend going 3rd person until their writing skill set is up to par. Or that their skin is thick enough. I’m not saying it can’t be done. I’m not saying it can’t be done well. What I am saying is that it is difficult and if done improperly, it could cause grief that could be avoided.

      Like

      • Liz Adams says:

        *Running her hands on her rosy cheeks* Ouch. That stings. Thank you. Now that I released my short airport groping story, I see how having it told completely in first person was a mistake. Since it’s entirely from the man’s POV, I risked my women readers not identifying with him and raised the risk of my readers saying “a man wouldn’t think that.” Oh well. I plan on rereleasing it, anyway since Amazon put a restriction on it, flagging it as Adult. I can change it to third person. Thanks for the spanking! May I have another?

        Like

        • lacrimsonfemme says:

          lol – you goof. It’s just a possibility that readers will have a hard time. I still have to read it. It is really dependent on a reader’s preference. Don’t change it on my account. I caution writers because I find they get dinged on this piece more oft than not. I personally can’t write in first person because I think it will be a total turn off for most people. My writing voice is rather peculiar and a bit too strong that it will turn people off. However, if I throw it into a 3rd person, readers don’t feel uncomfortable with the discord. Basically, if the first person resonates well with the reader and there isn’t big variance in what the main character says and thinks compared against the reader, then you are fine. But if the deviation between main character and reader is greater and the main character is going – “I, I, I, me, me” the reader at a subliminal level will become irritated. This is what I’m trying to get new authors to avoid.

          However, if an author is very good at behaviour modification and leading a person down the path of corruption…well, then this may work for them. For example, if I were to tell you, that you will want to sexually sleep with your mother, most readers would go, FUCK NO! That won’t happen. However, if I set it up in a manner where I slowly change the perception and get it to be okay, the reader will enjoy the journey and at the end still rebel and scream – “WTF? HOW DID THIS HAPPEN?” But they will enjoy it. >:D

          This is much easier to do in a 3rd person viewpoint because it’s once removed. We as a reader can empathize rather than sympathize. This is a key difference.

          And… as a side note, I’d love to give you a bit of a spanking. I have a lovely leather paddle I could use on your ass…

          Like

  13. SassyTwatter says:

    Oh my god totally not at all what I ever expected to see on a Fika from Ana. Iovef it and can’t stop laughing. That ha to be p e of the cutest Inteviews ever. So nice to meet you LCF I am headed over to good reads now! Ana you were adorable! And, I am still shocked almost speechless!

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

