#8Sunday: The parents’ letter

Yes, it is another loosely interpreted six sentences, but this time it’s a justifiable eight! πŸ™‚ This snippet is from The Way Home, the first volume of Kat and Natalie stories. At the end of the freshman year, resident assistants Jessie and her partner collect their assortment of floormates for a party. Kat is caught off-guard, but as usual Natalie has anticipated her discomfort.

As we gradually quiet down, Jessie begins again. β€œWe just wanted to say that not only we are so proud of you guys for making it through the year, but so are your families! We talked to your parents and asked them to write a letter to you since it’s the end of your first year, and we’re going to hand them out now. You don’t have to share unless you want to.”

Suddenly, the pizza and M&Ms and Doritos in my stomach are making me feel sick. I set down my plate and start to get up. Natalie lays a hand on my arm, but I shake it off. I start to leave, but this time her fingers wrap around my wrist and pull me just close enough to hear her command in a piercing whisper, β€œSit.”

Look for The Way Home, to be released March 6th by Lazy Day.

For more excerpts of other authors’ works, please visit Weekend Writing Warriors.

46 thoughts on “#8Sunday: The parents’ letter

  1. Spanking101 says:

    I read Mrs. Clause, so far the only book I have read of yours. You already have Natalie and Kat books out right? I’m starting to really get interested in these books. I absolutely adore F/F spanking stories.

    Like

    • Ana says:

      The Way Home will be published March 6th, and it is the first published version of their stories. I am so glad you are interested. πŸ™‚

      Oh, and I hope that you liked Mrs. Claus. Thank you so much for reading!

      Like

  2. minellesbreath says:

    I remember when this was it was on the blog. It made me tear up. Friendship, kindness, love, support, those are just a few words that come to mind. This was a great ‘loosely’ interpreted six making us cry for ‘more!’

    Like

  3. Bad Penny says:

    Nice, Ana!!! It makes me, as the reader, want to know what happened to get them here, and what is going to happen next! “Sit” I felt like I should have sat also! heh

    OMG I must read this book! πŸ™‚

    Penelope Jones

    Like

  4. Jess Schira says:

    Everyone who made it here before me is spot on, this is a really good snippet. Your writing is strong and you’ve put your considerable talent to good use creating a solid relationship between the pair. Kudos!

    Like

    • Ana says:

      These are my two favorite characters…flawed, frustrating, and completely real. πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for visiting! I love getting to know people. I’ll have to see how the little piggies are doing.

      Like

  5. Julie says:

    I love these snippets, Ana, and this really is a wonderful scene. But I sort of wish you weren’t posting them – they’re making March 6th seem so far away! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Ana says:

      Wow, look who’s commenting! So great to see you here.

      Far away to you…and scarily close for me. I’m sending all of my psychic energies into a message, “Please let people like Kat and Natalie, please please please”…though for you I send a message that says, “It’s okay if you don’t like Natalie”. πŸ˜€

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

