#8Sunday: After loss (The Way Home: Kat and Natalie, Volume One)

Today’s snippet is from The Way Home: Kat and Natalie Volume One. It will be published March 6th by Lazy Day. One of the most difficult–but meaningful–scenes for me to write was when Kat visits her father’s grave with her brother, sister-in-law, and nephews.

Loss, grief, and dealing with the aftermath of grief have been on my mind this week. In completing my last set of edits before The Way Home is published (in just under two weeks!), I found a sense of comfort in my own writing.

I offer these few sentences in memory of those who are dear to everyone who visits today.

.

.

When Josh and Maureen finally bring me to the cemetery, Maureen tactfully leads the twins away and allows me to kneel on the frozen ground in between my parents’ graves. The headstones were too expensive, so instead Josh chose a small plaque. Just Dad’s name and dates. Nothing fancy.

We are not the hugging type, and Josh puts a hand on my shoulder. Tells me it is cold and that it is time to go.

That night, for the first time ever I am glad for the twins’ double nightlights. One on each end of the room, casting a muted glow over the sleeping children.

.

.

For more excerpts of other authors’ works, please visit Weekend Writing Warriors.

50 thoughts on “#8Sunday: After loss (The Way Home: Kat and Natalie, Volume One)

  1. Jess Schira says:

    Ana, you might have struggled to get this scene down, but based on what I’ve just read, the hard work was worthwhile. This is a lovely, poignant scene with lots of emotion and reveal a great deal about her relationships and personal life. Well done!

    Like

  2. Sassy says:

    Ana you always amaze me the power of your words to make me laugh or cry. Right now I’m the crazy girl crying in her car. Beautifully written looking forward to reading it.

    Like

  3. siobhanmuir says:

    Such sweet sorrow, Ana. It seems to be the theme this week. Many writers have posted a similar snippet, mine included. I wish you well and congrats on the upcoming release. πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Roz says:

    Beautiful snippet Ana, so full of emotion yet without the description. I too love the touch with the night lights. You may have struggled to write this scene, but boy, you nailed it!

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

