Simple Gifts (Tuesdays with Ana, Part 4)

Again, my plans for today’s post have changed.

I am anxiously awaiting news about a friend, anxiously awaiting news about a super-important day-job project, and finding that the stress of doing too much has brought some health difficulties back. People often tell me that they don’t know how I do everything, but the truth right now is that I’m not.

I’d like to offer my sincere apologies to everyone who has not gotten a blog visit or a reply to comments. Or a response to an email or whatever else I may be missing.

In lieu of a post today, I offer this video (if the link doesn’t work, go to youtube and type “simple gifts yoyo ma beanscot”:

This is the song that plays a pivotal role in my upcoming release, Simple Gifts, due out on April 10th by LazyDay. I had always liked the song, but writing it into the scene was a consecration of everything about it that is special to me.

Today I wish, for everyone, the gift of being simple, free, and where we ought to be.

.

Tis a gift to be simple, ‘tis a gift to be free. ‘Tis a gift to come down where we ought to be. And when we find ourselves in the place just right ‘twill be in the valley of love and delight.

When true simplicity is gained, to bow and to bend we shan’t be ashamed. To turn, turn will be our delight, ‘till by turning, turning we come ‘round right.

.

Simple Gifts (April 10), LazyDay

Music.  Without the love of her life, how can Leila learn to live again?

Professional violinist Leila Feran is accustomed to fame as the youngest and first female concertmaster of the Philharmonic Symphony.  Driven to achieve ever-increasing heights, she injures her wrist so badly that she may no longer be able to play.  She moves in with her childhood best friend, a pianist and beloved orchestra teacher in a small town.  Carene welcomes Leila with open arms and only one condition: no divas allowed.  And if Leila can’t follow the house rules, she might find herself over Carene’s knee…or worse.

This is the story of how two women learn to embrace love in their lives.

20 thoughts on “Simple Gifts (Tuesdays with Ana, Part 4)

  1. pao says:

    It must have been very fulfilling to write something so special into your story. I hope your friend is well and that Ana gets good news about the day job. *hug*

    Like

  2. Cat says:

    Deep breath Ana…slowly let it out…now, as Sara said…breathe. Sending lots of prayers and positive and healing energy for everything stressing you.

    Thank you for sharing the lovely song. I’m sure you book is going to do great!

    Blessings,
    Cat

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Breathing! Going to take a break today, even if I can’t really afford one. Thank you for the prayers. Isn’t the song wonderful? I’ll be sharing more videos in the weeks to come to coordinate with the release of Simple Gifts.

      Like

  3. Minelle says:

    This is what happens when we push ourselves darlin. I echo everyone’s suggestion to breathe and ‘try’ and relax. Things have a way of working out. Listen to your body and baby yourself…!
    Cannot WAIT for this one!! I am so excited!

    Like

  4. Constance Masters says:

    Aww Ana. I hope you feel better after your day off. Sometimes you just need to take one. I know your new book will be a success. Just remember you are a SUPER woman but you’re not Superwoman, the body has limits xoxoxo

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Thank you, Constance. I do feel a lot better…not back to 100% and of course work piled up in my absence, but it was good to get out. I hope that you get breaks, too. Plus…I love your comment about being a super woman but not Superwoman. xoxo right back.

      Like

  5. Roz says:

    Hang in there Ana and as everyone has said, take a deep breath. Listen to your body.

    Sending positive thoughts and wishes.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

