#SatSpanks and #8Sunday: Grow up

This weekend’s snippet comes from Editorial Board, the story of a badly behaving author and the editor who must deal with her. In this section, Spring visits Rachel in her office…and lets her sass get the better of her. Rachel decides that enough is enough.

.

.

She sat down, folding her hands across her desk. “Grow up,” she answered, as casually as if she were telling me to tie my shoelaces. “Stop being a brat, shut up, and listen to me.”

Cool air wafted over the top of my tongue, and my ears popped. Even after I realized that my mouth had dropped far enough to threaten unhinging my jaw, I couldn’t close it. It took a quick massage near my ears to loosen my jaw enough to force it to snap back into place.

“What?” she flashed. “No one’s ever told you off before?”

.

.

Ediecover

Editorial Board

Award-winning author Spring Meadows and newspaper-turned-literary editor Rachel Templeton have one thing in common: they can’t stand each other! Spring is sure that her bestselling talents single-handedly keep her publishing company afloat, while Rachel would like nothing better than to take this smart-mouthed, button-pushing prima donna down a peg or two. When Spring makes the fatal mistake of accusing Rachel of sexual misconduct, Rachel decides to teach her a lesson.

“What is an author to an editor?” Spring asks herself. If only she had been prepared for Rachel’s answer…

25 thoughts on “#SatSpanks and #8Sunday: Grow up

  1. Julie says:

    I love this section, Ana. The “tie my shoelaces” line wonderfully shows that Spring knows how she’s been acting, and how she’s being treated.

    It’s a *really* fun book, Ana.

    Like

  2. catrouble says:

    Absolutely love that line Ana! It really paints a picture in my mind. 😉

    Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.

    Blessings,
    Cat

    Like

  3. Roz says:

    Great snippet Ana, I love the description of Spring’s reaction to being told off. I have a feeling that is something she is going to have to get used to LoL

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  4. siobhanmuir says:

    I’m with SJ and cheering for the editor, lol. Probably because of all the authors I’ve read about behaving badly in public. Great snippet, Ana! 🙂

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

