Monday Morning Fika: Behind the Scenes with Coming to Terms

Coming-to-Terms.Ad

This Wednesday, May 15th, Coming to Terms will finally be available for sale! Rumor is that the book *may* be on Amazon by late-night Tuesday. Maybe. Don’t quote me.

When Staci Taylor of LazyDay Publishing visited Fika last year, I asked whether she would do a multi-author spanking anthology. She said that she had never done one, but she would be interested. Of course, an idea is only an idea once it’s carried out! After talking with fellow spanking authors Jade Cary, Sue Lyndon, Celeste Jones, and Alta Hensley, I pitched the idea to Staci. Hundreds of emails later, the six of us had a plan for our anthology (Cara Bristol and Renee Rose received invitations to join us later). We called ourselves the “Dream Team” and discussed endless arrays of possible scenarios.

In the end, we came up with a theme of couples coming to terms with what DD means in their life. In my story, “Tomorrow,” Kat and Natalie struggle to get past the darkness of The Way Home and come to terms with the negative effects that DD has had on their lives. Spanking is not the answer to all problems, but their relationship is so fragile that it is threatened by any attempts to talk or change. After getting some relationship advice, Natalie books a vacation to “Sarsi World” (LazyDay legal team informed me that I couldn’t use “Disney”) for the two of them to have some time to create new, positive memories to replace the old, hurtful ones.

The rest of the stories are amazing, but I’ll let their authors tell you more about them. On Wednesday, each of us will share a snippet from our story.

For today, here’s a peek behind the scenes at some of the negotiations that went on while we were putting Coming to Terms together. We had a few..ah…differences of opinion. I wanted Disney. The others wanted sex. Guess who won?

——

SEX

I know we’ve talked about this, but I want to confirm. I know that Ana & Celeste’s stories don’t have sex scenes. But what about the rest of you?

In my story I can go either way. The story works with or without a sex scene. If no one has one, I’ll omit it. If the rest of you have sex in your stories, I’ll keep it in to spice it up.

Cara

I meant to have one, but it just didn’t seem to work with what was going on. Renee’s has hot sex, but you probably expected that anyway.

Celeste

Cara, quick answer: Staci’s request is that if you are known for writing sexy scenes (as you are), that you feel free to include it in the story. 🙂 If you want to put it in, do so. If not, no problem.
Ana

yes, Celeste is right, I have hot sex.  I have two to three separate scenes, or two and a half, I guess.  Oral, finger-f**ing and full on.  Ana would’ve known that, but she just skimmed that part.  : )

Renee

HEY!!  lol…

Someday I’m going to have the hottest scene that makes everyone blush. 😛

Ana 

I have sex! 2 scenes is how it is working out (I think). It might be 2 and a half. Cara, please write the sex, I don’t want to be the only naughty. 😉
Although my sex scenes are more on the romantic side. I stayed away from both ‘C’ words.

Alta

I may do fade to black, I may do subtle. No hard core in mine–romance language. As you can tell, i am not as far along as the rest of you lovelies.

Jade

WORKING OUT THE DETAILS

I’m currently considering “Wish Away Home,” “Wishing For Home,” and “Princess Katya.”  I thought that “A Mickey Mouse Spanking” might not be viewed with extreme enthusiasm by everyone else.  Even if that will be our cover art.  😉

Sue, did you stay up plotting your story or plotting to corrupt me and take over the world?
Ana

For heat level – I know Ana doesn’t do sex scenes (although it’s my goal in life to corrupt her, muhaha), and I think that’s fine.  Not every story needs to have sex.  It’s more about the emotional connection anyway.  My characters will have probably have sex, but they won’t be having wild crazy orgies, and I will be focusing more on the DD aspect of their relationship. So…does that mean PG-13?

Sue

My vote is no Disney! I write the spicy…although I can tone it down a bit if that’s what you gals want. So sex and Mickey just seems – Icky! 🙂

Alta

I think another layer to our collection is going to be what stage couples are at in their relationship with DD.  We have those who are brand-new or exploring (Sue’s couple and Jade’s daughter character), Kat and Natalie who have been at it for 10 years but not in a sexual/marital way, and the Alta/Celeste’s couples who do DD in a sexual/marital way and are partway into it.  Alta’s couple does DD in the context of a group of other couples who practice openly, while (so far) Celeste’s couple practices discreetly.

That’s another range–the openness that characters have to sharing DD outside of their relationship.  Jade’s character and mine would probably not tell others.  Alta’s characters have a built-in support system and can be open with them.

Ana

Who’s writing the blurb? 1,2,3..not me! J
Alta

 

So I’ll ask the question. How many spanking scenes are you having? It’s a short story, so what should the count be? I mean, are you basically typing:

Once upon a time – spank, spank, spank.

Conflict – spank, spank, spank

Sex scene – spank, spank, spank

Happily ever after.

The End.

Epilogue – spank, spank, spank

??? I’m not sure what to do. 🙂

Alta

SEX, AGAIN

I personally would like to see at least some level of sex from Alta,Jade and Sue. Because their fans will expect it, and it is more marketable.

Staci

So sex it is. My dirty little mind is set FREE! 🙂

Alta

We can put Ana’s story in the middle. Like sex intermission. Sex-ermission.

Celeste

Sex-ermission!! I almost peed myself. 🙂

Alta

Woot woot! Sex-ermission! so is Alta writing a full synopsis for THE BOOK, featuring all of us? sorry…brain fart.

Jade

Hahaha!  Sex-ermission.  I can’t stop laughing:)

Oh…is someone else doing a cabin vacation?  Because I can change my location if so.  So many emails…LOL…I can’t keep track:)

Thank you, Alta, for taking care of the synopsis to send to Staci.  Am I still writing a blurb of some kind?  I’m confused.  This was a bad week to cut back on caffeine.

Sue

THE MICKEY MOUSE DISAGREEMENT

We still need an official blurb for the book description, but that can wait.

Celeste…lol!!  Though it makes it sound as if Kat and Natalie’s mission is to have sex.

Thank you for doing the synopsis, Alta!

So….can we have Mickey Mouse for the cover art?

Just kidding!

Ana

 I think I volunteered to work on the official blurb…I’d better get to that!

Thank you, Alta, for sending Staci the synopsis!  Woo-hoo, we have contracts in our inbox now!  Guess I better figure out the title of my story so I can return it:)

Sue

P.S.  Ana is not allowed anywhere near the cover art form when it comes time to fill it out!  🙂

Ana you stay clear of the cover! Disney ears…it’s about time we all corrupt your mind. We need to add some dirty to your purity. 😉

Alta

Dear Staci,

Pretty please will you feature Mickey Mouse and Cinderella’s Castle for the anthology cover?  I will send you homemade cookies if you do.

Ana

Dear Staci,
Feel free to spank Ana…hard.
Love,
ALL OF US

Jade

ON SITTING AT THE COOL KIDS’ TABLE

Suggesting that our stories might have cameos:

Oooh I’d have Alta Hensley show up! We could all be famous…in our own book. Ha ha.

Alta

I have to say, that you all have quite the collection of authors. You should change the book title to – Star Power. I have no doubt this book will be outstanding. You all are taking the spanking community by storm!

Staci

This is going to be awesome. I can’t believe I get to sit at the cool kids’ table.

Celeste

AND, FINALLY WE SEE SOME F/F

I’ve heard from everybody. Alta, Sue and Renee and I are having sex (but not together). Celeste and Ana are cut off.

Cara

That’s about the size of it.

Celeste 

If there’s some F/F action going on here, there is no way I’m going to be cut off.

Ana

Coming to Terms will be available for purchase THIS Wednesday, May 15th!

18 thoughts on “Monday Morning Fika: Behind the Scenes with Coming to Terms

  1. Minelle says:

    LOVING……LOVING this anthology!! You all are quite the group! Keep laughing with each other. It certainly makes a difference when authors enjoy working together!!

    Like

  2. Thianna D says:

    I now have this image in my head of MM with a paddle. Now that is a Disney I could get on board with. Oh wait, we weren’t talking about that, were we?

    Wednesday cannot come fast enough. You guys have been teasing me for weeks with your blurbs… I wanna read it 😀

    Like

  3. Roz says:

    Hi Ana,

    This is such a wonderful collection of stories from a very talented group of authors. I am very privileged to have read this having been treated to a copy by Renee Rose and invited to publish a review. Looking forward to posting my review shortly.

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

