A blast from the past: Thankfulness Thursday

When I first started this blog, I began a tradition of giving thanks on Thursdays. In honor of my Canadian friends and colleagues, I’d like to offer a small list of thanks and invite readers to do the same.

1. I’m thankful for lovely fall weather that’s meant sunny mornings walking around my neighborhood. Now that the heat of summer is slowly slipping into shorter days and softer sunlight, it’s soul-satisfying to nod and smile to neighbors. There’s a peculiar culture amongst morning walkers, whether it’s the hurry-up-and-get-to-work-crowd, the leisurely amblings of the retired, or the inevitable dog walkers. There’s something so companionable about the silent morning “hello”s of one neighbor to another.

2. I’m thankful (knock on wood) for health that is gradually getting better each day. There are a lot of after-effects of the months of difficulties, but one year ago I had difficulty going out for the most basic of tasks. Daily walking wasn’t even an option, let alone the trips I’ve gotten to take this year.

3. I’m thankful for kooky, silly friends who make me laugh about the silliest things. I love giggling into the phone late at night, like the bubbly teenagerhood I’d always wanted (rather than the serious, studious one I did have). I love the not-at-all-funny in-jokes and offhand comments that send us into gales of unrestrained mirth.

4. I’m thankful for unlimited cell phone plans, free long distance, and ultra-cheap monthly Skype plans that make #3 possible. I’m also thankful for my new Bluetooth that affords me companionship during the otherwise annoying driving for errands and other mundane tasks.

5. I’m thankful for a wonderful radio interview with Kate Richards and Olivia Starke on The Edge with Cassandre Dayne. It was my first time on the radio, and it was fun! If you missed it, you can download the file or replay the interview here. The first hour is a wonderful visit with Margie Church, and then Kate, Olivia, and I began at the second hour. We wished Lucy Felthouse could have joined us as we talked about our new release, Love’s Reprise, but it was still a wonderful experience. I learned that I like talking about domestic discipline. 🙂 (You can skip ahead to the 90-minute mark if you want the domestic discipline discussion.) There is something so wonderfully intimate about a relationship built on DD, and I am both honored and thankful I got to talk with three intelligent, articulate women who have also written about the topic. Thank you!

6. I’m thankful for the preliminary interest in Becoming Clissine. When I first got the idea to flip M/F and F/F roles in society, I was worried. Really worried. I thought I’d experience a backlash for writing something provocative and political. I might still experience that after the book is published on the 22nd, but so far I have received support, interest, and wonderful discussions with beta readers. It’s great to see how people can interpret one story in many different ways. Whether people respond to Becoming Clissine as a modern-day Romeo and Juliet, a statement about religious regimes, or a political stance on marriage equality, everyone has given me a new perspective about the characters and story. I love that! I can’t wait until the story comes out and I can hear from readers about your reactions.

7. I’m thankful for the love and caring for each other in this little community. Thank you, each one of you, for coming here and sharing part of yourself. Thank you for making my day brighter.

What are you thankful for?

13 thoughts on “A blast from the past: Thankfulness Thursday

  1. jadecary says:

    Great interview. You sounded wonderful and very together. I’ve done radio, and it’s fun, but I don’t recognize my own voice. Did you feel that way?

    Like

  2. Roz says:

    Wow Ana, this is a great list. I always enjoy your thankfulness posts too.

    This week my Mum had a minor stroke and is currently have mobility problems with one of her legs. There doesn’t appear to have been any other affects so I am thankful for that. It could have been much worse.

    I am also thankful for the wonderful hospital staff and the support of friends, family and colleagues.

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  3. Susie says:

    Aww…a thankfulness post. I miss these.

    This may sound really odd, but I am thankful for a stupid head cold. It reminds me that I really am healthy and such a small inconvenience is nothing compared to what so many deal with or are watching in their loved ones.

    Like

  4. Cara Bristol says:

    I am so sorry for your health issues (whatever they are). You have been surprisingly prolific in light of your health status I am not done listening to your radio show yet (been keeping track). But It was so neat to hear your voice. Best of luck to you with Becoming Clissine.

    Like

  5. terpsichore says:

    I am thankful for family and friends and extended family and friends I have found here. 🙂 I did not know you did Thankfulness Thursdays – I am doing Thankful Thursdays going through the alphabet right now…it is such a lovely way to remember and give thanks…if you do it again I will be sure to visit every Thursday 🙂 Thanks for the lovely post.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

