Welcome to Bastia! Choose your own adventure, part two

Thank you to everyone who played yesterday! (Read here if you missed it.) Joelle voted to talk to parents, while Ami, Cat, Minelle, and Roz voted to talk to Gorti. Ami wins extra points for that spicy voyeuristic snippet. Phew! No wonder Cat thought it was getting hot. 🙂

Before I begin today’s installment, take a look at this brand-new, spiffy book trailer that Katie put together for Becoming Clissine! It’s a perfect introduction into the world of Bastia. Thank you, Katie!

All right, let’s begin the fun! You’ve peeked in on Destral kissing Clissa, and it does strange things to your body. You’re confused but aroused at the same time. You find your friend, Gorti, to ask him what he thinks…and maybe to find out firsthand.

You back out of the study corner, accidentally knocking over a book when you pass a shelf. You freeze, heart hammering, praying that they won’t hear you. Fortunately, by this time Clissa and Destral are involved in an intense debate and never look your direction. Leaving your books and bag at the study table, you turn and flee out of the library.

You find your best friend, Gorti, practicing his flute in the sunny courtyard. A music major, Gorti wants to join the official Bastian Symphony when he graduates. Or become the official flute player for Assembly. He’s not sure which one, but he’s working hard to keep his options open.

Idly, you wonder whether flute players have better tongue control. If their tongues can reach into the most secret, sensitive places when kissing.

You feel yourself blushing all over, and instead of saying a casual hello you stammer something unintelligible. Gorti looks up, his lips pursed over the mouthpiece, and your eyes are drawn to the soft, tender lips so similar to Destral’s lips that kissed Clissa. Your wrist tingles, and you hold your arm behind your back.

“What’s up?” Gorti asks, putting down his flute. You wonder what it would be like to pull him in for a kiss, just to see what it’s like. Then you shudder as you remember the creed you have recited every day of your life.

I believe in the natural order of man to man, woman to woman, to preserve the stability and integrity of our life as Basti decreed.

It goes against Basti and nature for a man and a woman to love each other in “that” way. You shudder as the last lines slam into your chest.

Basti will come again to judge the living and the dead, and she will punish
those who have not lived according to Bastian law.

Gorti waits for you, looking puzzled at your silent agitation. You fumble for words, not sure how to respond.

Do you make small talk in an effort to calm yourself?

Do you blurt out the shocking news about Clissa and Destral?

Do you flee before saying anything?

Write your answer in the comments, along with an explanation of your choice and what you hope will happen next. I’ll have the next part of the story ready for you tomorrow morning. We’ll be here all week, culminating with a scene for Spank or Treat this Friday!

In the meantime, don’t miss out on the wonderful trailer!

Becoming-Clissine-Cover

What if heterosexuality were a crime?

Betrothed at birth to the daughter of one of the most prominent Houses in the totalitarian theocracy of Bastia, soon-to-be-college-graduate Clissa isn’t sure whether she is ready to undergo the Mar. Once she becomes the Nur, or the submissive partner, to her betrothed she will have to submit all major decisions of her life to the beautiful Helaine, whom she has met once. She must marry a woman, according to the decrees of Bastian law.

Caught between a desire to “get along” and the growing awareness he is “het” and is attracted to Clissa, her childhood friend, Destral, kisses her one day as they study in their college library. Shocked at the feelings the kiss awakens, Clissa begins to question everything she has been taught. Did Basti, their deity, condemn relationships between a man and a woman? Will her growing feelings for Destral cost her everything her parents have worked hard to give her?

After a mad attempt to subvert Bastian authority, Clissa is assigned to new parents for “reeducation” in the doctrine of Bastia. Her new parents are given one mandate: bring her back to rightness with Basti.

Clissa, lost in a system threatened by her very identity, must make her choice. Will Bastian authority break her, or will she find a way to break free? Can true love overcome a harsh regime?

6 thoughts on “Welcome to Bastia! Choose your own adventure, part two

  1. Autumn says:

    I would make small talk.
    “Wow, Gorti you have been practicing it sounds a whole lot better than last week.” I stammer out as quickly as I could.
    “Thank you. What is wrong why are you blushing. Did you see the woman you are betrothed to?”
    “Umm, no but I wonder and this is just hypothetical have you ever had feelings for the opposite sex. Wait, please do not run or say anything I just was asking.”
    “WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT.” Gorti replies in a loudly shushed manner. “You are going to get in trouble you know that is against Bastia law. Oh if your Dis heard you right know you would be getting spanked.”
    I replied hastily, “I know that is why I asked you not to say anything I was just wondering.”
    “You know what let’s go somewhere else where no one can hear us. There are eyes everywhere you know.”
    Gorti and I go to our hideaway that we have went to since we were kids. It was an abandon house that is of course forbidden to be in. As it once housed heterosexuals.

    “Now what is all this, where did this idea come from?” “Wait are you telling me that you could have feelings for a male!” Gorti starts off looking at me.
    I just stare at his lips looking so delish I wonder how they would feel kissing me on my lips, my neck. Wait, I can not have feelings for Gorti, it is forbidden.
    So I look up at his dark brown eyes instead. Gorti looks at me and says “the way you are looking at me makes me thinks you have feelings for gasp me?”

    I hung my head down in a way to hide my embarrassment. I reply very lowly “Gorti would it be wrong if we maybe kissed? I think I may have feelings for you and not the woman I am betrothed with. If we do not like the kiss we will never speak of this incident again. And hopefully we can remain friends like nothing happened.”

    All of a sudden Gorti places his hand behind my head and pulls me closer to him I feel his breath it reminds me of the peppermint candy he likes to suck on. Next thing I feel his is lips on mine and his tongue pushing through my lips. Oh my the feelings that I am feeling.

    We suddenly pull a part and look at each other with lust in our eyes! “Wow I replied. I never thought kissing a guy well my best friend would be so great.”

    Okay I could go on and on but I will stop there lol.

    Like

  2. Joelle Casteel says:

    Love the trailer 🙂 Just watched it. And I love Autumn’s entry- I wish I had more stamina for writing this morning so I could join the fun :D. I do think at this point though that she’d blurt out about the shocking news- although at that point, I think Autumn is right and they’d end up in the abandoned house

    Like

  3. catrouble says:

    Good gravy…it seems as if every visit here lately ups the temp a good bit! The trailer really pulls you in to this awesome book…Katie did a wonderful job and Minelle’s drawing is lovely.

    I would would probably flee before saying anything which would probably cause Gorti to give chase to see what was wrong. Will leave the rest to the awesome writers of this crew.

    Hugs and Blessings,
    Cat

    Like

  4. robskatie says:

    Hi Ana, 🙂 Many congrats on your book!!! I LOVED it and doing the trailer was great fun! I love doing stuff like that. It has been way too long! I am glad that I could help out.

    You got some great responses above. Hmm… I think that I would be too chicken to go forward with Gorti. Well, I am a bit of a scaredy cat so I would probably get almost to the point of saying something, and then hit the road running… I know. A wus! Also, I would never tell on Clissa and Destrel. That would be mean. Many hugs,

    ❤ Katie

    Like

  5. Roz says:

    Hi Ana, I have just watched the trailer, Katie and Minelle did an amazing job!

    I too love Autumn’s entry. I think I would be completely freaked out by my feelings and flee. If Gorti gives chase and asks what’s wrong, I would end up blurting out the shocking news. I need to share because I’m so confused by the feelings seeing Clissa and Destral has invoked in me. If Gorti didn’t give chase I think I would end up trying to calm myself then hunting him out again whereupon I would spill the beans.

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  6. Ami says:

    Gorti is my best friend. I wouldn’t be able to stop myself from blurting out the news.

    I arrived in the courtyard as if there were hounds on my heels, sliding to a stop and swaying drunkenly. My breath was coming in gasps and I felt hot and sticky. I only managed a few words, and they came out garbled.

    Gorti glanced up and noticed me – the flute cut off as if I had put an arrow through his throat.

    “What’s up?” Gorti asked.

    I rolled my eyes, a million thoughts running through my mind. What had I just witnessed? How could it be possible?

    I gazed at Gorti’s mouth, at his throat, the fine tracery of veins down the inside of his wrist as he layed the flute aside. Basti help me, I looked lower, studying his body and the way his jeans hung from his slim hips.

    I licked my lips then caught my lower lip between my teeth. My heart hammered against my chest.

    “Kkkkkkiiiissss. Kkkkiiss. Kisssss.”

    “What?!”

    “Kiss! He kissed her! She kissed him! Kissed! His mouth on hers!”

    “Kissed?” I could see Gorti thought I’d lost my mind. “Kissed who? Who kissed who?”

    “Clissa! Clissa and Destral! Clissa and Destral kissed!”

    “They what?!” Gorti strode forwards and clasped my upper arms and shook me, a bit like a terrier with a rat.

    “I saw them Gorti. In the library. One moment they were leaning close, talking, looking into each other’s eyes. Then they were kissing!”

    Gorti’s eyes were wide with shock. I could feel his soft breath and smell him, a mix of musk and lemons. His head was bent down towards me. His mouth mere inches from mine.

    “Destral’s a het”, he spoke softly. Worriedly. “You must take care to speak no more of this unless we are alone. “If they are seen, if they are found out, they are lost!”

    “But a het?” I was still a mixture of intrigued and horrified. “How can you know such a thing?”

    Gorti looked sadly into my eyes.

    “Because I think I may be one as well.”

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

