Love Our Lurkers Day: Missing old friends and meeting new ones

This is my second time participating in Bonnie’s Love Our Lurkers Day, and I’ve thought hard about what I want to post.

Do I tell the story of how I came to blogging? Most of my readers have heard it already.

Do I offer a fun incentive, like last year’s offer to write a spanking story, one sentence per comment (two for a delurking)?

Do i use this space to reflect on the past year?

I decided to do a little of each. I’m currently finishing a short story sequel to Becoming Clissine, the first book in my new Bastia series. Because counting words is easier than counting sentences, I’ll offer a sneak peek of this story: ten words for each comment, and an additional ten words for everyone who comments on my blog for the first time. I’ll post the sneak peek tomorrow.

How did I come to blogging? I found a smart, thoughtful blog called Finding Sara. It was the first domestic discipline blog to make sense to me in the here-and-now reality of everyday life. Spanking fiction was great fun, but I’d always thought something was wrong with me for not responding the way heroines did in the stories.

Spank, spank!

Now my life is better and I’m magically straightened out forever! Thank you!

I love you! Now go forth and sin no more.

Yeah. So not me. Nor was the opposite.

Brat, brat!

Spank, spank!

Ooh, now I’ll be perfect. Except, wait. Brat, brat some more!

Nor could I identify with blogs and stories of people who enjoyed spanking as some good, rip-roaring fun. I scoured Bonnie’s blog and found her brunches refreshing. So many perspectives, so many different kinds of blogs, and so little judgment! Then Bonnie linked to my blog, and many kind, lovely people found me. My life has never been the same.

Over the many months of blogging (it’s hard to believe how many!), too many of these kind, lovely people have come and gone. Smart, thoughtful bloggers who contributed much to me personally and to this corner of the blogosphere. There are too many to name, but a few special ones include Suzie, Julia D, Poppy St. Vincent, June and Ward, and of course our dear Bas. Blogging has never been the same without our Dutch friend.

In the past year, I’ve published seven books and two short stories in anthologies. I’ve organized three spanking fiction events–Spank or Treat, Love Spanks, and Spankee Doodle–and the Advent Calendar. I’ve met friends, blogged about everything from house guests to bathroom mold, and made connections I never would have thought possible.

I’ve lost a person I’d thought was dear to me, only to find out that was no longer the case. I made friends with people only to find out that our differences weren’t so great, after all. I wrote my first sex scene and ate crow about my dislike for romances that alternate points of view.

I deleted fifteen hundred uses of “was” and “hand” from my manuscripts, spent more months revising than writing, and watched Six Sentence Sunday transition into Saturday Spankings.

I learned that Open Office spreadsheets don’t exactly merge with Microsoft Excel spreadsheets, despite the hype.

I spilled water on my keyboard and learned that a writer can’t afford to lose computer functions for several days in a row.

I wrote so many spanking scenes that my bottom muscles twinged at the sight of a wooden spoon or bathbrush.

I lived a dozen lives, crying for my characters and cheering for their happy endings.

I learned that, behind the blog anonymity, there lay real people who became real friends.

One year later, I’ve come to a funny, quiet realization:

I miss blogging.

My posts last week on how to be a good house guest or host generated a surprising amount of discussion for a vanilla topic on a spanking blog. I realized how much I’d missed it. Missed the fun, the conversation, and the bantering. I wrote a meme for Minelle, and it felt right in a way that book promotion has never felt right.

I’m here for the friendship. For the laughter, for the community, and for place to be myself. In the past year, I’ve become more comfortable with my Anastasia Vitsky persona and have learned to explore this side of myself in ways I never could have imagined.

For those of you who enjoyed reading the adventures of Kat and Natalie in The Way Home and Lighting the Way, you’ll be glad to hear that I’m reviving their story blog. I won’t be posting stories as frequently as I used to, but you can look for posts from both Kat and Natalie as they work through their new journey. (Warning: their blog will contain some spoilers for those who have not read both books yet.)

I want to share stories with you, about what it’s like to need and want the intimacy only found in a spanking relationship. I want to focus on the purity of the story and to rediscover the passion of writing stories directly for readers.

But most of all, I want to meet you, my silent readers who visit but feel too shy, too nervous, or perhaps too scared to leave a comment.

Won’t you say hello? I’d love to meet some new friends today.

Blessings to you, dear readers.

124 thoughts on “Love Our Lurkers Day: Missing old friends and meeting new ones

  1. Michael says:

    Hi Ana. I’m not a lurker and have commented on your blog before but not nearly as much as I should. I greatly enjoy your writing and can’t wait to see your sneak peek. Happy LOL Day!

    Like

  2. catrouble says:

    Happy LOL Day sweet Ana…this post really made me smile. Was a lurker for a long time but ya can’t shut me up now! πŸ˜€ Looking forward to the sneak peek!

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  3. Katie says:

    Hi Ana, πŸ™‚ Happy LOL Day!!! I loved everything about this post! It made me smile too! Thanks for sharing your talents with all of us. Thanks for being a caring friend! Many hugs,

    ❀ Katie

    Like

  4. Corinne Alexander says:

    You know you’re getting an event started right when the first post you read makes you cry! Wow, so much has happened, so many changes, so many wonderful memories. You really summed up this whirlwind year well. What nostalgia came through in this post. I miss those easy, fun, friendly, chatty, and real posts as well! I hope we get to enjoy many more of them. ❀

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Aw, cry? Really? Wow. You were one of the commenters a year ago who charmed me with your comments. I still think of you as Sassy Chassy, and “Corinne” seems like someone else. I have a feeling we’ll be in for some whimsical posts pretty soon.

      Thank you for reading and joining in.

      Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Oh, that is a long time to miss him. Gentle hugs. That’s something we don’t talk about nearly as much as we should–the loss of a DD partner.

      I’m so glad you delurked and that you enjoy the posts. I’m thrilled to meet you and hope I’ll get to hear from you often.

      Like

  5. SassyTwatter says:

    This was such lovely heartfelt post. I have missed reading and participating. Scary how quickly the year flew by. I was a lurker who started leaving comments after last years LOL day. You are right it is a very special community you have. I fell behind reading blogs and then felt out of touch just as everyone seemed they were getting in touch. I am back to lurking and try to and leave a few comments to show my appreciation. I am in awe in the amazing community I see while reading through blogs and the comments from everybody. I also don’t know how you all find the time. I have learned a lot reading blogs in the last year or so and also become more confused than ever. So much to read. I applaud all those who are brave enough to venture into blogland. I have loved your stories, post and books Ana they have made me laugh and cry. It was a treat to read how you started blogging somehow in reading your blog I did not know that. You have a wonderful gift for words and the powerful things you say. I’m lucky to have found you by accident. Not what I was expecting when I typed Fika in search especially when I tried so hard not to admit to certain proclivities or the need for them. I look forward to lurking on your blog for years to come.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I’m still putting my money on you winning the spatula and spoon. πŸ˜€

      I know! Who would ever believe it’s already been a year? Seems just yesterday I was telling you off for commenting with your real name.

      Your visits are always appreciated, by everyone, and Minelle was so pleased to see your comment today. We love to have you! I especially am blessed at how much love you have given my books and stories. I’ll never forget the fun of your first “Vennie by the fire” picture.

      I still think it’s amazing you found me thinking you would get Swedish coffee time. πŸ™‚

      So glad to know you.

      Like

      • SassyTwatter says:

        OMG Bite your tongue Ana. How exactly would I explain a spatula & spoon showing up in the mail?! I joined a cooking club…..Not sure even my great fabrication of a story would last through one raised eyebrow.

        I feel very fortunate the way I stumbled upon your blog which still leaves him chuckling since I was already in the closet about ttwd. Small world. That reminds me a have a little something need to get to you from Sweden.

        Cant wait to sit down again and read Vennie again to help me get into the holiday spirit. I promise not to let her drink to much eggnog πŸ˜‰

        Thank you for looking out for me I have done that a few times ekk. Although you did almost get me in trouble I shared something or liked and he saw.

        Your words always cause to my pause and think and reflect. I look forward to reading all your new works. What an incredible year for you.

        To a beautiful wonderful post thank you Ana for your blog we are all better because of it.

        Like

        • Anastasia Vitsky says:

          lol…In all actuality, yes you could probably explain the spoon and spatula as cooking-related gifts. Unless you never cook… LOL! Or you could explain it the way Natalie did, by saying that it’s a joke about how you don’t like to cook.

          At any rate, they would be very good implements for you and MUCH needed. Very much needed. πŸ˜‰

          Aw, from Sweden? So sweet. Thank you.

          I’m so glad to meet you, and you’ve enriched my life as well. I think we’re all envious of the wonderful night you gave Mira.

          Mm, eggnog.

          I can’t wait to share the Advent Calendar fun with you. πŸ™‚

          Like

          • sassy says:

            Why does everyone keep saying that. I’ve been trying to be on my best behavior. He rules the kitchen I get the oven & mixer for baking. Plus I’m a terrible liar usually leads to him saying do I want or need to know before I confess.

            I’ll email you- just a little something I saw and thought of you.

            You are Christmas crazy!! You know another 16 days till you can start drinking eggnog. Miss Manners herself sent a reminder email to Mrs Claus.

            I’ll have to take Mira out for another night of deabuchrey I mean culture does she like opera.

            Super Hugs!

            Like

  6. Roz says:

    HI Ana *waves* Happy LOL Day! I used to be a lurker here for quite a while.

    Wonderful post. Wow, you have achieved so much over the lat year! Thank you for the wonderful contributions you make to this community. Blogland would not be the same without you πŸ™‚

    Looking forward to the sneak peek too πŸ™‚

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  7. abby says:

    I am s o glad you are blogging. You add a whole new dimension to our community. I read here a lot, comment occasionally….your posts are always worth the visit.
    hugs abby

    Like

  8. Underling says:

    Lovely post, Ana. I’m not quite a lurker, but I am a lazy, disorganised and downright unreliable Fika contributor. One day, I promise. πŸ™‚

    Meanwhile – Happy LOL Day to you.

    Like

  9. willie says:

    Well I for one am happy to hear you are ‘returning’ to blogging. If that is what you are calling it. I have always enjoyed your comments. But who can blame you for not being around as much. MAN, what a list of accomplishments this year.
    Happy LOL Ana

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hi again Wilma! Nice to see you again. I’ve been horrible about blogging and visiting blogs, but I want to get back into it. How to do that while still getting my work done, I’m not sure! I guess I’ll figure it out. πŸ™‚

      Happy LOL Day.

      Like

  10. Kelsey Summer says:

    I’m not sure if I’d be considered a lurker or not. I know I’ve commented on your books and things like that, but I’m not sure if I’m ever commented on other posts. I do love your blog though and always read your posts!

    Kelsey

    Like

  11. SH says:

    Hi Ana! I guess I am not technically a lurker as I comment here for all of your wonderful contests, but this year I have become determined to comment on all the blogs I love, no more hiding for me. Thank you for writing your blog and your books, I love both!

    Like

  12. angieia says:

    Hi Ana, I am new to your blog and have been enjoying your posts. I am probably a lurker since I don’t say much. I am trying to step out of my shell more and comment on blogs so I don’t look like such a lurker. Angie

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      It’s been so fun to see you stay after the events! I love to hear from you, and your comments during Spank or Treat were great. Please do be brave and speak up when you can. Your voice is valued here. πŸ™‚

      Like

  13. quiet sara says:

    Hello! I think this is my first time on your blog. Thanks so much for stopping over on mine this morning to say hello! Happy LOL day!

    Like

  14. laurellasky says:

    I have been a lurker and now I’m coming out of the closet. I Am A Spanko!! It’s my turn to stand in the corner. Please miss,may I.
    I started a blog but haven’t finished. My life is somewhat boring. I am attempting to write a spanking romance and have part of an outline.

    Like

  15. Julie says:

    What a beautiful post, Ana. It’s amazing to see what a successful publishing year you’ve had – it doesn’t seem like that long ago that you were anxious about your FIRST publication. Your success is so well-deserved.

    But I can’t believe no one has commented on the big, really *big*, news. I love, love, love Carene and Leila, and Clissa’s story is incredibly powerful, and Spring and Rachel’s story is just so much fun. But Kat and Natalie are special to me (and others, I think), and to hear that we can expect Kat and Natalie posts before their next publication? I’m beyond excited. πŸ™‚

    Happy (late in the) LOL Day!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      It’s been a crazy year. I didn’t even mention the two books and short story under contract. πŸ™‚

      I knew you’d be happy about Kat and Natalie! There is a snippet I posted last Wednesday that I’ll put on their blog later. They also just might join us for the Advent Calendar.

      Hugs.

      Like

  16. Kia says:

    Hi Ana-

    Happy LOL day! I loved your tribute to former bloggers- it seems fitting for a day dedicated to silent readers. I miss many of them too, but am continually discovering new and unique sites.

    Like

  17. Rogue says:

    What a thoughtful post, Ana! I’ll try to get over and say hello to the girls. I’ve been wondering how they are doing…
    Happy LOL Day!

    Like

  18. minellesbreath says:

    This post actually made me sigh with happy heartfelt relief. You are so good at all the writing you do, whether it is fiction or reflections on moments in your life!
    BTW…you also write a da*n good MEME!!! LOL Thanks friend!

    Like

  19. BOB B says:

    Hello Ana

    Thanks for the comment and i still get all your post’s to my mail but being a writer you are so prolific i find i tend to lurk more. It is lovely to see all your hard work paying off.

    Hope your well

    Take care

    BOB B xx

    Like

  20. pao says:

    Happy belated LOL Day, Ana πŸ™‚

    This has been a year of change… also one that has shown how supportive this community can be. That was a heartfelt post. I miss Ana’s regular blog posts too and wow, you’re reviving Kat and Nat’s story blog. I thank you for the spoiler warning πŸ˜›

    Another ten! And I hope that a spoon arrives in your mailbox one day. A wooden, kitcheny-bakey type. Not the tiny metal ones…

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I shall rig the polls so you win the wooden spoon and spatula set. πŸ˜€

      Seriously, you’ve been such a wonderful friend in this journey. I’m glad I started writing Kat and Natalie because I got to meet neat people like you.

      The story blog will pick up immediately after the end of Lighting the Way, so yes you might want to wait a bit. πŸ™‚ Or maybe it will let you feel more comfortable about reading the emotional bits in book two.

      Hugs. Times ten.

      Like

  21. Enzo Man says:

    Thanks for stopping by on LOL Day and now I am returning the favor!
    I want to say I have commented here before, but can’t be certain. This place seems familiar…
    Either way I now need to come back more often and say hello!

    Like

  22. Grace Mere says:

    HI Ana, sorry its belated, vanilla world got in the way and I missed it, Dam….. but anyway happy LOL and thank you for sharing your life with us, it really helps me to realise that my kink is not so strange after all and not so different.

    Best wishes Grace M

    Like

  23. Dr. Ken says:

    Happy LOL Day, Ana! I’m probably more “infrequent visitor” than “lurker”. Still, there are so many wonderful blogs out there, it’s hard to visit them all in a timely manner. Glad I could drop in and say, “HI!”

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Same here. LOL Day was great to meet people I hadn’t talked to in a long time. I think you were one of the first blogs I found, way back when! I think you even helped me with some rookie questions. πŸ™‚

      Nice to connect again.

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

