Thursday Thankfulness

It’s been a wild ride since LOL Day and the announcement of Ana’s Advent Calendar 2013, hasn’t it?

First and foremost, I’d like to say an enormous thank you to everyone who has stopped by to say hello in the past few weeks, either as part of LOL Day or regular/new visitors to this blog and Kat-Sitting. You have made me smile, given me new things to think about, and brightened each day. No matter how busy I get, I am going to try hard to be more present in blogland.

Speaking of blogland, thank you also to everyone who has welcomed me on your blog. The emails, social media exchanges, and other private correspondence in addition to the warm public welcomes have been fantastic. In the spirit of LOL Day, so many people have opened up their blogging home to me as a guest and said, “Sit down. Pull up a chair, and make yourself comfortable.” I may not think exactly like you or speak exactly the way you wish to be spoken to, but you accept the gesture of friendship and reciprocate with your own. Thank you so much. It’s worth the extra few minutes here and there to pop around and say hello. I respect the many blog hosts who create a friendly environment for everyone, not just their bosom buddies. I sincerely hope that if you are here for the first time (or even lurking for a long time), I can make you feel as welcome.

Thank you to Roz for reminding me I was the first to comment on her blog. I had no idea! It’s been so long, and you have become so well-established here, that I forget you were once a newcomer. Isn’t that how it always is, though? We were all new once.

Thank you to Write or Die, an evil writing program that forces me to concentrate when I’d rather be zoning off in a million distractions. I dusted off the software today and wrote a promising start to a sequel for Desire in Any Language. Finally, we’ll get to see what happens in Mira and Hana’s happily ever after!

Thank you to everyone who has left such sweet comments on Kat and Natalie’s recent stories. Reader feedback is the most wonderful part of writing, and I’m delighted that you are enjoying their new adventures.

Thank you also to the (as of this writing) 78 donors contributing 127 books, $175 in gift certificates, and $400 in prizes for Ana’s Advent Calendar 2013. Hooray! My goal is to send every single player home with a prize this year. If you achieve perfect attendance, you are guaranteed a book as a prize. πŸ™‚ Remember that perfect attendance means commenting every day on the day of the post (the exact time deadline may change in order to accommodate international readers).

Thank you to everyone who has liked the Advent Calendar Facebook page, followed @MistressClaus on Twitter, and posted the sidebar button and/or banner on your blog or website. You may receive extra entries in the prize drawing. πŸ™‚ Preliminary registration will open on Monday.

Thank you to Kate Richards, the fifth helper elf who did not get mentioned in the thanks earlier this week. Oops!

Thank you to Candy Crush for keeping my mind occupied when I am frustrated that writing is not going my way.

Thank you to my neighbors who turned down their loud music and apologized for disturbing me late at night. Civility can no longer be taken for granted, and I certainly do not.

Thank you for loved ones who reach out to me, ask me how I’m doing, respect my boundaries, and support me. I couldn’t do any of this without you.

Last but not least, thank YOU for reading this! What are you thankful for today?

23 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. Riley says:

    Aw, sweet, sounds like you have lots of great stuff going on! I just thought of something, the biggest Thankful Thursday is coming up next week. I’m thankful that this week has been relatively quiet and has allowed me some time to do some “me” things — catching up is always a good feeling.

    Like

  2. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…loved this busy lady!

    What am I thankful for? Hmmm…I have a job (frustrating though it may be) when many don’t. I’m thankful that my mom is doing well and that my arm is improving. (yes, I am exercising it) πŸ˜€ I’m very thankful to call you my friend and for my other friends here in blogland who accept me as I am. πŸ˜‰ I’m very thankful that the Advent Calendar is starting soon.

    Ooh and I’m extremely happy I can comment again after not being able to last night! (still have to figure out if it was the computer or…!)

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I will be thankful when a certain feline finishes her meme. πŸ˜€ Hint!

      I am also thankful you have a job. Hooray! Also glad you are doing your exercises and staying out of trouble…somewhat.

      I bet you’ll get perfect attendance again, too.

      I’m guessing you were so naughty yesterday that your computer grounded you from commenting. Tsk.

      Like

  3. Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) says:

    Thursday Thanks – thanks to you for all you do. Thankful for the air I breathe and every other damn thing that has been granted me (some good, some bad, but all learning experiences)..

    Like

  4. abby says:

    I just went and liked the advent calendar page on facebook…thank you for organizing this.
    I am thankful that this morning i felt well enough to go to a monthly breakfast with friends…first time in 4 months!
    hugs abby

    Like

  5. terpsichore says:

    I am thankful for friends, old and new, for the invention of hair color (just came back from having my hair done), and sleep (something precious), and so many more things… πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful day! Hugs!

    Like

  6. Roz says:

    Hi Ana, what a lovely post and a great list! Awe, thank you so much for the mention πŸ™‚ You were my first commenter and I’ve never forgotten it. I was so excited! Thank you! πŸ™‚

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  7. Ami says:

    This is a very pleasant post and a lovely list of things to be thankful for.

    We should always just be thankful for each and every day and all the things packed into it – the low red sun peaking through the leylandii trees on the back boundary, the first early birds, the horses snickering in their stables, the old cat with frost on his back miaowing for his breakfast, the warm duvet to snuggle under for another ten minutes, bacon and eggs and toast and marmalade, a great big latte, the smell of fresh laundry, the autumn robin in the apple tree, the mist rising from the meadows, the smells of damp earth and wet grass, the crunchy sharp-tasting Cox’s Orange Pippin apples, the first sip of Sauvignon Blanc, the little bubbles that squeeze out of the plastic bottle of washing up liquid, the crackle of logs on the fire and the shadows the fire casts on the walls before the lamps are lit, the moon rising through the leylandii trees instead of the sun, the stars flung through the heavens like silver glitter, a hot water bottle in a fluffy cover to warm feet upon, the sounds of gentle snoring echoing through the house, and dreams of happy days and all my wonderful friends I’ve met here during this last year!

    Hugs
    Ami

    Like

  8. pao says:

    For some reason, this Thursday Thankfulness post took my by surprise. A pleasant one, at that πŸ™‚ Thank you for this positive post and for reminding everyone to be thankful for what we have. I’m thankful for holidays, good weather and the friends I’ve made this year. I’m thankful I stumbled upon Ana’s blog πŸ˜€

    And extra entries for following Mistress Claus? Is that a bribe? Tsk tsk.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I haven’t been regular about posting these because it’s been so hectic, and with the Advent Calendar coming TT may not be regular again for a while. Eventually we’ll settle into a rhythm. πŸ™‚

      I’m thankful Miss Hasler will teach you a lesson. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  9. Sheila says:

    I have a lot to be thankful for this year. It’s been a wild one but a good one. I’m thankful for a job that allows me to go on vacation. I’m thankful that I have co-workers, friends, and family that care. I’m thankful for the support I get from them. I’m thankful for authors who write books I want to read. I’m thankful for my health. I’m thankful my mom made it through open heart surgery and is recovering well. I forget to think of what I’m thankful for. My list could go on and on. Thanks for your column and the chance to be grateful.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hello Sheila! It’s been a while since I’ve gotten to hear from you. πŸ™‚ Yay for vacation! Yay that your mom is recovering. I hope she is back to health as soon as possible.

      I’m thankful for your wonderful list that puts a smile on my face. Hugs.

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

