Advent Calendar FAQ

Are you ready for the magnificent fun that will be known as Ana’s Advent Calendar 2013? We are certainly lucky this year! New prizes and authors join each day, and we can’t wait!

You might be an old hand from Ana’s Advent Calendar 2012. Or you might be new this year, but either way you might have questions. Ready? Let’s go!

What is the Advent Calendar?

Click here for the main page, read it, and come back. Yep, really!

How do I play?

Sign up. Then visit every day December 1st-24th and leave a comment answering a question or responding to a post.

How do I sign up?

I will post a sign-up sheet on Monday, November 25th. Sign up by leaving your name (whatever name you will use throughout December) and your email address. You may also need to answer a question about book preferences.

When is the deadline for signing up?

December 24th. Yes, that is correct. You can sign up any time during the month! However, there will be an incentive for signing up before December 1st.

Why does Ana’s Advent Calendar start on December 1st when Advent begins on December 2nd?

In the Christian Advent Calendar, December 2nd is the first day. However, Ana’s Advent Calendar is a secular, inclusive event. I start on December 1st because I want to, okay? 🙂

I contributed a prize (book, gift certificate, or physical gift) toward the Advent Calendar. Can I still sign up to play?

YES! Please do! I would love to have you participate. It’s a great way to meet other authors and readers. You are eligible to win every prize except the one you contributed.

I’m an author. Is it too late for me to join?

Absolutely not! I will take author contributions until December 24th. Please send me your name, title(s) of the book(s) you want to donate (or name of the gift you wish to donate), a public email address (it will be posted here so prize winners can contact you), and your blog or website address if you have one.

I’m not an author, but I would like to donate a prize.

Please do! We have two readers (Ami Starsong and Katie), a book reviewer (Fallen Over Book Reviews), and two publishers (Blushing Books and Loose Id) contributing prizes. Leave a comment here, email me, or find me on Facebook or Twitter.

Why does my email address need to be posted publicly?

Nearly 80 people have contributed a book or other prize to Ana’s Advent Calendar so far. Much as I would like to, I won’t be able to email everyone individually about prize winners. Because you are busy people and may not be able to check every post each day, giving prize winners your email address allows them to contact you to receive the prize.

How will I know if I win a prize?

Prize announcements will be posted right here on governingana.wordpress.com.

I won a prize. Now what do I do?

Look for a post listing all contributors and email addresses. Email the person who donated your prize. You may want to use “Advent Calendar 2013” as a subject line. Be sure to say thank you! 🙂

My prize donor doesn’t have an email address listed.

Two authors, Ann Mayburn and Sharon Buchbinder, have requested to contact the prize winner directly. Wait 2–3 days, and if you hear nothing let me know.

Publishers and other non-author prize donors will be contacted on your behalf.

I contacted the prize donor, but I haven’t gotten a response.

Wait 2-3 days and then leave a comment on your prize announcement post. I will message the donor and see if the email got lost.

I’m an author, but I haven’t heard from the winner. What should I do?

Winners have four days to contact you. If you have not gotten an email by then, let me know and I will choose another winner for your prize.

Why do some prizes say US or US and Europe?

Some prizes are physical (a tangible item rather than an e-book), and the donor has set restrictions on shipping areas. In order to receive this prize, you will need to give your mailing address. If you are not comfortable doing so, you are free to refuse the prize. Let your prize donor know, and I will reassign the prize to a new winner.

Do I get to choose which book(s) I receive as a prize?

No. While I will make the effort to match winners with authors they have not read before (a goal of this event), I will not be able to take into account reading preferences for every single winner. If you receive a book that you have already read or do not wish to read, let your prize donor know so the book can be awarded to someone else.

Where do I go for the daily Advent Calendar posts?

The entire Advent Calendar will be right here at governingana.wordpress.com. Stop by each day for the posts, and check back for prize announcements.

I don’t have a Kindle, Nook, or other ereader. Can I still play?

Yes! Amazon has a downloadable Kindle application that you can use on your computer, tablet, or smartphone. You can also download a free conversion program, such as Calibre, that will allow you to read epub files (a format for ebooks) right on your computer.

What are surprise days?

In addition to my surprise checks (random prize awardings throughout the month), a few authors and contributors will put up a guest post and award prizes on certain days throughout the month. Look for some fantastic posts!

Can I become a surprise day sponsor?

I am currently searching for guest posts from people who celebrate a major, historical, non-Christmas holiday in December, such as Hanukkah, Diwali, or Kwanzaa. If this fits you, please message me and we can talk about details.

I don’t celebrate Christmas, or I don’t feel like celebrating Christmas. Can I still play?

YES!!! Everyone is welcome. EVERYONE (except trolls and spammers). Don’t tell Mrs. Claus, but “Christmas” is simply an excuse to come together as a community and enjoy each others’ company.

Who made your artwork for the Advent Calendar?

The amazingly talented team of Minelle and Katie produced the art and graphics. Thank you!

Where can I find Ana’s Advent Calendar 2013 on social media?

I’m so glad you asked! Like the Facebook page and follow @MistressClaus on Twitter.

I really, really want to win. Is there any way I can ingratiate myself with Mrs. Claus?

Tell her that Ana really did mean to be good this year, but there were a lot of extenuating circumstances that need explanation. Don’t tell her I sent you. 🙂

37 thoughts on “Advent Calendar FAQ

  1. pao says:

    I think Ana deserves something for organising all these neat events! Maybe we could all get her a pair of knickers, a nice paddle… or hey, maybe even a really nice cane 😛

    Like

  2. catrouble says:

    Think you answered all the questions Ana…looking forward to the fun! You definitely need ‘something’ for putting all this together. 😀

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

