Thursday Thanksgivingfulness

Today, I am thankful I am an adult and don’t have to eat turkey if I don’t want to.

Turkey tends to be dry, it’s served without marinade or sauce (gravy can only do so much, and some purists sniff if you put gravy on their turkey), and it has what can kindly be called a “subtle” flavor.

My family has always been stuffed with carnivores, so meals revolved around meat often enough that I made peace with many kinds. Ham has enough flavor (and salt!) to be good once in a while, and a tender pot roast goes well with simmered vegetables. Chicken is the great tofu of meat, dressable in marinade or sauce to suit almost any dish.

Turkey, though, appears once a year. Perhaps twice, if you eat turkey on Christmas as well. Not often enough to become a tolerated dish, like Brussels sprouts.

Hey, don’t call me weird. The turkeys must be glad I don’t like them. πŸ™‚

Instead, for Thanksgiving I have always loved stuffing, unless it’s the kind made from water, a dried spice packet, and a hard-as-rock lump that needs reconstituting. Stuffing with a wee bit of gravy over the top to make it even more moist. Yum!

Some people like stuffing with oysters, fruit, or other special ingredients. I like plain stuffing with stale bread, spices, broth, celery, onion…and that’s about it. Mm.

What do you like and not like about the Thanksgiving meal, if you have one?

 

For your viewing pleasure, here is a video of a turkey dubstep. Yep, you read that right. πŸ™‚

42 thoughts on “Thursday Thanksgivingfulness

  1. Leigh Smith (aka Sunny Girl) says:

    The only part of the turkey I really like is the crispy breast skin when it’s first out of the oven. I like Sweet Potatoes and the rest of the stuff is tolerable.

    I am thankful for a day to celebrate giving thanks and for family and friends. Here’s wishing you and yours a wonderful day filled with love, laughter and great memories.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I’ve never understood the attracting of crispy skin (on fish, chicken, turkey, etc.), but some of my friends tell me it’s a slice of heaven.

      If you were like me, as a kid you liked the sweet potatoes because of the marshmallows melted on top. πŸ˜€

      Happy Thanksgiving to you, Miss Sunny!

      Like

      • Anastasia Vitsky says:

        Crock pot for the turkey from the beginning, or to reheat it after it was cooked? I could see a crock pot keeping in a lot of the juices. I’ve heard deep-frying will get turkey moist, but I admit I cringe at the idea.

        Green bean casserole with fried onions on top! Mm!! πŸ˜€

        Like

            • Nancy Levine says:

              l used a small turkey breast and a large size crock pot, then adapted Bree’s Desperate Housewives cookbook turkey recipe.

              Things l am not thankful for at the moment…
              the laptop l am using and the new printer which still isn’t set up
              my new smart phone which doesn’t seem to work now
              the telephone company who still can’t put a landline in my parents’ room at the nursing home.

              Like

  2. Emily Tilton says:

    I think you must never have had really wonderful gravy, let alone a really juicy turkey (brining is the best thing ever!). But enjoy your stuffing–I love old-fashioned bread/celery/onion/BUTTER stuffing, but I also love bacon/cornbread.

    Like

  3. terpsichore says:

    I too like the stuffing the best – though I like it to go with the turkey…the turkey is just the ends to the mean…kind of like frosting is to a birthday cake – honestly I really like the buttercream cream cheese frosting the best – the cake is just a platform for the icing as is the turkey just a platform for me for the yummy bread stuffing. πŸ™‚ I also like the sweet potatoes (with the marshmallows on top – still a kid at heart) πŸ™‚ Have a great day! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. chickadee says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Ana! I was right with you on the turkey until I started making it myself. Oven bags are amazing. It’s not possible to dry it out that way. And the year I smeared an entire stick of butter in between the skin and the meat… oh my gosh… it’s a wonder anybody got a bite of it. Seriously wanted to hide in a closet alone with the turkey.

    Stuffing and gravy is seriously my favorite things! But then again, gravy and cheese are major food groups in my opinion. And it can hide a dry turkey when you do it like I do. Make a gigantic puddle of gravy and dip tiny pieces of turkey in it. It’s good for me, even when eating the products of my in-law’s interesting sense of thanksgiving culinary perfection.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      “Seriously wanted to hide in a closet alone with the turkey.”

      ROFL!!!! That is the best Thanksgiving/turkey quote I’ve heard all week. I wonder if anyone can top that!

      Gravy and cheese are good…along with frosting! I guess we do need other food to justify eating the best ones. πŸ˜€

      Thanks for the laugh!

      Like

  5. minellesbreath says:

    I am with Sunny on the skin! Yummy! The breast is so dry that I avoid it entirely and only eat the dark meat!! I am also all about the sides!! Desert doesn’t even tempt me as much as all the carbs! Those sweet potatoes!!! Sigh…. I can’t wait!!

    Like

  6. Sheila says:

    I love turkey (no gravy), stuffing (just from bread please), mashed potatoes (I have a great recipe made with cream cheese and sour cream), corn, green beans (NOT the casserole), cole slaw, rolls, butter, pumpkin pie, egg custard pie, cake, cookies (love those sweets). Hate sweet potatoes (two bites then it’s too sweet).

    Like

  7. ronniesoul says:

    Ana,

    Happy Thanksgiving.

    All this talk about turkey is making me hungry. With the turkey – stuffing, roast potatoes, roasted parsnips, honey roasted carrots, peas, brocolli, cauliflower cheese and gravy. No sprouts in our house. That’s what we have on Christmas Day.

    Have a wonderful day.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    Like

  8. quiet sara says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Ana! Hope you have a wonderful day with lots of
    yummy stuffing. I will be having lots of red hot jello πŸ™‚

    love sara

    Like

  9. Hermione says:

    I love turkey! We have it twice a year: on Canadian Thanksgiving and Christmas. But there are plenty of leftovers to store in the freezer for many more meals of turkey, gravy and dressing, and I make stock from the bones and freeze that too.

    I make my own cranberry sauce, gravy and dressing. We also have mashed potatoes and a vegetable; this year it was Brussels sprouts straight from our garden. I usually eat a wing first; it’s crispy and flavourful straight from the oven. Ron has a drumstick.

    Happy Thanksgiving!
    Hermione

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Stock! That’s not something most of my friends know how to make. I usually buy my stock because I can’t stand the smell of boiling bones for ages. But homemade stock is amazing. Yum.

      Now I’m going to imagine things about Ron’s drumstick. πŸ˜€

      Enjoy your day!

      Like

  10. catrouble says:

    Turkey does not have to be dry…it’s just that way when people bake it to death! Roast it with butter under the skin and it will stay moist. Deep fried turkey is very good and so is turkey cooked on a grill with a can of beer stuck up its butt! πŸ˜‰

    Stuffing and mashed potatoes are yummy but leave the darn sickly sweet marshmallows off my sweet potatoes. I like my sweet potato dip! πŸ˜€

    Happy Thanksgiving Ana!

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I have never heard of butter under the skin of turkey, but given how butter moistens almost everything I can believe it. πŸ™‚ Beer and turkey, really? Wow…

      You can give me the marshmallows. πŸ˜€

      Happy Thanksgiving to you, too!

      Like

  11. reneeroseauthor says:

    Turkey is my least fave part. Wild rice (family tradition because my dad is from northern MN), sweet potato, and pumpkin pie are my faves.

    Like

  12. Roz says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Ana! I hope you had a wonderful day and that you enjoy the holiday weekend.

    We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here and Christmas being in summer it is quite often BBQ, although for a change we occasionally cook the traditional roast. Much prefer chicken to turkey.

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  13. robskatie says:

    Hope that you had a nice Thanksgiving Day, Ana!!! I agree with you, the stuffing is my fav! Rob makes a mean stuffing, gravy and turkey, as well as a whole bunch of other stuff. But the only thing left on my plate yesterday was some turkey. A little goes a long way- but I like the other stuff the best. Give me homemade cranberry sauce and stuffing and gravy and sweet potatoes and creamed onions… YUMMM!!!! Now I am starting to feel hungry again!!! Many hugs,

    ❀ Katie

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

