Announcing the “Early Bird” surprise check winner!

What a great first day of the Advent Calendar! Seven hours in, we already have a wonderful discussion going. It’s great to meet new faces and find connections.

Today continues the tradition begun last year: Surprise Checks!

Prizes will be awarded during random “surprise checks” throughout the month.  It may be the first person to post on a certain day, a randomly selected commenter on a randomly selected day, the first person to mention a secret word, or anything else.  Surprise!

One of the traditions of the Advent Calendar is the “Early Bird” surprise check. The first commenter on the first day wins a prize.

Roz Harrison (of Roz in His Hands) managed to earn the first-place commenter spot with 20 minutes to spare. Way to go, Roz! This is her comment:

Yay! Let the fun begin!

1. Yes, I have read and understood all 4 information pages
2. Sadly, no, I didn’t not participate in Ana’s advent calendar last year
3. I heard about the advent calendar this year through this blog and several others
4. I plan to participate every day and will be doing my best to make sure I do :)
5. I’m here for the fun, but if I should happen to win a prize, even better! I’m not picky :)
6. I want to play to enjoy being amongst my online friends and also to hopefully meet some new friends. Also to help get me in the Christmas spirit :)
7. I’m Roz and I’ve been following Governing Ana ever since I started my own blog some 22 months ago. I am in a DD relationship with my HoH Rick and we live in New Zealand, which means Christmas is summer time for us. BBQ’s, beaches etc. Yay!
8. Hello Ana! ( I believe I’m the first commenter, although by the time I hit publish someone else may have beaten me to it!) I enjoyed your answers to these questions and want to thank you sincerely for organising this wonderful event. Thanks also to your elf helpers and all those who have contributed in some way.

As a reward, you win a copy of The Winner: Romantek Book One by Patricia Green. Roz, please contact Patricia by finding her email address on the contact information list. You have four days to email Patricia and make arrangements to receive the prize.

Thank you for playing, Roz, and thank you for donating the prize, Patricia!

Still want to earn your prize entry by commenting today? It’s not too late! Sign up, if you haven’t already, and head over to the Day 1 post right now.

Have questions? Read the FAQ!

How will I know if I win a prize?

Prize announcements will be posted right here on governingana.wordpress.com.

I won a prize. Now what do I do?

Look for a post listing all contributors and email addresses. Email the person who donated your prize. You may want to use “Advent Calendar 2013″ as a subject line. Be sure to say thank you! :)

My prize donor doesn’t have an email address listed.

Two authors, Ann Mayburn and Sharon Buchbinder, have requested to contact the prize winner directly. Wait 2–3 days, and if you hear nothing let me know.

Publishers and other non-author prize donors will be contacted on your behalf.

I contacted the prize donor, but I haven’t gotten a response.

Wait 2-3 days and then leave a comment on your prize announcement post. I will message the donor and see if the email got lost.

I’m an author, but I haven’t heard from the winner. What should I do?

Winners have four days to contact you. If you have not gotten an email by then, let me know and I will choose another winner for your prize.

17 thoughts on “Announcing the “Early Bird” surprise check winner!

  1. robskatie says:

    Congratulations to Roz!!! 🙂 She was quick on the draw! YAY!! Thanks for posting all this info Ana. Enjoying reading the conversation on this very first day of your calendar! Many hugs,

    ❤ Katie

    Like

  2. Michelle Willms (@willms_m) says:

    Congratulations, Roz! I loved your answers and wish it was nice and sunny here, though I do remember griping when it was hot…but I have no beach here. Snow since October indicates a very long winter in store for us. I hope your Christmas is wonderful indeed!

    Like

  3. Roz says:

    Wow! I can’t believe it was the first! I’m so thrilled and honoured to have been the first to comment on the very first post and to have won a prize! (note to Ana … no bedtime rules were broken in leaving my comment … or this one 🙂

    Thank you so much Patricia. The magic of Christmas and the interest is wonderful 🙂 I am so looking forward to reading!

    Thank you all for your lovely comments above. I’m sorry I wasn’t able to do individual replies to you all.

    My sincere thanks to Ana and to all the elf helpers and those who have contributed to this wonderful event. It’s so great to see we’re off to a wonderful start!

    Hugs everybody
    Roz 🙂

    Like

  4. JoanneBest says:

    Aha! Here’s the post I missed commenting on! (I want an asterisk tooooooooo!!!!!!!!!)
    Congratulations Roz! Any book mentioned here goes right on my ‘must have’ list. {runs off to find The Winner Romantek Book One while adding Patricia Green to my Must Read list}

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

