Have You Been Naughty? (Advent Calendar Day 2)

Holy COW! Three wonderful Advent Calendar helper elves, Penelope Hasler, Emily Tilton, and Tara Finnegan, were hard at work assisting me with registration and recordkeeping yesterday. We now have over 100 registrants, and more than 60 people played yesterday. I feel like a little kid whose entire neighborhood block has turned out for her party…thank you! I am bowled over, stunned, thrilled, gobsmacked, overwhelmed, and thoroughly humbled by the response to my question to Celeste Jones a year ago..”Do you think anyone would have fun doing a little Advent activity?” I thought last year was a blast, but this year has brought the Advent Calendar to new levels.

What I’ve learned about this community: People are friendly, welcoming, and good-hearted if only given a chance to shine. Boy, did you ever. Answering the comments yesterday took hours, but I was honored by every single one. I hope you’ll go back (if you haven’t already) to read the replies. Thank you for sharing a little about yourselves, and thank you for welcoming each other. I’ve always wanted Governing Ana to be a safe place where we can enjoy each others’ company even if we don’t all act and think alike, and you showed me that this is possible in a way I’d never dreamed.

I’ve been especially touched to read about first-time de-lurkers who have read Governing Ana for a while but felt too shy to speak up, as well as those of you who are playing an Advent Calendar for the first time. Thank you for allowing me to create Advent memories with you this year.

Before I hand my blog over to Sue, I’ll leave you with my thought from today:

“People being kind to each other and getting to know new friends. Just like I’d dreamed. Thank you, dear Advent Calendar sponsors, helper elves, and players. Thank you for making this silly little fantasy a dream come true.”

Much love from Anastasia the Brave

P.S. Michael, you look good in the corner. πŸ˜‰

Day 2 of the Advent Calendar is brought to you by Sue Lyndon, of Team Ana vs. Team Sue fame!

Remember that you must sign up here for your comment to count as a prize entry!

Have you been a good girl or a good boy this year? Come on, tell the truth. Is there even a small chance you’ve made The Naughty List? Well, you’re in luck, because I’m sharing five tips on how to sneak onto the Good Girls and Boys List at the last minute:

1. Put a fake swear jar in a well-traveled location in your house. Seed it with a couple of quarters so you look honest, but don’t fill it up any further. You don’t want Santa to know you have a potty mouth.

2. Go through your Instagram and Facebook photos. Um, that picture of you dancing with the stripper at your friends’ bachelorette party? Hurry up and delete it before Santa sees!

3. Same goes for your text messages. Delete delete delete!

4. If you aren’t already in the habit of erasing the browsing history on your computer, you might want to start doing that. Santa knows!

5. If you’re going to be especially naughty, do it under a pen name. J

Good luck, boys and girls. Remember to bake lots of cookies for Santa too and sprinkle reindeer food around your house on Christmas Eve. Switches and coal in your stocking are no fun, or so I hear! I wish you all a very Merry Christmas, happy holidays, and a joyful New Year. πŸ™‚

Love,

Sue

——-

Sue will be choosing the lucky winners of today’s surprise day. (Hint: the more people who comment, the more books she will give away!)

Have you used any of Sue’s tips to get on the Good Girl/Boy list? Or are you hoping to stay on the Naughty List and enjoy some extra zest in your holiday? What additional suggestions do you have? Or would you rather end up like this poor elf?

Advent 2013

244 thoughts on “Have You Been Naughty? (Advent Calendar Day 2)

  1. Tara Finnegan says:

    I don’t mean to be rude, Sue, but I beg to differ: switches in stockings can be fun and I can’t help hoping I’ll find something along those lines in mine! Some great tips though, I’m off to clean down my very naughty browsing history! And I’m going to fill my swear jar almost up to the top because that Santy fellah is no fool, he knows half full wouldn’t cut it for me. I’ll leave him a note to take the contents and use it to buy himself a well earned drink after Christmas!

    Like

  2. Roz says:

    Wow Ana, day 1 was such a huge success. I looked back over the comments and replies and it’s lovely to see all the welcoming and supportive comments, and to meet new friends.

    As for today’s question … hmm.. honestly, I would have to say a little bit of both πŸ™‚ I’d prefer to be on the good list. Wonderful tips Sue LoL. I haven’t used any of these, but I’ll take all the tips I can get! πŸ™‚

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  3. Erzabet Bishop says:

    I agree with Tara. If I found a switch in my stocking I’d be happy. Lol. Now…that swear jar would be full by noon I think. Pictures…well not so much. And yes…that being naughty under a pen name. You can totally put me down for that one! πŸ™‚ I dare Santa to look in my browsing history lately. Cobwebs I tell you. Going to have to find some place to be naught just to liven things up. Thank you Sue and Ana for having this fun event. Now back to coffee and girding (spell check on phone keeps saying gilding…snort. lol.) my loins for today’s retail madness at work. Have a lovely day everyone!

    β™‘β™‘ Erzabet

    Like

  4. constance Masters says:

    Great suggestions Sue! I think though that Ana’s idea for Tara might work better here too, for everyone else I mean. I don’t need one at all. I do all my swearing under my breath and everyone knows that doesn’t count πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas everyone! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Elise Lansing says:

    “Switches and ashes” … scary, yes? The ashes part anyway. Wink. I can’t think of anything to add to your list, though, Sue — but yes, always a good idea to browse “safely.” πŸ™‚ Merry Christmas!

    Like

  6. Michelle B says:

    I think I’ve taken care of everything on Sue’s list but then again, I’ve always been told that if you’re gonna be bad, you better be really good at it! So that being said, shouldn’t Santa keep in mind that a person can be really good at being bad? πŸ˜‰ Some of us wouldn’t mind (and others should maybe be introduced to!) a few naughty gifts, right? πŸ˜‰

    Hoe Hoe Hoe!!! *giggle*

    (no I’m no hoe! It just seemed the right expression in this context πŸ˜‰ )

    Like

  7. pao says:

    If I swore in the woods and no one heard, does it still count? I did swear a lot at the plants. And then some more for not finding the plants I wanted πŸ˜› I do like the swear jar idea… I wonder if it’s too late to have a fake one now.

    Like

  8. minellesbreath says:

    I very rarely do anything super naughty….does eggnog dipping count? Hmmmmm then maybe. Now how can I cover up my tracks with that one? I tend to act a bit rambunctious!
    Just as long as Mrs Claus approves, Santa should leave me good stuff!
    Thanks again Ana and your elves…Penelope, Tara and Emily. Sue great suggestions!

    Like

  9. chickie says:

    Ugh my phone ate my comment! See I’m a good girl and I keep my incriminating texts and call history deleted. I’m slowly training the phone to purify itself. But really, it’s like that falling tree in the forest. If you’re not caught you’re good. So no need to leave coins in a jar. You should be spending that money on healthy stuff, like vegetables or maybe grapes. Yes grapes in a jar. Or a bottle. Fermented ones.

    Like

  10. Joelle Casteel says:

    wow, over 100! It was great reading your intro, Ana. You know, after wishing bad things for nasty HR people who’ve forgotten that their employees are people, I thought “It’s the second day of the Advent Calendar and Ana will have something that’ll be much happier for me to be thinking on.”
    So I thought on Sue’s list, but no, I’m not trying to get on the good boys/girls list. If anything I think my Master is watching for me to start bratting more as a sign that the stress is finally letting up.
    Now for the funny story about swearing that I mentioned under Tara’s message- I was wearing a shirt that says “Sometimes F you isn’t enough” and then continues on to show the phrase in maybe 18 different languages (yes, Tara, is has it in Irish and it always makes me think of you and giggle ’cause the Irish phrase sits on my belly button).Then there’s two hands with their middle fingers up. It gets funny the day my Master was talking to me about talking to our teen about needing to swear less. Yes, I was wearing a t-shirt covered in swear words when He was talking to me about this

    Like

    • Marybeth says:

      Joelle, where did you get that t-shirt? My 17 year old would love it! Of course, he can’t wear it to school, but everywhere else. LOL

      Like

      • Joelle Casteel says:

        Marybeth, it was at a Spencer’s Gifts. yeah, not for school. well not for public school. My son’s home educated so he has amusing things like mom/teacher wearing such things as I’m teaching something

        Like

        • Marybeth says:

          Lol. I’ll have to look. It’s especially appropriate because he going to college for languages. He speaks Spanish, did 3 years of Latin, one year of Chinese and is in his second year of French. (Proud mother alert) Have no idea where he got that from! But, he is his mother’s child and is extremely sarcastic. And big congrats for home schooling. I think I would have killed my children!

          Like

  11. Janey says:

    Oh I don’t need a swear jar, you see I only make swearing gestures with my fingers behind backs so as they can neither be seen nor heard it doesn’t count! I must be on the good list.

    Like

  12. sassytwatter says:

    Congratulations that’s is is such a fantastic turnout for the advent calendar Ana- you must be over the moon. I had so much fun predictably checking in to read all the comments. You have done a wonderful job of making a comfortable little place for people to meet and converse. Mazel Tov!

    Oh dear….. I am definitely on the naughty this list. I used to be a goodish girl. I’d have to say I have stepped up my game in the last year….I have been repeatedly called a pixie over the last few months if your familiar with the term enough said. I have used a few of Sue’s tactics to fein innocence but I think I’m a lost cause for this year. I partially blame Ana blog for making me so naughty….just saying. I have attempted to erase browser history only to end up leaving the halting evidence open doesn’t help married to a hacker. Oh vet….damn text messages have often been my demise especially those group ones nothing like an explicit message meant for one set of eyes to then accidentally include your mil thank god didn’t send pictures. Earsing the evidence I should of started that last year the pictures on my phone to many to simply just delete would take forever instead it seems that enough people have made the. Is take of using my phone to realize you can never unsee a picture. So since there is no way to get of the naughty list I am about to go out with a bang. Go big or go home isn’t that what they say. I’ll start freash on 2014. Hopefully the giant does kill me when I tell him later today I booked a girls trip peeling off from his business trip (it’s only an hour from where we are geographically it made a lot of sense) for one last hooray! Even the way I plan to tell him a little devilsh nothing like a lap dance and oh by way….

    Happy Wonter holidays! Great suggestions Sue any more ideas on how to reclaim good girl status when starting freash for 2014 is appreciated.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      So glad to have you here, miss naughty Sassy. I have been ridiculous and grinning like an idiot for two days straight.

      NO driving and texting!! Or I’ll tell Mrs. Claus to bring you a switch, a cane, AND a tawse. Oh, and I’ll send Natalie after you, too.

      Hey! Take responsibility for your own naughtiness. I’ve got enough problems already. Giggle.

      Enjoy your naughtiness. Also enjoy spending all of 2014 standing up. πŸ˜€

      Your giant is going to have to take you in hand, seriously. Tsk. I’m hoping you win the Learning Domestic Discipline packet. Sounds like he needs it! He can get all kinds of help on how to handle you. πŸ˜€

      Um..BEING good would help. Just saying. πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • SassyTwatter says:

        I wasn’t driving or texting!! I’m mostly cured of that since a recent experience in being pulled over. And I’m still thinking the tattler gets the same punishment so why don’t you tell her just to bring some cookies and I’ll make tea. I’m mean really scare a girl to death with mention of two of theatre scariest things I can think off.

        Oh I take full responsibility I just think finding your site just made me how should I say more willing to open up and explore….that may sound bad but only in English makes perfect sense in Swedish.

        Ahh- don’t we start fresh for 2014?! I’m already doomed for 2013 so going to finish it off. With a bang might as well sink the ship because I cooked my goose.

        I’m trying to be good I’ve even made lists on how to be good- they aren’t helping.

        Bite your tongue thankfully. MY giant lives under a rock with no internet service or email sheesh he has enough ideas in his head I certainty don’t need him to get anymore on making me behave.

        But I promise 2014 I will be a perfect angel. I

        Really amazing turnout so thankful to get to participate! I totally understand whey you have a over a grin!! Amazing work Ana!

        Like

        • Anastasia Vitsky says:

          Not tattling, just being helpful! Mrs. Claus is a busy lady who needs some help now and then.

          Naughty girls get scared with scary things, my dear!

          Ah, I see! Well, that’s great. We’re all normal here (some of us), even if we like kinky things. And yay for opening up and exploring.

          Is a naughty Sassy Twatter able to come online? Hm?

          Maybe I shall have to send a nice little letter to this sweet giant of yours. πŸ˜‰

          Aw, thank you! Blessings to you and everyone else who makes this event special.

          Like

          • sassytwatter says:

            You had me giggling.
            I know you are a busy lady so I’ll save you some time- He doesn’t read that’s what he has me for, never answers the phone and thankfully I am the only one to ever get the mail.

            Have a super good day/night!

            Like

  13. Delfonte says:

    Swear jar – my husband would fill it within hours!!!! I’m the good one.

    Even if I don’t think I’m on the naughty list, he will find someway to put me there…. it’s always the way πŸ˜‰

    Like

  14. Lying Loretta says:

    Great turnout for a fun event.

    The swear jar would remain empty, how could a sunny girl possibly fill a swear jar?. Does fibbing put me on the naughty list?. Switches & coal are not necessarily a bad thing – they both can be used in the fireplace Browsing history, not a problem, don’t browse. There’s that fibbing again.

    Now, what were the others. I’m sure I have excuses for those too. Thanks Sue,, but I’m good here.

    I think I’ll be Lying Loretta today.

    Like

  15. Marybeth says:

    Hmmmmm……I plan on being good! I want a new computer for Christmas, so the naughty list is out. I wouldn’t mind ending up like the elf in the corner, but I don’t think its going to happen. Ah well, there are books and blogs and websites to go to for my fix. lol

    Like

  16. SH says:

    Congratulations Ana on the great turn out! You have a very special way of making everyone feel welcome πŸ™‚

    I think (hope) I am on the naughty list this year! I have always been the good girl and it is boring! Enough said πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Sandy, when so many special people visit my blog, it takes very little to make you all feel special. πŸ˜€ You all light up my day. I’ve been on a 48-hour high!

      Naughty! No worries. I’ll make sure you get blamed for all of my misdeeds. How is that? πŸ˜€

      Like

  17. terpsichore says:

    Fun list. Now, I only really swear when I stub my toe, burn myself while I am cooking, or almost get hit by a car (fortunately that last one does not happen too often) but I think Santa would understand – he himself might even say the “d” word if he stubbed his toes as much as I do. πŸ™‚ Blogger name – have that…delete browser history – yep…pictures – safe there, texting – don’t even know how to do that so I think I am good there too. And I always leave out cookies for Santa and carrots for the reindeer as well as sprinkle reindeer food out in the snow. So I think I am mostly good…but it IS fun to naughty once and a while…so there must be something I can do…. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I swear (I’m not proud of it) when I’m driving and someone mishandles the car and nearly runs into me. I hate that!

      I’m thinking you should wear closed toe shoes more often, dear. πŸ™‚

      Yet another disappointment. Your real name isn’t Terpsichore? All these friends of mine have been deceiving me…sigh.

      Carrots for the reindeer! So cute.

      Mostly good? Eh, for this crowd that’s stellar. LOL.

      Like

  18. Sue Lyndon says:

    Wow…look at all these early birdies leaving comments! I’m still on my first cup of coffee and trying to wake up, though it’s hard because it’s overcast outside…in fact it’s looking like snow and that makes me want to curl up and take a morning nap.

    Congrats on the huge turnout yesterday, Ana! You are the Advent Calendar Queen! πŸ™‚

    Like

  19. quiet sara says:

    I don’t know about Santa’s list but I was informed last night if I don’t get my sass in check I will stay on husband’s naughty list! I’d like some sexy panties in my stocking but it would be really weird to get those from Santa!!! lol πŸ™‚

    Like

  20. Celeste Jones says:

    Wow. Did I sleep an entire day away or are people staying up all night for the Advent Calendar?

    I like the swear jar idea but I think I’ll write swear words on pieces of paper and put them in the jar then take one out each day and be sure to use it as the word of the day. So there, Santa!

    Like

  21. JC says:

    The only thing in that list for me to take care of is my browsing history. That’s done so check.

    As long as my secret Amazon account stays secret I should make the nice list.

    Like

  22. Ami says:

    All this talk about naughtiness! Shame on you all! I’m a good girl, I am! In fact, I am so good I am beginning to get boring, so I shall have to put a stop to that!

    Due to familial participation my Facebook remains quite “cosy” and unassuming. Like Terps, I am not one to swear much unless pushed past the point of no return, and then usually one word said very loudly, and everyone looks and is shocked that I actually know such a word!

    We give a lump of coal, a chunk of bread and a coin to first footers at New Year’s Eve so when they leave by the back door and return in the front door they bring “plenty” with them for the coming year. They have to be dark-haired, and a man, too.

    As for switches – I am determined to try one at some point during the next year. If you write about these things, then you ought to know what they feel like, I figure. (I already know what a small birch branch feels like…..!)

    I suppose, if I am honest, most of my downfall is due to having such good friends – you know, the sort who lead you astray? Not to mention any names around here, but I’m still not too positive who these elves standing in corners are. Except for Ana of course! (I must put in here that I am very impressed with Minelle spelling rambunctuous! They are also rampageous! See, I know big words too!)

    Seriously, (okay Ana, I know I am not very often too serious) thank you so much to everyone here who is making this event possible.

    And just one last word – it is now taking me so long to read through all this that I have received the “lifted eyebrow warning”!!!

    Many hugs and thanks

    Ami

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Ami Starsong.

      For shame. Fibbing all over blogland! I’m going to send Cat after you AND Mrs. Claus.

      What are first footers? Such a neat tradition!

      Considering your naughtiness, I am sure you will feel a switch! Preferably good and hard until you learn to behave. πŸ˜€ Miss Knickerless.

      LOL. Such a nut.

      Aw…people like you make this event silly, fun, and a great way to spend the month. Love having you here.

      Stay out of trouble, for gosh darn sakes!

      Like

  23. Kelsey Summer says:

    I love this blog and reading all of your posts. Sad to say that I already do follow Sue’s suggestions 2 through 5 (daily). My kids (and my boss) have been sooooo close to finding some things I’ve posted, texted, etc. I delete EVERYTHING and I clear my browser history every time I go online. Kelsey Summer is also an alias (my FB and Twitter under my real name are prim are proper – and rarely checked by me). Anything and everything to hide my true nature from my kids. That’s also why you will rarely see posts or comments from me on weekends (with 3 at home I don’t get much alone time).

    But other than naughty things online I don’t think I have been too naughty this year. It’s been a quiet and relatively boring year. My 12 year old son could definitely use the jar though for his mouth. I walked by his room yesterday while he was on the phone and every other word was a swear. Was I that way at 12? I don’t remember. I’m a good girl so probably not.

    Gotta go now (and delete my history) before the boss comes in and sees.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Oh, no! Be careful. You wouldn’t want to let your family and work find out your naughty self.

      I find that I enjoy being “me” here more than my real life self. I can feel more comfortable, and I like it. Not as much to hide.

      Wow. I did swear when I was 12, but in my diary rather than out loud. Not with my friends. Maybe he will grow out of it? I hope so. When 20-somethings curse all the time, it can be pretty unattractive.

      Be good!

      Like

  24. Renee Meyer says:

    Sue, thanks for the tips but no swear jar in my house… that would be admitting to something I work hard to deny. I’m a good girl – honest!!! Don’t have Facebook, Instagram and rarely text so I’m safe on those fronts. Ummm, there is a history of my browsing? Uh-Oh better figure out how to delete that one. Have a great day.

    Like

  25. catrouble says:

    Many thanks to Ana and the elves…Penelope, Tara and Emily. LOL Introducing the new singing group β€˜Ana and the Elves’ singing β€œOuch, Ouch, Ouch” πŸ˜€

    Thanks for the great suggestions Sue…some people need them more than others…

    1. Ha! Don’t need a swear jar…no potty mouth here…am practically perfect!
    2. Don’t use Instagram and don’t post pics on Facebook…in fact I hide from cameras as much as possible.
    3. Hmmm…if I delete my text messages, I could end up deleting the incriminating evidence I have against some of the naughty ladies in blog land! Will have to think about that.
    4. Oops…browsing history…delete, delete, delete
    5. Dang…too late for a pen name!

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      ROFL!!! Okay. Awesome quote. Ana and the Elves singing Ouch ouch ouch. LOL!!!

      What was that, miss curse like a sailor? πŸ˜€

      Tattling on your friends is surefire naughty behavior, miss!

      Naughty.

      Naughty.

      See? πŸ˜€

      Btw, tell Miss Ami about a barn burner. Apparently she has already forgotten that and a coming to Jesus meetin’. Brits. πŸ˜›

      Like

  26. Merna says:

    Oh my Goodness Ami! The Lifted Eyebrow Warning is just what was happening with my husband last night when I was trying to type my entry for Day 1…. and the implied, “aren’t you going to get ANYTHING done today?” I am mostly a good girl, except for excessive time spent online and reading interesting books. Oh, and I live with teenagers, so forget the swear jar. If you don’t speak in their language, they don’t understand you! Everyone is off to school and work now, but I have to get ready for work too. See you tomorrow!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Be careful, Merna! Ami is a VERY bad influence. You are sure to earn all kinds of spankings if you hang out with her.

      Well, reading books isn’t naughty. We get to live so many lives in the books we read.

      Be good!

      Like

  27. hollawrites says:

    Wonderful tips, Sue! Like most others, I’ve been a little naughty and a little good. I think (hope) more good than naughty. I don’t have a swear jar because I’d go broke if I did. There aren’t enough quarters for all the swearing I tend to do. Hmm, did I just contradict what I said about being more good than bad? Thank goodness no one else uses my computers (hubby has his own, kids are grown and on their own) so I don’t normally have to worry about deleting my history, though maybe I will now just to look extra good for Santa. I do not want to find any switches in my stocking. But a new leather paddle would not be a bad thing to find in there.

    Like

  28. Marley_Rain says:

    Hii.
    Im new here…well atleast new to posting, I have been reading your blog for a while now. I really enjoy everything. And Sue I def. use all of those tips you must delete delete delete and use the pen name for sure! Although this year i am sorta hoping to get caught that way there are some naughty goodies in my stocking! I enjoy this blog so much and I cant wait to see what tomorrow holds!!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hi Marley! So nice to see you here. Thank you for delurking. What a pleasant surprise to meet all these people who have been reading without my knowing. πŸ™‚

      Ooh, naughty goodies? Now I am curious…

      Tomorrow will be special, let me tell you! We’ve got a BEAUTIFUL post coming full of all kinds of neat information.

      Like

  29. Terry says:

    Thank-you for your suggestion list on how to stay on Santa’s good list but I count myself as a good girl.

    I am computer savvy enough to know where to click on the history and delete tabs but I have my own computer that my husband rarely looks at. As far as swearing goes, my husband swears a lot more than I do so that isn’t an issue. True story… My husband and I were at a concert with friends several years ago. A woman behind me would not stop talking throughout the entire warm up band. When she continued to talk when the headliners came to the stage I asked me husband what to do to get the woman to stop talking. I told me (in jest) to tell her to “Shut the F… up” so I did just that. He was very surprised to hear me say That Word but I was just doing what my husband told me to do right?

    Santa and the reindeer eat well at my house.

    Like

  30. Terry says:

    So much for my great commuter skills the true story should read “He told me to say” not “I told me to say”. It is still a story my husband tell people about though.

    Like

  31. Tracey Horton says:

    When I worked in the school district–un Amin building NOT the schools, the secretaries swore really bad. I mean really bad!! So we did a swear jar–we bought pizza every Fridsy with the money. Lol. We decided that it became a reward system and stopped.

    Like

  32. bellabryce says:

    1. I can have a potty mouth when I get really cross, but try to use more intelligent words πŸ˜€
    2. Don’t have Instagram or FB outside of my ‘writing’ FB page. Never seen a stripper, never been to that kind of party, will not ever do so. Yes, I’m 26.
    3. My text messages are butterflies and candy canes
    4. No browsing history to blush at
    5. I AM under a pen name, but I’m not naughty.

    A few things about Bella Bryce you didn’t know, hopefully no one will tease me for being a good girl. But if you do, I’m still on the nice list πŸ˜›

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I never really got instagram, but that might be because I don’t do much with photos.

      Personally, I think strippers are overrated.

      Not naughty? mmm..not so sure!

      You are nice, but that doesn’t mean you aren’t also naughty, my dear. Mrs. Claus know. πŸ™‚

      Like

  33. Mona Lisa says:

    Oh no, what is a poor european girl doing here among all the Santas?
    (Bas, where are you?? Help me!)

    Have you not understood that there is no Santa Claus?
    It’s “Jultomten” who brings all the gifts and he is small and looks like a troll and is certainly not Santa! And he likes” risgrynsgrΓΆt” !! tsk, tsk .. lol .. lol ..

    A good girl list? Boring!

    Who wants to be a good girl, when you can become a naughty girl? lol ..
    Life is to be lived and savored. .. lol ..

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      No, I’ve never heard of Jultomten!! Please email me with more info, Mona! I’d love to feature him on a later post. I was also going to mention Sinterklaas…when is that again? Yes, dear dear Bas.

      Is risgryngrot rice pudding? I had that as a child…so rich! So much butter.

      You are a very good naughty girl, dear. πŸ˜€

      God Jul! Wait. Is that Norwegian? Sorry…

      Like

  34. P.T. Wyant says:

    Now, everyone who knows me knows that I am sweet and demure and innocent and shy, pure in thoughts and heart…

    I should start a swear jar, though… I’ve gotten better since I’m not working at the jail anymore, but sometimes, especially when I have to share the road with other drivers and when there are red lights…

    (No, “red lights” does NOT mean I’m in the red light district — see my first paragraph. Sheesh!)

    I don’t have Instagram and my FB photos would put Santa to sleep and no one else would get any presents, so I’m safe there.

    My text messages are equally boring. (I think I should add “boring” to my first paragraph…)

    My browsing history MIGHT get me into trouble, but I can explain! It’s all in the name of research for novels!

    And don’t worry — if I start being naughty it will definitely be under a pen name! I’m more afraid of my mother than I am Santa!

    Love and best switches from Paula the Innocent.

    Like

  35. Tessa says:

    i missed yesterday, so I want to begin by saying a huge thanks to Ana and to all taking part and contributing to this advent calendar, my first one here:) It’s good to “meet” you all. then my answer for Sue’w question: Yes, erasing the web history. That I do regularly. And yes, all the naughty stuff get away in a moment.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hi Tessa! Yay!! So glad to have you here and signed up. Lovely to meet all these new people, including you.

      I’m not so sure I’d follow Sue’s example. Word on the street is that she’s never able to sit down. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  36. Michael says:

    Hello Sue, so wonderful to meet you. I notice missing from your tips on how to get on Santa’s Nice List for good girls and boys is, well…actually being nice and behaving. Your tips involve fibbing and hiding naughty behavior in a deceitful way. Even though I have just met you I would say your behavior shows that you are a naughty imp. Santa sees all, and you even mention “he knows”, so how do you expect to fool the jolly ol’ elf? I think your misbehavior concerning these mischievous tips has just landed you on Santa’s Naughty List. And don’t forget, naughty boys and girls on this list usually end up with a red ouchy bottom on display while standing in the corner. Just ask dear sweet innocent Ana – almost burst a blood vessel trying to type that last bit without laughing – as she is very experienced in serving Santa directed corner time after a trip over his lap.

    But seriously, Sue, thanks for such an enjoyable post. You rock. πŸ™‚

    Ana, don’t get too used to seeing me in the corner as it is now your turn for a bottom warming and some well deserved corner time, young lady.

    Being serious again, Ana, thanks for providing such a fun and safe place to play. That means so much to so many people, more than you even realize I bet. Your humor and graciousness shows what a wonderful person resides within your heart. And it is amazing how you answer all your many readers comments individually. It would be easy to do a mass reply or provide generic answers, but you take the time and effort to answer readers in a warm and special way which further shows how special you are, Ana. I am privileged to call you friend. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      LOL!!

      Michael, I’m having trouble responding because I’m laughing too hard. Behaving? But…but…why?? On purpose? You don’t want to ruin everyone’s fun, do you? Then you don’t get to enjoy the fun of being all Toppish and exerting your power. What if everyone behaved perfectly? You wouldn’t want to ruin Santa and Mrs. Claus’ fun, would you? Tsk!

      Dear sweet innocent Ana IS indeed sweet and innocent. Though I usually prefer to say sweetness and light. πŸ˜€

      Me? In the corner? But how can I possibly play Advent Calendar from the corner? *blink blink* Pin the tail on the donkey is a birthday game, not for Christmas. πŸ™‚

      When people like you come, Michael, and add such warmth and wit it makes things more fun for everyone. I had a small awakening a week or two back when I realized how much this community means to me here, and I decided to put my energies back into blogging. It’s amazing what happens…suddenly everything flowed and this wonderful event sort of spontaneously combusted. In a good way. Combusted can mean good too, right?

      I am privileged to call you friend too, my dear. Especially my friend who looks good in the corner. πŸ˜€

      Like

      • Michael says:

        Ana, hope when you laughed so hard you weren’t drinking wine. That would be a waste of good wine when it spurted out your nose. πŸ˜‰

        I guess it would be boring if all you imps behaved, and if there were no spankings there would be no squirmy fun. So, if you insist and persist I will gladly oblige.

        Are you still on about me being in the corner?! SHEESH, you have a one track mind, young lady, like a dog with a bone, or maybe that should be an imp with a credit card. πŸ™‚

        Like

  37. Blondie says:

    Congratulations on the huge number of participants. There are a few texts that I really should delete but they come from my Santa and they are too good to erase. I have only one swear word and nobody better charge me for it. Fucktard – it’s a great word that I really shouldn’t use because I might say it in front of the little boys. I think the older boys taught me the word. I just want to be kissing Santa underneath the mistletoe (and everywhere else) for Christmas.

    Like

  38. Irishey says:

    Gobsmacked?! Gosh, I love it when people use old-fashioned or quaint words and phrases I don’t realize I say myself, until I see/hear them elsewhere. It’s so nice – reminds me of conversations with the “great-” relatives when I was a kid. πŸ˜‰ I’m tickled pink to be able to participate this year, Ana!

    Sue, thank you for not defining “good.” I can safely pass on that question.

    No list of requirements for being on the naughty list… Moving on…

    1. Seed a FAKE swear jar? Lol! Sue, you get extra naughty points for advocating we try to trick Santa. Sheesh!

    2. No naughty photos on Facebook, Instagram or anywhere else that Santa, his elves or other little people might accidentally run across. πŸ™‚

    3. Ditto, ditto, ditto!

    4. Deleting browsing history…clear searches, clear autofill, clear the cache…

    5. Umm…Irishey… check!

    Cookie baking – tradition I won’t break. Have an excellent recipe for reindeer food. Licorice switches and coal candy/gum – yum!

    Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to you, too, Sue!

    Ana, I think this Goody Two Shoes is too goody-goody to need Sue’s list. D told me he didn’t know “fudge” had two syllables until he heard me say it as an expletive, “Fuuuh-uuuudge!” Fake swear jar, indeed. Lol! Besides, I’m naughty in only the best ways – I am certain Santa does not disapprove of my zest! πŸ˜‰

    Suggestions? On how to be good, or naughty, or good and naughty? πŸ˜‰ I can cover all 3 – just keep reading here on your blog!

    Oh, almost forgot about the polka-dot panties. I have some of my own, thank you, AND they’ve never done corner time!

    Happy Day #2!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Those polka-dot panties SHOULD be in the corner, let me tell you. πŸ™‚

      I love “gobsmacked.” It sounds so proper and so very British.

      Tickled pink to have you, Miss Irishey!

      Irishey isn’t your real name? Et tu, Brute? Now who’m I going to call up and invite for tea? *pout*

      LOL. Fudge is a two-syllable word when it needs to be.

      For you I think good and naughty. Don’t want you to strain yourself. πŸ˜€

      Happy Day #2 to you!

      Like

  39. Thianna D says:

    The fake swear jar is a good idea. And if you place it in an area where tons of people migrate, you might find yourself with a filled jar. And hey, you don’t want Santa to notice, right? So you will take their money out…and go spend it of course because otherwise if Santa found all the limp singles he might wonder if you are headed out to a strip club.

    Of course, I’ve got Santa in my pocket (Shhh, don’t let out the secret.) I just send him some of my homemade Limoncello whenever he puts me on the naughty list – marked as Reindeer medicine of course because Mrs. Claus is a total B-…well, you know.

    Though there is something to be said for being on the naughty list…like a semi-permanently bright red behind. It’s like being a reverse Rudolph πŸ˜‰

    Like

  40. angieia says:

    Sue, Thank you for the tips. For luck I don’t have facebook or twitter and I’m pretty anal (no pun intended) about deleting my texts and clearing my browsing history. I do like tip number 5. But with my mouth and swearing I will never make the good list. So I’m thinking maybe being like the elf wouldn’t be so bad. It would be something new to try.

    Like

  41. JoanneBest says:

    Uh oh, I think I’ve been a little naughty this year, not as naughty as I’d like to have been but naughty enough to warrant a stern talking to at the least πŸ˜‰
    A swear jar is a great idea but in this house I don’t think we have a jar big enough! Yikes!
    I’m not as openly naughty as I should be I mean would be I mean, umm, darn real-name user! πŸ˜‰
    {quickly runs off to delete history and certain texts and photos}
    I’m a good girl I’m a good girl I’m a good girl I’m a good girl….sorta πŸ˜‰
    Umm, how ’bout this; I’m not naughty, I’m just drawn that way…. nah, that’s not it, I’m trying to be not-naughty while still trying to have fun at the same time…. oh boy, I’m in trouble with Santa this year πŸ˜‰

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Maybe a swear bathtub? Hehe.

      Should be, eh? There are quite a few naughty minxes around to give you a few tips. Not suggested, though. Some of these people have some serious wooden spoon sessions coming up when it’s time for their visit with Mrs. Claus. Sillies. πŸ˜€

      Fibbing counts as naughty behavior, miss!

      LOL drawn that way, that’s a good one. I’ll try that and see if it works. If I’m in trouble, I’m pulling you down with me.

      Like

  42. Kathryn R. Blake says:

    Santa knows I’m a really good girl, except when I’m awake. I did try deleting my history once from Google and it created all sorts of havoc with the sites I regularly visit. So, now I content myself with simply deleting my cookies. They aren’t the kind Santa eats anyway.

    Like

  43. Katy Beth McKee says:

    I was a very good girl Thanksgiving when my mil made a very mean and hurtful comment and I just kept my mouth shut and didn’t ruin thee holiday for others. DH did overhear for the first time. She usually says stuff when she thinks no one is around. He is really upset and realizes now that it does really happen.

    Naughty when it comes to housework. I’d much rather use my precious free time with a book.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      That is great! It is so hard not to respond when someone hurts us, especially in public and especially when it’s supposed to be a nice occasion. Funny how “nice occasions” can bring out the worst in us. I am glad your husband stuck up for you. Support means a lot, doesn’t it?

      Housework is best left to house elves. πŸ˜€

      Like

  44. pieclown says:

    Have I been good this year, NO. I did not break any major laws, lets not talk about speeding. Nothing else illegal, immoral, weeelll. OK yes. That would put me on the naughty list.
    1. If I put our a swear jar, it would soon be empty for gas money.
    2. I do not have instagram and most of my pieclown facebook pictures are PG, messy but PG, My mistresses have those others.
    3. I do not do txt.
    4. My computer got updated to Win 7 so I am still trying to load up cookies. Oh course I do have a large file full of fun photo, vids, and stories. Including the master copies of some dirty(messy) photos of me.
    5. Pen name = pieclown

    Coal, save it for summer for grilling.

    I do not see me moving of the naughty list. No Ford F150 Raptor for this clown. By doing this list I do see me adding some more zest to my life. Is not Zest a soap, better watch the β€œoh Fudge”. Some idea for getting off the naughty list. The red kettles are a start. The Marines Toys for Tots is another. And remembering Who’s birth we are celebrating. As for me ending up like this poor elf, I would need the top, panties, ( I got close to the socks) , shoes, and of course a Mrs Claus.

    Pie pie 4 now.
    Pieclown

    Like

  45. laurellasky says:

    I am a very good girl. ( if you believe that I have a bridge to sell.) I must admit I have very naughty thoughts. But them thoughts aren’t deeds. My vice is naughty books. I don’t tell my husband because it would upset him. Right now I have more month than money. I can’t be overdrawn because I have checks left. This makes me a good girl.

    Like

  46. Penelope says:

    Great post, Sue! It really seems to be bringing the naughty boys and girls out. Mr and Mrs Claus are going to be kept busy this year, methinks πŸ™‚

    Am I naughty? Yes. Do I like being on the naughty list? Absolutely! πŸ˜€ It would make my Christmas to be scolded to tears, thrown over a lap and thoroughly spanked, then sent to bed without any supper, my crestfallen little face wet with sorrow and glowing as red as my bottom.

    But thanks for the handy tips anyway πŸ˜€

    An additional tip, since Ana asked: I find that cuteness coupled with distraction often helps. No point contesting the charges of whatever naughty thing(s) you might have done; instead divert your would-be spanker’s attention with e.g. lavish praise, a sweet gift (“I drawed a cat, for you!”), your best come-on routine… πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Naughty, naughty Penny. Very naughty Penny. I am sure the most effective punishment for such a naughty girl is to be stood in the corner and have to think over her misdeeds..and then go to bed early WITHOUT a spanking! You’d shape up in no time, missy. πŸ˜€ And cute tricks will only get you further in trouble.

      I better write a note to Mrs. Claus about a naughty little Penny..

      Like

  47. George K says:

    Naughty! Surely that question is not for the HoH’s! Ha! Ha! As for me, the last time I made a mistake was when I thought I was wrong!

    Ok, for real, swear jar….only at work, never at home! (OK, maybe once in a while at home) I just deleted the pictures from my last trip to Las Vegas! Don’t do facebook, twitter or other social media, so I recon until the next Vegas trip I am doing OK! (but switches in the stocking….might be fun to try)!!!

    Thank you Ana, Sue and all the other helper elves for all your hard work!

    Like

  48. Patty Devlin says:

    I’m always on The Naughty List! πŸ˜‰ And the best tip is the one about deleting your browsing history… Unfortunately I don’t know how to delete my predictive text??? any tips for how to do that? When my daughter borrows my phone it often prompts her to spank her friends! LOL jk kidding but I have had some awkward suggestions…
    My tip is to always keep your computer screen facing a corner- for your browsing privacy πŸ˜‰ So that no one surprising you can catch you off guard… Thanks for all the fun!

    Like

  49. Leah says:

    I did have an issue on the Kindle Fire recently where google searches WOULD NOT DELETE regardless of how much I cleared the history. Turns out I wasn’t the only one with this prob. and found the solution online.

    I’m giving my husband a Nice stocking and a Naughty one to be opened away from little eyes. Having fun thinking of items to put in the Naughty one. Hope he does the same for me.

    Like

  50. October Woman says:

    Wow, when I checked in today I was planning to read every comment but there’s so many, I don’t know if I’ll have time! Since I often browse the internet while at work (shh, don’t tell my boss!), I am careful to erase the browser history every time I log off my computer. Same with my iPad at home, since my daughter also uses it. I doubt she’d ever look at the history, but just in case, I sure don’t want her to look at what I’m looking at! And I do use a pen name just about everywhere.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Be very careful at work! I hope it’s your personal computer and not a shared one.

      It’s a bit overwhelming, isn’t it? It’s taken me over two hours to respond to the comments. :-O But still, so much fun. πŸ˜€ Read what you can–the posts will still be up later, and you can read then, too.

      Like

      • catrouble says:

        I will add to that…even if it is your personal computer or not shared, if you are accessing the internet through your company, they have the legal right to see what you are up to. Many IT departments now have keystroke software which captures every single keystroke you type! ACK!!! Much safer to simply wait until you are at home…especially to access naughty Ana’s blog! πŸ˜€

        Blessings…
        Cat

        Like

  51. Corinne Alexander says:

    Great suggestions, Sue! I am definitely a fan of being naughty under my pen name! That is where almost all the naughtiness happens. Although, I have been known….ahem…..um…well…what Santa doesn’t know won’t hurt me. Him! I mean him!

    Like

  52. M. Palmer says:

    Even my outward “good” girl wasn’t very good this year … sigh. Ruined 4 brand new tires in the space of 6 months. Totally unlike me! But I didn’t get any “punishments” for any of them! And I am all about deleting browser history, with two teen girls in the house! (PS – I’ll happily take a switch in my stocking. Last year it was a wooden spoon. OUCH.)

    Like

  53. Ria says:

    So, I have been a good girl, following instructions to clean up my act. When I am being extra naughty, I log in incognito, :-). I am fortunate that Santa is not reading my mind, or I would really be black and blue, :-0

    Like

  54. TL says:

    Fortunately, or unfortunately depending on what you are after (*wink* *wink* *nudge nudge*) I’ve always been a good girl at heart. I eat my veggies and go to bed on time and all that jazz. I have always had a spanking under the Christmas tree fantasy thought… so maybe now is a good time to make my way to the naughty list.

    What fun! Happy Day 2!

    Like

  55. TravelingGal says:

    Apparently, other than the swearing, I’m depressingly good – or at least really good at hiding my tracks! I read somewhere that porn stars combine their first pet’s name with the street where they lived to come up with a porn name so I took the same approach for a pen name. Seemed only appropriate!

    Like

  56. Regan Nicole says:

    Personally I’m happy staying on the Naughty list (the badder the better) but I have a few tips for those looking to be on the Good Girls/ Boys list

    *Give, give, give- donate that dollar retailers ask for charity- it feels good and brings good karma plus Santa is watching
    *Be polite and courteous to fellow shoppers- there’s no reason to be an adult and to bud in line and be rude =/

    Like

  57. Sherilyn says:

    Thanks so much for this, Ana, Sue, Emily, and Tara! This really is so much fun, I’m sorry I missed it last year. As for being naughty, well, I had a big naughty during the summer so I’m probably not going to make the good list this year (I fell, blowing out my knee and breaking my arm. Don’t fall down is HoH’s number one rule). As for the swear jar, I only swear during football games. And at bad drivers, of which Colorado has many (I think they move here so they can get away with it.). Maybe I should consider that one. My photos and texts are clean. Browsing history, hmmm. I better look at that. I was supposed to use a pen name?!?! Actually, I’m going to do that. I’ll let y’all in on it, though!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Never worry about what’s past, but enjoy what we have now. πŸ˜€ 23 glorious more days of fun! Nuttiness. Craziness. LOL

      Oh no…it seems a bit hard to get in trouble for falling down. Sometimes we can’t help it. Please take care of yourself.

      LOL everyone seems to think bad drivers belong where they live.

      Happy to meet you!

      Like

      • Sherilyn says:

        Thank you, Ana, I’m a lot more careful now! Hubby says it’s too little, too late.

        So glad to meet you too! You and everyone here are certainly making a joyous season even more fun! Just watch out for Ms. Claus and that spoon (unless you want her to catch you)!

        Like

        • Anastasia Vitsky says:

          Ack! Ack! Mayday! πŸ˜€ Mrs. Claus needs her spoon to…stir cookie batter. That’s it, stir cookie batter. Hehe.

          But being really careful about how you walk can make you actually more prone to falls. :S You stiffen up and become afraid, so you’re more prone to injury. Maybe your husband should give you a different rule: no leaving the house without layering yourself in bubble wrap. πŸ˜€

          Fun, nutty, crazy. All the same here.

          Like

          • Sherilyn says:

            You are such a sweet lady! I stepped on my granddaughter’s Winnie the Pooh phone while yelling at her to pick up her toys. I walk more mindfully where obstacles are concerned. I also have a mongo brace now that keeps me from having to pay too much attention, other than to wandering toys. My biggest concern is walking without limping so I don’t throw all of me out of whack. My husband would like to wrap me in bubble wrap, all except for the part he wants to warm!

            It is crazy here! And loving, and fun, and safe. Thank you so much!

            Like

  58. laurell says:

    I would love to tell my husband. Unfortunately he is 88 years old and has Alzheimer’s and
    Is a sweet and gentle man. ( darn it) I am his child bride. I just turned 70. If he knew how much on spent on books he probably would spank me. Oh, well, a girl can dream. I bless every day we have and can still reminisce. I have a lot to be thankful for.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Wow, what a big age difference! It must be so hard to watch your husband deal with Alzheimer’s. We have several people here who are experiencing that with members of their family. Maybe you and he can read books together? πŸ™‚

      Like

  59. Katie says:

    Hi there Sue and Ana too! Oh you won’t find anyone on the naughty list over here!

    1. No potty mouth in this house.
    2. Never had such an event! Always good here!
    3. Nothing worthy of deleting in my text history! πŸ˜€
    4. No worries about browsing history either! πŸ™‚
    5. Katie TforTrouble is my pen name. But I almost always have good behavior! Except when I don’t!
    Thanks so much! Many hugs,

    ❀ Katie

    Like

  60. Kitty says:

    a swear jar. good idea but i.m with whoever it was that said it would always be empty do to being robbed to pay for gas.
    i don’t have facebook ect… so no problem there
    yes i do a lot of deleting.
    but i’m wondering yes i’m gonna ask the dumb question cause i dont know how. so how do u clear the cache.
    and i am using a pen name.

    i tried to read all the great responses but its hard to keep up…

    Like

  61. Maren Smith says:

    Pffft! Good List? Why would anyone want to go there? How boring! Now, the Naughty List houses all kinds of potential for fun, which Santa will reward you for with gifts like coal (helps with the heating bill) and switches (also helps with the heating bill!). Thanks, Santa!

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

