Congratulations to Joanne Best!

Yesterday’s posts for Giving Tuesday were so amazing that I wanted to recognize the responses. I thought I’d pick one that affected me, but there were too many to count. So, instead, I put all of yesterday’s commenters onto a list (actually, helper elf Penelope Hasler did) and chose one at random.

The lucky winner is Joanne Best, who has made me smile each day. This is her first Christmas without her mom, and she says that coming to the Advent Calendar helps to make this season easier. Hearing this makes all the hours of work worth it. This is my paycheck, this is my payoff, and this is why I come back every day to these kinds of events.

This is Joanne’s intro comment from the first day:

Yay! It’s here!!!!
1.Yes, I went to Catholic School and always follow directions ;-)
2.No I didn’t play along last year but only because I wasn’t here yet (on WP I mean, I was on earth but not in the Land of Pressed Words.
3.I found out about this because I’ve been following your blog so yay me for following you!!!
4.I plan on going for the Perfect Attendance (it’s a leftover habit from Catholic School )
5.I would be thrilled to win anything (although I do have a heart-on for Alice Dark ;-) )
6.This is my first Advent Calendar (I know, bad bad me) and I know this is going to be tons of much needed fun- I lost my Mom a few months ago and I need to keep my mind on new traditions and meet new friends who share a common interest.
7.I’m just Joanne Best (and yes that is my birth name lol) and I’ve been following this blog for awhile now but have been a lurker because I’m a newbie to all this wonderful fun. I’m a writer of words, some of my words turn into songs that I sing with my band (when we play, we’re all getting older so it’s more for fun than anything else), I’m also hoping to publish/sell some of my songs to somebody famous because aim high ;-) oh! I love my kitties and I love all my new friends here :-D
8.Hello Pao! I’m so glad to meet you and I’m looking forward to playing with you, umm, I mean playing along with you ;-P
Also, hi everyone {waves hard} this is going to be fun!!!! :-D

Thank you, Joanne, for bringing your sincerity to this event and helping to create something special.

Your prize is Mastering Maeve by Tara Finnegan. Please contact Tara within four days to make arrangements to receive your prize. I know you’ll love Tara’s book. 🙂

(This is an announcement post, and comments do not count as prize entries.)

13 thoughts on “Congratulations to Joanne Best!

  1. Anastasia Vitsky says:

    Joanne’s response (moving this from today’s post so more people will see it):

    Oh my!!! I’m speechless honored and yes, smiling hard! 😀 Thank you sincerely from the bottom of my heart ♥ ; ok so I told a little white lie, I’m not just smiling hard, I’m also wiping away salty drops from my eyes, so technically it was a lie of omission. …who am I kidding, I’m crying my eyeballs out, but in a good way 😉 Thank you more than words can express ♥♥♥ xox

    Like

  2. Irishey says:

    Congratulations, Joanne!

    Hugs to you as you approach your first Christmas without your mother. I hope you feel her presence as you revisit good memories and carry on a few of her traditions, even as you move forward with new traditions and new friends. Cheers to you and to her as you celebrate her life and your new life throughout the season.

    Like

  3. Katie says:

    Many congrats, Joanne!!! 🙂 I love your references to Catholic schools. I attended those here and there and know exactly what you are talking about! LOL!!! Sorry about your mom. Holidays can be tough when you have lost someone that you love. Especially the first one. You’ve come to the right place! Lots of neat people to meet and Ana’s calendar is awesome! Many hugs,

    ❤ Katie

    Like

  4. catrouble says:

    Congratulations, Joanne! I remember the first Christmas without my dad…it was very rough and last year was my first Christmas without my fiance. So if you need someone who has been there, please let me know…will be happy to help.

    So happy you are enjoying the advent calendar. 😉

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  5. Michael says:

    Congratulations, Joanne. I am glad you delurked and joined our friendly community, and that Ana’s wonderful Advent Calendar is helping you through this first Christmas without your mom. All our hearts go out to you.
    Love your attitude about aiming high. Good luck with selling your songs. 🙂

    Like

  6. Roz says:

    Many Congratulations Joanne 🙂 I too am glad to de-lurked to join in the fun. Many hugs as you approach your first Christmas without your Mom. We are all thinking of you.

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

