Advent Calendar final prize roundup and closing thoughts

Phew, has it already been two weeks since the end of Ana’s Advent Calendar 2013? It’s been wonderful to see so many familiar faces stick around after the event, and it’s been even better to see the new connections made. Already I am making plans for Ana’s Advent Calendar 2014. πŸ™‚

Life took a bit of an unexpected turn for me at the end of the Advent Calendar, so it’s taken me these two weeks to catch up on prize distribution and confirmation. Many thanks to helper elves Tara Finnegan and Kathryn Blake for their endless patience in sorting through countless emails. Many thanks also to patient prize winners and donors who wondered what had happened.

I do believe all of the grand prizes have been arranged if not yet delivered, and that the majority have been delivered. Please let me know if you were not able to make your connection, especially if your prize was not claimed.

For those of you who won one of my books, technology was my nemesis. I’m having a bit of difficulty creating mobi and epub versions of my books (sigh), or at least in a way that will allow me to send them as an email. If I owe you a copy of my book(s), please comment below and/or send me an email so I can sort things out. If you’re good at Calibre and want to help, I will bless your name forever.

In other news, I’m hoping I’ll have a cover for Mira’s Miracle to show you soon. It’s hard to wait!! Plus a terrific set of posts…including a two-part interview with Maren Smith, creator of the Castle world that Mira and Hana visit. I hope you’ll like it. πŸ˜€

21 thoughts on “Advent Calendar final prize roundup and closing thoughts

  1. Roz says:

    Has it been two weeks already?! This was so much fun and it was wonderful to make new connections. Many thanks again to you and to everybody involved who helped to make it such a great success.

    I hope you manage to sort the technology issues soon. Very much looking forward to your upcoming posts and interview with Maren!

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  2. Chickie says:

    I feel your pain! I had a gigantic training document that I wanted people to be able to read comfortably instead of with their face on the computer. I can’t remember what program I used. There were some spacing issues when it was all said and done. It worked best when I went back to my original Word document, removed page numbers and all formatting and then converted to ePub and mobi. It was a free online file converter whatever it was.

    I don’t know about kindle but I know nook can read pdf. It’s not as nice and on mine I can’t make the font quite big enough to read while running… It does work though. So maybe you’re putting a bit too much stress on yourself?

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      It may have been Calibre, although Calibre takes PDFs instead of word files.

      Kindle Fire reads PDF very well, but as you say it lacks some of the options of a mobi file. I’m guessing it’s similar for Nook and epub files. I just hope everyone who won a book actually gets it…this year was quite the logistical feat!

      Like

  3. Irishey says:

    Thanks again, Ana and all the prize contributors, and all the participants! I had a lot of fun getting to meet so many new people and get to know others better. I am so glad I was able to participate this year (even while struggling with my own ridiculous technology issues)!

    Like

  4. Michael says:

    Ana, it is two weeks after Advent Calendar and I’m still feeling the glow – no, not of a spanking – of the warm and fun feelings your event generated. I feel I have made many new friends; people who have touched me with their personal stories and who I hope I may have touched with a little bit of humor.
    You are already working on AC ’14. If there is any way I can help just say the word. Only keep any wooden spoons in their drawers, and put a bookcase or plant stand in that empty corner. Pleaseeeeeeeeee

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      But, Michael, you look good in the corner. πŸ˜€ I will gratefully accept all offers of help once we get a bit closer. In the meantime, buckle up and prepare for the Lunar New Year fun as well as Love Spanks next month. Whee!

      Like

  5. Ami says:

    Thanks once again, Ana for all your hard work, and also thanks to all your contributors for their hard work and all the prizes they gave away. As you know, I would be completely shattered if I had worked as hard as you on all this stuff. I think you are a real brick! (And that is a very high British compliment!)

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I read enough British books as a child that I did get the brick reference! Too funny when in the US a brick means more of a solid, heavy piece that doesn’t do much. Dumb as a rock, thick as a brick…:D

      Your St. Knickerless Day prize was such a hoot, Ami. I can’t wait to repeat it next year. πŸ˜€

      Like

  6. sassytwatter says:

    You did such a wonderful amazing job for advent calendar. Thank you. I did enail you last week guessing that’s why I didn’t hear back

    Like

  7. octoberwoman says:

    I’ve been so swamped at work and not feeling well so crashing once I get home, I haven’t been online much and have some catching up to do. But I wanted to add my thanks for all your hard work, and that of your helper elves. I enjoyed checking in every day and looked forward to it.

    I also had emailed you about the book I won and didn’t get a response, but I figured you were probably still pretty busy! I’ve received the other three books I won, and have only finished reading one so far, but I loved it – Aching to Submit by Natasha Knight! Which reminds me, thanks to all the authors and others who donated the prizes!

    Like

  8. Terry says:

    Thank-you again Ana and all your helper elves for the Advent Calendar. It was so fun to read the new topic everyday and everyone’s responses. I have received my 4 books (including yours) from the authors although I haven’t had time to read any of them yet. If this winter weather continues like it started the “hot” stories will help to keep me warm. πŸ™‚

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

