Can you name 54 things that make you happy?

I’ve taken the challenge today to write 54 unique things that make me happy. To make the challenge more interesting, I’ll eliminate the typical responses: No friends, family, work, bubble baths, alcohol, or food.

Can you do it? Join me, if you’d like, and put up a list on your own blog if you have one.

54 things that make Ana happy:

  1. Re-reading a favorite book from childhood. A Little Princess always makes me smile.
  2. Color by number. No, not for children. Mindware has a wonderful series called “Color Counts” full of intricate, absorbing, color by number pages. When you use Sharpies (permanent ink markers), the results are surprisingly beautiful. I’ve even hung a few of the pictures up at home.
  3. The snuggle of a newborn baby.
  4. Setting off for a day trip with a cooler and packed lunch.
  5. A real, honest-to-goodness letter or package arriving by snail mail.
  6. Opening my cupboards or drawers to reveal a neat, easy-to-use arrangement.
  7. Pretty shelf paper.
  8. Finding a photo, letter, or other memento I thought I’d lost (or had forgotten about).
  9. Arriving at a busy place (work, mall, event, etc.) and getting a parking spot near the door.
  10. When the driver on the oncoming side of traffic waves at me to turn (i.e. waits to let me go first).
  11. A smooth-ink pen that writes easily but doesn’t bleed through to the other side of the paper.
  12. Buying a “just because” gift for someone I care about.
  13. Packing for a trip.
  14. Arriving at a meeting/event not too early, not too late, but right on time.
  15. When someone meets me for the first time and spells/pronounces my name correctly.
  16. Meeting other travelers who are taking pictures of each other and offering to take a group photo for them.
  17. Learning something new that used to intimidate me (this week: how to clean my vacuum).
  18. Learning something new, period.
  19. The feeling right after I’ve cleaned house and walk through all the sparkling, tidy rooms.
  20. Knowing information that can help someone else.
  21. Talking with someone who understands what I am trying to say.
  22. Listening to someone who is having a hard time and helping him or her feel better.
  23. Charging all of my electronic devices so they’re ready for when I need them.
  24. Chatting with a friend via Bluetooth while running boring errands.
  25. Finding a great discount for an item I wanted/needed but couldn’t afford.
  26. Sinking into a deep, squishy couch for a nap or a book read.
  27. Introducing two people to each other who get along well.
  28. Getting to use scented body wash for the first time in years (i.e. finding a scented body wash safe for me to use).
  29. Empty, clean wastebaskets.
  30. Hearing from a reader or reviewer who enjoyed one of my books.
  31. Having a band-aid or tissue with me when someone (including me) needs one.
  32. The smell of new books.
  33. Kneading bread dough. (Perhaps I should say “playing” with bread dough.)
  34. Watching someone eat and enjoy a meal or treat I’ve prepared.
  35. Hearing family members say nice (genuine) things about each other.
  36. Baby kittens.
  37. When something I need to buy is on sale.
  38. Using a good-quality, sharp knife for cutting vegetables.
  39. The excitement before company arrives.
  40. The excitement of going on a trip and being greeted at the airport.
  41. Thinking of a funny comeback at the right moment.
  42. Listening to a conversation or announcement in a foreign language and realizing you understand it.
  43. Getting up before dawn and watching the sun rise.
  44. Hearing a memory that you’d forgotten about (from someone who has known you for a long time).
  45. Popping bubble wrap.
  46. Finding a container of dull pencils and sharpening them to nice points.
  47. Making a small child giggle.
  48. Cuddling underneath thick bedding on a cold night.
  49. Waking up five minutes early so you can lie in bed and enjoy the coziness.
  50. Enjoying a great fantasy.
  51. Finding something to be thankful for.
  52. When the weather is nice enough to open all the windows and let in fresh air.
  53. Coming home to Christmas lights on in the dark.
  54. My Christmas tree. No, I won’t take it down yet.
39 thoughts on “Can you name 54 things that make you happy?

  1. Liz says:

    My Christmas tree is still up πŸ™‚
    I have a paint-by-number I work on sometimes.
    I have a list of things I’m thankful for that I add to most days…somewhere around 320 and trying to work up to 1,000.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Ooh, I’ve looked at a lot of paint-by-number kits but am not quite brave enough to try. They are expensive, and I hear that you have to buy new brushes for them.

      320 is pretty great! I bet you’ll get to 1000 in no time.

      Like

  2. Ami says:

    I am going to sit down with Dan and read these as he says he is missing my company. What me? Golly!

    I have scanned it though and am going to copy it and try to think of my own answers. I now know we are uncannily linked is some way Ana because you also like pretty shelf paper and I am called ‘strange and weird’ by my friends who know I love pretty, scented shelf paper.

    Sorting out the vacuum cleaner? Golly!

    Hugs
    Ami

    I am sure this post wasn’t up earlier in the day.

    Like

  3. Kelsey Summer says:

    I love your list. I might take you up on this challenge and post my own. It sounds like a fun one. I tend towards a bit of depression in the winter (very mild – I just don’t do well with shorter days and cold weather), and can always use happy thoughts.

    Like

  4. angel says:

    Not liking number 28 made me shudder…….. I really thought being naughty would have made the top 10 adleast it didn’t even make list hmmmm I am at a lost for words!!!!!

    Like

  5. Roz says:

    This is such a great idea Ana and I love your list! Oh yes, bubble wrap and baby kittens … ahh. This has made me start to think about the little (and not so little) thinks that make me happy. Thank you for sharing this and for making me smile πŸ™‚

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  6. quiet sara says:

    I am going to take some time and try to do this today but I may have to break the no friends, family, or food rule you set. Those are some of the most important parts of my life πŸ™‚ I definitely related to sharpening penicls (SM caught me enjoying this the other day. He thought it was quite funny as I sharpened about 30 pencils in a row) and the smell of books, ahhh…. I love books old or new, and cuddling in a warm cozy bed. I have been doing that a lot lately. πŸ™‚

    love
    sara

    Like

  7. Irishey says:

    Can I hire you to do #13 for me? I dislike packing so much… Now that I consider it, I think I subconsciously avoid going to visit family or sounding remotely interested in taking weekend trips with D because it requires packing. I rarely suggest going away, but not because I don’t like being away. It’s because I hate packing (and not thrilled with the actual traveling to get there). Holy cow. I know I realized this. I’ve often said how much I dislike packing. I just didn’t really want to admit how much it negatively affected my interest or willingness to go places, so I didn’t deliberately connect the two. I think I need to do some rethinking.

    Well, that was not the comment I intended to leave! Lol! This is a really good list, Ana. Most of these make me happy, too. Only a few “mehs” – and then there is #13…shudder. But, seeing this on your happy list may end up helping me (and D) if I can figure out a way to make packing less painfully objectionable. I doubt it will find its way on my happy list any time soon, but I’ll aim for a generally neutral feeling. Who knows? Maybe some day… Meanwhile, baby kittens! Yea! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  8. awesomesub says:

    Hi Ana, what a great list, I love many of these things too. The restrictions are pretty difficult to get around, but I’ll try to come up with 54 as well. It might take a little, though, because my besty is here and takes away pens, books and switches off computers when s h e feels it is time for m e to have a nap. πŸ™‚

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

