Tuesdays with Ana: On being surprised (Announcing Love Spanks VIPs)

This weekend, I was surprised.

Last month, I was surprised.

This year, I’ve been surprised.

Why all the surprise, you ask?

I worried about Love Spanks this year (shh, don’t tell!)…more than I should admit. What would M/F readers think? Would we hear the same old “Ew” or “What do two women do in a bedroom, anyway?” responses to F/F fiction I’ve heard since I got started? Would we put together an event, only to have no one come? I fretted and plotted and worried some more, only to find my worries were for naught.

“I haven’t read F/F before this, but I was missing out!”

“Hot! Hot! Hot! Why did you have to end there?”

“What a great story!”

“Thank you, thank you thank you. This has been a lot of fun. I never had read any F/f because I thought I wouldn’t like it. I’m so glad that I decided to look at the blogs today because I would have missed something truly special. I found quite a few new authors to enjoy. I had a great time.”

As I made the rounds and read responses on the fifteen blogs, I was delighted to see the excitement and appreciation for well-written stories about women. No icky comments objectifying women, but plenty of enjoyment of some sizzling hot reads. Speaking of hot reads, didn’t the authors bring terrific stories? Science fiction, paranormal, contemporary…

In addition to the fifteen authors featured, forty-two authors, readers, reviewers, and sites sponsored the event as ambassadors. Anthony Walsh (The Cover Artisan) gave us some wonderful artwork.

20 readers completed the entire Love Spanks 2014 challenge and now will be able to add “VIP” to future Ana events (with the exception of Ana’s Advent Calendar, due to its length). Please congratulate our newest VIPs!

  • Alyssa Hart
  • Amy Bowens
  • Arleen
  • Blondie
  • Cara
  • Cat
  • JC
  • Katie
  • Kelsey Summer
  • Kitty
  • Lonnie
  • Marybeth
  • Michael
  • Minelle
  • Pao
  • Renee M.
  • Roz
  • Sassy Twatter
  • SH
  • The Long Bean

15 stories in one weekend is quite an accomplishment! In addition, 8 more readers managed to visit nearly every story.

  • Abby
  • Angel
  • bn100
  • Joanne
  • Joelle
  • Laura
  • Sally
  • Tara

Way to go! I’m surprised and proud of our community. Whether you were able to visit all or one, and whether you commented or lurked, the authors of Love Spanks thank you.

Prizes will be announced on Friday morning. Who will win? Stay tuned to find out!

11 thoughts on “Tuesdays with Ana: On being surprised (Announcing Love Spanks VIPs)

  1. robskatie says:

    Hi Ana! It was lots of fun. Thanks for hosting this event. :). Would you please recheck mine- and perhaps others if there is a whole bunch who almost did them all but the last two on the list? Reason is that I read and commented on all of them. The last two seemed to go out for moderation or something weird happened. I think that I mentioned it on the completion sheet. Something weird was going on with the comments. It likely could be others as well. Thanks so much. Many hugs,

    ❤ Katie

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hi Katie, and thanks for playing! Prior to putting up this list, it was checked no fewer than four times. Once by me, once by each individual author, once by an assistant, and one final time by me. In particular, Saranna (the only author’s blog you’re missing) checked all of her spam filters, settings, etc. I also went over to Saranna’s blog now and checked twice more, but there’s no comment: http://sarannadewylde.blogspot.com/2014/02/love-spanks-2014-her-bodyguard.html?zx=9dad6d6132f83ab1

      Saranna does not use comment moderation.

      If you happen to have a screen shot of your comment, or you are able to go back and find it, please email it to me. I’ve also asked Saranna to check one more time.

      Thanks for playing!

      Like

  2. Joelle Casteel says:

    It was fun to see my name on the “almost” list- I felt bad when I had to come back and admit that I had missed commenting on Erzabet’s post somehow 😦 .

    I wanted to say though, on the way home from the caregiver support group (which I finally made it to this morning), I had the thought- it’s Tuesday! There’ll be a Tuesdays with Ana post to read. And I couldn’t help but smile

    Like

  3. Roz says:

    Dear Ana, see … you needn’t have worried 🙂 My sincere thanks to you for bringing us this wonderful event and to all the authors, helpers and prize donors.

    It was so much fun reading all of the fantastic stories and wonderful to be introduced to so many authors.

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  4. angel says:

    Ana You did awesome You gave us all so much We need to figure out one that you can be in and win as you are always doing for us There must be away for us to give back to you As you give so much to us Angel

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

