Happy two years

WordPress kindly informed me that I registered this blog exactly two years ago. It seems like forever ago, but at the same time it seems as if two years went by while I blinked.

A lot has changed in two years. I went from blogging only about personal things, to only blogging about books, and have been transitioning back to write more personal than professional. My network has expanded to include other social media networks as well as blogging, and recently I’ve had to cut back to make room for other obligations.

Monday Morning Fika had a wonderful run, but the set-up was so time intensive that it had to go on hiatus for a while. I miss the weekly morning chats, but it meant too many hours of logistics to arrange each visit. Tuesdays with Ana had become the new way to chat with readers, and I can write a post in about 1/10th of the time it used to take to arrange a Monday Morning Fika.

I now have a cheerful Fika print hanging on my kitchen wall, and I love it. 🙂

I’ve made friends I didn’t expect to make, and two successful years of Ana’s Advent Calendar taught me about community.

From Fika and Advent Calendar, I’ve learned that people will come together for fellowship, and that we can set aside our differences. Maybe only for a short time, but the brevity makes the community all the more precious.

In the past two years, I’ve learned that I do have something to say and that people will listen.

And I am grateful.

Thank you for the past two years.

27 thoughts on “Happy two years

  1. SH says:

    Thank you for the past two years Ana and congratulations! Your blog was one of the first ones I found when I discovered this community almost two years ago. I always love to read your posts and participate in the exciting, fun things you so wonderfully organize! You always have a friendly word for anyone who visits and you make everyone feel so welcome here. You also introduced me to FF stories and broadened my horizons in the process for which I am grateful 🙂 You are a very special person and I am a better person for knowing you!

    Like

  2. Natasha Knight says:

    We first met over Advent Camendar the first year. You invited me to participate when you didn’t know me at all. It meant a lot to me. I was pretty new to any social media and blog land and it just meant a lot. I’m so happy to know you and I look forward to many more years.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Natasha, I still remember our first “real” conversation and how we connected on so many levels. So many times, people are in it just for what they can get out of it, but you wanted the real connection. I’m so glad!

      Like

  3. Roz says:

    Congratulations Ana, wow, two years! I am so glad you are a part of this community. I know I’ve mentioned this before, but you were the first to comment on my blog (also two years ago I think) and I am so glad you did so that I found you.

    Your blog was one of the first I started reading and I always enjoy your posts and wonderful events you organise. You are such a loving, caring person and I truly appreciate the support, friendship and advice (yes, even telling me to go to bed 🙂 you have given me.

    Thank you too for opening my eyes to FF and broadening my horizons.

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  4. abby says:

    Congrats on the two years. You have enriched this community in very unique ways. You have introduced me to the FF genre and opened up lots of new reads for me. For all you do, for who you are….thank you for blogging.
    hugs abby

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Aw, thank you as well! We are lucky to have you, and I love to hear about you and your sweet grandkids. If you quilted (do you?), I could see you as one of my new quilting grannies. Maybe a very naughty one…lol!

      Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I find I do much more reading than commenting, although that’s partly due to people’s settings on blogger. It’s truly aggravating sometimes. Thank you for stopping by, for reading, and for being part of our community. Hugs and thanks to you.

      Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Joey, it’s always good to see you. I’ve thought about you a great deal and hoped your health is better. Hugs and thanks for being here. Too many missing faces in the past few years, so it makes the “originals” all the more precious.

      Like

  5. pao says:

    Two years! So much has changed here. Happy birthday, governingana 😀 I hope you and Ana will have many more happy years to come! I’m glad Ana kept this blog up through thick and thin. It has been amazing to see this place transform to get people together. I’m glad I found your blog, Ana 🙂

    Like

  6. Penelope says:

    Only two years… that really surprises me! In the nicest possible sense, it feels like you’ve been around forever. I guess that happens when you find someone who makes your world a better place. And you really do make my world better, Ana – you make it warmer, and brighter, more fun, more thoughtful, and more beautiful. And I know I’m not alone in feeling that way.

    Thank you for giving us so much; I hope you get just as much in return. Big blog birthday HUGS xoxo

    Like

  7. sassytwatter says:

    Happy 2 years anniversary!! I didn’t reliZe but I have been around from the beginning. I still giggle when how innocently I found you. Fika will always now have a double meaning f

    Like

  8. sassytwatter says:

    Happy 2 years anniversary!! I didn’t reliZe but I have been around from the beginning. I still giggle when how innocently I found you. Fika will always now have a double meaning for me because of you. Ironically at the same time I was lurking about in the ttwd dd community & your blog was the first place I felt brave enough to leave a comment. And still is the only place I do. I have loved watching you grow and change in your writing & blogging style. You have made me laugh, learn & cry. Thank you so much for sharing with us. You make us better because of it.

    Hugs

    Sassy

    Like

  9. angel says:

    congrats We are so glad you blog Oh and
    I don’t know but I been told someone here is getting old I don’t know but I been told someone here is turning red Sound off one two Sound off three four… Happy Happy Birthday to you!!!!!!!!!! ……Happy Birthday week Angel

    Like

  10. catrouble says:

    Late to the party…as usual. 😦 Happy blogiversary! Blog land is so blessed to have you as part of the family…as Sassy said…”you make us so much better!”

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  11. minellesbreath says:

    Like Cat I am soooooooooo LATE HERE! Happy two year blogoversary!
    I remember all your many facets of Ana at Governingana! I am glad you are here for the long hall! You have so much to share with us all!

    Like

  12. Irishey says:

    Happy 2nd Blogiversary from an early lurker on your blog! You truly bring out the sense of community with all you do. Of course you have things to say that people want to hear! What makes it especially nice is that you tell it so well. Thank you.

    (Belated congratulations count even when you have to roll back the calendar and dust them off, right? I marked as unread my email notification about this post, and marked it as a favorite so I didn’t miss getting over here. That doesn’t seem to have been very effective. Oops.)

    Hugs, Ana!

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

