A random day of the week with Ana: Staying focused

As you can probably tell by the lack of posting lately, life has become rather hectic. Thank you for all of your good wishes, congratulations, and other sweet responses. This week is a double birthday celebration–first my blog, and this weekend me. 🙂 Like most parts of my life, “birthday” is not a simple celebration or event. There is a lot of backstory, and a lot of complications. I may not feel like posting much, but I wanted to at least say hello and thank you.

Yesterday I made a lovely beef stew. (Food is easier to talk about than complications.) Only problem was that I’d meant to make a pot roast. I took my kitchen scissors, cut up the roast now floating in broth, and enjoyed a delicious stew. The trick seems to be adding cut-up tomatoes (lots of them) and parnsips. The nutty sweetness combined with the acidic flavor made the dish scrumptious, if I do say so myself. 🙂 Plus, the tomato adds a nice color to contrast with the white and brown of broth and meat.

Today, I’m using up leftovers and experimenting with a cross between potato casserole and scalloped potatoes. I’m not sure how it will taste, but I’ll let you know. I think I may have gotten carried away with dumping in all of my leftovers (sugar snap peas, tomatoes, ranch dressing, and carrots to name a few), but I won’t be too disappointed at wasting ingredients if the potato bake proves inedible. I gave the leftovers a try, and if they disappoint me they won’t be any more wasteful than if I’d thrown them out.

Last Sunday, I gave my second performance with the handbell choir. We’d rehearsed the music for three weeks, only for one of the members to decide against counting the rhythms. At least she didn’t play the wrong bell for the last half of the page, but it was disappointing after all of our hard work. I kept repeating to myself: No one expects amateur church musicians to be good. 🙂

I’m working hard on a new writing project, and I’m looking forward to sharing more when we get closer to the release date. That’s not until June, however, so I’m afraid you’ll have to wait a while. For now, I’m thrilled because I finally found a legitimate reason to write a whole slew of child characters in an adult spanking book…without fearing legal repercussions. Intrigued? So am I.

Amidst everything going on, I’m trying to stay focused on another writing project that’s both difficult and exciting. Exciting because it gives me a chance to stand up for my beliefs; difficult because beliefs are incredibly difficult to put into writing. Here’s hoping that I’ll find some clarity. 🙂

How about you? How have you been faring these past few days?

12 thoughts on “A random day of the week with Ana: Staying focused

  1. Sherilyn says:

    Ana, I’m excited to hear about your writing projects. The food sounds great, too! And, my complicated lady, I want you to consider is the one day a year when you should get celebrated, if only because you’re still here. By now, you should be clear how very much you are loved and appreciated out here! I think all of us want you to have a wonderful birthday, full of love and good wishes. Certainly I do! I hope it begins the best year of your life!

    Like

  2. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…I am sure that your food turned out great. Sheesh woman…how many writing projects do you have going on? You are one busy lady…multiple writing projects, quilting with the grannies, quilting on your own, bell ringing, baking, cooking…and who knows what else! Dang…getting tired just writing all this! Wishing you a lovely birthday weekend and an awesome coming year.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  3. abby says:

    Happy birthday..we come close to sharing one. I hope yours brings you a special day. I have tried beef stew, and can never quite get it to be as tasty as i want it to be. Your writing projects sound very enticing…
    hugs abby

    Like

  4. Roz says:

    Hi Ana, Happy Birthday! I hope you have a wonderful birthday weekend. The food sounds yummy and your writing projects sound very exciting and intriguing! Phew, you are one busy lady!

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  5. ronniesoul says:

    Ana,

    Belated congratulations on your blog Anniversary and a very Happy Birthday. I hope you have a wonderful weekend. The writing projects sounds very intriguing. Look forward to hearing about it.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    Like

  6. Susie says:

    Happy Birthday Ana! You sound busy, but I’m glad you are finding distractions, even if it is just cooking. LOL…what is it about beef stew. It never seems to turn out the same two times in a row.

    Like

  7. Leigh Smith says:

    Happy Birthday.

    It seems many of us are lockedI in the blogger doldrums. I am sure once spring has sprung, our thoughts will defrost.

    Like

  8. SH says:

    Happy Birthday Ana! I hope you have a fantastic weekend because you deserve it 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more about your writing projects. I am curious and excited, always, when you are writing something new 🙂

    Like

  9. terpsichore says:

    happy birthday…may your birthday wish come true…life has been busy here and I am looking forward to spring. Not much else to speak of. 🙂 Hugs to you

    Like

  10. Renee says:

    Happy Birthday Ana! I hope that your next year is the best yet. I saw my first robin yesterday. My mom always told me that meant Spring is coming soon. Spring is always a time of rebirth and the blossoming of new hope. Have a happy day and do something fun.
    Hugs

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

