Happy birthday, Daddy

I posted the following flash fiction as part of Siobhan Muir’s Thursday Threads last week. I hope you enjoy. 🙂

“Daddy!”

I closed the stock market application. Julio would stamp if not allowed to play, but I had seven monthly payments left on the replacement phone. The last, cracked by Julio’s over-enthusiastic pressing of buttons, had gone the way of his potty training chair. In approximately the same condition. Julio handed me a bedraggled maple leaf, pushing my fingers closed. I dropped the smeared mess and took out my handkerchief.

“We’re late,” I said over his protests. “Time to get you home before Shelli arrives.” Our baby-sitter had sworn to rush over. If I didn’t submit my report in exactly thirty-seven minutes, both Shelli and I would lose our jobs.

Julio wriggled out of my grasp. “For you,” he insisted, rescuing his treasure and forcing it into my grasp.

“Get in now!” I yanked him toward the stroller. Instead of obeying, my civil disobedient son fished the crumpled leaf from the ground and held it out to me. Before I could launch into a tirade against dawdling, Julio lifted his chin.

“Trust me,” he said, echoing the phrase I had taught him since birth. Trust me, there’s no monster under your bed. Trust me, Shelli will read you bedtime stories just like Daddy.

I glanced at my Rolex. Thirty-four minutes before my deadline, I opened my hand. Julio gave the multi-colored, tattered leaf as if crowning me king.

“Happy birthday, Daddy,” he said, and at last I understood. I sat him on my shoulders, hugging his legs to my chest.

 

8 thoughts on “Happy birthday, Daddy

  1. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…not sure why but this little flash brought the tears here. Thanks for a lovely story.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  2. Irishey says:

    Poignantly excellent commentary on the disparate worlds of parents and their children, and how each perceives what is important. 🙂

    Hugs!

    Like

  3. chickie says:

    Aww that was sweet Ana. I’m sitting here on the bed taking a break from sorting treasures like that from my little ones. My purse was full lol. It’s all trash yet it was meaningful to them at the time.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

