Pizza Potato Casserole

Since some people wanted my recipe for last week’s pizza potato casserole, here it is. Though I don’t cook with measurements (unless it’s baking where the amount of flour, baking soda, etc. actually matters), so it’s all estimated. Plus, I wasn’t entirely happy with the results. I’m not normally a fan of canned soups (unless I don’t feel like cooking), and I’m not sure what else I could use to smooth out the acid of the tomato sauce. More herbs, maybe?

Has anyone else made a similar dish before? How did you make it?

Pizza Potato Casserole:

Brown beef (I used ground sirloin–Ami and other UKers, you call it mincemeat–but you can use whatever you like, or even meat substitute) in a skillet, along with minced onion, green onion, garlic, salt, pepper, and chili/cayenne pepper. (A dash of your favorite hot sauce would work, too.) I used about 3/4 of a pound of meat, but I’m stingy with meat. You can do a pound, more or less.

Once the meat is browned, dump in tomato sauce (I used two small cans, I think around 10 ounces each), your favorite nacho cheese sauce (I used fiesta nacho cheese canned soup), chopped tomatoes, oregano, basil, and other Italian-type seasonings. Simmer, covered, for about ten minutes. (Or simmer while washing your prep dishes and until you remember to check the meat-sauce mixture. Hey, I’m telling you how I did it. πŸ˜€ I might as well be honest.) You may want to add a bit of brown sugar to soften the acidic taste of the tomato sauce. I didn’t try it this time, but it might help. I added some hot sauce here because I like a bit of kick to my food. πŸ™‚ I used Louisiana Hot Sauce because it’s mild and doesn’t overpower other flavors.

Peel and cut potatoes into thin slices. Lay them on the bottom of a 9×13 pan. (I did not peel my potatoes because they were red ones that are yummy with their skins on, but the flavor was a distraction from the pizza stuff. If I were to do it again, I’d use white or gold potatoes with peelings removed.) I’m not sure how many potatoes I used, but use enough to make a fairly thick layer (think of this as your pizza crust).

Spread the meat-sauce mixture evenly on top of the potatoes. Sprinkle shredded cheese on top. Add pepperoni slices and/or whatever vegetables you like–green peppers or mushrooms, perhaps. Cover pan and bake at 350 degrees for 30-60 minutes. Remove the cover for the last 10 minutes and switch the oven to broil.

Enjoy!

If you have suggestions for improvement, please add them in the comments. This was my first time making this dish in many years, and I’m afraid I’ve gotten a bit rusty. I’d make it again to try the improvements, but in all honesty I’m thoroughly sick of the dish after eating leftovers for four days. πŸ˜€ I made two loaves of bread last night (onion and sesame), and I also made some 15-bean soup. I recently discovered the 15-bean soup packages, and they are ridiculously yummy and cheap. Who ever would have thought to add lemon juice to a bean soup? Not me. πŸ˜€

Tentative menu for this week: salsa chicken with rice, mahi-mahi poached in coconut milk with ginger and asparagus, and beef stew. What will you be eating this week?

16 thoughts on “Pizza Potato Casserole

  1. Casey McKay says:

    Hmm, I am not sure I would like the nacho cheese/sauce combo? Was that part okay? I feel like it would be better to add a little ricotta cheese to the sauce or something.
    I bet this is probably also really good with some browned up ground sausage.
    We were on a quesadilla kick for a while and one day ran out of cheddar so we used mozzarella, a little bit of tomato sauce and cut up peppers and onions. Pizza Quesadillas! Quick and easy and delicious.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      The cheese/sauce combination is to cut some of the tomato acidity. If you don’t like cheese, I bet ricotta would work fine. It would give the dish more of a lasagna-type flavor. πŸ™‚ Alternatively, maybe you could add more brown sugar and omit the cheese altogether. I’m not sure how it would taste, but let me know how it turns out if you give it a try.

      Oh yes, I bet sausage would be yummy, too. I got a new baking stone for my birthday, some I’m going to give homemade pizza a try. Quesadillas with tortillas are yummy, too.

      Like

  2. abby says:

    Hmm…can i come over for the mahi mahi…sounds extra yummy! I am having a taco night, homemade broccolli cheese soup, BBQ (if weather allows) chicken….spaghetti and meatballs….
    all super easy!
    hugs abby

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I’m nervous about the mahi-mahi! So yes, you can come over but you might not like it. *I* might not like it. πŸ˜€

      Mmm, broccoli cheese soup. I should buy broccoli sometime and make some soup, too. I bet it’s a cinch to make in a crock pot.

      Oh, I should make spaghetti garlic bread again.

      Like

  3. Katie says:

    This casserole sounded interesting Ana! I was wondering if you drained the meat before adding the sauce. That could make a bit of a difference. I wonder also if you might skip the cheese sauce and add instead some shredded cheddar, or other instead- it would lighten things up a bit and perhaps that might hit the spot for you?

    YUM on the stuff for this week! I’ve never had mahi mahi but it sounds great. πŸ™‚ We have salsa chicken all the time. Rob made it recently. We use boneless chicken thighs. We rub them with chili seasoning that comes in a packet, and cook them in a pan with a little cooking spray so they don’t stick at 350 for 20 mins. Then we drain all the liquid out and cover with a jar of medium salsa. Cook another 10 mins. Then we sprinkle with just a little shredded cheddar (or whatever you like) and pop it back in until it melts. We make rice in the rice cooker and serve this over rice. YUM!!! Very light and low in fat and calories. The sauce is SO good! Nice and spicy! How do you do yours?

    We had Peanut butter chicken last night over rice. Rob made a huge batch of kimchi last week and it is fermenting on the counter. Hopefully kimchi jjigae by weeks end. I’m thinking some spaghetti and meatballs and sausage mid week. πŸ™‚ Enjoy! Many hugs,

    ❀ Katie

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I didn’t drain the meat because it makes a nice gravy. Cheddar might be worth a try–I actually have some I have to start using up.

      Mahi-mahi is a very bland fish and easy to work with. I enjoy eating it, but I’m always nervous about cooking fish. I’m okay working with beef and chicken, and I can do pork in a pinch, but fish is too delicate for simple cooking.

      Salsa chicken will have to be a post for another week. πŸ™‚ Peanut butter chicken is new to me. How do you make it?

      Like

  4. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…sounds yummy to me but I think using a Mozzarella/Parmesan cheese mix would make it more pizza style for me. If you have leftover bread, you could substitute bread slices for the potatoes. Your recipe is one of my favorite kinds…mix and match and match and mix. πŸ˜€

    Thanks for sharing…

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Yes, I think cooking matches our moods. All this recipe talk has made me itchy to try the spaghetti garlic bread again. The beef gravy version was yummy, but it didn’t hold together as well as the spaghetti version. I’ll have to make good enough friends with quilting grannies to invite some over for dinner soon. Or maybe lunch time since some of them can’t drive after dark. πŸ˜€

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

