Quilting grannies and jello shots

Yup, you read that right.

This afternoon, I took my computer and strawberry cream cheese brownies to church. Ostensibly to help cook dinner. Yeah, right! Super efficient quilting grannies had everything ready by the time I got there (two full hours before serving time). I barely got the chance to transfer cookies and bars to serving trays. I did get to find serving utensils for my own brownies, but that was it. Instead, I took out my computer and worked on a writing project while participating in various conversations as people came in and out of the kitchen.

Yeah, kitchen conversations. πŸ™‚ That’s where the fun is at. The atmosphere reminded me of holiday gatherings where all the real conversations happen in the kitchen.

Well, super-efficient grannies worked themselves out of jobs, too. One started going through the pantry to find napkins, throw out expired food, and organize the leftover supplies. She took out a stack of tiny plastic cups and asked, “What are these for?”

Another granny, the one in charge of the cooking, answered without hesitation. “We could use them for jello shots.”

I was in the middle of a serious, earnest conversation with a third granny about children’s messages and educational activities. After hearing that comment, though, I broke off to ask in disbelief. “Jello shots?”

At the raucous laughter that followed, I explained, “I thought there was no way you could mean jello shots! I thought you meant, I don’t know, cello clocks. Because that would make sense.”

The joke followed both of us around for the rest of the night. When she got ready to serve the dinner, I asked her whether I could get a jello shot. Another said I should bring jello shots to our weekly game. During church there was some laughter before the service had quite finished, and of course it was from She of the Jello Shots. I asked her afterward, “Is that kind of noise what happens when you do jello shots before church?”

Another quilting granny gave me a piece of paper with her contact information and an invitation to visit her house tomorrow night (sadly, I can’t go because of an impending deadline). She of the Jello Shots overheard and saw the paper. She told me, “That’s probably the recipe for jello shots.”

I’m pretty sure it’s not quite legal to laugh this much during Lent. πŸ˜€ Which only makes it all the funnier.

Spanking grannies, jello shot grannies, quilting grannies. Whoever thinks old age sounds boring has never spent time with a group of grannies. I look at them and hope I’ll have as much verve and enthusiasm for life when I am their age. I find myself rather envious and wishing I could live the retired life. Apparently, my soul mates are in their 70s, 80s, and 90s. Except for the young’uns who are only in their 50s and 60s. πŸ˜€

Giggle.

I’m trying to figure out what kind of cups would be strong enough to hold boiling Jello until it cools. I’ve got to figure out a way to bring She of the Jello Shots her very own Jello shots. πŸ˜€

And here I thought *I* would be the naughty one, corrupting sweet church ladies…

30 thoughts on “Quilting grannies and jello shots

  1. pao says:

    Hmm, this reminds me of a song πŸ™‚ And aww, Ana’s got an inside joke with the quilting grannies! This is so sweet.

    Do you have shot glasses? πŸ™‚ I think you can use some plastic variation of the shot glasses as well as long as they’re thick and sturdy enough. Also, are you going to put alcohol in it? πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. sassytwatter says:

    Loved the post! Kitchens are where the action is! The head to any get together. Food fills the belly and warms the heart.

    Like

  3. Irishey says:

    Ana, Ana, Ana. Smh. I think there is far more feistiness in these grannies than you realize. Rotflol! I’m glad you’re having fun with them, and think you’ll learn more than you thought! Ha!

    I’ve made lots of Jello, and Jello treats for the kids which are made along the same lines as Jello shots. I’ve never actually made alcoholic Jello shots, but I read lots of alcoholic Jello shot recipes to get ideas for fun “shot” treats for the kids.

    Plastic shot glasses will work well for your grannies. You won’t be pouring boiling Jello into the plastic glasses. Only half your liquid is boiled, then the Jello powder is dissolved into that. Usually, only water is used for the liquid you boil. After the Jello is dissolved, removed from heat and add your chilled liquid to the hot Jello liquid (or use ice if you want to chill a bit quicker – this is when you can add chilled fruit juice for some of the liquid, or when to add chilled alcohol). Then pour into plastic shot glasses. The liquid is only warm or lukewarm at this point.

    There are lots of fun things you can do to spice things up and make pretty shots. You can layer Jello colors and flavors, add drink mixes such as margarita mix, add food coloring, drop in a piece of fruit such as a cherry or strawberry to each glass, add toppings and decorations after the Jello is set, etc. You also can make shots in bowls made from citrus or other fruit rinds or peels, then slice into servings after the Jello has set in the rind bowl.

    Just a few ideas to get your creative juices flowing. I’m sure you’ve already thought of several wonderful ways to honor your shot grannies with a new treat! I miss having little ones who are delighted by my misshapen but colorful and tasty treats. It’s been years, but maybe they wouldn’t mind a trip down memory lane. After all, just yesterday they were reminiscing about me making Mickey Mouse and other shapes out of pancake batter, and decorating with icing and sprinkles. Lol!

    You really should behave yourself at church. Just sayin’.

    Hugs!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I think you’re judging the grannies by yourself, Miss Feisty. πŸ˜€

      I was actually disappointed at out last potluck that no one brought a single jello salad. What kind of church is this where no one brings jello salad? Now I’ve found the answer. Jello shots, not jello salad. Ha!

      Of course I’m not going to behave myself. You behave first, and then I’ll follow your good example.

      And of course you are right. I haven’t made jello in so long that I forgot about cooling before pouring. I did see some pretty ideas yesterday on Pinterest. I doubt I’ll have the patience for it, though. πŸ˜€

      Mickey Mouse pancakes? I can’t even cook regular pancakes! People think it’s odd, but it’s true. I can bake complicated cookies, but pancakes…forget it. Though I like to think the problem is that I learned on an electric skillet. I can’t do it in stovetop pans. Anyway, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. πŸ˜€ Gosh, I miss that electric skillet. I haven’t though about it in ages, and now all of a sudden I want one.

      Decorating cookies and cupcakes is always fun. Quilting granny asked me to make treats the weekend after next. I’d love to make decorated cupcakes or cookies, but I don’t have a pastry bag. I wonder if I could make do with cutting the tip off a ziploc bag, or if that would drive me crazy. Crazier than I am, I mean. πŸ˜€

      Behave yourself!

      Like

  4. abby says:

    Oh Ana…i so love reading about your adventures with the grannies, i only wish i lived closer! I am thinking Quilting Grannies is a great title for a new book! And…over the holidays my kids introduced me to pudding shots…kahlua, amaretto , and few other flavors…Oh…sooooo good!
    hugs abby

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Abby, if you were here you’d be the naughtiest quilting granny of them all. We’d have to put up warning signs whenever you arrived. πŸ˜€ And yes, I’d love to put Quilting Grannies into a book, only it would have to be a vanilla one so I could share with them.

      Pudding shots? LOL! Naughty naughty granny. πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. Ami says:

    Well I was going to explain all about Jello Shots and Irishey beat me to it. Good to know I am not the only one who loves playing around with Jelly (as we call it this side of the pond). At Christmas time I make a beautiful Champagne Jelly in graceful, and thin, champagne glasses. The glass never cracks due to cooling the liquid first either with very cold liquid or ice cubes. So you don’t have to use plastic shot glasses unless you want to. But then, they would be good around a swimming pool or on the beach…. Love your grannies, but may have to come over with my wooden spoon as I fit into one of those younger granny age groups and this last week due to stress and feeling depressed I did lots of quilting squares – you should try it amongst this new and busy life you have found – it is very very therapeutic and will cause us to worry less about you knowing you are sitting surrounded by grannies and busy with a needle. (How on earth can you concentrate of writing on a computer whilst in a kitchen chatting? You are a cleverer woman than me Gunga Din!) Love the sound of your church activities though – I help with church lunches once a month and they are great fun too. I also agree with Abby – please please write a story about Quilting Grannies or I will! Or we both could? I am working on an American Civil War quilt right now. Amaretto – yes yes yes, love it!

    Bye for now and hugs too
    Ami

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Of course Ami would explain about alcohol! ROFL! Poor Kat never got over how you got her drunk and spanked. Tsk! And from such a wonderful hostess, too.

      Champagne and jello? :S Champagne is very expensive, and to mix it with…jello?? Um..I’ll just take the champagne, thanks. πŸ˜€ Though considering that I’m such a lightweight, maybe a bit of champagne in a glass of jello is about my speed, anyway.

      Quilting squares, meaning cutting them out and piecing them together? My problem is that I don’t have a sewing machine (and won’t buy one), and I don’t have any fabric. It costs so much to buy new fabric that I hate to learn by wasting good material. I am working on a teeny-tiny doll quilt as a practice piece. It’s fun, but my stitches are wobbly and the back looks horrendous.

      I’d love to see your quilt in progress! Ha, we should have a discussion sometime about quilting. The poor grannies at church do their best, but they take so much for granted that I tend to just nod and smile and take fabric to the ironing board. That I can do without worrying about screwing up beautiful fabric. πŸ™‚

      And me with a sharp object will cause you to worry *less*? Ami, do you not know me?

      Giggle.

      Hugs and glad to see you’re feeling up to making the rounds today. Stay out of trouble, Missy Worrywart.

      Like

      • Ami says:

        You don’t put the champagne with the jello and of course you don’t use expensive champagne, any old Cava will do as you add sugar and gelatine to make it set.

        Quilting should ideally be done from old dress, skirt, blouse fabrics instead of throwing them away or donating them to charity shops. That’s what they did in the old days, and they didn’t use sewing machines then either. Have to admit I do, but they didn’t. It is a brand new hobby of mine and I need 50 blocks for a kindsize quilt. I am only on number 14. My seams don’t meet up too good either, but I am not discouraged because we all have to start somewhere when we are learning something new, and apart from the constant unpicking because I don’t read the instructions properly, I am enjoying it very much. Wish I was with your old grannies because I am certain I would learn so much quicker. I’ll send you a piccy or two of my blocks. The colours are totally random. It is am American Civil War quilt. See if any of them have done it as it’s quite famous.

        Me stay out of trouble? Moi? Ha!

        Many hugs
        Ami

        Like

  6. Leah says:

    My mom and her friends are so much more hip than people my age.

    Reminds me of college where my “drink” of choice was the fuzzy navel jello shot. Made quite a mess on the carpet.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Age doesn’t have much to do with coolness, does it?

      I was such a goody-two-shoes. I think I had one sip of wine at New Year’s and that was the extent of my college drinking. How much I missed! πŸ˜€

      Like

  7. Katie says:

    LOL This is cute Ana! Glad that you are having so much fun with the Quilting Jello Shot Grannies!! πŸ˜€ I had forgotten about all of those creative jello things that Irishey and Ami talked about. I spent many a day making jello jigglers (think children- not alcohol) for my kids to take to school- or just enjoy at home for fun. I love Ami’s idea with the champagne! I look forward to hearing more about your projects ahead. Many hugs,

    ❀ Katie

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Will never live this down, I think, but I take comfort knowing that She of the Jello Shots won’t, either. πŸ™‚

      Hm, we were trying to think of diabetic-friendly desserts for future potlucks. I wonder if jigglers might be a good idea, or if the grannies would think of them as children’s food.

      Still, even cheap champagne is expensive. Nuts to do it with alcohol! But we all know Ami is a bit nutty. πŸ™‚

      Like

  8. minellesbreath says:

    Okay I must admit I have had many a jello shot, however I prefer straight alcohol shots! LOL
    I am getting too old for the sugary shots, it makes for a nasty next day!
    You need to write a story about the quilting grannies! Hmmm Abby, we need to give her some ideas! I am not a granny yet but I think we could share some stories!
    Honestly it sounds like you are having a blast with the ladies!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Yes, we all know about you and your alcohol! And the words that come out of your mouth after you’ve had a bit too much.

      Why on earth would sugar make for a worse hangover?

      You will be the kind of granny who gets your grandchildren into trouble. We’ll have to send Mrs. Claus over to whip y’all into shape.

      Like

  9. catrouble says:

    Well Irishey and Ami beat me to the explanations for jello shots. Yes, you could make a pastry bag out of a ziplock bag but the issue will be if you are trying a design, you won’t have a tip. If you have an almost empty mustard bottle or any other type of container that has a tip, you can wash it out, put it in the cut off corner of a plastic bag, add your frosting and away you go!

    How is it you can’t make pancakes? What happens when you try?

    You are having so much fun with the quilting grannies…they sound like a trip and a half! Would love to have a story about Mira or Kat meeting the grannies! πŸ˜€

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Pancakes, pfft. I can’t be bothered to try anymore. πŸ™‚ French toast is better, anyway. Hehe.

      I have a feeling Kat will meet a quilting granny. I’m not sure Mira could handle it. Hana would probably turn it into a naughty game. Yet another one.

      I may give the icing a try, but I might do something simple like angel food cupcakes. Finger food that’s not quite so sugary. πŸ˜€

      Like

      • SassyTwatter says:

        No way Jose! Swedish pancakes thin packages of heaven for your tummy. But yes American pancakes blah I’d agree ft better. And again thanks for making me hungry. Not nice going to try and wake the sleeping giant next to me and see if I can convince him we should go to IHOP. And for the love of god camera!,

        Like

  10. Roz says:

    HI Ana, this made me smile. Sounds like a lot of fun and yes, the kitchen is where it’s at. I’m glad you are having such a wonderful time with the grannies. Bet you are learning lots from them too πŸ™‚

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

  11. nancygoldberglevine says:

    Great post, Ana–this story should be in one of your books. Yesterday my boss made Milky Way cake for our last day at work before layoff. (sigh, but it should be a short layoff–I hope) Lots of sugar in the cake, I’m sure, but it wasn’t too sweet–which was a good thing.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

