Wanted: Potato salad recipes

Can you help, dear friends? Potatoes were on sale this week, so I have…well, let’s just say I have a few more potatoes than I can eat before they go bad. I thought I’d make scalloped potatoes, potato salad, maybe another potato casserole…

The problem is that I suck at making potato salad. 😦

We have a lot of good cooks here in blogland, so does anyone have a favorite potato salad recipe to share? I can use petite red potatoes (skin-on potato salad) or white potatoes (skin-off potato salad).

I’ve used various recipes before but been unhappy with the results. It comes out too bland, not the nice, sharp tang of a good potato salad.

I’ve been looking through recipes online but haven’t found a promising one yet. I like celery, mustard, hard boiled eggs, and mayo in my salad, but am not sure about other ingredients.

Do you have a favorite recipe handed down from your mom, aunt, or grandma? Please share in the comments below.

Thank you!

45 thoughts on “Wanted: Potato salad recipes

  1. P.T. Wyant says:

    My family’s recipes tend to be kind of off the cuff, but…

    Peel and boil potatoes until done. (Don’t forget to add salt to the water.)
    Cut into bite sized cubes/chunks/pieces/whatevers
    Add small bits of celery and/or onion if desired.

    Dressing:
    Mayo or Miracle Whip
    Mustard
    A little bit of milk if needed for consistency.

    Mix and mingle dressing ingredients until you get something of the consistency and tang/taste that you want. Add some pepper if desired.

    (This dressing can also be used for macaroni salad, broccoli and cheese salad, and coleslaw.)

    Like

  2. ronniesoul says:

    Ana hello,

    Here’e one I like.

    2 lb (900 g) new potatoes (as small as possible), skins on, washed
    2 sprigs fresh mint
    salt

    For the lemon and chive vinaigrette dressing:
    4 tablespoons lemon juice
    grated zest 1 lemon
    1 clove garlic
    1 level teaspoon rock salt
    1 heaped teaspoon grain mustard
    4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
    freshly milled black pepper

    For the garnish:
    2 level tablespoons snipped fresh chives
    6 spring onions, trimmed and chopped small

    First of all place the potatoes in a saucepan with enough boiling water just to cover them, add the mint and some salt, and simmer them for about 15-20 minutes.

    Make the vinaigrette. Using a pestle and mortar, crush the garlic and rock salt together to a paste, then gradually whisk in all the other dressing ingredients.

    When the potatoes are cooked, drain them in a colander and transfer them to a serving bowl. Pour on the vinaigrette dressing while they are still hot, toss them around in the dressing to get a good coating, then finally throw in the chopped chives and spring onions and serve.

    Can be served cold as well.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Ooh, thank you, Ronnie! I wouldn’t have thought to add mint, green onions, or grain mustard. I’ve never used the second one (usually get the kind in squeeze bottles), but another friend of mine swears by ground mustard.

      Mm!

      Like

  3. hollawrites says:

    I’m no cook, Ana, but here’s how I make quick potato salad and believe it or not, everyone loves it!
    Red potatoes – cooked, of course
    Bacon – cooked and crumbled
    Jar of Zesty Italian Salad Dressing

    Cut up the potatoes, pour in the salad dressing to desired taste and consistency, sprinkle crumbled bacon on top.

    That’s it. My mother would shake her head in shame, but it works and it does taste good.
    I won’t feel bad if you decide to pass on this recipe. LOL!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Bacon? Mm, that sounds yummy! And you know, sometimes the easiest recipes are the tastiest. I made a super-easy chicken and potatoes recipe the other day that turned out great. I think it’s even good for Sunny Girl…lol…I don’t think it had more than 5 ingredients or steps.

      Like

  4. Nina says:

    Hi, our recipe for potato salad is basically like P.T.’s.

    Instead of celery we use pickled gherkin cut to small pieces.

    Usually I add a few spoons of gherkin water to it, instead of milk, to make it more spicy though too much would ruin.

    Like

  5. double d says:

    add thin coating of a good emulsified Italian dressing when potatoes are still cooling. when cool add diced onion and celery, hard boiled eggs, mayo (not too much) sweet relish dry mustard salt and pepper. I like diced good black olives and fresh tomato maybe a splash of red wine vinager.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hi double d! How fun to see all the cooks coming out of the woodwork. πŸ˜€ Hm, I’m not sure what emulsified means when it comes to Italian dressing. Is that different from regular dressing?

      Ooh, I just bought fresh tomatoes, and I have red wine from last June that may have turned into red wine vinegar. πŸ˜€

      Thank you so much!

      Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Really, you think pasta takes less time than potato salad? Seems to me it would take the same amount of time. You still have to cook the pasta. Though you don’t have to cut it up (like potatoes), so maybe that’s the difference.

      Hugs back!

      Like

  6. Ria says:

    It is not a complete recipe, but using the ingredients you listed, if you add a little honey, it melds the ingredients together very nicely.

    Like

  7. DelFonte says:

    Feeling very hungry after reading allt his comments. When I lived in Germany, I fell in love with potato salad. Wish I’d asked for the recipe.
    I’m stealing Ronnie’s – mmmmm.

    Like

  8. Leah says:

    I LOVE a good potato salad. I have some small potatoes and pulled pork in the crock, so i’ll be doing this as well. This is my favorite:

    Boiled potatoes
    Chopped onion
    Hard boiled eggs
    Chopped pickles (bread and butter vs. sweet is quite the controversy)
    Sweet and spicy mustard
    Good mayonnaise (not sure what makes mayo “good”) I think you should be spanked for using Miracle Whip
    Salt and Pepper

    Boil potatoes with skins. When done, slip off skins (though I leave some on). Cut into pieces, chop eggs and pickles and add to bowl. Mix mayo, mustard, s&p then mix with potatoes. I go easy on the mayo. My husband likes a ton.

    Note that this doesn’t make a very good leftover so eat up.

    Do you have a good potato soup recipe? Good Ina Gartner’s recipe if not. We also make yummy hash browns to use up potatoes.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      lol…hey! I was raised on Miracle Whip. πŸ˜€ Regular mayo tastes too heavy to me.

      How small do you cut the pickles? And there is a difference between bread and butter vs. sweet? Gosh, I never knew that.

      Really, you don’t like leftover potato salad? I think it improves after a day of marinating.

      I do have a very good potato soup recipe, but I haven’t made it in years. I will have to find it. πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Leah says:

        I can’t even smell Miracle Whip. I normally love leftover potato salad but this one gets mushy so we make just enough for one sitting.

        The recipes all look delicious!

        Are you a sweet potato eater? I’ve learned to bake a sweet potato then put chili or pulled pork on it. Makes the meal much healthier and the chili stretches a lot longer.

        Like

  9. Sunny girl says:

    Don’t start laughing too much. This is seven ingredients if you could the salt & pepper. Have no idea of amounts because I never measure

    Small red potatoes (cooked and cut into small pieces)
    Celery seed
    mayonnaise
    malt vinegar
    S & P to taste
    chopped dried onion.
    hard boiled eggs. (smashed)

    Cook potatoes and cool. peel or not (your choice). Cut into small chunks, sprinkle with malt vinegar. Let set about 20 minutes. Add remaining ingredients. Sit back and enjoy the salad and the rave reviews πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Giggle. I thought I mis-read when I saw your name. πŸ˜€

      I haven’t used celery seed before. I’m guessing it’s a kind of seasoning? Malt vinegar is new to me, too.

      Do you dry your own onion or buy it?

      Yum.

      Like

  10. reneeroseauthor says:

    Have you ever had the Spanish potato pancake Tortilla Espanola?

    You chop 3 red potatoes and one onion and fry them in a little oil with salt and pepper. Beat 8 eggs and add 1/2 tsp thyme and pour over the top (once the potatoes have cooked). Cook about five minutes, put a plate over the top to flip it, and cook the other side for a few minutes or if you’re using a cast iron, pop the skillet in the oven to broil the top. You can add anything to it– spinach, mushrooms, peppers, bacon, ham, etc.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      This is new to me. πŸ™‚

      I don’t have thyme at the moment…have only recently started cooking again, so I don’t have all the spices. How much of a difference does it make if I leave the thyme out or substitute it for something else?

      Yum. It sounds like a nice breakfast dish.

      Like

      • Anastasia Vitsky says:

        I used to buy big bags of potatoes (way back) because they’re really cheap. I got so sick of potatoes that I didn’t eat them for a long time. Now I’m getting back into cooking, and potatoes help a lot to stretch more expensive things like meat and fruit. πŸ™‚

        I do sometimes buy at the grocery store, but it’s awfully expensive.

        Like

        • nancygoldberglevine says:

          I love all the different things you can make with potatoes, and I love the different varieties. Yukon Gold is my favorite, but sometimes they cost more. I’m trying to get back into cooking (I love it usually), but my crazy life lately made me not feel like it for awhile. Plus my oven isn’t working and definitely can’t afford a new one unless I win the lottery.

          Like

  11. quiet sara says:

    I don’t have a recipe for you just a suggestion/notation. Mixing the potato salad when warm verses cold completely changes it. Do it while warm if you like the potatoes to mash a little here and there and create a thick coating from the mayo. Mix after the potatoes are completely cold if you want each potato to stand on it’s own. Be sure not to overcook the potatoes either. You want tender but not fall apart mushy. Hope these tips help. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hm, that’s a good point. I usually wait until the potatoes are cool, but it might be worth a try to mix when they are still warm. I probably overcook, too, because crunchy potatoes are awful. Thank you for the tips. πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. Marybeth says:

    Mine is like P.T. and Nina. I cup up red potatoes into small pieces and then boil in salted water. Cook until soft. Drain and then add ingredients while hot. (They absorb the flavors better) I add chopped hard boiled eggs, chopped green onions (including the green part) chopped sweet pickles (bread and butter is just a kind of sweet pickles. Gherkins are good as well), mustard (just the yellow kind), mayo (I use Hellman’s, but it’s good with miracle whip too), salt, pepper and pickle juice until it’s the right consistency. Then refrigerate. When you serve it you may need to add more liquid. I don’t really have amounts because my mom doesn’t cook that way and that’s how I learned. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Yes, I think the best cooking goes by taste rather than recipe. Problem is that it never tastes exactly the same twice. πŸ™‚

      Hm, maybe I should wait to make my potato salad until I can get green onions, etc. I wonder how much of a difference it makes to use that plus celery seed and dill weed. I guess I have enough potatoes to try multiple times. πŸ˜›

      Like

  13. Zoe says:

    Hi Anna. Mine is like many others… Boiled potatoes, hard boiled eggs, celery, green onions. But I add radishes chopped pretty fine and I swear that it makes a huge difference. Then the dressing is 2 parts mayo and 1 part sour cream. I use onion salt and maybe some onion powder if it is salty enough which gives a nice flavor too. Pepper if you like it.

    That’s it. So good. By far my favorite potato salad. Enjoy!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Radishes, really? That’s new to me. But I’ve learned that parsnips do make beef stew much better, so maybe I’ll give it a try. I’m not a huge fan of radish (too bitter), usually, though. Maybe I’ll do just a little bit. πŸ™‚ Onion salt is a good idea, too. Potatoes need salt.

      Thank you!

      Like

  14. Irishey says:

    Ana, there are so many potato salad recipes, but going with your preference for using mayo or Miracle Whip, and wanting it to have a sharp tang, I would suggest mixing in with your mayo some ground dry mustard, sour cream or plain yogurt, slightly crushed dill weed and crushed celery seed.

    If you want even more tang, add dill pickle relish or mustard relish.

    I don’t like regular prepared yellow mustard in potato salad, but my family likes the mustard tang, so I use a little Grey Poupon, spicy German mustard, spicy brown mustard or hot Chinese mustard instead. Each has a different flavor and nice bite. Start sparingly, and taste the mayo mix as you go before adding to the potatoes.

    Sweet pickles (or sweet pickle relish) or bread and butter pickles (also a sweeter pickle recipe), will give a tang, but it will be a sweet tang.

    I like chopped or minced Vidalia onion or green onion/scallions in the potato salad. Bacon and chives are good for an occasional flavor change, as is…omigosh, everything. Lol!

    I used to make a southwest potato salad. I seasoned mayo and sour cream with taco seasoning and a little hot sauce. I added fried sweet corn, black beans, black olives, avocado chunks, green onion, cilantro and chopped Serrano peppers. Serve with shredded cheese topping.

    Other ideas for your extra potatoes: Have you ever made twice baked potatoes? You can make these in bulk, wrap and freeze. They are great as a side dish or as a meal, especially if you mixed chopped ham or bacon in the filling, or serve with chili, soup or stew. Cottage pie (shepherd’s pie) freezes well, too, and is a one-dish meal.

    Enough. Lol! Enjoy your spuds!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Well, dang. I don’t have a single ingredient you recommend. πŸ˜€ I guess that could be why my potato salad never comes out well! I do have some Grey Poupon (it was on sale a while ago…lol), yellow onions, but not the others. Your southwest salad sounds yummy!

      Baked potatoes are terrific, but it’s such a pain to scoop out the baked potato part. Maybe you get better with practice? πŸ˜€

      I’ve never made cottage/shepherd’s pie, but I’d like to try sometime.

      Like

  15. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…You’ve got a lot of different recipes here. Wouldn’t suggest using the white potatoes for potato salad…don’t boil as well.

    I use either red or yukon gold potatoes along with my homemade pickle relish, yellow mustard, mayonnaise (actual miracle whip), chopped hard boiled eggs, chopped celery, chopped green onions or red onions, salt and pepper. If I am out of my pickle relish and have to use store bought, then I also add celery seed (yes it is a spice LOL).

    You could also make creamed potatoes or shred some for hash browns or potato pancakes or baked potato casserole…just to name a few. Can ya tell I like my potatoes? *snicker*

    Oh and storing your potatoes in the refrigerator helps keep them fresh until you can get them used up. πŸ˜‰

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I’ve learned to boil potatoes with the skins still on. Learned that one the hard way. πŸ™‚

      I’d like to make homemade hash browns, but I don’t have a grater or a potato ricer. I wonder how well I’d be able to cut the potatoes by hand?

      I’ve found a recipe for twice baked potato casserole that looks yummy. I wasn’t really a potato fan, but anything tastes better when you’ve lived on cheap take-out for a while. Hehe.

      Like

  16. Liz says:

    Vinegar…you should add vinegar when making the dressing (usually just white vinegar). I use mayo, various spices, maybe some celery seed, some mustard. Along with the white peeled potatoes, celery, onion, green pepper, and sometimes hb egg.

    Like

  17. thelongbean says:

    A very simple recipe that is great.
    I assume that the potatoes are small (like new potatoes):-

    Cook the potatoes normally, make sure they are still firm.
    Cut them into bite sized pieces and put in a mixing bowl.
    Add fresh dill, chopped finely and plenty of olive oil.
    Mix until they are all evenly coated with Oil and Dill.
    Cover and put in Fridge.
    About an hour before serving, remove from Fridge and stir.

    I use this recipe frequently and am often asked to do them for gatherings here (where I live) or with my family.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

