Apple peanut butter oatmeal bars :)

Between tooth pain and allergies/cold, I can’t eat or taste much lately. 😛 I wanted something soft but nutritious that would be a good meal substitute. I looked up breakfast bar recipes, and I found one for peanut butter and oatmeal. Peanut butter, yum. Plus, it has protein. Sold!

I can’t take credit for today’s recipe. 🙂 It’s from Sally’s Baking Addiction. I modified it in several ways, though, so I’ll write the whole recipe. Go to Sally’s web page for pictures, though.

I love chocolate, but this recipe had so much sugar that I didn’t want to add any more. I skipped the chocolate chips and chocolate drizzle. I also didn’t have any raisins, so I used minced apple and cinnamon powder. The result is surprisingly sweet (perhaps too much), so next time I will reduce the sugar.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (100g) brown sugar

1 cup (250g) peanut butter (I used whipped because I like whippings…er, I mean whipped things. I mean…)

2 tsp (10mL) vanilla extract)

1 cup (127g) whole wheat flour

1 cup (80g) oats

1 tsp (5mL) baking soda

1/4 tsp salt (just sprinkle a bit)

Two big sprinkles of cinnamon powder (maybe 2 tsp?)

1/2 cup (120mL) milk (I used skim, but it’s not picky)

1 cup minced fresh apple (I think it tastes better without peelings, but it’s up to you)

If you have an 8×8 pan, use it. I don’t, so I used a 9-inch round pan. Line with parchment paper, if you have it, or grease/flour the bottom.

Whip…er, I mean cream…um…I mean mix the sugar and peanut butter together until it’s light and fluffy. The recipe says for three minutes. I didn’t time the mixing, but that sounds about right. Add vanilla and mix again.

The recipe says to add flour, oats, salt, and baking soda all at once. I think the baking soda and salt need to be worked into the dough more thoroughly, so I added ingredients one at a time (flour, salt, baking soda, oats, cinnamon). Then add the milk gradually, while stirring. When the ingredients moisten enough to form a dough, add the apple (or whatever mix-ins you want).

Press into the pan. If you use dry mix-ins, like the chocolate chips and raisins, you probably can bake for the suggested 17-20 minutes. The apple bits are so juicy, though, that the final baking time was probably 35 or 40 minutes.

The recipe says the bars will keep in the refrigerator for up to two weeks, but I doubt these will last that long. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Apple peanut butter oatmeal bars :)

  1. catrouble says:

    Ooh yummy! Definitely gonna have to try these! If you cooked the apples prior to adding them to the batter, you could probably cut your cooking time. Think I would also add some chopped walnuts…walnuts plus apples = yum!

    Have you tried making this with bananas?

    Thanks for sharing!

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      That’s certainly an idea, although it would dirty another pan. 🙂 And yup, I’m sure walnuts would be great.

      No to the bananas. I’m not sure how it would affect the dough. It’s very crumbly and a bit hard to work with, and it’s quite moist already. No reason not to try it, though. 🙂

      Like

  2. minellesbreath says:

    Ooooooh yummmy! Why are you tempting me??? You know I need to stay away from the carbs! Maybe the peanut butter will slow the absorption of the sugars down? Who am I kidding….I want these regardless!

    Like

  3. Blondie says:

    Sounds yummy to me. I was so hungry today and definitely needed to go grocery shopping, so I put together whatever I could find. I took a tortilla, peanut butter, and a banana. It wasn’t bad but it won’t go down in any cookbook.
    Hope you are feeling all better

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Blondie, I’ve had a treat a bit similar to that. Peanut butter and banana grilled inside of a tortilla. Then you add a dollop of whipped cream and a sprinkle of chocolate chips. Very yummy!

      Wish I were feeling better, too. This is getting old!

      Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

