The secret identity of a sleepless Super Kinkster, Part II

As if one church member named Hanne isn’t enough, last Sunday I was introduced to an Ana.

I had my surprise reflexes under better control this time and exchanged pleasantries with only a silent inner giggle. Ana, hm? I wonder if she lives up to the grand Ana tradition of causing mayhem. πŸ˜€

If you want to cut down on your grocery bill fast, try out 15 bean soup. (Usual disclaimer: I have not received any incentive or compensation, financial or otherwise, to promote this product.) I was skeptical about beans (not a lentil fan), but one taste of the soup convinced me otherwise. A $2.79 bag of beans and soup seasoning, plus a few veggies and meat added from your cupboard/fridge, makes an enormous amount of food. (The package says 3 quarts, but the manufacturers underestimate how many vegetables I put in.)

Oh, and who knew you could make condensed cream soup from scratch…and save money? I found this recipe online and will try it once I finish using my cans of soup. It looks tastier and healthier, too.

I made peppermint brownies this weekend, but they weren’t peppermint-y enough after cooling. They tasted almost like Thin Mints while still warm, but after cooling became more subdued.

Oh, and it’s been nearly a week since I’ve been able to sleep through the night. Grr. Last night I was awake from 1:30 to 6:30…and fell asleep just in time for my alarm to go off. I’m seriously considering drinking some wine tonight just to get some sleep! Hehe. Normally I get work done if I wake up in the middle of the night, but I’ve gotten so tired that I can’t think straight. Please don’t expect me to make much sense. πŸ™‚

Hope you have a terrific day.

19 thoughts on “The secret identity of a sleepless Super Kinkster, Part II

  1. pao says:

    Oh wow, that doesn’t look like it’ll cost that much (referring to the soup recipe). But I’m afraid to use celery πŸ˜› And another Ana? One is already enough!

    Can’t sleep? Let me read you a page of my ‘Sedimentary Geology’ textbook πŸ˜€

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Yup, the biggest cost is adding meat (which is optional, really). Carrot, onion, celery, etc. are all so cheap as to be practically free. Or did you mean the cream of celery soup?

      I think I’m too tired to sleep. πŸ˜€

      Like

      • pao says:

        Yeah, the cream of celery. But I guess one could easily use the same things for other soups.

        Too tired to sleep? Maybe you should stay up for the next day to let your body get back to it’s usual cycle. Or Ana could do jello shots! With alcohol! πŸ˜€

        Like

  2. Irishey says:

    Yawn. I think we are on the same sleepno schedule. I have some white wine in my fridge that’s been there quite awhile. May as well try a glass as a sleep aide, as long as it hasn’t turned to vinegar.

    Ana, we shouldn’t drink alone. Let’s have a sleepy-time party! Wine and jammies tonight on Ana’s blog. Bring your soft music, sleep-inducing aromatherapy, boring books and whatever else works to send you off to lullaby land. I just invited The Sandman. Who else wants to join us? RSVP with your bedtime and vino of choice.

    Oops, Ana’s blog. Right. Should I move this over to Irishey’s Isle? It’s so dull and boring over there, just dropping by will put folks to sleep. Nah. I like it here. What do you say, Ana? Can we all rock ourselves and you to sleep here? πŸ˜‰

    Hillbilly Bean Soup is much like 15 Bean Soup. They sell the bean mix with flavor packet. You just add tomatoes and whatever other veggies you like, and meat if desired. I like it with a little ham, okra, onion, celery and peppers. It’s also good with a little bacon or sliced spicy deer sausage. I’ve also had it with shrimp and hot Cajun sausage links, and spicy Polish sausage links. I’ve never had it with chicken or turkey, but that probably would be really good. Almost forgot about little meatballs! Those are good in it, too. Don’t forget to stir in the shot of lemon juice just before serving.

    Dang, now my mouth is watering and I don’t have either bean mix on hand – just plain pinto beans. My plans tonight for salmon and creamed peas and potatoes now sounds rather bland. Lol!

    Have a good day. Hugs!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Hehe, great idea. We can have a naughty sleepover tonight. Or, if we can’t sleep, we can cause trouble. πŸ˜€ Wait, isn’t that what you do every day? Grin.

      I’ve had so many cups of Sleepytime tea that I probably could float. I wonder if the Sandman has a mistress? Mistress Sandman might come after sleepless ones with a wooden spoon…oh wait, that’s Mrs. Claus. Maybe a good hard paddle for the naughty ones. That means you first, Irishey. Pao second.

      My vino of choice would be Riesling…nice and sweet. πŸ™‚

      I make my 15 bean soup with ground sirloin, but the original recipe calls for ham. I’m planning to try chili sometime soon. Something was a little off this time. I’m not sure what. The soup still tastes good, but it’s not the same as it was before. Or maybe it’s this stupid congestion that makes it not taste as good.

      Be good! Mrs. Claus is watching. πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. minellesbreath says:

    Hmmmmm….I think you need to find out why you are still sick and not sleeping!
    Miss Ana needs to stay on the straight and narrow untill she is sleeping through the night! No sleepovers with Irishey until you are both well!

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Miss Ana will stay on the straight and narrow just as soon as Miss Minelle sets a good example! So, in other words, never. πŸ˜€

      I am sure I am sick because certain blogland readers don’t give me enough respect.

      Like

  4. catrouble says:

    Thanks for the recipes Ana…I make my own celery and mushroom soups…very simple recipes but make them as I need them so will have to look at what you shared.

    Dang…sleeplessness must be contagious here in blog land…have had the same problem for over a week. Guess I’ll come join you and Irishey. πŸ˜‰

    Hope you get to feeling better soon.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I never even knew that cream soups could be homemade in condensed form. I don’t eat cream soups by themselves, but many casserole recipes call for them.

      You better find a way to get past Minelle who has appointed herself guardian of the sleepover. How about bringing a paddle in case she tries to get bossy? πŸ™‚

      Hope you got some sleep!

      Like

  5. Michael says:

    Sorry to hear you are still having trouble sleeping, Ana. I like your idea about drinking wine, and I know Season will be 100% behind you as that woman does like her vino. πŸ˜‰

    I had a real chuckle when you said this about the other Ana church member:

    “I wonder if she lives up to the grand Ana tradition of causing mayhem.”

    I wonder if she experiences the Ana Vitsky tradition of having her tushy toasted for causing said mayhem. 😈

    Too bad you don’t like lentils, Ana, as pasta e lenticchie (pasta and lentils) is delicious and nutritious. Here is a link to a recipe I found online which is very close to my mother’s.

    http://www.splendidtable.org/recipes/pasta-e-lenticchie-pasta-and-lentils

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I don’t usually drink wine, but I wanted a special treat. πŸ™‚

      Hm, and what proof do you have of said toasting? No pictures, no eyewitnesses, no written records. Grin.

      I will look at the recipe. I want to try a few bean recipes since they are ridiculously cheap and nutritious. So far, my only ideas are 15 bean soup, chili, and baked beans. Any other ideas are great. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Roz says:

    Thanks for the recipes Ana, LoL at Laurel above. Oh my, two mayhem causing Ana’s? I’ll join you and Irishey as well. Sleep is a constant battle for me 😦 I so hope you manage a good night sleep soon!

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Come on over to the sleepover! Everyone is invited, except Laurel if she has a lot of beans πŸ˜› and Minelle if she gets bossy. We could have a campfire and roast…er…marshmallows. πŸ˜›

      Like

  7. laurellasky says:

    Another sleepless night for me. I start a book and if I like it, I’ll read all night or play 6 degrees of separation and read blogs and twitter and FB. I promise I won’t eat any beans!

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

