Rainbow Con recap

F/F kink fiction does have a place at author conferences. *picks my jaw off the floor* Yes. This past weekend at Rainbow Con (shout out to S.L and Roger Armstrong, K. Piet, and all the wonderful folks at Storm Moon Press) was filled with camaraderie, conversation, cookies, and kink.

Prize winners!

Chocolate roses: Sarah Hart, Kathleen Tudor, Ann Anderson, and (one more name I can’t remember at the moment)

“I’m a sexy girl” sign: London Calling

“Don’t lean” sign: H.L. Holston

Happy fun gift bags: Dean Prech and Becky Condit

Kinky fun gift bag: Jamie Fessenden

5-book F/F gift basket from Blushing Books (donated by the same): Sue Brown

$50 gift certificate to Blushing Books (donated by the same): Angel Martinez

 

 

Some of my favorite Rainbow Con moments include:

  • Alex Carreras stopping by my table Friday morning to ask, “Am I the only one who hasn’t tasted your cookies yet?” He paused, realized what he’d said, and added, “That wasn’t a euphemism, by the way.” It became a running joke to ask whether people had tasted my cookies and to assure them that it wasn’t a euphemism. In order to fully appreciate this moment, you should know that Alex has a dapper, gentlemanly demeanor. He wouldn’t look out of place at an art show or the ballet, and his demeanor made his joke even funnier.
    .
  • Adrian Smith saying it had been amusing to watch the play-by-play of the Great Cookie Baking the day before the con. So great to meet you in person, Adrian! Thanks for giving me the nudge to go to my first author con.
    .
  • Allison Cassatta (sitting at the table next to me in the Author Alley) jumping up to embrace Rick as she squealed, “You got MIRA! My kindred spirit!” after taking my quiz. Allison, you were the best Author Alley “roomie” ever.
    .
  • Kathleen Tudor shouting “I love spanking Anastasia!” to get my attention, before realizing what she’d said. “There was supposed to be a comma before your name,” she added. Too late. πŸ™‚ The weekend was FULL of Kathleen quotes, but I don’t want to embarrass her.
    .
  • Getting to see some F/F spanking action! No, it didn’t involve me (except as a spectator).
    .
  • Being dubbed the “Spanking Queen” and called upon to deliver a birthday spanking to Becky Condit. (No, I didn’t do it.)
    .
  • Chatting with S.L., Roger, Kris, and Kathleen (as well as many others) in the con suite. What an amazing gift! They’d put together an enormous (and fantastic) buffet of snacks to keep busy congoers fed while running from one panel to another. All offered free of charge as a labor of love. Bless you.
    .
  • Speaking of Becky Condit, how fun to celebrate her birthday! What a wonderful review site she has, Mrs Condit and Friends.
    .
  • Watching David Berger try to get his jello shot out of the plastic cup. Saundra Armstrong had put a lot of vodka into the shots, so everyone’s reaction was hilarious. David said, “I just licked it, and my tongue went numb!” Of course, I put the quote (out of context) on my Facebook and Twitter. Becky Condit asked, “What’s he doing with the spicy lube?”
    .
  • The hilariously inappropriately titled F/F fiction panel, and watching others (especially Kathleen) try to get me to say the title. In all seriousness, the discussion was wonderful and a highlight of the weekend.
    .
  • Putting up quotes of the day on my Facebook and Twitter and enjoying the laughter and conversations that followed.
    .
  • Meeting the neat folks from Less Than Three, Dreamspinner, Storm Moon, JMS Books, and Rooster and Pig publishers. You were all wonderful!
    .
  • Getting London Calling’s Twitter ID confused and laughing about it together. Her Superman costume! Also, her gracious help moving all of my bags (hundreds of cookies, pieces of candy, and all of my promotional materials). I’d nearly broken my back lugging bag after bag of supplies, and then Little Miss Chipper came along to save the day. Mwah, London! May all of your rocks never be kryptonite.
    .
  • Accidentally tagging the wrong Susan Lee when I gave a shout out to Boys in our Books, a fabulous review site. Susan, Lisa A, Scott Burkett, (apologies because I am not sure of the last name) gave wonderful information about blog tours.
    .
  • Shae Connor’s hilariously inappropriate comments that she tried to blame on the jello shots.
    .
  • Watching Amanda Ching’s reaction to the vodka-laced blue jello as it seared her mouth.
    .
  • Hearing and seeing people burst into laughter as they took my “Who is your inner spankee?” quiz. Unexpected side effect: Administering the quiz gave me a shortcut to getting to know people. When I’d say, “You’re Leila!” or “You’re Kat!” and read the character description, more often than not people would respond by saying, “That sounds like me!” One person said this was the most accurate personality quiz she’d ever taken. Most popular answer: Freiya of Freiya’s Stand. Least popular answer: Clissa of Becoming Clissine
    .
  • People asking, “What’s the deal with the wooden spoon?” Oh, how I LOVED answering that! πŸ˜€
    .
  • The F/F fiction panel was the highlight of the con. Not just the discussion itself (which was terrific), but that Saundra and Roger prioritized the panel–to the point that Roger chose that session (out of his extremely busy schedule running the con) to attend. The audience was wonderful, the panelists (Kathleen Tudor, Adrian Smith, Allison Cassatta, and yours truly) fit together well. I give Saundra and Roger huge props for creating a much-needed space for readers and authors of F/F fiction.
    .
  • Terrific topics for the panels, ranging from religion in genre fiction to the “Man Panel” (male perspective regarding M/M fiction). Author etiquette, marketing, self-publishing, contracts, YA, paranormal…you name it, Rainbow Con had it. Really well-thought-out array of topics. *grateful applause*
    .
  • The amazing generosity and kindness of the guest of honor, Geoffrey Knight, and each of the guest authors. Geoff sat at my author table, took my quiz, and talked to me about my books. My hat off to you, Geoff.
    .
  • Sue Brown’s discussion on the “Misogyny in Fiction” panel. It would have been easy to dismiss my point (that fiction needs strong female characters not dependent on men) as irrelevant to her M/M writing, but instead she talked about her main characters’ love and respect for the women in their lives. Then Sue said that meeting *me* was a highlight of her weekend. Likewise, Sue. I was honored to meet you.
    .
  • Getting to meet Jeff Adams (of JMS Books) in person and thank him for supporting Love Spanks. We’ll get to have his support for Sci Spanks in June, too! Hurrah!
    .
  • Participating in the “Rape: Not a laughing matter” panel under the capable hosting of Angel Martinez.
    .
  • Meeting Vicktor Alexander and hearing his thoughts on writing, reading, and publishing.
    .
  • A wonderful post-con dinner with David Berger, Cari Z (finally got to meet Caitlin Ricci’s writing partner and the woman behind the green tea F/F spanking story!), and Cari’s husband.
    .
  • Meeting Carole Cummings and her daughter. You two were a delight to have at my table, and I wish you both the very best.
    .
  • Meeting Caethes Faron. What a sweet woman!
    .
  • Teasing Carolyn Gray about my wooden spoons and watching her blush! I was mean to tease you, Carolyn, but you were too cute. I couldn’t help myself.
    .
  • Feeling comfortable as Anastasia Vitsky, author of F/F spanking fiction. Not having to apologize for who I am, soothe offended egos of those who find F/F spanking fiction offensive, or cater to a crowd that tolerates F/F while wishing for M/F. I love every single one of my readers, and I love my M/F readers just as much as anyone else. You are cherished, I promise. But, still, there is something special about hearing, “You write F/F? Wow! It’s so hard to find F/F! I have to tell my sister/daughter/niece/neighbor/cousin!”

I know I am forgetting names. I’ve tried to put down as many as I can without turning this into a list (boring!). Megan Derr, Sarah Hart, Ashlyn Daube, Rory Ni Coileain, Kade Boehme, Isabella Carter, Jackson Cordd, Sklyar Cates, Jamie Fessenden, Rhys Ford, Anel Viz, Kassa, Lexi Ander, Stephen del Mar, and so many others…if you stopped by my table this past weekend, I’m sending you an enormous virtual treat (peppermint brownie, peanut butter oatmeal bar, gingersnap, peanut butter cookie, or oatmeal butterscotch chocolate chip cookie). Thank you for sitting down, taking my quiz, chatting with me, and letting me get to know you. My life is enriched from the experience, and I will never forget you.

Thank you, organizers of Rainbow Con, for giving me (and many others) a weekend of acceptance, fellowship, and support. It means more than you can ever know.

See you all at Rainbow Con 2015.

 

9 thoughts on “Rainbow Con recap

  1. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…the more I read this post, the bigger my smile. So very happy you had such a wonderful time at your first and hopefully not last writers con! πŸ˜€

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  2. Rayanna Jamison says:

    Sounds like a good time! I have a question, When are you going to put the “Inner Spankee” quiz on your blog so we can all take it? That sounds fun!

    Like

  3. pao says:

    What a whirlwind of a time! I’m so glad it turned out so well and even more glad that there’ll be more to come in the future πŸ˜€ And you met the people behind the green tea F/F spanking story! Awesome πŸ™‚

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

