New Kat and Natalie story: Mother’s Day, Again

At Governing Ana, we have a tradition of a special new Kat and Natalie story for each Mother’s Day. This year’s story is a sneak peek of the third book in the Kat and Natalie series, and it’s my gift to everyone who has been a loyal supporter in the past few years.

Kat and Natalie were my first, my favorite, and the ones who launched the entire Anastasia Vitsky career. If you are new, I hope you’ll enjoy this taste of their lives.

Natalie’s voice comes through my cell phone, loud and insistent. “Let me come and get you.”

I fish a tissue out of my purse sitting in the passenger seat. “Don’t be silly.”

“Where are you?”

I squint at the lights around me. “A gas station. I can’t remember which exit. But I’m fi—fi…”

I can almost hear the tapping of Natalie’s shoes as she paces. I picture her circling the kitchen where she grew up, while her parents look on in concern. At the thought of her mother, the woman who has come to love me like her own child, I snap back to reality.

“Can you ask someone where you are?”

“No,” I answer, blowing my nose. “I shouldn’t have bothered you. I’ll be fine.”

“Mom and Dad picked us up at the airport, we got you to the rental car, you’ve been driving for an hour…did you go straight through? Or did you make any stops?”

I want her to come, more than anything. I want her to park, open my door, and tell me to switch to the other side. I want her to take over and drive my car, but I can’t.

Please read the rest of “Mother’s Day, Again” over at Kat-Sitting, Kat and Natalie’s story blog.

———

(If you’re new to the world of Kat and Natalie, you can read of their adventures in The Way Home, Coming to Terms, and Lighting the Way.)

The-Way-Home

Natalie always wanted a little sister.  Kat didn’t know she was allowed to want anything…or anyone.

 

Kat, a shy farmgirl, arrives at her freshman dorm with a backpack, a suitcase, and her mother’s wish for Kat to attend college “at least until you get married”. Her roommate Natalie, a confident and fun-loving social butterfly, decides sight unseen that Kat will become her best friend for life. Natalie teaches Kat about college life, academics, and friendship by taking Kat under her wing…and over her knee.

 

Then their lives fall apart one fateful night on campus, and for the rest of the decade Kat and Natalie struggle to find their way back to each other. Their way home.

Coming to Terms cover

Picking up the pieces after an unexpected separation, thirty-something Kat Astra tries to make sense of a relationship gone wrong. Ever since the two met as college roommates, Natalie has been an infuriating mixture of confidence, overprotectiveness, discipline, and emotional unavailability. Natalie expects openness and honesty from Kat, but she forgets one thing: Natalie has needs, too.

 

When they seek help, the couple receives a mandate: create new, positive memories to replace the old, hurtful ones. In an uncharacteristic move, Natalie plans a trip for them to get away from their daily grind. On their first vacation together, they come to terms with their relationship roles. How will they make things work? Will the fun of their time in the sun carry over into their ordinary life, or will they continue their cycle of misunderstandings?

 

“Tomorrow” serves as an intermezzo between The Way Home and Lighting the Way, the first two books in the Kat and Natalie series.

Lighting-the-Way

College roommates, best friends, and family. Can Kat and Natalie find a way to stay together…without killing each other?

 

Kat Astra knows one thing: everything is her fault. A dead-end job. A fear of confrontation. An inability to speak up when necessary. Desertion of her best friend in her time of need.

 

Natalie Mestecom knows one thing too: everything Kat does is Natalie’s fault. The relationship rule is simple; Kat has problems, and Natalie fixes them. But what worked in adolescence becomes more complicated with adulthood, and new developments in their relationship challenge these roles. Kat is no longer sure whether she is willing to be disciplined according to Natalie’s rules, and Natalie is no longer sure whether she is worthy of Kat’s trust.

 

Can Natalie allow herself to be vulnerable? Can Kat believe in her own strength? Can Natalie believe in Kat’s strength? How will they, each in their own way, learn to move beyond guilt and blame in order to forge a new relationship together? In order to make peace with themselves and each other, Kat and Natalie reconnect with family, re-visit memories of their past, and make plans for taking steps forward in the future. To light their way home.

 

6 thoughts on “New Kat and Natalie story: Mother’s Day, Again

  1. annapurna1951 says:

    “The truth is, I’ve lived more years without my mother than with her. It’s hard to remember what she looked like. Sometimes, if I concentrate, I can remember her voice.”

    I had to stop reading at this point. The words are very similar to what I say to myself often. I’ve never overcome the grief and the loss, and for my father too.

    Nevertheless, thank you so very much, Ana, for offering this emotional treat for us on Mother’s Day.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

