Celebration! (Return of Thankfulness Thursday)

It’s been a long time since I put up a Thankfulness Thursday post (or Thursday Thankfulness…I never can remember which order), but it’s time and a half to celebrate. Are you ready? Let’s go!

Earlier this year, I had a family crisis. It was grim around here for a while, and I’m sure you noticed that I wasn’t my usual self. Every time I’d fight to return to “normal,” a setback would come out of nowhere. I was scared, stressed, and too overwhelmed to follow through with anything besides the essentials. If you’ve emailed or messaged me in the past few months and didn’t get a response, please understand and forgive me.

I worked as hard as I could to manage the crisis, but the after-effects dragged on and on…and on. Some days it seemed as if all of my effort only made things worse. I prayed as I’ve never prayed before, and I learned just how creative and resourceful I can be when necessary. Just when I thought I could not make it one more day, I got a small break. Then another, and another. Not enough to get me out of the woods, but enough to allow me to sleep that night and wake up the next morning ready to resume the struggle.

I’d targeted the “end of May” for when things would turn. With a little luck, the “end” of May became a week earlier than expected, and I just received news today that the tide has turned. There’s a lot of work still, but now I can see my next steps. I’ve lined up appointments in the next few days to start returning life to normal, and I’m relieved. In an ordinary way, I’d feel frustrated at the expenditures (time and money), but for now I’m grateful that I can worry about normal things instead of the Big Worry.

So…

Yay!

I’m thankful for many things today. I have a roof over my head, clothes to wear, a car to drive, food to eat, friends and family to cherish, and a job I love. I’m grateful that my worries are small compared to others.

I’m thankful, even though it’s months ago, that Larry Swilling loved his wife so much that he wore a sandwich board and walked the streets for almost a year to find a kidney donation for his wife. I couldn’t find any more updates about Jimmy Sue, his wife, but I hope she is doing well.

I’m grateful that regulations have changed so that no more child pilots have died attempting to break records, the way seven-year-old Jessica Dubroff died in 1996.

I’m thankful the Beagle Freedom Project works to find homes for dogs used in medical testing. I wish they could eliminate dogs used from testing, period, but it’s a start. Watch this video to see the project at work. A new Beagle Freedom Law in Minnesota will match research lab dogs with organizations that will find homes for them.

I’m thankful for the wonderful authors I’ve met as part of the Hop Against Homophobia and Transphobia (HAHAT). It’s not too late to participate! You can sign up for prizes through May 24. My post on F/F domestic violence is here.

On a related note, I’m grateful that the one negative comment I received on my HAHAT post has been overshadowed by the many more thoughtful and supportive comments. If readers walked away from my post better able to respond to F/F domestic violence in the future, I’m honored to have been part of that education.

I’m thankful for all-night diners that allow me to order a meal and write for hours undisturbed.

I’m thankful for friends who understand when life gets too tough to keep up with correspondence, and who wait patiently until I am able to respond. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart.

I am more thankful than I can ever express. Won’t you share your thankfulness today so we can celebrate together?

23 thoughts on “Celebration! (Return of Thankfulness Thursday)

  1. abby says:

    I am so very thankful that you have weathered the storm, and i am sure are stronger for it. Altho i know sometimes i think i am strong enough and do not need anymore strengthening. I am so grateful that you a vital part of out little community, and that you are here for me to start my day with…lots of hugs…
    abby

    Like

  2. SassyTwatter says:

    Beautiful post! Glad things are getting back on tract. Here if you ever need anything. It’s true what they say what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger and more appreciative of what you have. I am thankfull for so many things right now but especially my husband & the little alien growing inside me.

    Like

  3. terpischore7 says:

    I am thankful that you have found the strength you need to continue and find joy. 🙂 I am grateful for the rhythm of my breath.

    Like

  4. Nina says:

    Ana, I am so happy for you, because you see that things are getting better again.

    There are many many things I am grateful for, first of all, I am very grateful that baby kicked me tonight, because it was the first time that I recognized it as such and feeling that she is doing fine is even better than knowing from scans. It is a huge relief. I am grateful for the love of my life and for the best friends possible. I am very grateful for the long and loving hug that I got today from my best friend, who was as happy about me being kicked as I am (oh my, I know what it sounds like …). Last but not least I am grateful that there are many projects to help people in difficult situations. I mean situations where you often enough do not know how to live on with what has happened, or who to talk to, so that you could get help. Those projects are important and should get more support.

    I think that your HAHAT is a great idea and I also think it is good and important to raise awareness to any kind of domestic violence. It shouldn’t matter at all, whether a couple with this problem is of the same sex or not. This is only about human beings and everybody deserves love and respect, instead of abuse. Actually I was pretty shocked when I read that it is so much more difficult for women in same sex relationships to find help when they need it. I am grateful that you wrote about it.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Yay, the first kick. How exciting!

      And yes, not knowing what to do or where to go for help is a common situation. I am also glad for those projects.

      I am glad that you visit and read, and that I can learn from your thoughts. Thank you.

      Like

  5. laurellasky says:

    I’m thankful that you have turned the corner and found the strength to carry on. I’m thankful that I found your wonderful blog and have received so much giving from you and the other wonderful people that also comment on your posts. Your good wishes and prayers helped me through some tough times. I’m grateful to be alive. I saw my Dr. yesterday and he thinks I’ll get through the medical issues and told me not to give up. I will keep pushing myself to keep going so I can be there for my darling Ed who has taken such good care of me.
    Your posts are so meaningful and you raise awareness of important issues and yet you can let your hair down and have fun events like the Avant calendar. You go girl!! Big hugs,
    Laurel

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Ah, we still need to get your book to you! 🙂

      I am glad that your doctor is encouraging, your Ed is taking good care of you, and that you’re sharing your life with us. I am so happy to see familiar names each day when I check the comments. I hope you will have good health and much easier times from now on.

      Like

  6. catrouble says:

    Hey Sweet Ana…I am very thankful that you sound so much better and pray that the situation you are facing continues to improve.

    I am very thankful that my DIL is not any worse and we are one day closer to testing that may help us find out what is wrong.

    I am thankful for all my friends and family both FTF and in the blogosphere.

    I am thankful for a roof over my head, food in my stomach, clothes on my back and a job to pay for all of them.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  7. annapurna1951 says:

    I’m trying to type my response by iPhone. You know, I’m all thumbs.

    I’m sorry to hear of the difficulties you have faced. I hope the worst is behind you and that everything in your life has returned to normal. You have my sincere concern and support.

    Through it all, your attitude and outlook are awe-inspiring and positive. You endured the crisis, handled all the problems well it seems, and have emerged with renewed vigor for your family and friends as well as the causes that are dear to you. For all of us, you serve as a great role model, showing us how to handle tough situations with compassion and grace, while also passing the torch of gratitude to us on this lovely Thursday.

    I send you my prayers and best wishes.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Yes, (knock on wood), I hope that it’ll all be better from now on. Hey, I can dream. 🙂 Thank you so much for coming each day and sharing your thoughts. Best wishes and prayers to you, also.

      Like

      • annapurna1951 says:

        By the sound of things, maybe you won’t have to dream; it will be real for you, and very soon.

        I have my rosary, made of green Swarovski crystal, and a glass of wine of course. I like the color of green because it reminds me of hope and renewal, two attributes of spring. I will say the rosary for you tonight while I write a few more comments under “Tuesdays with Ana.”

        Like

  8. Minelle says:

    I can hear the happiness in your voice!
    We have the prolific mischievous Ana back!
    I am forever grateful/thankful for generous friends who listen to all my troubles and distract me when necessary.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

