Meet Sci Spanks authors Olivia Starke and Ami Starsong!

OLIVIA STARKE

 

I’m normally an author of paranormal and contemporary erotic romance, but I’ve wanted to try my hand at sci-fi for some time. What better opportunity than SciSpanks? J

If you could have a superpower, what would it be and why? I want to fly! I mean who wouldn’t? The freedom of leaping into the air, and soaring above the trees. Watching the world pass below. I can’t imagine anything more liberating. Not to mention I have a phobia of heights I’ve never been able to shake, what a great way to cure it.

 

Bio

Olivia Starke calls the Ozarks home. One of the most beautiful areas in the country, she loves hiking trails with her dogs, kayaking on the numerous waterways, and enjoying southern Missouri’s fresh air and sunshine.

She’s also ‘Mom’ to four dogs, a growing number of kitties that show up at her door, and four VERY spoiled horses that do little to earn their keep. Not that she’d ever hold that against them.

She’s a HUGE fangirl of Doctor Who and to a lesser extent Supernatural, and has a pretty interesting love triangle (or square?) going on in her head between the Doctor and the Winchesters. She’s also sort of completely in love with BBC’s Sherlock.

You can find her at:
www.authoroliviastarke.com
www.twitter.com/OliviaStarke
www.facebook.com/olivia.starke.3

 

AMI STARSONG

 

My name is Ami Starsong. To those who already know me “Hello” and to those who don’t “Welcome. It’s nice to meet you.”

 

Until I was 13 years old I wrote stories about horses. I was, and still am, besotted with the beautiful creatures. However, the stories changed.

 

When browsing through a school book club leaflet I chanced upon The Chrysalids by John Wyndham and I had to buy it. It was the first ever Sci Fi book I read, and from then on I was lost to the real world. I devoured Sci Fi books like there was no tomorrow. I read Clarke, Heinlein, Asimov, Bradbury, Laumer – the list is endless. But it wasn’t until the late 1970s that I discovered Anne McCaffrey and her “dragon” books. Suddenly I had found the best combination – Sci Fi and Romance.

 

I am a born Romantic. I just adore a good love story. So it seemed natural to want to write one myself.

 

I finished the draft of my first Heartsong novel over a year ago, (Eriduh) and am now working hard to “sand it down and smooth out the rough bits”, which is more difficult than I had imagined it would be. There are to be another two novels in the series, one (Sine Joselle) already partly written, and the final one is planned in my head.

 

Although they fit comfortably into the Romantic Sci Fi genre, I would like to think that they will appeal to men as well as women. (This is where I own up to the draft having made the rounds of a handful of soldiers stationed in Afghanistan – I needed male feedback!) Those of you who know me, will also be aware that I always write with a sense of humour.

 

I based my heroine’s character on my own. In other words, she is sassy, impulsive and always getting into trouble. She keeps the men in her life on their toes (yes, I did say ‘men’. Sine Joselle, a P’tahrian, loves her too), and at times the testosterone levels fly off the Richter Scale.

 

You are amongst the first people to hear about my writing; I do hope you will be amongst the first to read my books.

 

 

 

1  In the world you created, what do you wish, if anything, could be real, or what are you relieved is only fiction?

 

I long for the time when Einstein is proved inaccurate. I say ‘inaccurate’ instead of ‘wrong’ as I think there is always more than one answer to a problem. If we are unable to achieve light speed according to Einstein’s maths, then perhaps we need to step outside of existing parameters.

 

However, if we do achieve light speed and beyond, we may find some parts of the universe are not as hospitable we would wish them to be.

 

2  What challenges and/or pleasures have you experienced in writing and appreciating Sci Fi (or your term)? Examples might be writing as a woman, getting to have more freedom than writing a “realistic” story, etc.

 

The main challenges for me are in being able to stretch the imagination of others and to write a realistic storyline without getting too technical – I am a storyteller, not a scientist. Luckily I have several friends who are scientists, and who can help me with the ‘sticky’ bits, and if I get stuck I can always resort to describing a technology we haven’t discovered yet.

 

Taking the familiar, and turning it on its head, is great fun. When it comes to the universe, there are no limits to what we can think up in our heads.

 

3  If you could have a superpower, what would it be and why?

 

I love the concept of telepathy. I think to some extent it can be learned, but we are only capable of touching upon the fringes. But what if we could all become telepaths? How would we learn to manage such a “sense”? Unless we learned to control our own thoughts and shut out the “noise” of the thoughts of other people, it could prove overwhelming at best, or at worst downright disastrous. To be able to talk to the one you love, to smile and say “I love you” without moving your lips, and to have that person reply – very romantic.

 

 

BIO

 

Ami Starsong is an aspiring author of romantic science fiction which may, or may not, include spanking, but definitely includes erotic scenes.

 

She has also written a number of short stories which go under the heading of Spanking Fiction, and which she is hoping to publish shortly, if anyone dares to take her on. She is a complete pickle and her dear friend, Anastasia Vitsky has threatened her with a wooden spoon on more than one occasion.

 

Ami lives in the deepest, darkest English countryside with her husband of over thirty years. She has two grown up children living not too far away, and a couple of grandchildren. She shares a disreputable black cat with her son.

 

She loves cooking, gardening and going for walks (hikes) with friends along the “green lanes” passing through meadows and “kissing gates”, and which invariably come out in the vicinity of a local hostelry.

 

She welcomes readers’ comments and constructive feedback.

Sci-Spanks-Banner-1-SM-2

The Sci Spanks fun begins TOMORROW, June 25th, at 8 AM EDT!

Here is the tentative (subject to change!) schedule for the author chats. More times may be added.

All times are in EDT. EDT stands for Eastern Daylight (Saving) Time, aka New York time. It’s also known as UTC-4. The easiest way to keep track of EDT is to google “New York time now.”

Wednesday 6/25:
Maren Smith (12-2PM)
Kate Richards (9 PM)
Carole Cummings (10 PM)
Cathy Pegau (11PM)

Thursday 6/26:
Eve Langlais (9 PM)
Anastasia Vitsky (10 PM)
Leigh Ellwood (11 PM)

Friday 6/27:
Jessica E Subject (10 AM to noon)
Kathryn R. Blake (5 PM)
Eva Lefoy (9 PM)

Saturday 6/28:
Erzabet Bishop (Time TBD)

Sunday 6/29
Anne Ferrer Odom (10 AM)
Olivia Starke (6 PM)

5 thoughts on “Meet Sci Spanks authors Olivia Starke and Ami Starsong!

  1. Roz Harrison says:

    Thank you Olivia and Ami and many thanks to Ana for organising this. So looking forward to reading all the stories!

    Ami – wow, that is so awesome that you are writing novels! You most definitely have a wonderful talent for writing:) Wishing you the best with the edits of your first book.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  2. Laurel Lasky says:

    Lovely interview. I love being introduced to new authors. I usually read romance but lately I’ve started to read scifi and am enjoying it very much. I am looking forward to reading all the stories.

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

