Sci Spanks 2014: If I Had Been Born a Boy

Sci-Spanks-Banner-1-SM-2

SCI SPANKS 2014

Sci Spanks 2014 is finally here! Please visit Governing Ana for the prize list, sign-up sheet, and free books. You can win from a prize pool valued at over $1,000, including a Kindle Fire or Nook HD donated by Blushing Books!

Many authors will also offer a contest on their individual blogs. Your comment on their blogs automatically enters you in both the main contest and the individual contests!

How do you play?

 

1.Visit each blog between Wednesday, June 25th and Sunday, June 29th to read the posted stories and excerpts.

Note: Natasha Knight’s story takes place in a nonconsensual setting, meaning the heroine has not consented to getting spanked. If you are offended or alarmed, you may prefer not to read her story.

 

 

2. Leave a comment answering the story question on each blog. You will receive one entry per blog for the grand prize drawing. You will also be automatically entered in that author’s individual contest, if she has one.

 

3.If you have visited all of the blogs, visit Ana’s blog to sign up for FIVE bonus entries to the grand prize.

 

4.Deadline is midnight EST (UTC -5) on June 29!!

 

5. If you successfully completed a previous challenge (Love Spanks 2014, Spank or Treat 2013, Spankee Doodle 2013, Love Spanks 2013, or Spank or Treat 2012), you may add “VIP” to your comments. You will earn THREE bonus entries toward the grand prize. (Yes, we will be doing this again. Yes, if you successfully complete the Love Spanks 2014 challenge you can become a VIP for our next activity!)

 

 

6. If you are a writer of fiction (any kind), add “W” to your comments to be entered in the special author prize drawings.

 

 

7. If you are Sci Spanks 2014 Ambassador, please add “Amb” to your comments to receive your extra prize drawing.

8.Visit Governing Ana or any of the participating blogs on Wednesday, July 2nd to find out the lucky winners. Will it be you? We will also announce prizes on the Sci Spanks Facebook page.

 

 

Like these events? Want to support your favorite scifi authors? Become a Sci Spanks Ambassador! In exchange for promoting this event, you will receive one extra prize entry, AND you are still eligible to participate and win prizes! To find out the details, send an email to oliviastarke@ymail.com, with the subject line “Sci Spanks Ambassador.”

 

For more information, updates, and a list of participating authors, please visit Anastasia Vitsky’s blog.

Like Sci Spanks on Facebook!

Tweet #scispanks on Twitter!

Join the exclusive chat with Sci Spanks authors! Message Anastasia Vitsky on Facebook or contact Anne Ferrer Odom to receive an invitation.

 

For more spanking fun, visit Saturday Spankings for additional snippets.

 

Anastasia Vitsky’s story: If I Had Been Born a Boy

 

 

10433785_1455321264726459_8644126881691189442_n

UPDATE: “If I Had Been Born a Boy” will be available in the anthology Sci Spanks beginning July 16, 2014. Please check back for the buy links. Thanks!

Story Question: Who do you identify with more, Vina or Talia? Why? What do you hope will happen next?

 

Becoming-Clissine-Cover

Becoming Clissine (Bastia, Book One)

What if heterosexuality were a crime?

Betrothed at birth to the daughter of one of the most prominent Houses in the totalitarian theocracy of Bastia, soon-to-be-college-graduate Clissa isn’t sure whether she is ready to undergo the Mar. Once she becomes the Nur, or the submissive partner, to her betrothed she will have to submit all major decisions of her life to the beautiful Helaine whom she has only met once. She must marry a woman, according to the decrees of Bastian law.

Caught between his desire to “get along” and the growing awareness that he is “het” and is attracted to Clissa, Destral kisses her one day as they study in their college library. Shocked at the feelings the kiss awakens, Clissa begins to question everything she has been taught. Did Basti, their deity, really decree that it was sinful for a man to be with a woman? Will her growing feelings for Destral cost her everything that her parents have worked hard to give her?

In a mad attempt to subvert Bastian authority, Clissa and Destral run away to find the Het Pride, a group that preaches tolerance, equality, and peace. Z, their leader, promises that one day hets will achieve equality and freedom. When the Bastian police capture or kills most of the Het Pride, however, Clissa is assigned to new parents for “reeducation” in the doctrine of Bastia. Her new parents are given one mandate: Bring her back to rightness with Basti.

Clissa, lost in a system that is threatened by her very identity, must make her choice. Will she be broken by Bastian authority, or will she find a way to break free? Can true love overcome a harsh regime?

Find links to the rest of the Sci Spanks stories at Governing Ana! The more blogs you visit and comment, the more chance to win prizes!

 

 

109 thoughts on “Sci Spanks 2014: If I Had Been Born a Boy

  1. pao says:

    I like this story 😀 I can’t describe that feeling… I guess it’s that feeling of sitting in Talia’s head and listening to all her thoughts. Being a voyeur, maybe? And I like the pace, too.

    Like

  2. Renee says:

    Ana, I liked your story. It speaks to that part of everyone who wants to be different than what we are. Thought provoking as usual. Thanks.

    Like

  3. AFOdom says:

    I like the comparison of a dowry vs having money exchanged the other way. When money is exchanged for a person in any form, what is the implication? I’ll be thinking about this story for a while, I suspect.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Oh yes, and there are so many ways money exchanges hands for human lives. I’m not even talking about trafficking, but surrogacy, adoption, etc. Organs are for sale (legally) in some European countries, and the list goes on. Thank you for joining this event!

      Like

  4. Laurel Lasky says:

    I really liked the story. When I was younger ( much) I wished that I was a boy. Boys could do so many things that a girl was not allowed to do, like wear pants, play sports, we we standing up and so on. I had to wear skirts or dresses even when it snowed. The story took me back and brought up memory’s both good and horrible. Thank you,
    Big hugs,
    Laurel

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I think many of us women wished we were a boy or felt inferior because we were a girl. I was specifically wanted as a girl, but my mom had a lot of issues about her own girlhood/womanhood. I hope that there will be more good memories and fewer bad ones. Hugs back.

      Like

  5. Heather Fortman says:

    ah hah ok so I need more coffee and less brain jolting awesome stories! Oh hey look! More stories! YAAA!!

    Kidding aside! This is a GREAT story! The angst and anger is all but leaping off of the screen!! OMG Just.. wow!!

    “W”

    Like

  6. Marybeth says:

    I don’t know, Ana. I liked the story, but it left a lot of questions in my head. She was punished for telling the truth, as she saw it? I am intrigued to read the rest of the story.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      You’re right, and so is Kathryn (below). Talia did tell the truth as she saw it, and yet Vina is almost the wronged one. But Catrina is right, too, in that it’s not a simple savior story. All of these conflicting perspectives are going to make the love story that much more complicated. How can you love someone who bought you, and trust she loves you? And yet, Vina does and Talia does.

      Like

  7. Joelle Casteel says:

    What a gorgeous story, Ana :). I love the ritual of the words here, Vina and Talia trying to come to peace. I loved the detail of Talia’s sore bottom, probably especially because you didn’t graphically show the punishment
    VIP, w, Amb

    Like

  8. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…you have such a way of putting us into your characters head…I am so looking forward to more of Talia’s story! Thank you so much!

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat VIP AMB
    catsbrighteyes (at) gmail dot com

    Like

  9. Nurse Myra says:

    My Queen. You have a beautiful way of pulling the reader into the story so they can experience the angst and confusion that the characters portray. Lovely story, I can’t wait to read the whole thing.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Our stories are so different, aren’t they? I love that you’re advertising yours as non-consensual, and people are intrigued by that. And yes, I do try to grab readers in the first sentence or two. Glad it worked!

      Like

  10. Ami says:

    A sweet tale with dark undertones, Ana. Resonates with me no end. “If I had been born a boy…” what a very different life.

    I had never heard of this tale, and I am so glad you drew it out of the hat. It will be good to learn what happens to Talia.

    Hugs
    Ami

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Just like Laurel, so many of us received mixed messages about being a girl. If we’re not sex toys or models, where do we fit in?

      I had never heard of the fairy tale either, but it’s now one of my favorites. 🙂 Hugs back.

      Like

  11. Laura says:

    This story is one I’ll be thinking about for some time to come. When I was younger I thought that if I had been a boy things would have been easier. Now with time and distance I have come to realize that I’m truly glad I’m who I am. Warts and all. Thanks so much for hosting this and for your excerpt. laurah2727@yahoo.com. VIP

    Like

  12. krblake says:

    There’s so much to think about with this story. If she had been a boy, her parents would have received money for him from his bride’s family. Since she’s a girl, they had to pay and they had nothing but a handkerchief to offer for her. Her mother sold her so they could survive. However, the sale merely increased Talia’s own feeling of worthlessness. I felt her pain, even if I didn’t understand why she stubbornly continued to resent everything Vina wished to offer her. In some ways I felt Vina was the wronged party even though we’re in Talia’s POV. Not an easy thing to do by any means.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      From Talia’s POV, she is the wronged one, but yes–from Vina’s POV, she is, too. She loves Talia unreservedly and has tried to prove this for over a year, but Talia still gives her anger and bitterness. Can she ever get over the betrayal of being sold by her parents? I’m not sure.

      Like

  13. Catrina says:

    The whole dichotomy presented by Vina between the loving savior she sees herself to be and the slave owner that she is in reality is interesting to read. I would like to see how the whole thing plays out.
    Trina0326@yahoo.com

    Like

  14. Eddie Little Bear says:

    May times I’ve seen stories like this where it’s a king or prince buying the young farm girl. But this is the first time I can recall it being a queen. It puts a completely different light on the whole story. I can think of a number of directions this story could go. I’ll be curious to see which one you’ve chosen.

    nakohese@gmail.com W

    Like

  15. Erzabet Bishop says:

    I really liked the voice of this story Ana. Roz is right. You have a great way of expressing character emotion so I feel like I am right there. 🙂 Great read and I can’t wait to devour the rest of it.

    Best,

    Erzabet
    VIP
    author

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Congratulations on your first book, Erzabet! What an amazing journey. And yeah, emotions tend to be my trademark. Sex, nah. Physical descriptions, nope. But emotions, that’s Ana. I hope you like the rest!

      And you’re not a VIP, silly, you’re a participating author. 😀

      Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      That’s my goal, so yay! Taliasman is due next month, and then I’m not sure how long it will take to set a release date. Thank you so much for supporting Sci Spanks with Witty and Naughty Bard Publishing. 🙂

      Like

  16. Kelly Adams says:

    I loved this excerpt Talia is most definitely a character I want to see more of can’t wait to read the full story thanks Ana!! 🙂 VIP

    Like

  17. Sarah Bennett says:

    Interesting concept making homo the norm and het illegal!

    And born a boy–super fascinating!!
    Really enjoyed it a lot. Its really quite empowering for women when these topics are explored. Shakes up the patriarchal norms of our world.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Sarah, I hope you like Becoming Clissine. 🙂

      No, no, Talia is a girl and was born a girl. It’s just that she’s been shamed her whole life for her gender. I was saddened to see many women identifying with that. 😦

      Like

  18. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Fabulous story, Ana! I can’t wait to read the whole thing! I think I identify more with Talia. She seems submissive, but she acts the way she does for the desired response from Vina.

    Jessica E. Subject VIP W
    jessicasubject.writer at gmail dot com

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Thank you, Alien Queen! 😉 I think Talia acts the way she does because she’s been trained to see herself as helpless–first by her parents and now by Vina. It will be fun to see her grow into maturity.

      Thanks for joining Sci Spanks!

      Like

  19. Ky says:

    I really do not identify with either character itself but identified with the latent submission in Talia;s character .I loved the excerpt and could not stop reading till the end. The title really drew me in. I am looking forward to reading more.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Oh yes, Talia has to learn how to channel her latent submission (what a great way to describe it!) into something more life-affirming than wishing she weren’t born. I really hope you like the full version, too.

      Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Thank you for playing, Stephanie! I think few of us are completely submissive or dominant, or at least those who identify with those traits.

      I don’t think I’ll be allowed to preview much more until Taliasman is ready for publication, but I’ll be putting updates here once we get closer. Happy Sci Spanks!

      Like

  20. KaGe says:

    Good story. I’m intrigued to see what happens next.
    I identify with Talia. I remember as a kid wishing I was a boy. There were things I wasn’t allowed to do as a girl, but it was ok for my younger brother to do. Him being younger than me just added insult to injury.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Oh, gosh! I can just imagine. I hope that parents are more willing to treat their kids equally these days. I don’t think being a girl or boy should have anything to do with our worth.

      Thank you for playing! Hope you’ll come again.

      Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      You make a good point. I wonder how I’d feel about someone who rejected me for 13 months, and who provoked me? I think as Talia is more willing to let Vina in, we’ll see more warmth from her.

      Thank you for playing!

      Like

  21. Amber says:

    I identify more with Talia. I always feel that I am waiting for the next big mistake. Some days I had thought things would have been better had I been born differently. I would say the next thing I would do is learn to adapt. It is what someone such as myself does. Adapt and become better. ambercole04@gmail.com

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Oh, Amber, I hope that you will be able to feel more comfortable and not worry about big mistakes. We learn and grow from our mistakes, even if we don’t enjoy making them. I hope that we can all adapt, and Talia as well.

      Like

  22. Carole Cummings says:

    Oh my god, this. So totally THIS. So short and yet so poignant and affecting. Fantastic, Ana. I’m with Talia. The anger at the unfairness. I’m seeing something more to Vina that the length here doesn’t allow, but for this right here, so totally Talia. This was wonderful. ❤

    Like

  23. Eva says:

    Can’t really identify with either – not sure why. I like Talia’s honesty though – hopefully she’ll learn to be happier in herself some time in the future.
    f/f isn’t usually my cup of tea, but this snippet definitely had me intrigued.

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      You’ll read F/F, my dear, and you’ll like it. 😀 Hehe. Maybe because neither of these characters are similar to you? You’re quite different, from what I can tell. I hope Talia can be happier, too. Thank you for playing with us this weekend!

      Like

  24. Barbara McCormick says:

    Ana, I think already commented here, but I can’t find it to be sure. Wonderful story. I identify with rebellious, troubled Talia because I was that way when I was young. I can also identify with Vina, who just wants her to grow up and live her new life!

    Like

  25. Kyra says:

    Received your email earlier. Ky and Kyra are the same. My tablet linked with gmail acct while my primary acct is hotmail. Thanks.

    Like

  26. Lindsay Stone says:

    What a sweet compelling story, I think I’d relate more to Talia in confusion and such. I’d love to see what is going to happen next I’d like to hope that she becomes full partner and is taught all she needs to know to survive.
    Thank you for the chance to see your new work

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

