Thursday Thankfulness: Random items for gratitude

I’m dashing to finish revisions/edits due tomorrow and two other deadlines in the next two weeks, but I wanted to express this week’s list of thankfulness items. I haven’t done this in quite a while, and I find myself happier whenever I do it. Plus, I love to hear your responses and share in your gratitudes. I used to hate the idea of being “grateful” because I’ve been told to be grateful (by busybodies, strangers, and those who had no right) for things a person should not have to receive with gratitude. I understand keeping a positive attitude, but let’s keep things real. Too often, focusing on the positive means dismissing the perspectives and lives of people whose experiences are not unremittingly wonderful. Life is difficult.

Still, we find joy–and that’s what Thursday Thankfulness is about. I started this tradition just over two years ago. I may not always get it down on paper, but I’ve incorporated it into my life. Some weeks, my thankfulness list might not include much beyond, “I’m thankful I’ve gotten a few items and can be done with this!” Other weeks, the list expands far beyond my expectation. My guiding principle has been a quote I received from a friend:

What if you woke up today with only the things you gave thanks for yesterday?

I’m sure the grammar was better, but that’s the idea. I didn’t give thanks for a shower yesterday, so today I wake up with no place to get clean. I didn’t give thanks for having a desk and chair yesterday, so today I wake up having to type while hunched over on the floor. Wait, I didn’t give thanks for my computer or internet, so I wake up with…paper and pencil, except I didn’t give thanks for those, either. I didn’t give thanks for a refrigerator, so all my food spoiled. The list goes on.

:-O

That was an eye-opener, and I’ve tried to make that my life’s theme since then. Today, I’ll express my list of thankfulnesses. Won’t you join in and add yours in the comments? (By the way, “thankfulness” is not the same as “bragging” or “promoting.” Just sayin’…)

  • I am shocked and delighted that a new family *might* be joining my church…just maybe…and the family consists of two dads and a daughter! :-O I never, ever thought that I would see LGBT accepted in my very conservative church. Yes, the motto is being welcoming, but those mottos are always prettier on paper than in real life. We’ll see how this family is received in coming weeks/months, but for now I am thrilled.
    .
  • Thankful for a random meeting yesterday that meant company for some writing due soon. I may have yawned through half of it, but at least I got some good notes by the end. Friendship makes drudgery easier. πŸ™‚
    .
  • Crossing my fingers that Norton (holder of Adrienne Rich’s copyright) may allow me to quote a few lines of her poem for my short story, “Living in Sin.” If Adrienne were alive, I believe (if it’s not arrogant) that she would like the story and think it continued her legacy. I hope. After nearly giving up, I finally got an answer and will work out the details with them. Please cross your fingers for me. πŸ™‚
    .
  • Thankful for all the new connections made during Sci Spanks! I love seeing how these events bring people together who wouldn’t normally cross paths. I take pride that Jessica Subject wrote her first spanking fiction for Sci Spanks. That’s sweet lil innocent Ana, corrupting the big bad X-rated erotic writers.
    .
  • Thankful for the overwhelming response to Sci Spanks in general. Wow! Normally, the summer events are a bit quieter because people are traveling. While I heard from a few people who wanted to participate but couldn’t, on the whole we had a wonderful turnout. I loved reading all of your stories and comments, and I LOVED the fun times in the author chats. We will do this again, for sure!
    .
  • Excited for an idea for Spank or Treat…can’t say much about it, but the prospect is making me giggle. I can’t wait to see the response once we announce it.
    .
  • Thank you, wonderful readers, who bought books during Sci Spanks!! It’s never expected but always, always appreciated. All seventeen authors thank you from the bottom of our hearts. You make the work worthwhile. Yes, I probably could write an entire novel in the time it takes to put together Sci Spanks (or Spank or Treat or Love Spanks), but the warm fuzzies are worth it. When you help out by buying books and supporting authors, it’s a big extra bonus that helps to make this financially possible. Thank you!
    .
  • Thank you to the amazing publishers, companies, authors, and everyone who supported the event by helping with promotion, giving prizes, participating as players, and talking it up on your newsletters, social media, and other word of mouth. We are lucky to have you. πŸ˜€
    .
  • Thankful for a really fun and stimulating week teaching kindergarteners before Sci Spanks. On Monday, I had several scared children and one who burst into tears. By Friday, I had a cohesive group of laughing, teasing, excited kids who played together as if they’d known each other all their lives. They gave me enough germs to keep me sick most of the next week, but it was worth it. All the hugs, cuddles, smiles, and shouts of, “This is MY teacher!” made my day. Week. Year. Life. πŸ˜€
    .
  • Thankful for a sweet email from a quilting granny (yes, quilting grannies can use email! lol) who was worried and asked where I’d been for the past week and a half. She said she missed me, and many other people did, too. I couldn’t exactly explain about Sci Spanks, but I said life had gotten crazy for a bit (it did!). In the rush of Sci Spanks, I forgot about my very favorite card game this week. Rats! I didn’t even look at the calendar to realize this was the first week of the month. I was disappointed to miss time with my favorite quilting grannies, but I’m grateful for the warm fuzzies of knowing they enjoy my company. They’re quite indulgent toward this opinionated sassy girl, and sometimes I wonder if they prefer time on their own. Instead, they spoil me shamelessly. I’m good with that. πŸ˜€
    .
  • Thankful for a quilting granny yesterday who (when I hinted, in a private conversation, that some of my secret writing projects may be a bit toward the naughty side) had me in stitches with her responses. “Everyone,” she said, leaning forward and whispering in an overdramatic, conspiratorial way, “has sex.” I laughed, but I was a bit shocked. (I write naughty fiction, and a quilting granny shocks ME. What’s wrong with this picture?) Then she said, in reference to quilting grannies at church, “After all, who knows what’s under that quilt?” She laughed and high-fived me, but I was too stunned and embarrassed to say much. *I* write spanking, and yet she made *me* blush. LOL!
    .
  • Today, you know what? I’m thankful, period. ❀ Too many items to write down, and my editor will spank me (not in a fun way) if I don’t have revisions back to her by tomorrow. So…I’ll sign off with this only: I’m thankful, I’m thankful, I’m thankful.

    What makes you thankful today?

P.S. For a smile, watch these dancing grannies! I want to be them when I grow up, even though I can’t dance. πŸ˜‰ Thanks to Yong Takahashi for the link.

 

 

23 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness: Random items for gratitude

  1. Julie says:

    Hi Ana!

    I’m *definitely* thankful for showers and chairs!

    But mostly I’m continually thankful for friends, family (at least all but a few….), and to still have someone in my life who supports me – with all that entails πŸ™‚ – through all of my ups and downs. And who convinced me to go back to school!

    Like

  2. abby says:

    I am thankful that my kids recognize the importance of family…and we will once again be together this coming week…i am thankful for the rain that is falling (instead of waiting for the weekend), i am thankful for the love and support of friends.
    hugs abby

    Like

  3. Nina says:

    Hi Ana, I think that grannies in general can create red ears around when they make open and unconcealed statements.
    You had some really cute and great points in your list. I loved that. Today I am grateful for having slept better again than the last nights. I am grateful because I have met one of my friends again, even though we only had little time, it was just great to spend time and talk. Funnily enough, I wrote today that I am grateful for being content and happy with all the good little things that happened to us lately. If anything, I am grateful that my bump is growing and baby must be having the time of her life. πŸ™‚

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Yay, Nina! How wonderful! I hope your baby is excited that her mama is enjoying herself. Happiness is the best gift a parent can give a child.

      I can’t wait until I’m old enough not to give a flying fig what anyone thinks. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. hollawrites says:

    I think everyone always has something to be thankful for. There is always someone else out there who is getting along with less. Today I’m thankful for being able to put all my other work on hold so I can finish the edits on my work in progress. And way too many other things to list. Have a wonderful 4th of July!

    Like

  5. laurellasky says:

    Hi Ana,
    Thank you for the wonderful hop. The scispanks were awesome and so original. I hope some of the authors will expand the story’s to full novels. When do you grt the time to do so much?.

    Big hugs,
    Laurel

    Like

  6. Terpsichore says:

    I am thankful for the love of my family and for the gift of time…and far too many more things to list them all. πŸ™‚ Hugs

    Like

  7. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…I am so thankful to you for reminding us of everything we have to be thankful for…I am thankful for good health, a roof over my head, food in my stomach, a job to pay for them, all my family and friends and my internet connection (as slow as it may be) to help me stay in contact with all.

    Wishing you a safe and fun holiday.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  8. Roz Harrison says:

    What a wonderful Ana. I love hearing about the quilting grannies. It was lovely that they checked up on you and missed you and that comment cracked me up. Soundsmlike a wonderful time with the children too:)

    Today I am thankful for a lovely sunny, allbeit rather chilly, winter’s day and the love of family and friends.

    Hugs
    Roz

    PS Spring isn’t the only one with an editor who spanks eh?:)

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      Giggle. I think you meant “post,” but it’s cute the way you wrote it. I am sorry you didn’t win any prizes for Sci Spanks, but maybe next time. πŸ™‚ Yes, those grannies are a hoot!
      Enjoy your family and friends day. I sure wish we had some chilliness here!

      LOL! Yep. πŸ˜€

      Like

  9. Ami says:

    I suppose the psalms were probably the first ‘lists’ of things folk were thankful for. It’s always nice to be thanked. Today I am thankful for the sunshine and the fact that my kitchen is nearly finished being painted. I am thankful I can have all the doors and windows open to the fresh air to dispel the paint fumes.

    Have a lovely holiday weekend. Don’t do anything I wouldn’t do!

    Hugs
    Ami

    Like

    • Anastasia Vitsky says:

      I have a feeling that complaints predated expressions of thankfulness. πŸ˜› Enjoy your fresh air as you cozy yourself into your new nest.

      And since you’d do anything, that’s not much of a restriction. πŸ˜›

      Like

  10. annapurna1951 says:

    I’m thankful for you taking the time to write this heartfelt post and equally thankful for helping me get started on Twitter. I’m thankful for my spouse. I’m thankful for having been born.

    Like

  11. minellesbreath says:

    Even though I am a bit late…..I am thankful for every day I can spend recognizing all the good people and joys I experience every day!
    That comment from the quilting Granny is hysterical!! What is underneath that quilt??

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

