Thursday Thankfulness

Happy Thursday, everyone! Let’s hear what you have to be thankful for this week. I know I have quite a few!

  • I’m thankful for wonderful friends who stay up late when I need a listening ear, who meet me for lunch to cheer me up, and who celebrate my successes with me. I’m thankful for the silly jokes that make me blush, the teasing that never quits, and the affection that springs up naturally. Thank you.
    .
  • I’m thankful for quilting grannies who give me hugs and say they missed me, who share stories about their amazing life experiences, and who are too content with themselves and their lives to be competitive, mean-spirited, or nosy. I’ve felt loved and accepted in many contexts, but I truly never expected to feel this way amongst women in their 70s, 80s, and 90s. I want to be a quilting granny when I grow up. 🙂
    .
  • I am thankful a friend picked up the phone yesterday. I have been worried about her for many months, not wanting to pry but also feeling that I didn’t do my job as a friend. When I have a hard time, friends give me strength with their smiles, love, and expressions of care. I’m thankful that my friend is okay (or as okay as any of us can ever be).
    .
  • I’m thankful for nurses. Kat’s new career direction as a nurse has caused me to talk with a wide array of nurses for the past year and a half. Every day I learn a little more about what nurses do, and every day my respect grows. I’ve decided that “Nurse” stands for “Never Underestimate RN Superpowers, Eejit!” “Eejit” is a Scottish/Irish way of saying idiot. 🙂 There’s been talk of having T-shirts made. Kat is (shhh!) fictional (don’t tell her!), but nurses are not. When Kat went through her growing pains of choosing a career that fits her, I had no idea this fictional character would give me the chance to learn more about real-life people. I had the most wonderful conversation with a quilting granny yesterday who has dedicated her entire professional life to nursing. Truly, we are lucky to have these gems on our planet. Thank you, nurses! (I’m not just saying that because I loved Julianna Margulies’ nurse character in ER, either. 😛 )
    .
  • I’m thankful for social media friends who helped me diagnose a car problem yesterday. True to a Google search’s promises, the problem was indeed a quick, easy, and expensive (ouch!) fix. I could have spent that money on much more fun things, but now my car is protected against water and weather damage.
    .
  • I’m thankful for this story of a Red Lobster server who gave a free meal to a new widow whose husband had taken her there for 31 wedding anniversary celebrations.
    .
  • I’m thankful 9-year-old Spencer Collins received a temporary exemption to leave up his “Little Free Library,” a way to share books with neighbors and passersby. Maybe they are an “eyesore,” as someone tried to argue, but it’s a lovely idea. Good luck, Spencer.

How about you? What makes you thankful this week?

7 thoughts on “Thursday Thankfulness

  1. laurellasky says:

    I’m thankful in the morning and breathe on a mirror, if it fogs up, I get out of bed. I am a retired nurse and had some wonderful years. I even lived and worked in Israel and that was quite an experience. I had to write my nurses notes in Hebrew. I wrote the shortest notes as possible. I’m somewhat of a shut-in now due to health issues and am thankful that I can still check neighbors vital signs and can make a nursing diagnosis.
    I’m thankful that I still have my darling Ed who is now 89. I am thankful that I can still read, write and review. I just started my first book and it’s tough going. I do have the first chapter.
    I am especially thankful for my blog friends who always make me feel better.
    Big hugs,

    Laurel

    Like

  2. pao says:

    I’m glad you brought back Thursday Thankfulness, it’s always humbling to read them 🙂 Nurses are awesome! They were like walking pharmacies when we traveled together! I’m thankful for close friends and the kindness of strangers 🙂 I want to be a kind stranger.

    Like

  3. catrouble says:

    Hey Ana…I’m thankful that it’s Thursday and I only have one more day of work before the weekend! I am thankful for my friends and family and so very thankful for the nurses who have taken care of me when I was ill…it takes someone very special to be a good nurse! I shared a note on Facebook regarding nurses…if you don’t see it and want a copy, let me know and I’ll email it to you.

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    Like

  4. Natasha Knight says:

    I love Thursday Thankfulness. I am grateful for the opportunity – even when it is painful – to see things and people as they really are, to see the friends who are real and to remember to take the time to be a friend.

    I am also thankful to know that most people come from a place of good intention even when the actions don’t match up to that intention. I think I’m saying that I believe people are, by nature, good. Life just screws with us sometimes but I’m thankful for the ability to believe in the good intention. And I hope it stays with me!!

    Like

  5. Roz Harrison says:

    Hi Ana, I too am glad you brought back Thankful Thursday’s. Nurses are wonderful people. I am also thankful for the vet nurses who have provided such great care and compassion as we continue to nurse our cat through cancer. Also thankful it is the weekend.

    Hugs
    Roz

    Like

  6. Nina says:

    Hi Ana, what you wrote about nurses is so true, they are special. We have some in the family and they are all adorable. 🙂

    I am grateful that the time of waiting is finally over and we will return to hubby’s half of our family. I am definitely grateful for having seen nursery school kids put a fantastic play on stage yesterday, albeit in a slightly half-anarchic manner. It made everything so much better and more enjoyable.

    hugs

    Nina

    Like

Thank you so much for joining the discussion! Please play nicely or you may be asked to stand in the corner. ;)

